The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 119

Reviewer: bookishDate: 2008-09-30
Reviewid: 151134Chapter: 2
I've really enjoyed reading Hermione's POV from PS/SS. Very interesting insights. Thank you for writing it and sharing it with us.

Reviewer: funkyturtleDate: 2007-07-16
Reviewid: 148577Chapter: 2
I think it's GREAT1!!!!!!!!!!! I love chapter 1 AND 2 I just hope there's gonna be a 3!!!!!

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146300Chapter: 2
this was very good - thanks

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-24
Reviewid: 143670Chapter: 2
Oh My God. I loved the story!!!!!!!! The way that you wrote it...wow. Even though I never what was coming seeing as I've read the books so many times, (if you can believe this) I still didn't know what was coming. Anf for the girl that couldn't wait of year 5, tell her that I've been thinking to myself since I finished year next "You will I live untill year 7!?"

~lily4james4ever

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143652Chapter: 1
Oh my God!!!!! I loved the first chapter so far. It's so interesting. I always wondered who and/or what Hermione talked to before she becaom really close with Ginny, and this gives me the answer. It's such a good story!!!!

Reviewer: DeviStarreDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142979Chapter: 2
"The thing is, though, I can do the curse, too. And I'm the only one of us who's bothered to learn the counter-curse. So right now, Ron's bunny-hopping all around downstairs, because I refuse to unlock him.

Ha, ha, ha. 'Bye."

I should tell you- that set me off laughing for about 15 minutes.
Maybe that tells you how brillent the whole thing was.
But if not, I'll tell you:

THIS WAS BLOODY BRILLENT!!!!!!!!
~D

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-03-28
Reviewid: 141412Chapter: 2
Wow!! i read this story two years ago and now I read it again and I was enchanted in Hermiones descriptions once again by your wonderfull way of describing her fealings...
well I am going to stop now, but im sure that if i look back to 2004 I will find a comment by me, lol
bye..
Pheonux Feathers

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134907Chapter: 2
I love this story. Its cool to kind of get to explore Hermiones mind.

Reviewer: pamelaDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132901Chapter: 1
as a R/H person i like the end part alot ;)

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131972Chapter: 2
I loved this. Hermione is wonderful, and Gwen ROX. I especially loved the parts with Ron and Hermione tipsy on that potion saying he was nice looking, lol. Great stuff!

Reviewer: jennyDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131863Chapter: 1
It was GREAT! I loved it! Now I'm off to read the next chapter. (:

Reviewer: alannaDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130447Chapter: 2
I just wanted to congratulate you on this. After reading some of your R/Hr and H/G fic, I really enjoyed this simple yet highly effective diary. It's hard to believe thise was your first ever fanfic project! I'm very impressed. ;) Congrats and thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129773Chapter: 2
I love how Hermione thinks. She is so much like me! I am too smart for my own good, am a goody-two-shoes(unless it really counts), and I am always reading, wanting to know everything. I love the entry on June 4th. It made me smile so much I was going to burst out laughing, which was weird, I have to admit.
Everything blended perfectly with the book. I love seeing things from Hermione's point of veiw. Gwen is a great character. I'm rambling.
(I imagine figuring out the dates must have been really tough.....)
Lizzybeth

Reviewer: magicdustqDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128525Chapter: 2
That was long!but very good!

Reviewer: HenriettaDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127423Chapter: 1
This was a great chapter, I love this fic. I really like seeing stories I already know from Hermione's perspective - very creative. And I can even see the R/H romance budding, so it's really cute and funny to read. Thanks for this awesome fic. I'm off to read the next chapter now!

Reviewer: RochelleDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124982Chapter: 2
That was amazing...you did a really good job! I give it a ten out of ten or 5 stars out of 5 lol....keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123147Chapter: 2
Outstanding. But Im sure that you already knew that.

Reviewer: SashianaDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118654Chapter: 2
Oh my God this was a brilliant idea. I think even JK rowling would give you complements on this.

Reviewer: SherriDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117149Chapter: 2
Yowsa! This is incredible. Honestly, when I finished the entry for Febuary 14th I was howling with laughter! Well done!

Reviewer: FionaDate: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112679Chapter: 2
I am quite impressed by your style of writing; well done, easy to read... on the whole, I enjoyed reading this story. Gwen is a brilliant addition to Harry Potter epic. I really enjoy seeing Hermione correspond with another female. My only criticism is that it really does read a bit too much like the book. My favorite parts were the private moments, the internal thoughts. As a story written from her perspective, one could have wished for a slightly different angle. Also, perhaps Gwen could have a bit more to say? Personally, I feel that Hermione could really do with a female influence that's stronger than "Oh dear." I think you're on the right track, though, and I am looking forward to reading the other stories in this series. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112645Chapter: 2
I love Hermione, and I thought this was wonderful. Very-very-very Hermione-like.

And the Ron bit... "Don't you think Ron is rather good-looking?"

*rolls on floor, laughing her head off*

And it begins :):):):)

Reviewer: anonDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112052Chapter: 2
awwwwwww! so cute!

Reviewer: MarthaDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110431Chapter: 1
Fantastic. I enjoyed reading every word!

Reviewer: LizaDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109438Chapter: 1
Hi, Is Liza, i just think this web site is great, very complete, is just perfect, i always try to learn a lot about alternative medicine
<a href="http://www.11-11dxcc.com/">Liza Murey's Personal Homepage </a>

Reviewer: MadoldmrsfiggDate: 2004-12-25
Reviewid: 108605Chapter: 2
Sigh. I've read this again for the... what, seventh or eighth time?... and it's still amazing. I love the entire HQoW series... just absolutely-god-damn-amazing. And Ron Rants, too. You, Arabella, are awe-worthy. I can honestly say that sometimes I really confuse myself and think that this is real canon, like, sometimes when I read the books I think, "ooh, Hermione told Gwen all about that in great detail!" As if it's real! Hope you do fifth year, I really do. That would be brilliant, definately a fic to memorise. ;D

Just wanted to say thank you, for writing the characters so PERfectly. The little out-takes with Ron... oh, you make me love Harry Potter even more.

Thank you, Arabella, Queen of Fanfiction!!!

Reviewer: Sabina JohnDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108213Chapter: 1
You have an outstanding and fascinating site.
Keep it up!
<a href="http://www.mac-pharma-network.com">MAC Pharma Network </a>

Reviewer: *Date: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 107951Chapter: 2
*

Reviewer: ConnorDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107907Chapter: 2
I think this is the best fanfiction, i've read right through so far. some comments were a little off though. as in, during the forest detention, neville said "malfoy and I." this is not the language he would have used. he would have said "me and malfoy" . My favorite part, was when hermione met all of guinevere's friends. I am happily anticipating reading the third one and reading what gwen will say about griffindor winning the quidditch world cup.

Reviewer: someoneDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107145Chapter: 1
Don't narrate everything that happened in the first book. This story is rather boring, to be honest with you.

Reviewer: Kourtni NolastnameDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106345Chapter: 1
I love it!this is really unique!could you do this for harry?or even ron(though i doupt he would write in a journal,harry maybe,but ron.......)

Reviewer: Devonny StraussDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106231Chapter: 1
I have to say I'm really amazed! A lot of Harry Potter fanfics are fun to read and all, but this is serious WRITING. Awesome job!! You really capture the spirit and attitude of Hermione in every aspect, even in parts you invent, which is pretty hard to do. I have a heck of a lot of respect for ya-- pretty much re-doing the book in Hermione's point of view and doing it WELL is certainly not an easy feat. You're an inspiration-- I'm off to start my own fanfic now! :P Ciao

Reviewer: Hermy rox my stolen soxDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104087Chapter: 2
hi.
wow. I've alredy read all of the HQoW years, but I decided to reread it all. I was shocked at how little chapters there are. after all, year 4 has, if i remember correctly, about 30 chapters. oh well. I love this story. well, I'm off to Hermy's 2nd year at Hogwarts.
- Hermy rox my stolen sox

Reviewer: MalloryDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103342Chapter: 2
I've become a big fan of your stories ever since I read After the End...so I was searching your stories and found this one. Its great! Hermone is one of my favorite characters and I love to see it from her point of veiw! And I love Gwen! To bad dairys aren't like her.

Reviewer: Aries LoverDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102568Chapter: 1
I loved it! Its soooo cool! Its like Hermione really did write it. Now, sereosly, u didn't steal it from her did u? No, no, i know, Hermiones your best muggle friend-im so smart, hee hee!
Its wonderfull. I cant wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: Jim SharpDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100654Chapter: 1
Love the story. I'm sure others have pointed out that "Double Potions" is during the second year. I'm glad to find out where Hermoine's diary came from. It was mentioned once in "After the End", and never again.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95669Chapter: 2
I honestly think I would write SO MUCH MORE if I had a diary like Gwen... I'm jealous!

Reviewer: Janel NiedifferDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94797Chapter: 1
love your explanation of how Hermione's diary operates!!!!! wish there was more!

Reviewer: PazaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93672Chapter: 2
Wow, that was so lovely! Took a few good hours to read, but I saw there are more! I can't wait to read them, too! Gwen is brilliant! Wonderful job! -worships you-
Please, keep it up!

Reviewer: MattDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93329Chapter: 2
I've been looking for a Hermione Granger and the Sorcerer's Stone for a long time now, and I'm glad that I finally did! This story was so good I couldn't stop reading, and stayed inside all day to do so. I love how you made the diary able to speak back to Hermione, similar to Ginny's in the Chamber of Secrets. Are there any more? I hope so, I'll go check. Great job!!!!

Reviewer: SeanDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92064Chapter: 1
I love Hermonine Queen of Wiches, I have not finnshed it yet, bye got to get back to reading it. Sinceraly SLotD
Sean Lord of the Dragons

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91677Chapter: 2
oh, Arabella, i loved it! i had mixed emotions through the whole thing and i simply COULD NOT stop reading it! my favorite was when Hermione woke up Ron from his concussion: "The Chudley Cannons are the worst team in history! Quidditch is a losers' sport! I hope the Cannons all crash! What a bunch of stupid prats! Down with the Chudley Cannons!" i laughed for five minutes at that! perfectly written! i'm now off to read the rest of the diaries! excellent job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: Lady LilacDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91084Chapter: 1
Superb! It really seemed to be things that H QoW would write to such a magical diary. I could not pull myself away from reading it all at once.
What a treat ! Thank you for such a wonderful "contact" with Miss Granger.

Reviewer: JKDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87963Chapter: 2
I love Hermione's reaction to Ron's chess ability.

It's a nice touch having Gwen know Hermione's timetable! She's so great - cheeky, intelligent, perceptive - and she suits Hermione's personality well, knowning when to tell her to calm down (like about the chess) and when to encourage her (like about Flamel).

Oh, Hermione! Stressing about the exams already! Part of what I love about Hermione is that when it comes to schoolwork, she's like me, magnified several times. As I'm currently feeling the exam stress and reading in study breaks, that struck a chord with me. I also really liked the little touch of having Neville love his study timetable.

I almost cried at the description of the dead unicorn. It was a very poignant moment.

"He said "Up!" and the broom shot right past his hand!" LOL! I love that!

The Unimaginable Potion was an excellent idea, and Hermione's disorientation was really well done.

"I suppose 'attack birds' are just as likely as flying keys. Go on." Gwen has such a great sense of humour!

The end was really well done, with the different entries reflecting the different emotions Hermione must have felt. Great work.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: a dDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87502Chapter: 1
I really loved the diary. It was great. I especially loved the fact that you get to meet a whole new different Hermione. Are you going to make a fifth diary? You should make a diary on a different character. Maybe Ron or even Professor Dumbledore.
How did you come up with the name Gwen for the diary?

Best wishes
a d

Reviewer: JenniferLupinDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87353Chapter: 1
Arabella,
I think this must be the third or fourth time that I've read HQoW, Book One and of course I love it as much as I did then. I just wanted to thank you for writing this story; it was exactly what I needed just now. I've been a bit sour on fandom lately, what with shipping wars and dissension about the latest movie (which I loved, so all the talk depressed me), and I just needed some time with canon, but not the books themselves. I needed canon fic, so I came right here to read this story. It's truly wonderful. Hermione is so very in character and it makes me love her even more than I do now. It's great to be able to read the story from one of the different players in the events. And I have to say, it still packs the emotional punch that the first one did. I was crying all over myself by the end of it.

Anyway, I just wanted to say thank you and I'm off to read Book Two!

JenniferLupin

Reviewer: C-chanDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86959Chapter: 2
I hate you with every fiber of my being, for you have this amazing ability. It's not fair, because I can't write half as well as you can.

Anyway, back to the cheerful mood. ^_^

^_^ The very first line of this chapter, and you made me laugh. But I decided to wait until I was done for the review. It was so hard, though, because I wanted to praise you so much. Thank you. Thank you. THANK YOU. You have given me the BEST laugh I have had in a long time. The part where Hermione was trying to wake up Ron.

"The Chudley Cannons are the worst team in history! Quidditch is a losers' sport! I hope the Cannons all crash! What a bunch of stupid prats! Down with the Chudley Cannons!"

^_^ Ah, I can just seem him waking up to that! She'd be a wonderful alarm clock.

And YOU are lucky. When I finished book four, I had never even HEARD of fanfiction! *blinks* Or maybe I had, but I was a moron, and didn't think of any kind of fanfiction except for anime. So I had nothing to help me.

You lucky, lucky person.

Reviewer: C-chanDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86948Chapter: 1
Ye Gods, you are talented. I have laughed more tonight than I have for a while. Normally, when I see something funny in a a fanfic, I dissolve into silent laughter. You see, I used to be nocturnal, so I had to make sure I didn't wake anyone up. So silent laughter (if that makes sense) became a habit.

Not today. I haven't even finished reading this fic yet. I just opened a new window and scrolled down to the bottom so I could write my review then and there.

*blinks* Anyway, the thing that made me laugh the hardest (so far)?

"I knocked over a mess of people on the way, including Prof. Quirrell, who I smacked right into the next row. (Normally that would really bother me, you know, practically attacking a teacher, but I didn't have time to care, as Harry was being killed just then. I doubt Quirrell noticed anyway)"

*giggles* Yeah, I'm sure he didn't notice at ALL. ^_^

*reads more* forget that line. THIS is much better:

"that evil-that foul-that b... (Well, I won't say it. Ron does though.)"

^_^ I'm not quite sure why, but that amuses me greatly.

I'm just gonna submit now, or else I'll copy and paste every line I like. Which, actually, is how I normally do reviews on fanfiction.net. But for once, I want to just sit here and enjoy the fic.

Anyway, Good work!

Reviewer: JKDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86356Chapter: 1
"Being smart doesn't count for much at Muggle schools. People just make fun of you- like that awful Susie and her whole gang. Mum and Dad always said she was just jealous, but she wasn't. She was pretty and popular, and I was... nothing to be jealous about."

"-and I'm supposed to be in History of Magic right now, but I just couldn't face them all. Especially Ron, after all he said. Why does he hate me so much? Is it so bad to follow rules and do well in school? Why does it always make me so- so lonely?"

These two passages capture wonderfully what it's like to be an intelligent person in a peer group that doesn't value intelligence. I identify really well with your Hermione, because I had similar experiences throughout school. That's a part of being Hermione that not enough people think about in fanfic.

I love Hermione. She's so well-characterised, especially when she gets mad at Gwen for not answering when she didn't give her time to. That shows really well that incredibly smart people don't always have the best common sense.

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85419Chapter: 2
Arabella,

Well, I love this one just as much! If possible, even a little more. There is no way that Hermione DIDN'T know what she was thinking when she was saying all that about Ron. Hee! Hee! There is just no way. The part when she ranted on about the Chudley Cannons to get Ron to wake up, ha! That was so hilarious! I was cracking up! I just read it about 15 minutes ago! Well, I don't want to say much, because knowing myself I would nag on and on about how good it was and how funny Ron is. All I have to say is that it was awesome and now I'm off to read Book Two!

Nina aka Quill Writer Tickles

:: I love Qwen by the way!!! :::

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85415Chapter: 1
Arabella,

All I have to say is that this is written briliantlly. I mean, of course, not too much came as a surprise to me since I've read the Sorcerer's Stone already. But, it was nice to read something that was from Hermione's point of view. It was sad at some parts. I mean, how could anybody be so mean to her?! She just came from the Muggle world and she expected to fit in but didn't really get it all that quickly. Yet, fighting a 12-foot mountain troll wouldn't lead to anything but a friendship made without words. Plus, R/Hr...it's just destiny! Ha! Ha! Anyways, I really like this story and I'm going to go and comment (more compliment) on Chapter Two, since I read it already. Nice work, Arabella!

Nina aka Quill Writer Tickles

Reviewer: UnknownDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83601Chapter: 2
Wonderful

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82481Chapter: 1
I really like this! It's nice to get Hermione's point of view. From what Gwen's said, I'm getting the impression that she was a person (witch) before she was enchanted into a diary? Am I right? With all the nasty (if understandable) comments Hermione's made about Slytherins, why do I get the feeling that it's going to come out sooner or later that Gwen was a Slytherin???

Reviewer: Rosemary the Rubix CubeDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79606Chapter: 2
Fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. Really well written, brilliantly drawn characters. Gwen is a triumph too. And Hr/R hints! How good can you get!

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77108Chapter: 2
This is awesome! I love when she is like "you know Gwen, Ron is rather good looking" or something along those lines. Awesome story! I can't wait to read the other HQoW stories, and Ron's diaries. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75903Chapter: 1
This is brilliant. Hermione has always been my favorite character, and I think by reading her "diary," now I know why. I love the fact that she writes in a talking diary. Beautifully written. I give you my highest praise: you'll be the next J.K. Rowling. I'm serious- I think that you should publish a book someday. Your writing is excellent. =)

Reviewer: alexDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74635Chapter: 1
Horrible, conceited, badmouthing idiot!

What has Ron done now?

Not Ron. Draco Malfoy.

Sorry.

Ah ahahahahaha - that's perfect - and exactly what i was thinking! this is a great idea. i love gwen in all these stories (and especially in after the end) great idea, really.

Reviewer: romeeDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74324Chapter: 2
OMG I love your writings! :D
allready started on book 5..I cant wait to read it!:D:D

Reviewer: ZibbyDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72914Chapter: 1
This whole story was perfect. I especially love Hermione's line, "I'm absolutely amazed at the disregard some people have for the rules. It's terrible." Thank you for this wonderful story. =)

Reviewer: Princess GinnyDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72240Chapter: 1
This is a GREAT STORY!!!! It is the first one I had ever read, and is so good I had to read it again! Make one for the Order of The Phoenix!!!

Reviewer: spirit12Date: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72186Chapter: 1
did you ever think about living in the ocean with me and neptune? Check out my comments on the map right now!! I'm in the ocean!! Oooooohhhhhhhhhhh YEAH!!
That's the way uh-huh uh-huh i like it uh-huh!!! Have you looked at what A Letter To My Children said? I think the stories are great!!

Reviewer: spirit12Date: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72185Chapter: 1
did you ever think about living in the ocean with me and neptune? Check out my comments on the map right now!! I'm in the ocean!! Oooooohhhhhhhhhhh YEAH!!
That's the way uh-huh uh-huh i like it uh-huh!!!

Reviewer: mijckeDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72119Chapter: 2
hi this is really great!! I enjoyed every piece of it! thanks!

Reviewer: sjcDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71792Chapter: 2
I LOVE your story. Keep up the good work!!:)

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70327Chapter: 2
Marvelous simply Marvelous. I see you've written the diary's for books 1 thorugh 4 any plans to write one for Order of the Phoenix? I'd love to beta read for you.

Reviewer: RonaldDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70167Chapter: 1
This was a really good story...it needs to be longer though...it's really neat. i luv harry potter...i have red hair and look a LOT like ron...weird coincidence huh?

Reviewer: frank secadaDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69253Chapter: 2
I read this so long ago I'd almost forgotten about it, then while leafing through ATE I thought, "Let's go through HQoW again." I'm so glad I did.

Hermione is so beautifully done. You can just see how smart she is and opinionated, and so possessed by her feelings. She's just lovely.

On to year two!

Reviewer: CarrieDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68899Chapter: 2
OK, was that last review really necessary? Especially on a beautiful fic like this.

Arabella, I'm in love with everything you've written, but I think the HQoW series is my absolute favorite. Thanks so much for a great look into the Hermione that we sometimes don't see in canon. I'll be hanging around for Year 5, whenever it's finished!

Reviewer: JackieDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67201Chapter: 2
NOOOOOOO! GIMMIE MORE!!!!

Reviewer: Robert GonzalezDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61047Chapter: 1
I liked this story. Very well done and I liked how you filled in the blanks. The only bit that I thought was annoying was the use of exact quotes. Were it me I'd probably paraphrase those a bit more. It was especially noticable in the end of year feast bit where Dumbledore is awarding the extra points to Gryffindor. But anyway, that's just me. It really was a great story over all. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56316Chapter: 2
I really enjoyed this fic. I think you have captured the 11 year old Hermione really well - very swotty, slightly arrogant about her cleverness but without really realising it herself, and just at the beginning of developing her feelings for Ron. I also thought Gwen was great. You can tell from what she says that she sees Hermione very clearly, but likes her despite her faults, and tries to guide her gently rather than lecturing her. Just exactly the sort of person it would be easy to confide in. The Americanisms have been covered by other reviewers so I won't mention them. I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series and finding out how you deal with Hermione growing up and her changing feelings for Ron.

Reviewer: TonyDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51688Chapter: 2
This is the absolute best story on sugarquill.com.
It is as good as the real Harry Potter books.
Thanks so much for spending the time to write such a great story.
reading this story is just like reading the books.
And I can't say that enough.
All the right emotions and feelings are there.
Thank you so much again for writing this.

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50121Chapter: 2
I loved your fic! u get hermione just right! write more!

Reviewer: RehanDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48740Chapter: 2
I liked it a lot. The only thing was that whenever Gwen would say something witty, I half-expected her to turn evil. Yes, I know it's ridiculous, but I couldn't help but think of "The Very Secret Diary."

My favorite bits were the R/H foreshadowings - especially when Hermione wakes up the next morning and is like "What! I never wrote that!" LOL!!!

One thing that I was wondering about though - why didn't you use Philosopher's Stone instead of Sorcerer's, and football instead of soccer? Well, you undoubtedly had your reasons, and you don't need to explain them to me, but I was just thinking that if it was my story, I would have done that. However, if it was my story, then it would also be really boring and unimaginative... :-p

Reviewer: DanDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48068Chapter: 2
You know...I don't mean to belittle canon, but your explanation (albeit short) of how Harry's mom's love saved him was more convincing and real than Dumbledore's (and, therefore, JKR's) in Book 1.

Thanks for a great read.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47707Chapter: 1
This is an awesome story. I love the whole idea of the enchanted diary. One thing I saw though was on the November 15th entry, about the quidditch game. Hermione was talking about Dean Thomas wanting Marcus to get a red card. Hermione then said that red cards are in soccer. Over in England I believe they call soccer football. It's just a little something I picked up on. Otherwise the story is awesome. :) Keep it up! Do you plan on doing one to go with year 5? That'd be great!

Reviewer: moiDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46248Chapter: 2
amazing! just brilliant! i for the life of me could never have done that! now im off to eread year two so bye! you're an amazing writer! really!

Reviewer: TrinirooDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44544Chapter: 2
That was abso-bloody-lutely brilliant I can't wait to read the next story.

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42457Chapter: 2
aww that was cute. i loved how you put in H/R. i've grown quite fond of that couple!

Reviewer: stitchDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40863Chapter: 2
wonderful! Details! its wonderful! so much more from Hermione's point of veiw! I love Gwen! She is so Witty and funny! you have hermione down Pat! Bloody Brillient! I read tons of fanfic and this is one of the best ones I have ever read! Wonderful adaptation! Brillient Anterpretation! Why, i bet the almighty Jk Rowling would Be Proud I read the whole thing in one go! cant Wait to get started on the second!
Bloody Brillient! Near Perfect! (nothings perfect)!

Reviewer: stitchDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40862Chapter: 1
Great! thats all I have to say. Great!

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40182Chapter: 2
Well, I have to say that I absolutely loved this. It was a perfectly in-character rendition of the events of the first book through Hermione's eyes. The use of the 'personified' diary was a stroke of brilliance and made a lovely counterpoint to Hermione's thoughts as she wrote them down.

In the last part, where Hermione is describing the events to Gwen, I do feel that the narrative was a little too 'perfect' for a diary entry, but it was still very good.

I like the Ron/Hermione foreshadowing - just the very little things - and the workaholic Hermione; and I am most certainly looking forward to reading the rest of your stories!

Thanks heaps for writing and sharing this story! It's a 'bloody brilliant' piece of work!

Reviewer: AlisinDate: 2003-06-18
Reviewid: 37567Chapter: 2
That was incredible! I absolutely loved everything that had to do with Ron and Hermione. That is the greatest take on The Sorcerer's Stone I have ever read in my entire life. And from Hermione's point of view... Simply fantastic. I also loved the character of Gwen, she was so smart and sweet. Have you written one about The Chamber of Secrets? If you did, I'd love to know where to find it. If not- please write one!
I just loved this fanfic, I truly did.
-Alisin

Reviewer: LeafDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36517Chapter: 2
::squees:: I just checked out your profile! You have more stories! YES! and I find that out a few days before I'm let out of school for summer vacation! Expect some more reviews from me soon!

Leaf

Reviewer: CareyDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36344Chapter: 2
Oh my gosh, this is great, a different POV of the HP stories, let me tell you all of my favorite parts were mentioned, and it's very different, and nice to see it from Hermione's view. This was really really great! I'm off to read HQoW Year 2. Such a brilliant mind! It's a shame you and Rowling can't collaborate! Awesome. ~*Carey*~

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32718Chapter: 1
I love this story! :) And I can't wait for book 5, and Gwen's opinion of it! Thankyou for creating her! :)

Reviewer: narcissa m.Date: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32490Chapter: 2
wowza!!! excellent fic. u ARE gonna rite hermione's thoughts for the next 3 years arent u? u better. i looove this gwen thing. hope u dont mind if i use it in my fic. i'll give u recognition, dont worry. ;)

Reviewer: narcissaDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32477Chapter: 1
ok, nevermind, i feel quite stupid now. hermione, queen of witches. where's an anvil when u need one? forgive me for wasting ur precious review space, and for my extreme ignorance of common sense. :D greaaaaaat fic.

Reviewer: narcissaDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32476Chapter: 1
PLZ PLZ PLZ PLZ HELP i feel so stupid but i see HQoW everywhere and i dont know what it means!!!! help?

Reviewer: narcissaDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32475Chapter: 1
PLZ PLZ PLZ PLZ HELP i feel so stupid but i see HQoW everywhere and i dont know what it means!!!! help?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-14
Reviewid: 31992Chapter: 1
I loved the whole HQoW series, but apparently have neglected to say so until now *cringes in shame*

Anyway, since this was your first fic the Americanisms like "candy" instead of "sweets" are perfectly forgivable :) (And you have come a veeery long way, haven't you? Hee!) Your Hermione is very in-character despite the speech differences -- I loved her sense of wonder and her desire to be the best in class! (The little bits about Ron even in this first year were really cute, too.)

I love Hermione's parents encouraging their daughter's "specialness" but at the same time wanting to be informed about her new world. Her father's request for levitating dinner was so cute and made him distinct from his wife! (Mrs./Dr. Granger should definitely have a strong personality. Where else would Hermione get hers?)

And Gwen is great! I'm sure that if she were canon, Hermione would have been greatly comforted to have someone to *talk* to. I like how Gwen doesn't automatically follow Hermione's interests, e.g., she's obviously a much bigger Quidditch fan than Hermione.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30185Chapter: 2
it is a really good work of blatent thievery and i would have done the same if i could write the way you can!

Reviewer: CassandraDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25189Chapter: 1
This is really good! Please send me more asap!! Thanks.

Reviewer: Miss_Hermione_GrangerDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24608Chapter: 2
I relly ejoyed your fan fiction! Can't wait to read the rest!

Reviewer: AnnettaDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24167Chapter: 1
hey, great story! i have already read some of Ginny Weasley's diary that you wrote, so i had no hesitation diving into this one! keep up the good work.

Reviewer: SennicalDate: 2003-03-14
Reviewid: 23916Chapter: 2
Whew! I finally went through and read the whole thing. Wonderful, too, I love how Hermione's so observant about everything. Now I've got to go read all the others instead of just skipping through them. But I really should do homework. Decisions, decisions...

Siriusly, tho, it was wonderful. And I love how Gwen is so sarcastic about everything; she keeps Hermione (semi)down-to-earth. Great job.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23173Chapter: 2
This was sooo good. I even teared up when you got to the part where they won the House Cup (especially when Neville was awarded his points!!!) Very good piece of writing. I can't wait to read more from you.

Reviewer: ShirleyDate: 2003-03-06
Reviewid: 23022Chapter: 1
"...even poor Quirrell, shaking like a leaf. (He sat down on a toilet seat and had some kind of attack. I mean, really. Defense Against the Dark Arts, my foot.)..." Brilliant line - I was rolling on the floor...hahahahaha...

Reviewer: Professor TDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21681Chapter: 1
Arabella,

I would like to ask your permission to use the HQoW and Ron's Rants stories in my fifth-grade classroom. My plan is to print a copy of each story and put them in separate folders (with a cover page that gives you full credit for writing them) and then allowing my students to take turns reading them if they choose.

Most forms of fan fiction I don't even want these ten-year-olds to know exist, but these particular stories of yours are so appropriate in that they are faithful companions to the original books, and showing a well-known story from a different POV is an excellent literary exercise and helps immensely with reading comprehension. I may try to have them write their own short companion pieces to their favorite stories, a letter from one character to another, for example.

Anyway, I just wanted to make sure you didn't mind my sharing printed copies of your work with so many (the 30 or so students I get per year and the occasional teacher who shares my HP fanaticism). No one will make any kind of profit from the arrangement (except the people who make all the paper!).

Please let me know that I have your blessing to proceed.

Thanks!

Reviewer: Professor TDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19531Chapter: 2
Just lovely! This is the first piece of fan fic that I can actually share with my fifth graders (and other people who are wary of off-canon stories). It's such a great concept too, to show another POV of the original novels.

I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the HQoW series, as well as "Ron's Rants." In fact, I've loved everything you write, Arabella; you're amazing!

Reviewer: AraelDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19449Chapter: 2
this story is sooooooooo cool!!!!! Ican't wait until i read next year!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --