The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 62

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143732Chapter: 5
HQoW in Year Three. So much for a quite summer. Sirius Black, here we come!

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143725Chapter: 4
"Gwen, Iím not going to get Petrified! The hand mirror is only a precaution." Oh how wrong she is. Oh my God, Hermione's wrong about something. The world is coming to an end!!!!! Still love the story.

~lily4james4ever

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143721Chapter: 3
Lily Potter was in the book!!!!! I don't know why, but I really did not see that coming and I am the Master at Mysteries.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143719Chapter: 2
My God. Hermione doesn't even know what's coming. Luv it!!!

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143696Chapter: 1
Just like Book One, I can tell that I am going to love this story. Hermione's wrong at the ending though. Just wait. 4th year will STRONGLY show it.

Reviewer: WickedWitchDate: 2006-03-29
Reviewid: 141451Chapter: 5
Arabella, your stories and your style are just wonderful. Sometimes I stay up all night to read what you have written! And Gwen is such a good idea! Congratulations, you are truly talented.

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133775Chapter: 5
Sometimes you let slip some franch words, is it on purpose or are you french and you want us to know? Anyway I think you're brillant I read almost all your storys! BLOODY BRILLANT

Reviewer: PamelaDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132899Chapter: 1
Like i said b4 bloddy brilliant!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131976Chapter: 5
Aww, that was great. I want a Gwen. I loved all the R/Hr-y bits and Hermione being conflicted about whether to tell about Ginny's diary. S'all wonderful. And now I wan't more1

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130063Chapter: 5
Wow. That was GREAT! There were a few typos, though. Like this one: 'HeirHHHHHH HeirH'. What is that supposed to be? Your stories are really funny, Arabella. You had me luaghing out loud many, many times. It is fun to read these even though I know exactly what is going to happen. It is just fun to see it from somebody else's eyes (or diary...)
Lizzybeth

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129610Chapter: 1
::reading reviews::

Reviewer: Jessi GriffithDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129591Chapter: 5
I told him I wanted a shower and a minute to myself before I go off to the celebration, and he said I should do whatever I want, heíll wait.

::giggles like a little school girl with a crush on the teacher::

That was only ONCE that you let us see that Ron actually CARES. And this is my favorite chapter in this one. My absolute awesomely, faaavorite.

::Grins::

Love and brownies,

--Jessi

PS

Oh, you know how to do it, my dear. You do it quite well with me, every time that Ron comes up in a conversation that might lead toó

Thatís really good advice, Gwen.

This mad me crack up like..insanely.

Reviewer: Jessi GriffithDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129580Chapter: 2
::grins::

I just LOVE you just barely put in little things that show that Ron actually cares..alot. I LOVE IT!

::spins around in spinnychair::

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128622Chapter: 5
I've been rereading the series, and it's just as amazing as I remember it. It's particulary powerful in CoS since it also shows the contrast between the two diaries...

An excellent story.

Reviewer: CreativeAngelDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128564Chapter: 5
What a lovely fic! I absolutely love this! It's Hermione through and through and I'll sure be back for more tomorrow. I feel like reading the books over again - and the Ode to Lockhart was absolutely amazing, I couldn't stop giggling.

So, see you tomorrow, dear. :)
/Sanna.

Reviewer: winkytapuDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123819Chapter: 5
its a really great story!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123149Chapter: 5
Outstanding - Better than the first.

Reviewer: Julia, age 9Date: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121501Chapter: 4
Ron and Harry's poem about Lockhart was very funny. I wish we could have read Hermione and Neville's too.

Ron fancies Hermione a lot! I can't wait to start reading Part IV.

It's becoming very exciting about the Basilisk, I'm desperate to read the description of when Hermione meets it.

Reviewer: Julia, age 9Date: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121347Chapter: 3
Hermione seemed to have a lot of expression in Chapter 3. But she doesn't know much about herself. Gwen seems to know more about Hermione than she does.

Reviewer: Benjamin, age 7Date: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121149Chapter: 1
Hey, I really like Gwen. She's my favourite character.

Reviewer: Julia & DianaDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121147Chapter: 2
Oh, I bet Ron is jealous! Very very jealous! He doesn't want Hermione to like anyone better than she likes himself!

This was very good (although it needs a Brit-pick). My brothers and I kept on and on laughing. It's been lovely to hear the Harry Potter stories all over again, almost like a new story.

Reviewer: AlesiaDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118524Chapter: 2
Great story so far... I read the diary of her first year and I forgot to review :) It was thoroughly delightful as well :)

One question: "really is the HeirHHHHHH HeirH."

typographical error, or what? Well It confused me...

So anywhoosles... Keep up the good work :)

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112647Chapter: 5
I love it! I love, love, love it!

"He's giving me his serious game face now. I have to beat him."

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

I can't wait for the next one, but I need to get to class!

Reviewer: Morgan ConroyDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99468Chapter: 2
right, i just want to point out, before i go read the rest of this..and then the others, Harry isnt a pure blood, exactly...his mum was muggle born...but in the sense that he came from two witches/wizards yes...right, ill shut up now. cheers,
TLf

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98437Chapter: 5
I really miss HQoW. I hope you win the lottery, and decide to devote the next few years to continueing the series.

Reviewer: PazaDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93798Chapter: 5
Oh, it was so wonderful! I had an awesome time reading it, and I'm going to start reading the diary for Year Three right away!
You're such of a wonderful writer! I love the way you put Hermione's feelings for Ron, I'd really like to see his feelings too. I'm so glad you wrote something about Year Four about Ron, I can't wait to read that one, too!
And Gwen is so lovely.
Great job! Please keep it up.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92352Chapter: 5
once again, an excellent and flawless job done by Arabella. i just luv alternate POV's and journals! well, i'm off to read Year Three. Keep up the great work (write Year Five!)

luv sweetie

PS: how could i forget the R/H hints? Bad sweetie! (lol!) excellent job! i smiled when Hermione wrote that Ron was with her when she woke from being petrified. SO SWEET! great job!

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85742Chapter: 2
Arabella,

Awesome story! I kind of forget which events are in which book and chapter. I mean, I know the different book, so I guess it's just the chapters. It's just, I read them all so fast that I can hardly seperate the events. Anyways, all I know is that it's an AWESOME story and thanks for writing. I'm sure I've read this one though. So off to chapter three.

Nina aka Quill Writer Tickles

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85481Chapter: 1
I love it! I would write more but I'm going to go and read the next...

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77151Chapter: 5
Great story! I loved it. I love Gwen, she is so cool, and it is interesting she is really from Camelot and that legend. Anyway, I am eager to read the next two HQoW's. Please do a 5th year one!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75906Chapter: 1
This is perfect. Completely perfect. Will you write HQoW for Book 5? I know that Book 5 is incredibly long, but I would love it if you did! You are such a great writer.

Reviewer: KaitlyneDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75703Chapter: 1
this is such a cool fanfic story! how do you come up with this stuff? it would take me forever to do any of this. how do you find time? They are sooo good you really hit Hermione's character well. this is really fun to read keep doing them!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72517Chapter: 5
This is without any doubt the best fan fiction I've ever read (but I've yet got to read your other works :). I love your humor, writing style and imagination. Pity you aren't as skilled at divination (though it seems closely related to imagination ;), then you would have been able not to have stuff contradicting the fifth book.

Keep up the amazing work. Really looking forward to HoQW 5.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65934Chapter: 1
Hi, these are a great set of stories. Only one problem, continuity wise. Hermione writes her entry before being petriffied on March 29th in your stories but it's actually May 8th. The same day as penelope clearwater: (from the hp lexincon)

'Clearwater, Penelope b. 1977 Ravenclaw, 1988 - 1995, prefect 1992 - 93, 1993-4? Girlfriend of Percy Weasley, who calls her Penny; she has black curly hair. She was Petrified by a basilisk May 8, 1993 (recovered: May 30th) (CS)'

But otherwise a wonderful piece, the same to year one. Now I want my own enchanted diary like Gwen! :)

Reviewer: Date: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63052Chapter: 5
Please write a HQoW book 5!!

Reviewer: Gina MariaDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60983Chapter: 5
Great fic! I LOVE this. Someone's probably already told you this, but sometime in the middle, Hermione says Harry and Ron and both Purebloods, and you probably know that Harry's only a halfblood, Lily was Muggle-born. I guess maybe Harry and'/or Hermione don't know that yet, but I just wanted to let you know! Thanks for writing such a great story; I'm looking forward to the next!
^_^
<3GIna<3

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58607Chapter: 5
I just wanted to say that I am addicted to this series now! I'm new to HP fanfic, though I know a lot of authors here via Star Wars fanfic. Melyanna recommended this series to me, and I'm completely hooked. These are wonderful! Thank you so much for writing such engaging, delightful stories.

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56675Chapter: 5
Arabella, I am really enjoying this series. Gwen's character has developed well in part 2, and you can clearly see Hermione's relationship with her deepening - Herm's even beginning to tease her! I also love her very well chosen phrases, when we know exactly what she means but Hermione just doesn't get it. The H/R moments are very sweet and believable too. I am looking forward to seeing how you deal with this relationship in books 3 and 4.

Atropos

Reviewer: butterbeerDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47992Chapter: 5
I Absolutely loved it! Even better than HQoW Number 1! It's already 12:54 AM so I better not read the 3rd one until I wake up. But I love the fact that Gwen knows about Ron...GWEN! I love GWEN! I love this story so much! Written with feeling! Hermione Queen of Witches Forever:)

Reviewer: c.b.Date: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44773Chapter: 5
yay!

Reviewer: Celestina BlackDate: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44766Chapter: 3
Itís sickening to see how everybodyís treating Harry- like heís about to sprout fangs and Petrify them if they look at him sideways...
HAHAHAHAH fangs. look at them. if i DIDNT know a basilisk was coming, i woudnt get that. then again, i wouldnt be reading this if i didnt know that. so.

Reviewer: TrinirooDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44635Chapter: 5
That was even better than the first! I can't wait to hear about the Hogsmeade trips!

Reviewer: LINEDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44382Chapter: 5
Fantastic ...just perfect...
i've read HQoW 1.year too.. an now i'm going too read about year three..
but it's 12 O'clok in the night..and If I begin on the 3. I may be awake all night ..like last night...
i read and read.. and suddenly it was 5 in the morning!!!!
hi hi..
and I just loved the fact that Gwen knows about... Hermione likes Ron..
and hermione always find somefing else too talk about..when Gwen talk about Ron...

(sorry,if I spell some things wrong)®
(I'm from Denmark)

;D

Reviewer: Ivy DragonDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44193Chapter: 2
Dear Arabella, I think your stories are really cool! I've loved reading about Gwen, and hearing Hermione's point of view in this series, but I was reading this particular chapter, and I noticed something. In the story, Hermione says that Ron and Harry are both pure bloods. Did you say that because Hermione thinks so? Because Harry's mother was a Muggle. I'm sure you knew that, and you figured Hermione didn't, but I thought I might as well put in my comment. Fabulous work writing from Hermione's point of view!
~Ivy

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42463Chapter: 5
o i just love those ron and hermione moments. especially the "here kitty kitty" part. i had to read it twice it was so funny.

Reviewer: Kathy HenryDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42194Chapter: 1
I think that these HQoW stories are great. I hope the author writes them for all the books.

Reviewer: stitchDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40963Chapter: 5
Oh Bravo! wonderful Perfect charecters I love it from her point of veiw! I mean being petrified! and you got a head start with Hermione & Ron! Lovely Adaptation! Bloody Brillient! Oh And Gwen! Beauteful!

Reviewer: stitchDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40932Chapter: 2
Really Great! but if I may? one Tiny little flaw. Harry forgot to tell them about filch and the Quikspell course in all the commotion.

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40184Chapter: 5
Once again, an excellent fic! The exposition was a little heavy (given Hermione's frequent absences in the book - first from the Polyjuice mixup and secondly from being Petrified, but you managed it well!

The idea of Gwenivere as a diary is a delightful one, both whimsical and mysterious, and the tie-in with Riddle's diary is an awesome twist that I never saw coming at all!

I am definitely looking forward to reading about Hermione's Third Year at Hogwarts - the only question is whether I should do it tonight or tomorrow! Decisions, decisions...

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34914Chapter: 5
This is me third time reading this story, out of all the HQoW series this is my favorite. Great job, keep it up!

Reviewer: SietskeDate: 2003-05-14
Reviewid: 32023Chapter: 1
Wow, the second HQoW is even better than the first one. I just found out about these stories 3 days ago, but I already finished the first 2... I haven't been to bed at all this night, I just couldn't stop reading! So on to the next one... :)

Reviewer: The Fat LadyDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24935Chapter: 1
This diary is so cool! You'd think that, with the J.K. Rowling books, it'd be rather boring, but it's not! How could she be taking an extra class in her first year, though? Keep up the good work. Maybe you should do Ginny's diary and make up a 5th book with Hermoine's.

Reviewer: Stephen MubitaDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21773Chapter: 1
I'm just reading the "The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger", and I want to inform you (Arabella) that you may have just seriously addicted me to fanfic ... seriously though, great stories. Thanks for writing them. I'm so looking forward to the fifth book ...

Reviewer: Jess KDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18537Chapter: 2
We just adore your stories! Un moment, s&#8217;il tu plait, and I will &#8216;av your Gwen.

I forgot to write this at the end of the first chapter, but it's s'il te plait, not s'il tu plait. Hehe, French three honors finally pays off! Great story, btw. I'm spellbound! this is the only mistake i've found yet.

Reviewer: bosh-boshDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8754Chapter: 1
stupidity!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Mellon CollieDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7643Chapter: 5
*Jumps up and down excitedly* I love it, I love it, I love it! Another Arabella classic! Hehehehe!!!! Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5309Chapter: 5
I was just reading the entrie where Hermione describes the lake to Gwen. Wouldn't it be a great idea if Hermione found out how to share her memories with Gwen? If you havn't used this idea for Year Three or four (and you very well might have!), see if you can fit it in to year five.
--Lee (;

Reviewer: Anon.Date: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5305Chapter: 2
Wow. Its really great. When JK gets around to writing the fifth book, you should write as you read, that way it will be more suspenseful. You could also read then write it, its your choise, really. Its great and don't stop!!
-Anon.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4413Chapter: 5
That was great Arabella! (as it would have been otherwise...;)) Your writing (or should we say Hermione's? ;)) improved from Book 1 to Book 2, and I absolutelly LOVED all the R/H shipper tidbits! Ron's jealousy of Lockhart, all the R/H bickering that we get 'spared' from in the books, Hermione feeling elated with some stuff Ron did (like trying to curse Malfoy), and most of all, the bit when Hermione woke up for her Petrification. Ron was holding her right hand! And it was his VOICE that calmed her down. Then, when Ron could no longer see Hermione crying her eyes out while the other Petrified people in the Infirmary were being woken up, screaming, Ron took her to Gryffindor Tower, and she had her arm around his neck! Ok, I know, I'm starting to sound like a sap, but I don't care. I LOVED their talk in the corridor! You really knew how to explore Harry's absence on that scene! ;)
I just felt a bit...unsure...about Hermione knowing about Ginny's diary and don't making anything sooner about it. Just a feeling, nothing really wrong that I can point out.
Overall, I really liked this fic. Your characterization is, as usual, spot on. Hermione's fear of being killed by the Heir of Slytherin, and how Malfoy kept telling her she WOULD be killed, only making herself more afraid. Ron being protective of Hermione (not only trying to curse Malfoy - and beat him on occasion - but also don't letting Hermione wander in the corridors by herself after the Quidditch Match) and incredibly FUNNY (I laughed so much when he prepared himself to go into Myrtle's bathroom with galoshes and an umbrella!) OH, the Ode Ron and Harry wrote to Lockhart: that was PRICELESS! ROTFL! And the bit on the end with Hermione learning about the Time-Turner before she went on vacation was really something genious! Prof. M would undoubtely want to clear it out with Hermione and her parents before actually giving her the Time-Turner, as well as making the rules over its possession and usage clear.
In two words: Great fic! :)

Reviewer: TorieDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2330Chapter: 1
Ah, I just LOVE this fic. It's so interesting to see things from Hermione's POV.

Reviewer: Q. StrawberryDate: 2002-08-07
Reviewid: 1329Chapter: 5
Agh! I love it, love it, love it! Must go read HQoW Year Three!!! I can't wait to read Year Five of this, if JK EVER writes it!!! Brilliant story! I've read this all before, but I still feel like there are bits and pieces that I've missed, and I like it even more every time I read it again...=)

Reviewer: Mark356Date: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 766Chapter: 1
I'm glad I found this third chapter! As I've said, these are a joy to read, a real treat, to hear the HP chronicles through the voice of Hermione Granger as she grows up. All of the non-canon things you mentioned, like the Forbidden Fruit company, or that special scales, ring true to JKR's wacky concepts. It's also interesting to see how Gwen is trying to check up on things for herself, and how you've written Hermione's little crush so honestly (it sounds as if she barely realizes she has a crush!). My one peeve with this is something I noticed toward the end of the previous chapter. It's pretty hard to keep a diary (for me, anyway) and you almost never put in any dialog, or even a lot of detail, simply because there's so much. I always wince when I read long passages of dialog in stories that are supposed to be diaries, because no-one can write that much, and when it is, it's not a diary anymore. You seemed to have a really good balance of enough information so I don't feel deprived while still keeping the diary voice a while ago, but in sections here I got a little annoyed because there's so much detail for a diary. Still, this concept is still fabulous, and I hope you keep writing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --