The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 77

Reviewer: LoonyLoopyLisaDate: 2007-12-01
Reviewid: 150062Chapter: 7
"wait, basically everybody who is a guy and not Dumbledore"

After reading the stuff about Dumbledore being gay in canon this made me laugh out loud.

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149574Chapter: 20
Loved your depiction of various Snapes.

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149571Chapter: 5
Oh I like the entry on Dumbledore! You guys are SOOOOO funny!

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149570Chapter: 9
So funny! I liked the Hufflepuff entry.

Reviewer: ChachiDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131662Chapter: 1
Oh, I can not WAIT to see this; I just ordered Ms. Duanne's Guide off of Amazon and then I found this...

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129357Chapter: 1
Hi there! I'm kinda new to the whole fan fic thing but am a totally classified ADDITCT! To say I am obsessed doesn't even scratch the surface in fact! Hoping to read lots and lots of fab fics! ( and post my own if I'm feeling brave lol!)

Reviewer: SammishDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126366Chapter: 25
Every word rings true! Well done! Also, I got a serious laugh out of 'Forgive my temper, I am clinging to sanity by my fingernails' and the point where so-and-so was going to stick their head in the oven. Good stuff.

Reviewer: UchethegirlDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122001Chapter: 25
Oh wow, this thing is great. I'd read through for misspellings if they weren't intended, though. Otherwise, I'll be taking your advice if I ever decide to brave the world of Harry with my pen ;)

Reviewer: Fork of AngstDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118731Chapter: 20
Omg...This is so ****ing hilarious... The Snape section is my favourite. As I'm a compulsive reader of horrible SS/HG or SS/OC fics I found it SO TRUE. "Dumbledore will of course be allowed to twinkle his eyes at snape." That brought tears to my eyes...

Reviewer: KtataDate: 2005-03-01
Reviewid: 115219Chapter: 5
Fantastic...thing....Really bloody hysterical. My favorite part so far in reading it (I am only on 'D') is "Dresses are called robes in HPFH. They are also loose but clingy. We have no idea how this effect is achieved. Sorry."

Reviewer: AJ ArcherDate: 2004-12-26
Reviewid: 108620Chapter: 25
I've always found this extremely funny (wish there was more on slash, though) and can only hope that it might be updated to be OotP-canon. I'm especially curious to see what you two have to say about Blaise now we have his gender. ;)

Reviewer: gerardDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 108000Chapter: 7
rugi and gwena - I am sitting here in the lab late on a friday laughing hysterically at this classic piece of work. Excellent research - I nominate you both for PhD's )Potterania Havinggreat Distinction

Reviewer: CrazySexyCoolDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105887Chapter: 1
I've spent hours at a time reading this, and it never fails to make me laugh, since I am guilty of many of these cliches listed here. The humour is wonderful; dry, biting, and ironic, it's hilarious and yet undoubtably true. Thank you, benevolent tour guides, for giving tourists like me such a wonderful time.

Reviewer: Just Passing ThroughDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105250Chapter: 2
My goodness. I am so glad this exists. My life suddenly seems more colourful. I am a HUGE fan of Diana Wynne Jones' "Tough Guide To Fantasyland" Trilogy. This is more awesome then words can express. And I'm so glad you've done it in a serious and accurate manner. A lot of people would have seriously screwed it up.
Cheers

Reviewer: eruwenDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104040Chapter: 6
on another note on Eyes: You forgot to add "obsidian" to Snape's Eye colours... although I don't know whether the term is common in het-land :) I'm rather into slash, and there it's almost like Harry's "emerald green" *grins*

Reviewer: SayinShinigamiDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98511Chapter: 1
I know I can't exactly criticise about updating, since I havn't updated at FF.net in a long, long time. But will you be altering the "Guide" to take into accoout "Order of the Phoenix"? Especially in regards to Sirus and his character. So of the assumed stuff is completly wrong, especially being born poor. I was just curious, so please don't think of this as a flame of any kind.

Reviewer: bdDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95928Chapter: 1
hehe

Reviewer: lazywitchDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93933Chapter: 25
i am exausted and can't be bothered with capitals right now. still great job! i just finished reading the whole @#$%?*& thing and i loved it! m,y family wants me to get therapy because i am such a nerd but i still really enjoyed the whole shebang, a-z!congrats!

Reviewer: ligieaDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93224Chapter: 17
I'm so glad that someone thought this up. I think my favorite is the Hermione meets the Marauders cliche.

Even if you don't update (and I'm not expecting it at this point), I thought I would throw this in for whoever reads the reviews.

If there is a call for Ginny to ever produce a Patronus it will almost always take the form of Harry or (less often and without any reason, in my opinion) Sirius's Animagus form.

Reviewer: JadedLilthDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89672Chapter: 9
Hrm...this is funny at first, but I think I read too much and now any thought of fanfiction thoroughly depresses me...

Oh, and the comment about Ginny being compliant and shy or something in cannon doesn't really apply any more. In OotP it is generally agreed she was very fiesty.

Reviewer: ennui deMorteDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89143Chapter: 21
This is SO hillarious!! I came to this by a quote at FictionAlley: "Apparently when one falls down the stairs with a time turner, the steps will exert enough torque upon it to produce an angular velocity of approximately 3893.36 revolutions per second (This estimate is extremely conservative, exact calculations will be provided upon request)."

I, being a Mechanical Engineer, had to go and see where this quote had hailed from. Also, I would like to see the exact calculations ~ lol, I just had to ask!

This is all so funny!
"...the only form of mass transportation is a train that has Hogwarts as its sole destination. Perhaps this is why everyone eventually ends up at the school." ~ I read this and almost fell out of my chair! Why everyone ends up at the school ~ lol!

Or maybe they all end up there because there is a particularly dense concentration of gravity at Hogwarts that simply pulls all objects of signifigantly less mass: i.e. people, flying cars, misbegotten house elves, even trains, & Dark Lords aspiring to kill young protagonists; to Hogwarts. Dumbledore seems to be the only wizard capable of repeatedly escape the pull of Hogwarts, not including the persons encombered by the tragic title of DADA teacher.

Sorry, got into it a little too much. See, my inner engineer (and geek) emerges. This is great!

Reviewer: Solarius ScorchDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86121Chapter: 1
Ummm... Can we expect an update? Please...?

Reviewer: Louis BadalamentDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72980Chapter: 1
I loved this as much as I did the first time I read it! When are you going to update it so as to fir with Order Of The Phoenix data? I want to see what cliched things are done with Dolores Umbridge and Luna Lovegood!

Reviewer: FeledaDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71621Chapter: 25
Freakin' brilliant. I like to just read random parts if I'm in the mood for a good laugh, as it is most hilarious. I'm actually in the process of writing a fic with an OC, so it's rather helpful to have all of the cliches put out for me about them so I can avoid them.
I'd also like to congratulate you on being able to write so much, for all letters of hte alphabet, and on every character and every possible love interest that they might have. I know I never would have had the patience to do it all.
My sole suggestions are to add some stuff about Tom Riddle, sicne he does make an appearence now and then, and to update to include OotP characters, items, etc.
Once more, fantastic work!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 70010Chapter: 25
Very witty. Sarcastically crafted. Thank you for a revealing look into the world fanfiction authors have created for us. I have enjoyed the tour immensely.

Reviewer: Pseudie-LeeDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67151Chapter: 25
Oh, how WONDERFULLY entertaining! My GOODNESS but Harry Potter fans do like to stick to our well-worn cliches, don't we.... ^_^; I particularly lurved the attention given to the ways of .... "eradicating that pesky Weasley boy ... no, not that one, the YOUNGEST one...!" because, well, it's just not fair when you go and get rid of Ron! As to the loose-and-yet-clingy robes, might I suggest that on top of every other scientific anomaly, Hogwarts has a massive static charge? I mean, certainly, Scotland WOULD tend toward the somewhat soggy, and therefore not prone to static electricity, but maybe it's a combination of the cats that are alleged to exist there, (pets ... given the state of Platform 9 3/4, why aren't there more pets running about the place at any given moment? is it a right only afforded to Crookshanks, Trevor, and the Animal Formerly Known As Scabbers? I digress...), and the strange appearance of the Idaho-an accents ... Idaho is relatively dry.... Just a thought. (I would assume, based on the idea's LACK of inclusion in your Guide, that it has yet to become a fanon staple that Blaise Zabini is in fact neither solely male nor female, and is actually physically BOTH, and, alongside a sordid Harry/Draco romance, must choose a gender while taking into account his/her burning and angst-ridden feelings for Draco, and it's just MY friends who are taking the strangness of HP fanfiction to whole, somewhat worrying new levels.) (I *swear* I didn't just make that up.) I also, on a final note, wondered how you came up with your number for the revolutions/second for the Time Turner. I, for the sake of calculation, sent Hermione on a 4 second fall, (we're trying to mildly concuss her, not kill her, after all), which sent her back 24 years ... I came up with 52,596 revolutions/second (which might be wrong, given that 7 by 4 briefly became 27 sometime in there), and I was just curious as to what numbers you used. ^_^ Call me an incurable geek if you will. Excellent, splended job on the Guide, once again.

Reviewer: SheilaDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64356Chapter: 3
Whenever I need a really good laugh, I always read this; it's amazing. It would be totally cool; however, if you would create an entry for the convenient and ubiquitous broom cupbords.

Reviewer: drkangelserenaDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60058Chapter: 1
This is so great. Very funny, thought-out, and just clever. My favorite is "Dresses are called robes in HPFH. They are also loose but clingy. We have no idea how this effect is achieved. Sorry." hehe. How are they both loose and clingy? Hmmm...

Reviewer: VesicaDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58602Chapter: 1
Fabulous! You all have done a marvelous job. Just wanted to add two observations of my own.

The Great Hall – I was disappointed not to see this one with its own entry. While one would assume that the Great Hall exists for the purpose of providing a place for students to eat, eating is, at best, a marginal activity. The Great Hall seems to exist for four main reasons:

1) To provide a public forum for plot points that must be witnessed by other houses or staff. The Great Hall has proved to be a favorite place to argue, fight, snog, stare at or shun people.
2) To provide Potterians with a place to make a dramatic exit from. They are regularly seen running from the room in embarrassment/anger/grief often followed by their potential love interest or true friends.
3) To allow Potterians to make a dramatic outward shows of their inner turmoil by not eating or doing any of the things listed in 2 and 3.
4) To provide an ideal setting to spy on other houses while engaging in angsty inner monologues about Noble Slytherians, Glory Grabbing Gryphs or Tempting staff members. The Great Hall is shielded with some sort of special magic wherein only a love intrest or true friend will notice you staring endlessly at another table.

As for Narcissa, in her ‘Battered Bride’ incarnation she often is given an endearing nickname such as ‘Cissa’ or, more rarely, ‘Narci’.

Reviewer: nitaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57013Chapter: 1
hi every one iam emma

Reviewer: Emmeline of MoriaDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52277Chapter: 1
Oh.
My.
God.
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOO FUNNY! I LAUGHED MY HEAD OFF!
I have always been making fun of all the clichés in HP- I'm writing a story that kind of makes fun of it, where Hermione, Ron, Ginny, and Harry all find fanfiction and go mad because it is so crazy.......BUT YOURS IS WAYY BETTER AT POINTING OUT ALL THE WEIRD STUFF! Wonderful job!

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50685Chapter: 25
first.
wow. its amazing how pathetic you guys are to have come up with this whole long thing.
second.
wow. its amazing how pathetic i am for readin the whole long thing.
third.
wow. its amazing how cool i really thought it was.
good job.

Reviewer: cbDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50683Chapter: 20
::Swish Flick:: Condomoni!
i just had to throw a pillow over my face to keep from wakign anyone with my laughing
Never mention wands while in the act or immediately afterwards unless you want to provoke rather juvenile laughter or atrocious double entendres.
ditto that

Reviewer: cbDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50659Chapter: 9
You will have to perform this minor form of housebreaking after you have gotten lost or separated from your professor in the Forbidden Forest during a detention. If you have been caught in a blizzard, you will also have to borrow one or two of his huge shirts. And have to get into a small tussle with your future love over who and how many will be sleeping in his enormous bed
ALLL OF THAT IS COMPLETELY TAKEN FROM NOT AS A LAST RESORT!!! SHOW ME ANOTHER FIC WHERE PEOPLE RUN OFF TO SNOG IN HAGRIDS HUT AND FIGHT OVER THE BED!!!

Reviewer: cbDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50633Chapter: 8
but, gasp, you have forgotten the most important *cough* ginny:
FANON GINNY. You know the one – that titian-tressed, ivory-skinned, freckle-free, True Seer, Wielder of Untold Magical Powers, Feisty Redhead! The sassy spitfire with the cayenne/cinnamon/paprika mane of cascading waves who pines for her hero, Harry the Magnificent.
perhaps this falls under ginny-who-has-come-into-her-own, but i dunno.

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50631Chapter: 5
Dresses are called robes in HPFH. They are also loose but clingy. We have no idea how this effect is achieved. Sorry
HAHAHAHA

Reviewer: FeroniaDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48440Chapter: 25
I just love this! I couldn't say what part is my favorite, because I laughed at so much. The "tourist" theme makes it even funnier. And not only that, but it alerts fanfiction writers to the worst possibilities for cliches, not that we always feel obligated to change... ") This was really enjoyable.

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42358Chapter: 1
This is just as hilarious as Diana Wynne Jones' original!

Reviewer: ElliottDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41878Chapter: 13
Lily Evans’s name can also sometimes be pronounced "Mary Sue" or "Hermione Granger" and thus she presents us with a challenge.

*SNICKER* *LAUGH HYSTERICALLY*

Very good, very VERY good! Update it for Pheonix soon!

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31515Chapter: 5
I've been reading a lot of H/G lately, and it occurred to me that a relatively new but already nearly-cliched piece of H/G involves *dreams*. Harry and Ginny dream the same, or joint, dreams which involve Voldemort and may lead to his downfall. These dreams bring Harry and Ginny closer together, often by *cathartic talks*, *helping each other use the Pensieve*, or *[whichever one's] voice easing the pain of the dream*. Just thought if you ever update the Tough Guide you might want to expand your dreams section to include this new tour segment. (P.S. I adore the Guide--in original and Harry Potter versions. This is a great work and must have been a lot harder than it looks--cross-referencing and writing a new entry for everything that you found needing information in an old entry. Thank you much for the tongue-in-cheek look at fandom cliches.)

Reviewer: WerepupDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24621Chapter: 25
Wow that rocked. You guys kick butt!

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23739Chapter: 7
I have a suggested addition under "F": Could you give us an explanation of how FAWKES seems to go through his burning and rebirth every other time someone is in Dumbledore's office? For a mythical creature that's only supposed to be reborn every 100 years, he seems to have an alarmingly quick life cycle.

You two are geniuses!! Thanks for many hours of hilarity.

Reviewer: BBennettDate: 2003-03-09
Reviewid: 23455Chapter: 19
This is just the most bloody brilliant thing I've ever read. You two are geniuses.

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20576Chapter: 11
Ooh, ooh - I started at both ends of the alphabet and worked my way to the middle.... You are both geniuses (genii??), and I thank you from my heart for many hours of tear-wiping hilarity. My husband thinks I'm losing it, but then, he's a Muggle, so what does he know??

xo Gracie

Reviewer: MeenaksDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19990Chapter: 25
The entire tour guide was a fun riot from A to Z.. I was so amazed by the style and brilliance in the writing.. Great work.. Keep it up..

Reviewer: LaraDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18696Chapter: 1
I really, really liked this - even if I'm guilty of many of the charges presented;). Anyway, I wanted to ask - is this a work in progress? There are a few entries I'd like to suggest...

Reviewer: annie penroseDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15605Chapter: 9
pah-ha-ha-ha-ha!!! (wipes her streaming eyes). this is a hoot!

Reviewer: NemesisDate: 2002-12-24
Reviewid: 13859Chapter: 25
*giggles* Very amusing. I liked the overall snarky tone to this--I've always loved satire. One little gripe, though--you left out Riddlefics entirely. Maybe it's not a big enough genre to cover, but still, as a Riddle fan, I was (slightly) disappointed.

Good job, at any rate. =)

Reviewer: LorDate: 2002-12-22
Reviewid: 13598Chapter: 1
This was an amazing work of writing. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: juniperDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13294Chapter: 25
This is totally brilliant.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11689Chapter: 1
Wow, you have done a thorough job, covering all the conventions and cliches of HP fan fiction. Thank you for your hard work.

I have found the "Tough Guide" an invaluable resource. I don't like the HP Mary Sue Litmus test or find it useful, but the "Tough Guide" is a goldmine for HP fanfic writers, IMO. I'm in process of writing my own HP fanfic and I've been checking it against the "Tough Guide" to make sure I don't include *too many* of the HP fandom cliches. I know there are a limited number of ideas, and some cliches just can't be helped, but if I think I'm being oh, so original and then check in the "Tough Guide" I might find my idea has been used a gajillion times before.

I have been recommending the "Tough Guide" to fellow writers who want to create good OC's and avoid writing the same old, same old, in their fics. It's so useful! And written with a sense of humor and a light touch.

Reviewer: LaihirielDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10227Chapter: 20
You forgot an entry: Plot Continuum, aka Canon: Tour guides are frequently known to ignore this, as they think it is a misspelling of a weapon. They instead create Mary Sue characters to be involved with/ mentor/ mess with a canon character, thereby making that canon character completely OOC.

Reviewer: KelDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7742Chapter: 25
Really great, I read pretty much the whole thing thru, with my mum moanin over my shoulder. The problem is, it makes every fanfic i've ever read seem so terribly cliched.

Kel

Reviewer: flightychickDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6230Chapter: 25
hahaha - I haven't laughed so much in a looong time. Thanks for all the effort!

Reviewer: the dictionaryDate: 2002-10-11
Reviewid: 6003Chapter: 2
My sole purpose in the fanfic world is to read people's stories and correct their slight, unintentional errors. Yours? Sirius Black was not the first person ever to escape from Azkaban; it says so in Book 3, but in Book 4 we learn Bartemius Crouch Jr. is actually the first. Or maybe he doesn't count because he was smuggled?

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2002-10-09
Reviewid: 5804Chapter: 1
This is really cute! And hilarious of course. I think I must've missed several of these stories, though. Thank God...

Reviewer: CarolineDate: 2002-09-29
Reviewid: 4953Chapter: 3
Arithmancy is a method of fortune telling using numbers

Reviewer: Anna McKayDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4869Chapter: 7
You wrote:

This may also contribute to the inspiration for the multitudinous slash regions. See Severus Snape, Sirius Black, Remus Lupin, Harry Potter (wait, basically everybody who is a guy and not Dumbledore)

Sorry to say, as an avid slash fan, Dumbledore often gets slashed with (you've guessed it) Snape. Sorry. Snape/Everyone is definitely good (& quite accurate) tho.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4509Chapter: 6
This is hilarious, really, I would just like to say that I find "sleepy" eyes incredibly sexy. :D

Reviewer: Rugi Replying to LiseDate: 2002-09-16
Reviewid: 4035Chapter: 19
Again I don't know if you will read this but ...

Remus/Sirius has its own entry under "R"

We have never been fully satisfied with our slash entries and have been researching with an idea of expanding the entry later. That said, it would be impossible for us to cover every single possible (or even popular) slash relationship. The result would be as long as the rest of the Guide! We included the chart to show all of the possible relationships. The ones we did write about were meant to be a sampling of the popular slash fics. We did not aspire to completeness. Hopefully we will eventually be able to finish the slash section and make it like we'd want.

Reviewer: lise the magnificentDate: 2002-09-13
Reviewid: 3837Chapter: 20
Just read your slash entry. i know you said you weren't too familiar with the concept, so giving my input:
you missed a couple of relationships including
seamus/dean
draco/ron
snape/lucius malfoy
gred/forge (also known as twincest, which is a whole entry in itself)
justin f.f./draco (i've only seen one story with this, but it was very well done)

also, you didn't include a written entry on remus/sirius, who are probably the most well liked and legitimate of slash couples. i would highly advise including one

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3553Chapter: 1
After reading some of the other comments, particularly the slash stuff, thought you'd find this tidbit interesting as this bit of slash does not appear on the SQ but on other HPfanfic websites. Apparently Draco Malfoy does not limit his affections to Pansy/Harry/Hermione/Ginny but also threesomes with Crabbe/Goyle, house elves, garden gnomes, ghosts, hippogriffs, and even Hedwig and Crookshanks. I guess this gets filed under orgies? BTW I also loved the REmus descriptions and the Lord Voldermort one and the orgy one. I think I missed *those* stories on this site!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3552Chapter: 1
Oh my goddess!!! This is too funny (and very embarassing/eye-opening!). I'm new to the SQ and haven't made it through all the fics (particularly the post-Hogwarts ones) but I am amazed at your uncanny ability to pick up on threads and themes I was unaware of and planning for some of my potential fics (Snape with a female beginning with the letter A is particularly creepy, are you sure you two aren't seers? :) ) All in all this guide is fantastic fun, you guys have a fantastic grasp of satirical writing. Reading the entire guide took away an hour from studying for my comprehensive exams (grad school OWLs) butit was time well spent!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3532Chapter: 25
Glad I finally finished. Very exciting work here...I'm definitely bookmarking this. :-)

I have a suggestion for an entry...how about Lupercalia? That's generally regarded as the werewolf (gay or straight) mating holiday, held on February 15. This is often Remus/Sirius's anniversary, and a source of much angsting on behalf of both of them, particularly Remus. Sometimes Remus has to find a mate by Lupercalia when he's sixteen or something like that. No one knows about Lupercalia except for Remus, who refuses to acknowledge it, and Lily, who is the resident lycanthropy expert.

And while we're at it, how about including Angst as a definition? Each character does plenty of it - it's right up there with Worry and the ever-popular Guilt. If you're in love, out of love, worried, doomed, guilty, jealous, being tracked by Death Eaters, avoiding or joining Voldemort, or basically breathing, you're Angsty.

Just some suggestions. Could you please email me if you decide to use them? And thanks again for writing such a funny piece. I'm going to reccommend this to all my pals...:-)

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3531Chapter: 20
OMG, and I thought your Remus descriptions were funny...I laughed *so* hard at Sirius's entry, because it's so TRUE! Forgive My Temper..., I Can't Put My Head In The Oven... (evacuate his brain, ha!), and I'm So Fun-Loving That I'm A Danger... were hilarious!

Thanks also for including the section on slash, that was helpful. (I feel stupid after my last comment now...) But I'd still like to see a little more; I understand, however, that you have to read up on them.

Your Severus Snape and Slytherin definitions were also right on. Death Eater Youth League, indeed. And the Just End It All Potion - oh, you two are funny!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3530Chapter: 19
I'm so glad you included Remus/Sirius in here...you're right, they are a pretty believable couple. Although, just for the sake of having a complete guide, you should probably include Harry/Draco as well - not that I'm all for that, but some people are.

I *LOVED* your many faces of Remus Lupin! Remus the Confessor and Excuse Me I Must...Oven were my favorites - they had me absolutely laughing out loud. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-09-07
Reviewid: 3483Chapter: 7
Fainting...loved the definition. This is fantastic! I'm going to keep reading, of course, so it's on to G now...

Reviewer: Reply to DramaQueenDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3307Chapter: 1
Although we have not exactly planned a sequel, Rugi and I will update the guide as new trends emerge. We are adding new entries as they occur to us. We will probably do a major update after book five is published.

Reviewer: DramaQueenDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2438Chapter: 25
This is rich! I love it! Will you be making a sequel? ;)

Reviewer: Rugi's reply to MouseDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2304Chapter: 20
Don't know if you'll read this but...

To tell you the truth we have been unsatisfied with the slash section for a long time. Gwena has actually begun research of select slash relationships so we can include them in the Guide like we included the het pairings (instead of in the section labled slash). I am probably going to write one of the pairings and a few of the words we missed in the first go.

As to Lucius Malfoy and Twincest ... the pairings that will be covered are the one's which Gwena and I are willing to read extensively. We don't want to put anything into the Guide that we haven't researched at least at the minimum level. The slash chart is intended to show all of the possible and likely slash relationships. But do to our own tastes, limited free time, and squick factors some of them won't be covered.

Regarding the entries on LM and MF they are there because both characters are used heavily as minor characters in the stories we have covered. We may add a section on Incest in which case Malfoy's proclivities will be touched on. Right now it is all a question of time and inclination.

Reviewer: MouseDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2260Chapter: 20
I loved this since you were at 'H' on ff.net. I'm glad you added the Slash section as I only read het if the plot is really, really good.
About the table though;
1) What's the point of adding Lucius Malfoy and Marcus Flint if you're not going to fill them in ?
FYI Lucius is usually paired with Snape , they started their relationship (which is usually based purely on sex) while they were both at school, lucius is usually the dominant one, often bordering on or actually abusive.
If we fastforward to the HP era, they are either in a kind of kinky on/off relationship or Snape is tortured by memories at Lucius'hands and has to be healed by his current lover (usuallly Harry).
I haven't to my recollection actually read any slash involving Marcus Flint, unless you count a brief mention as one of Draco's exes, but that honour usually goes to Boy!Blaise.
2)Common if squicky pairing is Lucius/Draco, usually abusive, always sick, they usually start when Draco's very young, they make a good background for Hp/DM as Harry can help Draco overcome his horrible experiences.
3)Twincest also a common background pairing, they are often hinted at in the background of slash fics, often treated as a single unit they are usually paired with an experimenting Harry, or ofcourse with each other. They are a dark family secret that Ron and his family try to keep under wraps. I wonder why their mother even lets them sleep in the same house let alone share a room.;)
Lee Jordan is often coupled with them as well in which case he becomes like the third twin helping them in their prank bussiness.
4)Which reminds me Lee Jordan/Dean Thomas, often a secondary pairing they are long time bestfriends but unaware of their true love for each other, usually a kind of fluffy Ron/Harry scenario. If they are together at the beginning of the fic they just hang around and kiss/ have sex a lot , while rolling their eyes at how dense Harry is being about his own obvious homosexuality.

*Oof*
Did I go overboard here or what ?

Reviewer: IzzyDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2103Chapter: 22
Still wandering from entry to entry. Had to stop twice while reading the underwear entry because I was laughing so hard.

Reviewer: IzzyDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2093Chapter: 19
I've been reading entries at random all day, and it was while reading about EMIMGHaSMHitO Remus that I finally feel off my chair laughing.

Reviewer: margaretDate: 2002-08-07
Reviewid: 1293Chapter: 5
omg.i loved this...it was so intresting...i am so goin to save it to my favorites list and e-mail it to my fello harry potter fans, because i know they are going to find it as amusingas i did...

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 841Chapter: 25
This was so funny and great and true! I laughed out loud (to the utter confusion of my family, but they are fairly used to those sort of outbursts by now). I just wanted you to know that your efforts were greatly appreciated.

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 107Chapter: 1
LOL! Oh, I love the introduction! What a very clever parody!

Reviewer: Jello InkDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 105Chapter: 11
About the bit jumper entry: There are many reasons to assume HP is in Britain. For one, that's where King Cross station is, (I'm pretty sure that's where Platform 9 and 3/4 is...if not ignore my ramblings, I've been misinformed), and most Quidditch teams mentioned, including the Chudley Cannons, are based out of real British towns. The Holyhead Harpies would be somewhere near Wales and so on. (Source: http://www.i2k.com/~svderark/lexicon/q_teams_britain.html#Holyhead) People who say it's in Scotland are crazy! CRAZY! Okay..trailing off into mad ramblings. Plus the 'prat', 'git', 'bloody', 'ruddy', 'barking' etc are dead giveaways. :D

By the by, your dictionary of sorts is my fanfic Bible. Good work! Sorry for the nitpicking, but I just think people who assume it's Scotland are nutters, no offense to them. Knee jerk reaction. :D

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --