The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Benedictio Amicorum
Review(s): 43

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141121Chapter: 1
Brilliantly done

Reviewer: Abbie Rose DavisDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134673Chapter: 1
hehe wow. that's a wicked fanfic! i loved it!

Reviewer: NialDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128692Chapter: 1
Floods of tears...

Friendship is such an underated kind of love.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-03-24
Reviewid: 117635Chapter: 1
Nicely done. Great job! :)

Reviewer: tango-ta-tangerineDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116776Chapter: 1
I love the line about how their love gives him more protection than a charm could, but surely Hermione will figure out it's only a placebo. Although it sounds like Dumbledore has unintentionally discovered a new spell from the ending. Write lots more.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116431Chapter: 1
Oh, how sweet. Sometimes, love is all you really need.

Reviewer: MorganDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106687Chapter: 1
This was beautiful. It gave me the chills when I read the part about "the blessing of friends." What a statement.

And when Harry dreamt of a cloak protecting and sheltering him, my eyes welled up. Just lovely!

Thanks,
Morgan

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101431Chapter: 1
I have tears in my eyes. And I've read this before. I knew the ending and it was still effective. I like the idea of their willingness to sacrifice themselves for their friend. And the interaction between the two is very good. They seem to be the right age for the book. Which is great since you write them as older in your other stories.

Great work! As expected.

Reviewer: KarenSDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99800Chapter: 1
Really beautiful story!! Love the way you love the characters.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95183Chapter: 1
I love this piece because you can see how much Harry's best friends love him, and you can feel the love coursing through Harry after the spell's completed. It's as real as any spell, I reckon.

I love your characterizations of the whole Harry Potter cast. It feels so much like canon yet gives you room to look at canon at a slightly different angle. Excellent work.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90244Chapter: 1
Wow! I loved the part with the charm not being real, because of course their friendship is stronger than any magic could be, and the part where they both talked about how much Harry meant to them.. and Harry’s dream- the rain and then the cloak to shield him- perfect. It made me shiver, it was so well done.

Reviewer: MaabDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79821Chapter: 1
short, cute and to the point. i quite enjoyed it! keep up the interesting work!
Maab

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73025Chapter: 1
Would be just like Dumbledore to discover a spell by accident :)

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71771Chapter: 1
That was altogether lovely. I'm adding it to my list of favorite stories over at the Plot Bunnies site.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71728Chapter: 1
My mind must be going. I could have sworn that I reviewed this, but I don't see me anywhere. :-(

Anyway, this is another gem. From the parallel dreams at the beginning and the end, to Hermione almost giving Ron a heart attack, to Dumbledore almost giving Ron another heart attack, to the real meaning behind the incantation.

Favorite lines:
"'Yes, it does. Anyhow, half of it is just because he's so--so...'

'Harry,' said Ron."
***

"'Hermione,' Ron hissed. He was trying to keep her in Hogwarts here, the least she could do was play along--"

***
And the best part -- "Shielded by his cloak, he lifted his head to wait out the storm."

I think Dumbledore's charm was more real than he realized. There's more magic in the world than even the greatest wizards know of.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71314Chapter: 1
i love the last line. it made me cry.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59907Chapter: 1
I swear that I will not read any more of your stories without a box of tissues at hand. I think you see the value of friendship more than any author I've ever read! Great work!!
I like this bit:
>>"Yes, it does. Anyhow, half of it is just because he's so--so--"

"Harry," said Ron.<< Off to get my box...

Reviewer: PussyKatDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49750Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! It was so touching, so sweet...*sniffles* ;-p
Blessed Be,
PK

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49026Chapter: 1
mmmmmmmmmm placebo charm. well done, dumbledore.

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45686Chapter: 1
very well ritten and a good story

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44318Chapter: 1
i really liked this fan-fic-. it touched some odd corner of my heart and made me wet-eyed. thank you for such great writing

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42610Chapter: 1
Okay, I now have chills and it isnt because of the air conditioner. For being a shorter story the emotion was quite impactful. This should be emailed to JKR maybe give her even more ideas to incorporate ...not as though she needs alot of help but this was incredible.

Reviewer: ElliottDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42292Chapter: 1
Just for that, Benedicto Amicorum is going to be a spell in a fic I write. Well done. Very well done.

Reviewer: TishDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41526Chapter: 1
It is very, very rare that a story can make me cry. Somehow this did. I confess I skipped the dream at first, but then I re-read it, and I was already teary… <pulls self together> When most people write Harry nightmares it is a simple memory. I find that rarely are nightmares just this. The brilliance and poignancy of the dream is only the start of why I love this fic. Your Ron and Hermione were spot on. The ‘evil influences’, I particularly liked Ron’s misunderstanding of ‘love’ and his quiet revelation about Hermione. The fact that even in their worry they bicker and joke made it all more real. ‘Nothing and no one to depend on except his own shaky skills and the nebulous protection of a mother he'd never known.’ I loved that. And ‘Ron's twin’. Dumbledore’s ‘charm’, that kind of astute observation was right on for him. I could go on and on, the little things like the twins having Measles- but I really have to go read it again.

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33695Chapter: 1
This is really good! I think you ought to write another chapter or make a sequel. Please do!

Reviewer: IrethDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33368Chapter: 1
Fantastic! I got chills at the very end, it's really beautiful! And just 'cause I'm so sharing, would you mind if i try to translate it into Russian language and post it on a message board? If you could, drop me a mail when (or if?) you read this.... thanks!

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28758Chapter: 1
Beautiful. They're right, no one should have to go through that. But if he hadn't, you couldn't have given us this wonderful story.

Reviewer: LarsDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28687Chapter: 1
This is such an incredibly powerful and sweet story. It get me all choked up, and reminds me why I like the books so much. You excellently captured the strength of their friendship. Thanks for writing and sharing this story.

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26852Chapter: 1
A wonderful story. Everyone so in character, and I love the twists at the end: that there is no charm, and that it still worked for Harry.

My favorite quote is: "It wasn't fair that a boy of fourteen should have lines around his mouth and ghosts in his eyes and scars on his soul." *sniff*

Reviewer: EvaDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25869Chapter: 1
A truly nice pice of work. It really makes you appreciate the love of friends.

Reviewer: SharaiDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25599Chapter: 1
"Shielded by his cloak, he lifted his head to wait out the storm."

Beautifully poetic. JK may not have said better. These final words could be written about the Harry in canon.

Very nice, indeed.

Reviewer: SzandraDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17327Chapter: 1
I know that helpless feeling--wanting to help, wanting to protect, wanting to make it better for a friend, and the awfulness of knowing you can do nothing. Your story evoked this all too well. I loved the way that Dumbledore helped Ron and Hermione to feel that they were doing *something.* From a perspective of maturity, Dumbledore knows that their friendship was really all they could give Harry and was what he really needed, but at the same time, realizing that Ron and Hermione couldn't quite believe that. Very psychologically astute--and thus very much in character for Dumbledore! R&H were also well written as their "canon" selves. Excellent and poignant.

Reviewer: IkazoDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12419Chapter: 1
I cried for their love.

Reviewer: Immortalis_VespersDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10779Chapter: 1
Good

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4324Chapter: 1
...I'm gonna cry. I am crying. That was beautiful. I loved it.

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-09-11
Reviewid: 3726Chapter: 1
Second time reading this. The first time, I got chills when Dumbledore explained about the charm that wasn't. This time the chills waited until the end with the dream. Kind of the chills, wasn't it? ;) This is just gorgeous. ::sigh::

Reviewer: undunDate: 2002-09-11
Reviewid: 3724Chapter: 1
Well, this is just about the perfect shortfic, it really is! I speak as one who has been reading fanfic since.... oh, this is embarrassing really... 1982? I really enjoyed this and I will be saving the story to my hard drive so's I can revisit and get that feeling all over again when I need it. :-)

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2961Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I'm going to add this to my list of "this really happened behind the scenes, it's just that JKR didn't tell us about it" fics.

Reviewer: NaginiDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2846Chapter: 1
Beautiful story! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2821Chapter: 1
That is soo sweet! I love the bond between the three of them presented in your story that is suggested in cannon. The story is very well written and, cheesy as this may seem, holds a message for us in the real world. I love the character development in the story, and how strongly both Hermione and Ron love Harry. Keep writing!

Reviewer: JinxDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2729Chapter: 1
I really ike this story and can't wait to see where you take it if you indeed update it. Keep up the great work
Jinx

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!!Date: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2684Chapter: 1
this story is just so sweet!!!!
i really loved it
just like they have,a true and stong friendship
cheers!

Reviewer: BethanyDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 938Chapter: 1
this is so sweet. I hope u write more of this.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --