The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Plugs and Outlets
Review(s): 136

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2006-11-10
Reviewid: 146137Chapter: 1
[quote]"Ron and Hermione…making electricity!" George teased.
[/quote]
What? They can pronounce it correctly, even though their father can't?

I love this story.

Reviewer: ric flairDate: 2006-06-21
Reviewid: 143573Chapter: 1
Thats the funniest story i've ever heard.Thanks a lot,Alphie.Now i cant start my elecrtical course in a whole new light.

Reviewer: hewithnonameDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138909Chapter: 1
This was funny, I just started looking into this site. Well I'm glad I did. Just one question, do you mind If I show my young lad this one when he is 15? Might save me a lot of embarrasment.

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138722Chapter: 1
He, he, he, he! This is th funniest thing I have read in a long time!

Reviewer: lesleyDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134471Chapter: 1
"bent prongs" indeed--*snork* ow

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134113Chapter: 1
I love the " We don’t want our outlets to feel neglected!" So funny!

Reviewer: MrsMalfoyDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134060Chapter: 1
That had me giggling so loud my brother yelled "SHUT UP!" from downstairs. Great job! Off to read the sequel...

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130556Chapter: 1
Oh my. I don't think I'll look at plugs and outlets the same way again. Anyhoo, this was simply hilarious! I laughed out loud many times, and when you do that after midnight, especially when your parents' room is right next door, the results aren't very good. But I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I'm going to read Quills and Ink Bottles now.

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126678Chapter: 1
this amused me very much- i love your series of parent/child "talks"

Reviewer: Shakespeare_in_trainingDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125530Chapter: 1
laughed my arse off!!! haha, plugs and outlets, never thought of it that way. HAHA

Reviewer: beeDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124955Chapter: 1
great !!...keep it up!

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121051Chapter: 1
this was absolutely hilarious! :D

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120271Chapter: 1
My goodness! That has got to be the funniest thing I've read in a while. I loved it!

Reviewer: B_BootyfulDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119096Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh, that was so funny! Do you know that you got an award? For the funniest author. Imagine that...

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118839Chapter: 1
Cute. Please, please, please consider pulling all three and then reposting with Arther, then Molly and then Padfoot as I read them. Wonderful, funny, well done.

Reviewer: AishaDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110398Chapter: 1
That was freaking hilarious. Is there a sequel about quills and ink bottles? I'm still laughing. Hehehe!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110303Chapter: 1
That is one of the funniest things I have read in a very long time, and certainly one of the best on the quill! I empathise very strongly with all the odd metaphors parents use to have That Talk with their offspring (although I was never subjected to them myself). I do especially like the way Mr Weasley persists in obsinately refusing to call a woman anything other than "the outlet" in the classic avoid the subject moves...

Reviewer: kristyDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102950Chapter: 1
this story was really funny. if my dad ever talked to me like that i would crack up! HAHAHA

Reviewer: Wolfen MoondaughterDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102786Chapter: 1
OMG, that was hysterical!!! I needed a good laugh, thanks!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102535Chapter: 1
That was the funniest "talk" I've ever read about, lol. Great work, now I have to go read the other one.

*Geena

Reviewer: vishalDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101264Chapter: 1
one word...AWESOME

err..ok two words awesome and outrageously funny

bummer that! no amount of words could describe this fic and the subsequent ones...u'r one of my fav authors right up there with st. margarets and jeconais in the comedy dept!!! :-)

Reviewer: kateDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100971Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness...I'm speechless. Totaly and utterly speechless. Woah. Plugs. Outlets. Stick your finger in and your hair stnads on end. I'm gonna faint.
"Stay away from the computer, Grampa, you'll get another heart-attack-!" Too late. Oops.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99750Chapter: 1
That is truly inspired! What a riot! "Makes you reevaluate dad's fascination with plugs..." ;)

Reviewer: plinkoDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99667Chapter: 1
OMG! this storei was funny as hell!! i laughed so hard that mii sister had 2 sit me down and make me "inhale, and exhale" cuz i was lyk hyperventalating, hahahahahahahaha the finger in the outlet part juss made me go insaine! it was the funniest line of the hole storie!! keep it up!
((plinko))

Reviewer: Mostly HarmlessDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99529Chapter: 1
hahaha! this is great! my fav part is:

Ron stood up, "She is not an outlet!"
"Well, she’s not a plug!" Fred said.

hilarious!

Reviewer: PatDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98188Chapter: 1
This story was great!! Truly funny; I actually laughed out loud while reading it.

Reviewer: Chip & OatmealDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93390Chapter: 1
We loved it and all of the sequels!! Keep writing them!!!
(We are big fans of "Quidditch, Anyone?". The story about Sirius was wonderful!!)

Reviewer: ShadowTigerDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91727Chapter: 1
Hysterically funny!! I was reading this while guests were over and had to put my hand over my mouth so they wouldn't hear me laughing like a hyena!! Awesome.

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 91041Chapter: 1
Oh geez..this story was seriously funny!!!!! The plugs and outlets was VERY clever! hahaha, and the sex education thing was hilarious how ron was like"we already did this in hogwarts"!!! Keep writing! thanks!

Reviewer: leilaniDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88496Chapter: 1
hahahahhaahahahhahaahha that was well written, n it was sooooooooo funny!! it was perfect!! i'll bee sure to keep reading other fanfics written by u!!!!

Reviewer: kelsyDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87833Chapter: 1
this story is bloody brilliant! i couldnt stop laughing for ages!...i hope quills and ink bottles is as funny.....lol thanks for a good laugh

Reviewer: miaDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87099Chapter: 1
oh my goodness, i laughed so much i almost had a heartattack. You get right into the psyche of the characters, and the plugs and outlets........priceless. It was hilarious! keep up your writing!

Reviewer: RaeDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86777Chapter: 1
I honestly dont think I've ever laughed so much in my life. That was inspired!

Reviewer: Caita BlackDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86492Chapter: 1
I have read all three of the 'interesting sex talks' and I was thinking. You should do one for Hermione. The other three are hilarious and it would just be funny to read about Hermione's mom explaining it to her. Lol, Hermione's mom 'The Dentist' "Hermione dear girls and boys are like cavities and fillings, see the cavity is this small, fragile openings and the filling just wants to be stuck into it..." Well just a suggestion. I love your Fics so keep writing.

Reviewer: babyduckeDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86163Chapter: 1
oh my, that was absolutely hilarious... i was laughing so hard... "dad's fascination with plugs" lmao... great story

Reviewer: CherylynDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85640Chapter: 1
Really really funny.....JK Rowling will never ever write this kind of thing in her books, really! Well keep de good work!

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83716Chapter: 1
"since when are all students required to have sex?"
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAAHHAHAAHHHAHAHAHAHHAHAH

HA

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82920Chapter: 1
that was the funniest thing ive ever read it was perfect i laughed so long my wife came to see what was wrong till she read it we are going to use it with our son when hes old enough to have the plugs/outlets talk

Reviewer: EndicottDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82643Chapter: 1
Hilarious

Reviewer: angellindaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81694Chapter: 1
Oh geez! that was so hilarious! hahahahahha! i loved it!
"George couldn’t help but say, 'Makes you reevaluate dad’s fascination with plugs, doesn’t it?'" This bit right here had me laughing out loud in front of my computer!

Reviewer: LineDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80640Chapter: 1
A Plug and Outlet talk? brilliant! I loved it!
so funny and magnificent!
I'll read the next one now!
~~Line

Reviewer: lucyDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80563Chapter: 1
i really liked it. these people are really talented and they should rite the rest of the harry potter books

Reviewer: LadyCirceDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79815Chapter: 1
Absolutely. Brilliant.

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79639Chapter: 1
Your Harry Potter fanfics, Plugs and Outlets, Quills and Ink Bottles, and Quidditch Anyone, have either been reccomended or selected for the www.shootingstarrs.com/write elite fanfiction archive. I'm writing you to let you know that it has already been added. If you have any objections, please write me back, otherwise, thanks for a great story!

-Heather

Reviewer: KitDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78371Chapter: 1
This is hysterical. ^.^ I wish my parents were as creative with their little chats. I probably wouldn't have been as mortified.

Reviewer: Aliya BlackDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78105Chapter: 1
that wasssssssss so friggn funny I loved it ,

Reviewer: LegalBlondeDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76040Chapter: 1
Absolutely freaking hilarious. So very Arthur. And yes, it does put a whole new spin on his fascination with plugs.

Reviewer: Bellemaine ChercoeurDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75976Chapter: 1
Cute, witty, funny and a deft touch with humorous inneundo laced with real family drama... well done!

Reviewer: BillyjoebobDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75785Chapter: 1
aw man...that was great...to the writers...great job!!! i havent read nething so funny in a long time!!!

Reviewer: othersideDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75645Chapter: 1
how funny! i loved it :)

Reviewer: Baron Timothy TDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73875Chapter: 1
To Alphie, A very enjoyable set of Three stories on
Love and Relationships and what makes the worlds
go around. Very well written, And I like the Harry
and Sirius,and Molly and Ginny,and Ron and his Father.

Reviewer: ?Date: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73695Chapter: 1
I like George's comment about Arthur Weasley's fascination with plugs in the end. It was funny.

Reviewer: DoxyDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73629Chapter: 1
ah haa haa HAA hhaa ha HA!!

Reviewer: Roasted SilkDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73615Chapter: 1
Whoa... that was crazy. It's in perfect character but it's kind of scary. Don't get me wrong, it's really good. Maybe too good, is all...

Reviewer: ultimate fanDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73530Chapter: 1
hmmm...an inventive approach to 'The chat'I enjoyed reading it muchly

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73464Chapter: 1
Three words: Funny, Sweet, Cute.

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73339Chapter: 1
How brilliant was that?!? I loved the whole idea of men as plugs and women as outlets, it all worked so well!!!

That was fantastic, it really was.

Reviewer: RandomReviewerDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69182Chapter: 1
This piece rocks my socks. This piece is so funny and cute. Kudos for making this entire "talk" about the birds and the bees so much better.

Reviewer: bladeDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68718Chapter: 1
lol holy god in heven i havent laughed sience i read that story abotu where harry adotps a kid

Reviewer: EmeraldDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68586Chapter: 1
Well, thats one way to put it. amusing, yes, but will someone *please* tell me why parent sfeel the need to even give 'the talk'? as if we don't already know!

Reviewer: MicheleDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68535Chapter: 1
absolutely hilarious!!

Reviewer: Crystal-SaffronDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66800Chapter: 1
LMAO....my friend sent me a link to this story and i just wanted to tell you how much i loved it...I LOVE IT! ..okay..it's been said..actually, it rates an astounding number 1 on the scale of 1-10 (1 being the best...obviously) on my rating meter..and i've read a whole HELL of stories..(i would say over 1,000..no exaggeration) so give ureselves a nice pat on the back! you deserve it!~Crystal

Reviewer: Slightly MollyfiedDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66365Chapter: 1
Oh that was wonderful - especially the Twins at the end - but how am I going to explain giggling every time I plug something in ??

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64329Chapter: 1
Oh my... I don't think I've ever laughed so hard at a fanfic in my life. I especially liked the part about letting "the outlet know how wonderful and beautiful it is." hahaha

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64163Chapter: 1
PS - sorry about the formatting in my previous comment. For some reason copy-and-paste does wierd things to the SQ review boards.

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64162Chapter: 1
*grin*
You obviously had fun with this!

Both Ron and Arthur sounded slightly off-voice to me at times – Arthur’s capitals and 'bent prongs' (?!!), and Ron… I don’t know. Perhaps it’s just that I’ve never imagined him talking to Arthur about sex, though his incredulity certainly came across very well.

I really liked your short sketch of the attitudes of the other Weasley boys, especially the offhand comment about Bill.

The best lines went to the twins, though. "Hey, did dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?"

As George says, it rather makes you re-evaluate Arthur’s fascination with plugs. I don’t think I’m ever going to read about that in quite the same light (erm, no pun intended) now.

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 63986Chapter: 1
Oh, my... This was the best laugh I've had in ages. I normally don't laugh at funny things I read, but this was just so hilarious there was no way I could stop. And George's comment... wonderful. Thank you so much for a wonderful laugh, I can't wait to show it to my husband...

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63813Chapter: 1
This was SO funny! I will never think about plugs and outlets the same way EVER again (which is kind of unfortunate considering Christmas is very close so lots of lights, which means plugs and outlets).

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63245Chapter: 1
very humorous!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63171Chapter: 1
That is truly, honestly, the funniest thing I have read in a while. :P I've been in a foul mood, because I have a rash all over my face caused by my Christmas tree (a Christmas tree, of all things :P), but this has really cheered me up. ^_^

There were too many lines I could quote here as my favourite, because it was all so fantastic! Plugs and outlets, LMAO... Kudos to your husband for that ;)

*hops off to read the next* ^^

-Jules. xxx

Reviewer: GenesisDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63138Chapter: 1
That was pure comedy!

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62969Chapter: 1
ohmigod!!!
so funny!
i luv it!
quills and ink bottles! plugs and outlets!
HA!

Reviewer: Sarah-AranelDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62899Chapter: 1
This story is awsome! I started dieing of hysterical laughter when Arthur went into his room to talk about plugs and outlets. That is such a cute idea!! I love it! Thank you, I'm going to use that one day. lol

</3 Sarah-Aranel

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62287Chapter: 1
My friends and I really got a kick out of this. We all agree that if our parents ever gave us a talk like that we would straight-out die! Thanks for the entertainment.

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61760Chapter: 1
omg you have to write about the other boys. that would just be too funny. with the twins just laughing at him. hehehe plugs. ehehehe please write other ones this is hilarous.

Reviewer: JoannaDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61652Chapter: 1
HOLY MOTHER OF GOD!! I.....CAN'T....STOP.....LAUGHING.........HAHAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAA!!!!!!!! Oh my God, that was so brilliant! I am DEFINATELY reading the others! You and your husband definately did a great job.

Reviewer: NaomiDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61364Chapter: 1
Haha! That was hilarious! You had me laughing the whole way through!Very nicely done, keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61353Chapter: 1
When Ron said that they'd had it at Hogwarts, Mr. Weasley wasn't the only one confused! Oh man, I haven't laughed so hard at a story in ages. I've got to tell people about this one, this was brilliant! (And it's nice to know I'm not the only one around here with a husband who helps out on fanfics -- go us!)

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59653Chapter: 1
this story had me laughing for nearly 15 minutes. it was really funny!!!!! and the one with ginny and her mom is funny too!!!

Reviewer: Artemisia BristolDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56915Chapter: 1
Ach mein Gott! I haven't laughed so hard since... since... Reading Bridget Jones's Diary. I think I had to wipe away tears every second paragraph.
Plugs and Outlets... A classic!

Reviewer: AndreaDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55500Chapter: 1
OMG this was halarious!!!! i was sittin here LMAO the whole time! This is GREAT!!! I can't get to quills and ink bottles though... :( Oh well. "Makes you reevaluate dad's fascination with plugs, doesn't it?" lol!!!!! This was BRILLIANT, no, brilliant beyond brillaint! I lvoed it! LOL!!!!!

Reviewer: The Ultimate OtakuDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52949Chapter: 1
HILARIOUS! Oh, that was so CUTE! What an original idea, lol, plugs and outlets as a comparison for sex. lol. Ron's reaction was fun, so very...Ron!
This story was, overall, fantabulous. I must go read the sequel!

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49019Chapter: 1
oh wow. i am actually phsically laughing myself to death.
and.. and fred and george OY
"Hey, did dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?" George said.
"It’s not polite to plug in and tell about it!" Fred said.
As they headed down the stairs, George couldn’t help but say, "Makes you reevaluate dad’s fascination with plugs, doesn’t it?"

oh. good. lord.
HAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA

Reviewer: AyumiDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46569Chapter: 1
OMG. I'm in a fit of hysterical laughter right now. You did a GREAT job! On to "Quills and Ink Bottles" :D

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46194Chapter: 1
"Makes you reevaluate dad’s fascination with plugs, doesn’t it?"

ROTFLMAO!!!!! VERY enjoyable!! Thankyou! :~D

Reviewer: rhode thomasDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45381Chapter: 1
i think that this was the most funniest thing that i ever read!

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43457Chapter: 1
Hilarious! I had to physically stop myself from laughing out loud, as I'm at work right now. "Bent prongs" ... LMAO!!

Reviewer: DOMINIQUEDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42874Chapter: 1
ITS FUNNY!HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA REAL FUNNY.

Reviewer: AquillaDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40095Chapter: 1
Oh my, thats really really wrong. In a laugh out loud squicky kinda way. I dont know HOW you got this past the Quills rigid censorship. Well done.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-06-18
Reviewid: 37402Chapter: 1
This has to be one of the funniest things I haver EVER read!!!! I also enjoyed "Quills and Ink Bottles" and "Quidditch, Anyone?" A very entertaining trilogy. Keep writting.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37303Chapter: 1
OHMIGOSH I SO LIKE-NO, LOVE YUR STORY PLEASE WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: KaeDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36542Chapter: 1
This is just so funny.

Reviewer: irisDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35541Chapter: 1
brilliant im reading the other one too. but it still was kinda scary. "Ron and Hermione…making electricity!" Ron stood up, "She is not an outlet!"

"Well, she’s not a plug!" Fred said.

Reviewer: irisDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35540Chapter: 1
kinda scary but really good

Reviewer: Darth YodaDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35207Chapter: 1
That was some of the funniest stuff I've ever read. Puts the innuendo in recent Bond films to shame.

"Ron and Hermione... making electricity!" Not yet, hopefully.

Reviewer: Hermione @ HeartDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31152Chapter: 1
This was TOO FUNNY! I nearly died! I'm off to read Quills and Ink Bottles, now. I love the madatory thing, that was hilarious.

Argh, you're good at these, aren't you?

Reviewer: ArabellaDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30999Chapter: 1
This is a fandom classic that I've heard about over and over but somehow have never read. I can't believe I never read it. It's freaking hysterical. "Hey, did dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?" George said

a;sdlfkja;slkfja
sdf;laksdfj
ALPHIE. a;lskjfas

Reviewer: Dawn ZabiniDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30436Chapter: 1
Oh my, I absolutely love it! Laughed my head off to say the least.
Alphie, you're brilliant! :aroo! (well, would be if it worked over here... ;) )

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30418Chapter: 1
OMG! I'm in stiches! That was so funny! Congrats to you and your husband on coming up with this idea. Brilliant stuff. I'm trying to stay calm because I'm in the school librabry. Well, I'm off to read the sequel ^_^

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29545Chapter: 1
Cute and funny!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --