The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144405Chapter: 8
I loved it! You made Hermione seem so real. Like she was only talking/writting to you...that the story was writen for you and one alone. You caught Hermione being her true self, the true Hermione Jane Granger. I think that you also got Gwen down to a T. If she was alive, I swear that she would be amazed at how accurate you have her.

I love the "Hermione, Queen of Witches" stories better than I think I like the real HP series.

lily4james4ever <3

PS- now onto the following:

"Ron Rants"

"Hermione Queen of Witches, Book Four"

"Hermione Queen of Witches, Book Five"

Any other "Ron Rants" you have

All your other stories.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144401Chapter: 7
The very scary thing about this chapter is that what every Hermione was feeling, I felt it to. During the match in the beginning, even though I knew we had won, I felt like "Oh My God! We lost! I know we lost!". During Exams, my heart sped up and everything. At the ending Ron was such a prat!

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144399Chapter: 6
My God. Hermione's a messed-up right now. And now the match. And all those classes. and everything. Thank the Lord she has Gewn to help her through it. I went insane from a little thing and if Hermione didn't have Gwen she whould be in St. Mungos by now.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144398Chapter: 5
I have no idea why, but when Hermione blew up at Grew on January 31st, it was so very funny!!!! Once more, I have no idea why. Hermione is right though, thank God that there are other girls around so that we don't have to be around those gits aka boys 24/7.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144396Chapter: 4
I loved it! I'm so happy that Hermione was Gwen and Hagrid to go to! And you never know, Gwen-in-the-diary might be true. We'll never know cause the books and movies are all from Harry's Point of Veiw.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144393Chapter: 3
I love it! I don't think that Ron's going to be to happy when he gets a "journal" from Hermione. Not happy at all.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144379Chapter: 2
The ending of the entree on October 10th was my favorite part. And just earlier, Hermione goes on that she wouldn't be blind about that of whatever. She doesn't know it yet she's not all like "I DO know it! I do!" And then the "aura" changes so much for the 15th.

Reviewer: lily4james4everDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144378Chapter: 1
Like the past two "Hermione, Queen of Witches" stories, I already love this one.

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137959Chapter: 8
OMG!!! I loved it!! there are no words to explain how graet your story is...! How you just make Hermione Hermione, really, in breath taking!
Soooo, congrats for the marvellous achvement you did..

I am totally amzed! And how Gwen just helps Hermione in all her problems and complications, and how Hermione suffers with all the extra classes, and the lack of sleep, and when Ron and Harry dont talk to her, and when she think she craked, and... EVERYTHING!

And I also love how you ended it with her and Ron and how she feels about it, GOSH, I just love the way you just did the whole diary, how a came day after day to come and finish it, and spendfing hours reading, and EVERYTHING..!

Well now I am going to read Hermione Queen of Witches 4, but before also Ron Rants...

I am amased, Iīve never loved a story so much, not even the original Harry Potterīs.

Well, congrats again...

Pheonix Feathers

Reviewer: pamelaDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132900Chapter: 1
like i sadi b4 its still brilliant.All they characers,and you really make it come alive!

Reviewer: Jiminy CricketDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132457Chapter: 7
I love all the HQOW stories so much! I was reading this one (for the fourth or fifth time I think!) and I noticed something... And it's bugging me now. In your list of Hermione's exams, you have Transfiguration and Arithmancy at the same time and Charms and Ancient Runes at the same time. That doesn't make sense since Transfiguration and Charms are both compulsory subjects and Arithmancy and Ancient Runes are electives. So anyone who does Arithmancy also has to do Transfiguration and they don't all have time-turners!

Apart from that - perfect stories... I've read these almost as many times as I've read canon!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130709Chapter: 8
I love how Gwen knows Herimione more than Hermione knows herself.

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129609Chapter: 8
SQUUUUUUUUUUEEEEEEEEEEE!

I just love it. She's being so..Hermione-ish about it. Perfect.

::bounces out::

Hm. I need to go to bed..

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126814Chapter: 4
It's funny how Ron notices Hermione even when he's officially ignoring her ... I wonder why!

It was interesting to hear about her conversations with Hagrid, I'm glad she had one friend left.

Reviewer: Robert, Julia & BenjaminDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126008Chapter: 3
Mr and Mrs Granger are treating sugar as if it's heroin! It was really really funny when Ron threw the crocodile heart at Malfoy. And we laughed our heads off when he read Hermione's palm to mean she would break a promise.

Reviewer: Michelle maciasDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125438Chapter: 8
hey is there year 5?
(i noticed you have`nīt written since 2002, but oh.. well..sincerely... i would love to read year 5!)

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123150Chapter: 8
Excellent - As Always.

Reviewer: pheganDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120703Chapter: 1
Oh, I have been reading this whole thing and I noticed the reviewership gets lower and lower. First of all, I am amazed by your propensity to write. Most people don't finish one serial fic. You have done four diaries. Amazing. It would be so good to see a fifth starting. This is absolutely keeping me going, sane during my studies. Thanks so much for writing this. The reviewing should increase of all things.

Reviewer: hermioneDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99442Chapter: 1
wright hermione's fifth book diary!!!!!!!
or at least another piece!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97346Chapter: 8
Arabella, you absolutely never cease to amaze me. this was, as usual, phenomenal! and, of course, i LOVE Hermione trying to hide that she likes Ron. i have to read Ron Rants when i'm done with all the HQoW. excellent job! off to read year four!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96414Chapter: 8
I loved this whole thing! Sorry I didn't post a comment on any other chapters, but I thought I'd just wait till the end. It's so funny how you made Hermione not want to admit that she thinks she likes Ron, it's so cute! And the fact that Ron was trying so hard to read her diary! HA! Anyway, I'm off to read Ron's Rants right now, so off I go!:D

*Geena

Reviewer: PazaDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93889Chapter: 8
Fwee! Yet another, wonderful story!
Hehe, I'm on vacation so I'v read the first HQoW in one day, the second exactly the day afterwards and the third today! So much fun!
Thank you for writing everything, I'll start reading the one about book four in a few minutes!
This is going to be thrilling... I can hardly wait!
You're awesome, keep it up!

Reviewer: JenniferLupinDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89629Chapter: 8
I've been reading through these diaries and so I come to the end of PoA. And I cried. Again. I swear, this story makes me cry everytime I come near it and you've done a beautiful job retelling it from Hermione's point of view. (Although it was a bit hard to cry efficiently with Nations of the World sung by Yakko Warner blaring in my ears.)

Anyway, several lines really struck me. The first was:

"Yes, but first he died."

This freaked me out (in a good way). I mean, he never really died, but there had to have been a time when he did die, right? Or else time perpetually repeats itself...or something. It's very confusing, but anyway, this sent a chill up the spine.

Second is this:

"But now I know what it really was Ė Sirius recognized himself in Ron."

Oh my, major choking up and much...emotions I can't really write down. That part has always been one of my favorite things about the book, Sirius realizing that Harry has friends just like James did. And that Ron is so special and so worthy and he knows what it's like to be there and he doesn't have that anymore and that he isn't any more. It's just so painful and beautiful and your work reflected that.

And it's been good for my mental health to reread something that's IS canon. Since seeing the movie five times, I actually caught myself adding something mentally from the movie, which horrified me. Don't get me wrong, I adored the movie, but I adore the book much more. It's my favorite book, maybe of all time and I do not, repeat DO NOT want to lose that. So, I'm very happy that I read your story. It brought back all my mental images from when I first read PoA. (You know, when Hagrid's Hut was at the bottom of a lawn rather than down a big scary hill?)

Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for writing this and being brilliant. I'm off to start HQoW, Year Four!

Jennifer

Reviewer: VectoriaDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87846Chapter: 1
HQoW is the perfect companion piece to the Harry Potter books. Whenever friends new to fan fiction ask for some stories to get started, HQoW is the first link I send. Hermione, Ron-- well, *everyone* is so true to character it is just a little disturbing. Could this be JKR in disguise??

My only quibble is the conversation Hermione has with Gwen's journal pals in Diagon Alley. Are they *talking* aloud to her, and this is just the way she recalls the accented participants' words? Was this conversation transcribed by a xenophobe? Or did they write in funny accents to amuse her? I know a few French people and they've never written "I am very beez-aye today" to amuse me, but perhaps it's different with enchanted journals.

It reminds me of that one scene in "Monty Python's Holy Grail." "The castle of... Arrrrgh." "The castle of WHAT?" "Arghghgh." "Why would he write his dying word??" "Perhaps he was dictating." It's funny with the Pythons but disconcerting in an otherwise well-written, thought-provoking piece of fan literature.

I hope my quibble won't delay HQoW Book 5. As soon as I finished Book 4 I was like, "And on to the next one.... Oh no!" You are very talented and have answered a million little questions I had qhile reading the Canon. Thanks!! :)

--Vectoria

Reviewer: C-chanDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87183Chapter: 8
You know, this is getting to be really annoying. I've known for *checks palm pilot* 358 days, 23 hours, and 10 minutes that Sirius Black is dead. And yet, I haven't been able to shed a single tear about it. I want to, but I can't.

However, reading this today has gotten me closer to crying than I ever have before. Thank you.

By the way...one tiny part that I have to comment on...

"Maybe it will be a woman. That would be nice."

HA! *giggles* Yeah. SURE, it'll be nice!

~C-chan

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85893Chapter: 8
It's rather funny how I re-read PS, CoS, and PoA in time for the movie--- then the corresponding HQoWs. Never anything less than spectacular.

Reviewer: r3wa444\qDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82244Chapter: 1
5555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555555

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75907Chapter: 1
I love your fanfics! I love to see the change from rule-loving Hermione to Hermione who punches Draco and frees Buckbeak. It's great to see everything from her perspective. I also like the Hermione/Ron relationship that occurs throughout HQoW. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Sgt. SarahDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68753Chapter: 8
Excellent job on this one! I've been out of college for four years, but had an unexplainable urge to do homework the whole time I was reading! You really captured Hermione's panic and desperation, and also her stubbornness.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67695Chapter: 3
Flinging HEARTS around the classroom? Priceless. That's Ron for ya. I just hope he doesn't break one! Wonderful.

Reviewer: Date: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63092Chapter: 8
PLEASE write a HQoW for OotP!!!!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 57971Chapter: 8
This series just gets better and better. PoA is my favourite out of the five books so I knew I would enjoy this before I even started reading it, but I also found it really thought provoking in a lot of ways. I had never really thought about how difficult Hermione must have found this year, which I suppose comes back to the fact that canon is from Harry's POV and he is usually not that perceptive about other peoples' feelings. Gwen & Hermione's relationship continues to develop beautifully, and seeing Hr begin to realise her feelings for Ron made me want to go and start reading HQoW4 straight away. Finally I think your characterisation of Hermione is excellent - she can be difficult to get right but you have her exactly, and show her beginning to grow up which is wonderful.

Atropos

Reviewer: Jon P.Date: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 55012Chapter: 8
I really like this series - this review pretty much goes for all four stories. I think you have the characters absolutely PERFECT, and the writing is incredible.. Tell me you've got book five in the works. Please. Please. ;-)

In any case, I usually try to include constructive criticism when I review a work. And I got nothin'. There's nothing I can think of at all, unless you go through looking for the minor canon glitches resulting from OotP - but even if you don't, they're perfect. I'm reading year 4 soon, so you'd better start bringing Gwen and Hermione back for year five soon - I need something to read until book 6 comes out!

Oh, and speaking of Gwen - She's awesome. The sort of dia... I mean, JOURNAL, that I'd like - co-operative and fun, but truly well-meaning. And she's got more patience than I'd ever have. Well done!

Hobbit_guy
Jon

Reviewer: RehanDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50240Chapter: 8
Ahhhh......Hermione hits puberty...

The best was when Gwen was like, "Umm...you better get used to these feelings....they're going to keep coming back every once in a while..." LOL!!!

This was way better than the first two HQoW's. Don't take that the wrong way, it's not that the first two were bad or anything....it's just kind of like how PoA is a better book than either of the first two, though they're all good.

Another favorite part:

Hermione: I... Gwen? I think I.... that is.... well, thereís something Iíve sort of been..... wanting to talk about. A little bit. I donít know. Youíll laugh.

Gwen: No, I wonít.

Hermione: Er... well, I canít really explain it? But, sometimes.... sometimes when Ronís around me, I ó

Oh, wait a minute. Gwen, I have to go.


Hahahaha! I have a feeling that HQoW, Year 4 is going to be even better...by virtue of the Yule Brawl alone. ;-)

Reviewer: ct_lytsDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46599Chapter: 8
Read HQoW year 3 AGAIN and I just wanted to say that I LOVED it. I LOVE all your HQoW stories. Also, I really really hope you'll be writing and posting HQoW Year 5. Please do....

Reviewer: Cel BlackDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45322Chapter: 8
She sleeps just like Ron, with her mouth open. Itís sweet.

And how do you know how Ron sleeps, exactly?

From the HOSPITAL WING, Gwen!! HONESTLY. Oh my goodness, youíre terrible. You made me blush, I can feel it.

hee hee hee heee
now im off to see what rons got to say...

Reviewer: Celestina BlackDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45317Chapter: 7
I... Gwen? I think I.... that is.... well, thereís something Iíve sort of been..... wanting to talk about. A little bit. I donít know. Youíll laugh.

No, I wonít.

Er... well, I canít really explain it? But, sometimes.... sometimes when Ronís around me, I ó

Oh, wait a minute. Gwen, I have to go

COMPLETELY UNFAIR!!!!
feh.

Reviewer: TariDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35148Chapter: 1
I love these diaries!
I just have one minor thing... in the July 27 entry of year three, at the very end, Hermione says 'il sont sept heures.' It should be 'il est sept heures.' I'm not sure if this was intentional, because Hermione's not fluent (if she was, I'd be shocked), so it might just be a normal error?? I've been speaking French for a while now, and stuff like that just catches my eye.
Oh, and one more thing. Aren't the dates supposed to be the day than the month. Like 27 July, as opposed to July 27?
Anyway, those are just minor details, I guess. Other than those things, this is wonderful.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24490Chapter: 8
"So. The four of them more or less broke every school rule EVER."
That was SO Hermione-like! As well as all HQoW Year 3 was.

I wish I had read this before. I know Darth Real Life got in the way, and then I wanted to read the books before reading Hermione's diary, but...that's no excuse.

Anyway, on to the review. :)

Arabella, I really loved this. Not only the R/H hints, but everything. Hermione getting herself sick with study, helping Hagrid with Buckbeak (when Hagrid dies in book 5 Hermione will suffer SO MUCH! Not that Harry won't, but I never realized how much time Hermione probably spent her 3rd year with Hagrid), her deepest respect for McGonagall, everything!

AND the R/H bits! When she was about to confess to Gwen that she felt *something* towards Ron and you interrupted her, I once again remembered how evil a writer you can be! Evil, I tell you! :)

And the end, with Ron wanting to see what Hermione had written about HIM in HER diary...and their good-bye, which left Hermione fluttery. That was SO sweet! And it fit so well with their age! :)

LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!

Just one thing I thought I should mention: I noticed a few typos here and there. Nothing too big or anything, just thought I should mention it. :)

Anyway, on to Ron's Rants and more HQoW!!! :)

Reviewer: Stephen MubitaDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21912Chapter: 6
Just reading on through, and still loving this story. I have one question though: If the staff (other than Dumbledore and McGonnall) knew about Hermione's time travel device, how come Snape didn't put two and two together, and figure out how Buckbeak could have been rescued? Other than that, your writing is addictive. Congratulations!

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20495Chapter: 8
BLOODY BRILLIANT! WICKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'VE BEEN SITTING READING HQOW SINCE TEN THIS MORNING AND IT IS NOW MIDNIGHT, AND I'VE ONLY STOPPED LONG ENOUGH TO SHOWER AND EAT!!!!!!!! I'M HAVING A CONNIPTION NOW...ARABELLA, YOU'RE A GENIUS!!!!!

Whew, enough capitals. I need sleep, and my eyes need rest, but I get into this just like I do reading canon. I've been sitting here cursing Pettigrew foul-mouthed enough to make Ron proud, and I can't wait to read fourth year, what with Hermione liking Ron and all...haha!!!!!!!!!!! this is SO GREAT! I'M DANCING AND LAUGHING, BLOODY BRILLIANT! (Wait, I already said that) AND HOLY DANCING CAN-CAN CAMELS, I NEED TO GO TO SLEEP!
HURRAY FOR HERMIONE AND RON AND HARRY AND ARABELLA TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)

Reviewer: UnityDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 17988Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God.

I honestly don't think there are enough complimentary adjectives I can use to describe this story. Your characterization of Hermione is so brilliant, it seems effortless-- reading everything from her point of view is like reading three new books. It's incredible. (And Gwen is beautiful. I wish she lived in my diary :) I. . . what else can I say? You have an amazing talent. I loved this story.
Yours,
Unity (who has just finished Years 1, 2, and 3 in one siting and is off to read Year 4)

Reviewer: greeneyesDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17558Chapter: 8
"Gwen, they killed him.

But you said... yesterday you said... he flew away. Didnít you?

Yes, but first he died."

Oh...thats funny...I've lost count on how many times you've cracked me up during this fic...I've read the 1st year and the 2nd and now this one...I think im going to try and read the 4th before OotP comes..you just BETTER back a Hermione, Queen of the Witches, year 5...Keep writing! youre fabulous!

PS. update on After the End too while your at it! :)

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13471Chapter: 8
Oh my goodness, this fic was marvelous, thanks for posting it. I started reading it about six months ago, but it began slowly and I hate to admit it, but I got bored of it and quit. After a couple more incidences of picking it up and not reading, I finally picked it up last week and started reading. It was perfect timing, too, because my schedule has been just has hectic as Hermione's-- or would have been, if I'd had a time turner. She got more accomplished than I did with it. She and I have been able to relate fantastically. The growing relationship with Ron was great, and Hermione's thoughts on the Marauders were heartbreaking. On the whole, this fic was endlessly amusing; I liked the foreshadowing.

*trish*

Reviewer: the dictionaryDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8791Chapter: 3
I have one small mistake to observe:The Mobiliarbus charm is to move trees only- it is the Mobil prefix that means "move" ( Remember Sirius used Mobilicorpus to move Snape?) So I guess the spell to move fairies would be Mobilfairius:)

Reviewer: Mellon CollieDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7734Chapter: 8
*Screams with delight* Oh!!! Oh, oh, oh, I LOVE IT!!! I haven't been able to leave my computer the whole time I've been reading this. It's so...perfect!! And I love all the hints at R/Hness!!! I LOVE IT!!!! Off to read Ron Rants now...hehehe.... By the way, I love Gwen. She's just awesome!! She kind of reminds me of myself.

Reviewer: TorieDate: 2002-08-20
Reviewid: 2647Chapter: 1
Brilliant! Absolutely brilliant! I just love this series!

Reviewer: Q. StrawberryDate: 2002-08-08
Reviewid: 1395Chapter: 8
Yet another wonderful fic! Brilliant, how Hermione sees everything, and I love the entries, because in book three, while they were fighting, Hermione *did* step off by herself quite a bit, and you never got to see what she did. Love your writing!

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 477Chapter: 8
Being a victim of summer boredom, I'm reading all of your stories over again. Just finished this one! And again I must marvel at how well you portray Hermione's character. I also love the wonderful personality you give Gwen in your stories. She is awesome! Thanks for providing some great reading while the wait for OoP grows longer and longer and longer.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --