The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Goblin Market
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2007-01-07
Reviewid: 146778Chapter: 11
The Goblin Market is shaping up to be as good as Veratis. It is an absolutely wonderful tale. Where can I find the rest of this?

Reviewer: MarylynnDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133236Chapter: 11
I am loving this series. Your Original Characters are great. I do hope you decide to eventually finish at least this story, although I think I can probably figure out enough of the ending from this point that it wont drive me crazy if it isnt completed. It has been a great pleasure reading about the adventures of the Maruaders and their 'pups'. I will be Author Alerting you over at FF.net in case you do post anything more there.

Reviewer: AlmeidaDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99957Chapter: 1
I've been totally gripped by the Goblin Market. Is this cliffhanger really the end or will our heroes see another day? Hoping this hasn't been ditched as it's a fabulous fanfic. Fingers crossed for more!

Reviewer: ByrdDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92302Chapter: 1
I love this story. It has such a wonderful and intriguing plot, why have you abandoned it? Please continue it, I'm anxious to see what happens now that Padfoot and Moony found them!

Reviewer: MeganneDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76599Chapter: 1
i can't belive this story has been abandoned! i've even been checking other fanfiction sites to see if you've continued the story there and have just forgotten to update on SugarQuill but alas! you have not! please please finish this. im on my hands and knees! no, really i am! i love the world you've created. i cant even read fan fictions where Remus is paired with someone besides Katie without wanting to scream at the computer. Your AU world has almost blended into the JKR world as far as im concerned. PLEASE FINISH!

Reviewer: Cathy TerrellDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52822Chapter: 11
I just finished reading your other reviews so I would not sound exactly like them, but I can't help it--I love the world and characters you have created. I truly hope that there will be future adventures and that you will continue the Goblin Market. What a place to end the chapter! I am new to the fanfiction arena (a huge thanks to my niece for sending me directions to Sugar Quill) and am truly enjoying what I have found so far. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Insaninty70Date: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47471Chapter: 11
OK, saying here what I have already said on WWR: this story in WONDERFUL, please reconsider abandoning it - long live the Thingverse! Goodness, I find myself daydreaming in Thingverse more than in canon these days. And plus, finishing this would also mean having a perfect companion fic to Alphie's "Mirrored"! Please?
Insanity

Reviewer: yin_takuDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34307Chapter: 11
::cheers:: you updated~! kept us long enough, of course :P but i shan't complain b/c ... well... you updated. ::more cheering:: like the other reviewers said, draco's dialogue was amazing and so very 'thing1 world' him (i hope that makes sense...). malcolm... amuses me. to no end. =D can i keep him? XD that little segment in the middle is hilarious so kudos to you. of course, poor billy. he'll never understand the whole nine yards of the wizarding world, will he?
and of course, we can't forget the best line of the whole chapter: “Daddy! What on EARTH are you doing here?” ah yes....
please don't make us wait so long again? pretty please? with a remus plushie on top? ^^

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34271Chapter: 11
Woohoo! You updated! I love Draco's dialogue in the first part - it is so... Austen. I don't know if you intended that or not, but I enjoyed it. And the ending was great too, although I confess, I am confused about how Remus is a wolf without being a werewolf. I am pretty sure you explained this in a previous chapter, but I cannot remember the explanation, because I am lame, and it has been a while since an update. Either way, I don't care - the ending line was incredibly cute. And I loved the license you took with inserting the narrator's comments. I may steal that idea from you... :) Thanks for updating!

Reviewer: RilinaDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34248Chapter: 11
How exciting to see another chapter of this great story!

I've always liked how you wrote Draco--somehow he's always rang more true than a lot of the other redeemed!Dracos running around the fandom. Your description of his walk at the beginning of this chapter was a nice bit of characterization--it's always nice when description serves a dual purpose like that.

What's up with that sled? Very interesting.

“Daddy! What on EARTH are you doing here?”
:D Such a great ending line!

I'm looking forward to reading more whenever it's ready.

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34112Chapter: 11
<<“Daddy! What on EARTH are you doing here?”>>

That was my favorite line.

Billy's reactions to everything were hilarious. I especially loved his discovery that he was a goblin and his flight when the decidedly odd rescue party arrived.

One thing I did not get however was, why are goblin rebellions staged every 107 years? Was it something to do with that sled?

Please update again, soon, (I want to see Billy's reaction to meeting Roarke and Griffin's fathers, not to mention Charles and Elvira)

Melissa Renee

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34099Chapter: 11
Woohoo!! Yay!!!!

An update! *huge grin*

I'll leave my real review at the WWR. :-)

THANKS for updating!

I'm off to go read it...

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33406Chapter: 10
I really like the story so far and I hope that you finish it. I have read everything you have posted on SQ and love the characters!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19675Chapter: 4
Got to love those nasty goblins! "this generally involved the individual in question being left in a small dark pit for as long as the goblins felt like it before they bothered to start any questioning."

Oooh, the Goblin Congress--interesting. I'm truly enjoying the fact that someone has taken the time to expand and develop the goblins. They are so fascinating and you do such a good job of balancing their own unique brand of over the top wickedness with their intelligence. Plus, I love your goblin names.

"Unrest and rebellion was always profitable for those who were prepared to properly insinuate themselves into the argument." Very cleverly written, poetic insight into the capitalist side of war.

Love Lily's goblin ditty and the death symbol for goblin magic! Very, very cool!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19258Chapter: 3
You do a great jobof writing magic from a Muggle's perspective (love the description of the taxi ride through Trafalgar Square). Your description of Sirius's office is lush and rich and I like the hints of the Gryffindor colors. Mmmmm, Sirius and Remus in suits.

Love Kentvicks; what a nasty, funny creature! Great build-up od suspense, although it's been a bit difficult keeping track of some of the children at first.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19256Chapter: 2
What a great parent line!:

"I saw a blur that gave a muffled and rather unenthusiastic 'hi dad' as it dashed up the staircase trailing bits behind it. As it looked suspiciously like our son I let it pass."

Love your Sirius and Remus interactions. The part about Remus getting his visa was very heartbreaking and Sirius's comment about being "the convict and the werewof.". Very sweet how they all talk about and relate to their children, especially Sirius's comment about his son's height. Nice set-up of the goblin robbery; handled in a very realistic way with the press-clipping and Sirius's notes and the trip to Germany.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19253Chapter: 1
What a great line! Very creative pharasing! "With nothing better to do besides defy the increasingly intense and obnoxious health warnings on the effects of tobacco,"

Love the reference to "The Amityville Horror!"

"Billy decided being mugged by two psycho midgets really was going to be the low point of his existence." LOL!!!

Oooh, such an interesting set up! I love the set up of dealing with the goblins and the creation of a jewel cutter. It's nice to see an expansion on the more obscure parts of the Potterverse. You got me hooked; off to read the next chapters.

Reviewer: ginny5Date: 2002-12-21
Reviewid: 13524Chapter: 10
i like it! i'm really glad you updated....its been a while. (no offense). Annie acts different than i imagined. oh, yes, i go imagine about your stories, i actually have annie and griffin out of hogwarts and in their own apartment right now. (in my head ) PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE UPDATE SOON!!! I MISSED THE GOBLIN MARKET! i've reread all your fics so many times its probably sickening. PLEASE update soon!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12398Chapter: 10
OK, the Real Review, as promised:

Very cute how Annie and Gary are performing their own little stealth operation. Where would Remus and Sirius be right now wthout them?

I hope Moony and Padfoot don't get caught. I shudder to think what would happen to Remus if he was caught roaming around outside on the full moon.

Poor Harold. Poor, poor Harold. All that mess! Sirius is going to be replacing a lot of furniture....

It's a good thing Billy is not panicking. Actually, that might not be because he is brave or anything, because he doesn't seem to realize that he is now a goblin.

Can't wait to see what happens next!

Until the next update (hopefully soon),

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12265Chapter: 10
Yay! An update! Woohoo!!!! *happy dance*

So glad it wasn't flushed.

OK, no time to actually read it right now, but I will read it when I get back. And then, I'll type a real review.

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Miss PinceDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12252Chapter: 10
You updated! Finally! Geez, I've re-read almost all of your stories between installments of this one...

I love your Sirius and Remus. They're so real and alive somehow, as are all their families. Sirius commenting on Draco getting married and raising children had me rolling on the floor.

Hopefully I won't have to wait as long for the next chapter... please?

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12205Chapter: 10
Much good fun as usual, Thing!! Love the way you have everyone trying to foster / hinder Sirius and Remus (whilst not being seen to of course!). And GO the brains of the outfit - Liz and Katie.

Enjoyed your minor characters Harold and Tubby, and the griffins and Draco were priceless.

I have a horrible suspicion that there is going to be QUITE some family 'discussion' at the Lupina nd Black households when all this is over.

Alkari

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12193Chapter: 10
I think what I like best was the very last bit. And I love reading about Sirius and Remus going on adventures again. This story is so much fun.

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12168Chapter: 10
I am so glad you finally updated!

I just love the way you balance the humor with the danger. Everyone is worried for everyone else. Poor Billy. And poor Griffin and Roarke. Trapped in the center of the earth! And even worse trapped as a goblin!

I really enjoyed the last scene. The idea of Annie and Gary struggling to make it possible for Sirius and Remus to get away without making it too obvious was hilarious.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12165Chapter: 10
Oh! I had nearly given up hope, and here you are, returned with a new chapter, a nice summary to remind us where we were, and Gary Weasley as well!

Thank you! I have to say that for me, the highlight of this chapter was Remus and Sirius acting like they are going through the equivalent of a wizarding midlife crisis. I'm surprised Sirius didn't show up to fetch Remus in a shiny red convertible.

Why do I sense that they are going to cause a lot of trouble before they do any good?

Reviewer: April SkrutinDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9488Chapter: 9
I really love your stories. Please continue to write!

Reviewer: AnonymousChicDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 973Chapter: 1
I only recently started reading fanfiction, (waiting for book 5 is getting hard!) and so far I have only found about 3 fanfic authors that I like. You are one of them! And this particular story is very entertaining. I like all the characters, especially Billy Stockwell (For some reason, Muggle characters are always so funny!). Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 563Chapter: 9
Ah, Thing1, another wonderful chapter. I especially enjoyed the Icarus broom.

"An Icarus! Barrington&#8217;s close to banning those from the school; keep throwing the younger ones who have managed t&#8217;convince their Da they can handle them."
~
That's very clever! Like the Icarus in Greek Mythology who crashed into the sea. Another wonderful touch!

Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 561Chapter: 9
Everything is getting so exciting! The scene wit Malcolm was wonderful. He has grown up so much. And I really like Griffin's idea. Very clever. I am also curious about what Remus is planning.

Reviewer: LunaticaDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 556Chapter: 9
Thing this story just keeps getting better and better. I really hope nothing bad happens to Billy due to him turning into a goblin.

Luu

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --