The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Yule Brawl
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: Paula SmithDate: 2005-03-25
Reviewid: 117682Chapter: 1
That was really good! I like the way it's bassed on the book but it's like what happens when Harry isn't around! Do write more!

Reviewer: analisa jonesDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109495Chapter: 1
it was so nice i have got to agree ron and her maka a nice couple

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87398Chapter: 1
Oh, that was awesome! Switching back and forth between their perspectives really was a perfect way to write this. Adding in the little nugget of comments from the Fat Lady & Vi really was the icing on the cake, too.

This is one of those canon scenes that we all want to know more about. You've done a great job filling in the missing pieces. Superbly done!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68846Chapter: 1
"My, someone looks even redder than usual," commented the Fat Lady. "Did you and your girlfriend have a row?"
"She just went in and she doesn’t look happy," added her friend Violet
lol, wonder if something similar will happen in one of the next books
I read your story a while ago, and have been taking it as canon,

Reviewer: thephotomanDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68719Chapter: 1
Good take on a canon moment I'm sure everyone would have loved to see more of. But then, I'm a sucker for a good brawl between Ron and Hermione. Not the romantic type that most Ents envision them having, but an honest-to-goodness canonesque fight. (My SQ-condemned shipping preferences are starting to show, aren't they?)

But anyhoo, I'm also happy to inform you that this fic has been selected to be a required short fic for the Open Minds Fic Reading Challenge. You can check us out at http://www.livejournal.com/~hpopenminds.

Congratulations!

Reviewer: floraDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60750Chapter: 1
ohh..I liked it :) very well written!
(sorry for my rngllilsh..)

Reviewer: AlixDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59193Chapter: 1
moey this is fantastic! I loved the whole thing, especially the fat lady and vi's comments and how ron called hermione "his". I don't understand why u don't have more reviews...off to wave my review sword

Reviewer: nitaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57009Chapter: 1
harry and hermione should fall in love with each other and then ron should try to seperate them

Reviewer: nitaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57007Chapter: 1
harry should start loving hermione

Reviewer: SerenaDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55729Chapter: 1
Such a cute story. I'm a such a stupid, silly freak when it comes to R/H stories, and you have told this one wonderfully. Thank you!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53098Chapter: 1
I love a good fight!

Reviewer: Lex The LovelyDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49254Chapter: 1
V. V. cute, but I would have switched Hermione's and and Ron's end's around, so that ron was last. Jis last line was just way too cute!

Reviewer: JuicyJuiceDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48014Chapter: 1
This is a superb story. It totally filled in the blanks for me. Ron and Hermione are so totally in love with each other and this just proved it. Nice job.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47744Chapter: 1
very nice and cute
well thought out, im pretty sure that thast exactly what they WERE thinking :)

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47227Chapter: 1
That was a wonderful story. I love reading thse behind the scene fics. (What JKR should have told us, but I still love her anyway, as do we all. :) ) Anyway, I was reading your other reviews and I completely agree, Ron and Hermione were totally in character, and I bet if JKR read this she would be pleased. This is exactly why I don't support Harry/Hermione ships, when Ron and Hermione's *infatuation* (great word) with each other is already there, and quite obvious. I can see why you got on the Professors' shelves. Lovely story, I am off to read more of your works.

Reviewer: KelpyDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45857Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved it. Ron and Hermione were completely in character, which is amazing, and you've touched on a missing moment that I've always wondered about. Excellent fic!

Reviewer: LilyDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31568Chapter: 1
MOEY! MOEY! MOEY! MOEY! MOEY! *repeates fanatically millions of times* YAY!!!!!!

Reviewer: girlyqDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28885Chapter: 1
hey, that's great! the title is so cool, what a great puin! the yule brawl... it's so fitting! anywway, i've always tried to imagine what happened before harry came, i admit it, but i never got it quite so right as you did. i especially liked when he called her beautiful. and the fat lady and violet know, everyone doees, but ron is SO clueless! hahahaha i luv it!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-12-28
Reviewid: 14231Chapter: 1
bravo ron! for, saying she pretty, and calling her "his hermione!" and, bravo hermione! for actually beliving there is hope for him! bravo! bravo!

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11989Chapter: 1
I love your title. :-)

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2002-12-02
Reviewid: 10874Chapter: 1
Great story

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10740Chapter: 1
Oh, Moey! That inner eye let us see what really happened when Harry wasn't there! What a brilliant story, very in-character, and I love the part where Hermione wakes up and realizes that he called her beautiful. Ron had better be the first bloke to ask her in OoP.

Reviewer: BBennettDate: 2002-08-20
Reviewid: 2586Chapter: 1
Just re-reading for the billionth time; I love this story. Cap'n Kathy is right; 'The Yule Brawl' is now a fandom term. :)

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2225Chapter: 1
awww! I'm glad Ron's FINALLY noticing Hermione here. It's certainly about time! I like seeing inside Hermione and Ron's heads--JKR doesn't really do that too often. Good work!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2068Chapter: 1
>He was the one with the Viktor doll.

LOL, go Hermione! Her fight against herself and her own feelings is both sweet and funny, and her 'voice' sounds perfectly canon-istic, as does Ron's.

>It didn't seem that Cedric wanted Ron around for whatever it was he was going to say, so Ron continued on his way.

Poor Ron! This always seems to be the case, doesn't it? And outrageous as his suppositions were about the reasons behind Krum's interest in Hermione, you can actually (kind of) see the weird Ron logic in it.

>"Clueless," said the Fat Lady.

"He'll learn soon enough!" replied Vi.

Ain't that the truth! And how…

Their argument is such a hoot - as usual, Hermione argues from impeccable logic, and Ron from sheer emotion.

>She was very sure he still had no idea.

And she would be….absolutely right! (Ron can be SUCH a dork).

The last two paragraphs were just perfect. This is such a gem of a story - every sentence counts!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1642Chapter: 1
Aww that was so cool. Ive tried to re-write that bit myself, but i just cant get it right. Its such a highly charged emotional situation so i drew it instead.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --