The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 103

Reviewer: IzzieDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149080Chapter: 15
This was amazing! I thought you really captured how Ginny would be feeling, and it was really easy to empathise with her.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-03
Reviewid: 145588Chapter: 15
Quite Excellent

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134349Chapter: 2
your fic' is very nice,
I have not finished yet but you are a very good writer!
Have you read "the very secret diary" of Arabella?
that's the same story but THROUGH the diary
it's very good too and VERY scary,
especially if you read it alone!
Now I get back to my reading!

Reviewer: MayaDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126785Chapter: 14
I first read this fanfic a few years ago and it stuck with me. I still think it is the best fanfiction I have ever read. Ever. It is absolutely excellent and I think if JKR had written Book 2 from Ginny's perspective it would have been similar. You have written a beautiful piece here. =)

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112907Chapter: 15
Excellent. Bloody Brilliant. It rivals Arabella's story. I always wondered about CoS from Ginny's point of view. My favourite part? Besides the Twins visiting Ginny in the hospital wing, and her first train ride (Brothers.) I think it would have to be: 'My name is Virginia Myrtle Weasley, mostly called Ginny. And sometimes Ginny- Ginny- Wee-One, but only by very special people.
This is MY Diary.'
Thank you,
Angelina Weasley.

Reviewer: Wannabe WeasleyDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110506Chapter: 15
Amazing...really well-written. I have only one brother but loads of older boy cousins and I appreciate that the author made Ginny into someone I could really relate to, how brothers (etc.) can exacerbate a truly awful thing just by trying to help. Bravo.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96792Chapter: 15
I found this story while searching for Ginny fics (since today is August 11th, revealed by JKR to be Ginny's birthday). I enjoyed your take of Book Two and the strength her dependence on the diary and Tom.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91791Chapter: 14
This is a fantastic story! You've blended it in with the book just marvelously; it was a definite pleasure to read. Great grammer, dialogue, and everything else that makes a story just right. :) There's something so interesting about the Ginny/Tom relationship, and it's so nice to see that someone has actually explored this area of the book. Reading Tom's comments and hearing Ginny's thoughts (so well written and true to the characters) brings more closure to the book in a way. I loved the way you wrote about Ginny's relationship with her brothers as well. I've always got my eyes peeled for a great Weasley family fic, and this one didn't disappoint. One of my favourite parts was the whole 'Mudblood' scene with Percy. You literally dropped my jaw there for a second!

Anyway, I don't mean to ramble on, but I just don't have enough good things to say about your writing skills, and what a wonderful story this is. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: DigificWriterDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91422Chapter: 2
Nice story so far (I'm in the middle of Chapter 2), but the fact that you've created a totally different full name for Ginny than her canonical name is kind of detracting from my enjoyment. If you can, I'd suggest re-writing/editing the story so that it uses Ginny's real canonical full name (Ginerva Molly Weasley).

Reviewer: scoutwillowDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91200Chapter: 15
*cry, sob* oh my gosh! this is like the best storie EVER! thank you for makeing my day, you could really pass for Rowling. :) thanks again!

Reviewer: Vikki KennedyDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90876Chapter: 15
OMG!!! An amazing story!!! It was sooo good and sooo accurate!! I thought it was a perfect version of Ginny. I never considered looking at Ginny's point of veiw until this story. PLEASE WRITE MORE STORIES FROM GINNY'S POINT OF VIEW!! You connected so well with Ginny. I loved how you portrayed Ginny as a normal girl. I loved that even in a magical world she had girly problems of her own. In a way you made Ginny connect with all preteen and teenage girls.

AMAZING STORY!!!
WE NEED MORE WRITERS LIKE YOU!!!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90562Chapter: 15
This is one of those stories about which any kind of review seems inadequate. Truly inspiring. The range of this story from the comic, to the sweet, to the truly terrifying is breath- taking. It was moving to see it all played out, to be taken to the depths, when Ginny was completely controlled by the diary and Tom forced her to be awake while opening the chamber and petrifying Hermione and Penny to her release and her realisation of how much her family really do love her. I honestly canít tell you how much reading this story meant to me. I know something of what itís like to feel powerless and alone, like Ginny, so hopelessly aware of my own weaknessÖ and I know what itís like to be saved, to be brought back again. I cannot thank you enough for sharing this.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81212Chapter: 15
Very convincing and tense account of Ginny's first year. Towards the end of the year I like "Dear Tom" a little bit better, but yours is the better story when seen as a whole.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71675Chapter: 15
Good job! I absolutely adored it. I think you have a good hold on the real Ginny Weasley. She acted just like I thought she would (not to mention, the end in Egypt reminded me of how she acts in OotP :) ). Very awesome. Keep it up! Have you ever thought of doing Ginny's POV with the journal of all of the other books? I think that would be fab!

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68091Chapter: 15
*clapps hands* good. Very good in fact. I love your characterization of Ginny. It positively broke my heart in some places.

Reviewer: ElvirielDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65936Chapter: 15
Wow I loved it totally ! It captured totally Ginny's depression and all. I actually cried a lot because you explained so sonderfully what she was going though ... That's a really great fic !

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58439Chapter: 15
Truly awesome job. But you didn't really address the parseltongue part. Is it an ability or was it from the diary? I'm guessing the second, but...

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45850Chapter: 15
Oh, I loved this. You characterize Ginny very well, fleshing her out and making her relatable as she went through this ordeal. I loved all the Weasleys you wrote. As an avid Tom fan, I was intrigued by your take, and I was pleased with what I found. I look forward to reading more of your stuff.

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42195Chapter: 15
Great ending! I have a question, though. Did you write this chapter before or after Order of the Phoenix came out? I'm wondering since the part about Ginny retaining some of Tom's qualities seemed like something I had read in the 5th book. So, if you had written this before the book came out, that would be really cool! Anyway, I'm glad I read this fic since I like Ginny a lot more now! It's really interesting to hear the story in her point of view, rather than in Harry's, so I think you did a wonderful job! And thank you for the story!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42193Chapter: 14
Hmmm, this is quite a mystery. I wonder what Dumbledore was thinking when he said this, "I can take a hint, old friend." It was really cool that Fawkes gave Ginny a feather? I know it's important, but what will it do? Hehe, I loved the end, where Ginny uses the phoenix quill to write in her new diary! But you know, now that I think about it, I suppose it WOULD have been pretty cool to have a diary that talks back...(well, except if it was Tom Riddle talking back!)

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42189Chapter: 13
heehee, a happy ending! I think the funniest part in this chapter was Fred and George's "talk" with Ginny! Well, there's two more chapters to go, so I better get a move on! (Geez, I've been reading this story for practically the entire day! Yikes, I haven't gotten any homework done!)

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42187Chapter: 12
Excellent chapter! I loved the part where Ginny tried to tell Ron and Harry the truth, but couldn't because Percy arrived. In fact, I love all of the little tidbits that were in the 2nd book! It was great to include them! Also, I liked the part where Carmen found the hair clip and knew that Ginny had been taken. Although I never really thought about how the teachers knew that it was Ginny who was gone, this story cleared up the mystery!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42180Chapter: 10
I loved this chapter! I especially liked the part where Ginny picks up Harry's photo album to keep it from getting ink all over it! If it had been damaged, I bet Harry would have been very very upset.

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42156Chapter: 8
wow! I loved this chapter, especially when Ginny realizes that it's Tom who was controlling her! I really liked the part where Ginny is speaking to Percy about Penny and the words that comes out of her mouth aren't what she intended. I also loved her "talk" with herself, where she remembers all the words that Tom said to her and finally realizes that he is bad. I felt really sorry for Ginny, though, since he was the only friend she had! However, now I'm glad that she and Carmen became friends! (But of course, there's more mysteries ahead because Harry now has the diary!) hehe, Great Great Great!!!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42155Chapter: 7
I loved the Weasley family get-together! At times like those, one wishes one could have a family like that! And now, the birthday mystery is cleared up! Poor Ginny, though! She's probably feeling sad again!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42154Chapter: 6
Oooh! Very interesting story! Brings up many interesting points. First of all, did Tom tell Ginny the charm and purposely not tell her how to work it? Or was it really just due to forgetfulness? I have a feeling that he probably wanted her to be humiliated and alienated by everyone. And also, about the Parselmouth thing, that was a great idea! I loved the fact that Ginny knew Parselmouth (from Tom, of course). I never noticed that while reading the 2nd book, but I'm glad you brought it up! Come to think of it, I didn't notice a lot of things until you pointed them out in this story! So great job!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42152Chapter: 5
Oooh! The plot gets thicker and thicker! This was a great chapter! (I'm glad I'm reading the whole story at once! At least I won't have chapter cliffhangers to agonize over! hehe) I'm really glad that Ginny finally found a friend. But, I bet Tom purposely made her attack Colin because he didn't want Ginny to have any friends (that way, he can control her and she wouldn't have anyone to talk to). Ooh, the suspense! I especially loved the Quidditch match! It was really nice to see Ginny, Hermione, and Ron's point of view during the game! I loved the lines:
"Ginny spun around. Harry was just collapsing into a heap of robes on the ground. In all her life, sheíd never known Ron to move so fast. He was halfway down the stairs before she could even lift one foot, Hermione close behind."
It shows that they (Ron, especially, since he moved the fastest) really cared about Harry. All in all, this was a great great chapter!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42148Chapter: 4
Awww, poor Ginny! It must be awful when nobody talks to you! I'm really sorry for her. She didn't even get to eat her own birthday cake.... I bet I would feel really lonely if everybody had forgotten my birthday too! This is an awesome story!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42141Chapter: 2
Wow! Awesome chapter! Oooh, it's getting spookier and spookier with Tom around! Although I can see why Ginny likes him (he's very kind...or at least he's pretending to be!), it just brings home the fact that some people you put your trust in may turn out to betray you. (It kind of reminds me of those internet stalkers--they sound nice, but they aren't who they say they are.) But anyway, I loved this chapter and I'm getting to like Ginny more and more! (When I was reading the real HP books, I didn't really think she was too important, but while reading your story, it brings up an interesting perspective!) I think it's really sad that her brothers are ignoring here. It must be really tough to be the only girl in the family! I'm looking forward to reading more!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42139Chapter: 1
hahahaha! This is definitely a great story so far! I loved all the allusions to the 2nd book! It was great to see Ginny's point of view while knowing what Harry's POV was also!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38120Chapter: 15
Awesome, I loved reading it from Ginny's perspective. Very true to the story.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36357Chapter: 1
I was hesitant to read this because I adored "The Very Secret Diary" (you know, would it measure up?), but no worries! This was wonderful. I absolutely love Ginny's relationship with her brothers here, and Carmen Jordan is a terrific OC.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34032Chapter: 15
A-ha! The Epilogue seems like a set-up of sorts, so I'm interested to see what you might do with it. Good job on aging Ginny in her speech and actions, and congrats again on finishing this!

Katinka

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33962Chapter: 15
great ending for the story-with Dumbledore and all

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33733Chapter: 15
Yay, we got an epilogue! I liked it. It really pushes the theory that part of Tom is left in Ginny to the limits!

I'd just like to say....SEQUEL PLEASE!

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33677Chapter: 15
The conclusion to Ginny's story was very satisfying...I loved the way you have involved her in the fight to come. You also hinted at Dumbledore's (maybe) impending death, which shows that the young are going to be the major factor in defeating Voldemort. I'm sorry that this wonderful story is over, but you will write more for us soon, right? I'm a big Mosylu fan! I feel that you captured the Ginny I had in my mind, and that is so rare to find. THANK YOU for this story, and write more soon!
Lyl-
Tiki

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33333Chapter: 14
Ah, what a lovely end. (Or is this the end? Are you planning more?) :)

<<"You know, youíre really no different than the vast majority of first-year students, Miss Weasley. You all came here a bit frightened, missing your families, a bit uncertain about yourselves. Thatís a terribly vulnerable time for anybody. Itís all too easy to get mixed up with people who do you more harm than good."

"But nobody else got posessed and went round trying to kill people, did they?" she said miserably.>>

Okay, I shouldn't have laughed at that, but Ginny is so sweet and unsure and self-deprecating.

Excellent Dumbledore characterization -- he doesn't candy-coat Tom's manipulation, and his candidness helps Ginny learn to acknowledge and deal with all her emotions, good and bad.

Great little scene with Molly at the end -- "This is MY diary." Woohoo! That's right, Ginny!

You write Ginny with the best of them. :) Congrats on completing a wonderful story.

Katinka

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33240Chapter: 14
Wonderful Ending! Will you be writing another story? Preferably an H/G one? I love the way you write!

You did a truly wonderful job on this story (I'm assuming this is the last chapter, though I wouldn't mind another one!)! I like the way you planned out Ginny, and the cute Harry/Ginny scene in the hospital wing. I understand what she means about the diary- you can't tell people everything.

Absolutely Corking!

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33145Chapter: 14
Very nice ending. I especially loved:

[quote]This is MY diary. [/quote]

I liked the way you handled Ginny's new diary, I've always thought she would be somewhat diary-phobic after her experience.

Percy, Fred and George with the tomb were great. Very amusing to see them pretend to not like the headless tomb and then get excited about a princess's tomb with lots of jewelry and stuff.

Melissa Renee

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33082Chapter: 14
Bravo, Mosylu. Bra-vo! I haven't left you many reviews (if any at all), but I wanted you to know I've been following this religiously. I've loved this story. Many people have written Ginny-and-Tom's-diary fics, but yours stands out in my mind.

What made this story special was the whimsical nature you gave it. Even when the going was darkest for dear Ginny, you gave it a light-hearted, loving touch. The dynamic between Ginny and her family was delightfully rich, and I just love the way you've woven your own touches and details into JK Rowling's world. Some things, like the phoenix feather and the trip to Egypt in the coda, were obvious extensions of canon, yet I've never seen anyone else use them (at a couple of points, I was slapping my head, going "Of course! That's perfect--why didn't I think of that before!").

Your Ginny is a lovely girl. Thank you for letting us get to know her!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31390Chapter: 13
Well, after this delightful chapter, all is well between me and the Weasley boys again. :) I'm so glad that you wrote this. I don't think Ginny could be "perfectly happy again", to paraphrase CoS, without having some sort of talk with her brothers.

This line just broke my heart:

<<Ginny opened her mouth, meaning to be calm and collected, to confess very maturely to her actions, but what came out was nearer a wail. "His d-diary! Iíve been writing in it, and heís been w-writing back all year--">>

Oh, she needn't worry...to even face up to her actions took a great deal of maturity. The scene with Percy was also particularly touching. I really like the special place you've given him in this fic -- that year affected him deeply, too:

<<Then the waterworks really started, because he was being so kind instead of scolding her. She sobbed into her brother's shoulder while he awkwardly patted her hair and told her she was sorry and that was what counted and even though she really should have known better she was very brave to have owned up to it in the end, and Penny was being revived and she would be all right, and he wasn't mad, honestly he wasn't . . . >>

And if I ever needed a reason to love Colin, it had to be this:

<<"ĎS not your fault," Colin said staunchly. "Iíll hate the git who enchanted you, but not you.">>

What wonderful friends, to rally around her so. :) And Fred and George's visit was GREAT. All the visits were fabulously in character, especially Harry's (whaddaya mean, that's not canon!). He was so considerate and humble, just as he's always been to Ginny. Oh! And he wanted to stay another minute! :D

I've really loved this fic -- thank you for writing it!

Katinka

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31381Chapter: 13
Bloody BRILLIANT! The Harry scene was canonical to me! hee hee hee....is that the end? One more chapter, if you can? Perhaps another conversation between Harry and Ginny where they both blush? Oh, dang, THAT wouldn't be canonical.....

Absolutely Corking!

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31285Chapter: 13
AWWWW!!! Let me say that right now, I'm typing faster than I've ever typed before, in all my spazz-ness.

First I wanted to cry, then I wanted to hug somebody, then I was just all squirmy and wriggling and going "Awww!" every five seconds. You are such an incredibly great writer, I can't even tell you. : )

Awwww!

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31281Chapter: 13
Oh Mosy! I really loved the way you wrote all the Weasleys in this chapter. Especially Percy! The scene with Harry was also a nice addition, as it helps to explain how Ginny went to being instantly happy again in the books. Great chapter, I hope you have more coming soon!
-Teeks
(Tiki)

Reviewer: Anne KeeneDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31218Chapter: 13
What a wonderful chapter! I loved how Ginny's family and friends rallied around her. Canon makes it clear that they did, but we don't see it, so it's nice to see it in fan fiction.

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28774Chapter: 12
Oooh, that was scary! The way you portrayed Ginny's fear, and Tom's ruthless nature is perfect. Ron was great in this chapter also...being all protective of his little sister. Write more sooon!
-Tiki

Reviewer: LoeeDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28731Chapter: 12
That was utterly FANTASTIC !!!!
The charecters are so...in charecter!!
It's PERFECT (ignoring the Anglo-American language barrier)
PLEASE say you're going to go to the end of CoS and finish it soon. PLEASE

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28668Chapter: 12
Ahh.
Somebody, please kill me right now, because I couldn't die happier. That is, without a doubt, the single most fantastic fan fiction, Harry Potter related or otherwise, that I have ever read.
Mosylu, You Are A Genius.
I love how Tom seems so friendly and sympathetic, yet we all know from the start he's evil. And Carmen is just a great friend--I suppose you needed her to keep Ginny together under all that stress, and to let the teachers know that it was Ginny who had been taken at the end.

THANK YOU for one of the best fan fics the world has ever seen.

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28623Chapter: 12
Love it!! I realize that I know what happens next, but I'm on pins and needles waiting to see what happens next. I first thought that the shifted POV to Ginny's friends once she was taken was wrong for the story, but I like that Carmen and Jeremy discover that she's gone. Great! Update soon

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28517Chapter: 12
I love it good job!

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28501Chapter: 12
no time....one word...

CHEERS!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28437Chapter: 12
Wow. Your best chapter yet, I believe. The writing is tight, and Ginny's internal anguish is so palpable. I literally *jumped* in my chair at this part, I was so startled:

<<Ginny stared at herself in the mirror and hated everything she saw. If only she hadnít been so stupid as to trust in Tom--and to let him become her whole world--and then not telling anyone--and keeping on not telling anyone--

That was her whole problem, keeping secrets, keeping them far beyond the point where she should have told someone. She kept too many secrets, when she had ought to be telling them. No more secrets, she vowed. Never again.

She opened her mouth.

*Donít you dare, you silly little girl.*>>

And then I had chills for the remainder of the chapter. Tom just had evil seeping out of him everywhere.

You also did an excellent job of melding yout own details with the canon events and dialogue. I had trouble remembering which was which sometimes! I liked your explanation for how they knew it was *Ginny* who was taken.

Wow, again. Excellent work.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-04
Reviewid: 26259Chapter: 11
Aaaaaarrrggghhhh! I've been shivering through the entire first half of this thing. You know you've written a good chapter when your readers are *pleading* with the computer screen, as if that will make Ginny chuck the diary in the fire. This part gave me the willies:

<<"Have you heard? About Hermione and the Ravenclaw girl? Oh, but you must have--you look awful."

Sheíd heard. Sheíd heard their voices around the corner, Hermione suggesting a mirror, the sickening thud as their Petrified bodies had given way to gravity . . .

And Tomís voice, self-satisfied. Perfect.

"I heard," she said.>>

The moment between Percy and (Petrified) Penny caught me totally unawares and made me cry. You're doing a masterful job with this story.

Katinka :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-04
Reviewid: 26258Chapter: 10
Poor, poor Ginny:

<<Harry seemed to have permanently turned beet-red, and every one of the six or seven hundred times she happened to be looking in his direction, heíd slunk a little lower in his chair.>>

Unrequited love is bad enough, without the complication of the former selves of evil overlords. I love the Weasley boys, but they can be unfeeling and obnoxious a great portion of the time, and I like the way you realistically show that. They didn't exactly take the best care of little sis that year.

Some other great lines:

<<The lack of one just about made up for the lack of the other, she decided. Never before had she been so happy for him to ignore her.>>

<<But as the days wore on, and Ginny's fingernails slowly started to retreat back down toward her fingertips...>>

Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-04
Reviewid: 26216Chapter: 9
Catching up on the latest chapters!

I love all the coming-of-age touches in this one...worries about figures and those dratted monthly things. I'm so happy to see Ginny adjusting and making friends. This passage has a lot of impact in that regard:

<<She compared notes with Carmen for a moment, but just as she was starting to relax, Jeremy announced, "I like you better without it."

"Without--what? The diary?"

"Yeah. You come up for air every so often."

He didnít know the half of it.>>

Watching her plan the Valentine was like waiting for a train wreck you already know is coming. ;) I kept wanting to yell, "No, Ginny! NOOOO!!!" But alas, some ideas sound really good to a twelve year-old mind.

Katinka :)

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2003-03-24
Reviewid: 25127Chapter: 10
This is good. I love the way you portray Ginny. I love her friends, too, true Griffindors. Good stuff.

Reviewer: Evelyn DreamtrotDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24287Chapter: 10
No! it can't stop there!
This really is rather enjoyable. It's weird reading a fic about characters outside the trio, especially Ginny, and feeling alienated. Her change of moods is wonderfully subtle, how she wasn't herself when she had the diary, and it finally climaxed during her figth with Percy.
Rather mad at the Weasley boys for being prats.
This is a fun read! (ahem... UPDATE!)
Evelyn

Reviewer: Anne KeeneDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24147Chapter: 10
Thanks for updating. You do a wonderful job of exploring Ginny's feelings as she covers up for herself. It's very heartbreaking to see her forced to do what she know is wrong because she's scared of losing everything. I hope you'll update again soon.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23323Chapter: 9
When will the next cahpter be out?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23207Chapter: 4
I think your story is really great! I know what happens, so it all makes sense, and it's just thriling!

Reviewer: vanessaDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17381Chapter: 9
When are you going to finish it??!!!! its really good

Reviewer: Manda PotterDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14870Chapter: 9
This was good, but "The Very Secret Diary" by Arabell was MUCH better. You should read it and get some tips from her!!!!!

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12010Chapter: 9
OMG! that was hilarious! I started snorting like a pig for some parts of this fic and my family thought i was losing it. Really good portrayal of Tom, like he was trying to be nice but there was something creepy about him if you knew. and ginny's brothers... i swear sometimes i really wanted to slap ron or the twins. it was really good. congrats!!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11161Chapter: 9
Lovely chapter - and that part with the valentine - I think you captured it quite well.

Reviewer: zequistDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11142Chapter: 9
Don't really have much to comment on. Just thought I'd let you know I'm enjoying this.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11115Chapter: 9
::cries for Ginny::

Oh, you poor dear! And she was just starting to make friends...

~TPR

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11107Chapter: 9
Oh, poor Ginny! I'm so glad she has friends, though, and I *do* like the parallel between her "trio" and Harry's.

You're handling her crush wonderfully, and I like the contrast between Jeremy's teasing and Carmen's reassurance. Ginny isn't mooning over Harry too much, but she also isn't about to get over him. She's sweet and sympathetic, and I find myself hoping against hope that she never has to go down into that Chamber. ;)

Also, lovely details - Snape's ruler, girl talk, mashed potatoes, "Lockhart the Lunkhead"....

Reviewer: GogirlDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11088Chapter: 9
Poor Ginny!!! I thought her poem was cute... corny but cute... update soon!

Reviewer: ShrubweaselDate: 2002-11-28
Reviewid: 10421Chapter: 8
Awesome book! great parallel to the HPCOS book! I just want to compliment you and say that i cant wait for the rest of this book to come out! If you have the time, I would be honoured if you checked out a fan-RPG i moderate: Marneons. Its based loosley in the world of harry potter, check out the home-page at: http://raindrop.nu/marneons or check out the frontlines at: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MarneonsRPG/

Great work! I love your story! Keep at it!

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10364Chapter: 8
This is really AMAZING writing! The way you wrote Ginny and Tom especially makes so much sense! The way Tom made Ginny have no friends, the way Ginny last control of herself, the way he convinced her of all the awful things he did... All of it is so outstanding and I can't wait to read more! Excellent work; this is FANTASTIC!!!!!!

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10263Chapter: 8
I really, really love this story.

I especially liked this chapter, because I've been really wanting Ginny to open up to Carmen and the other Gryffindors ever since the beginning. I loved the way you made Ginny come to her realization about Tom -- the "mudblood" scene was chilling, and the flashbacks were extremely powerful.

It's hard to write a story about Ginny's first year that has any happy, lighthearted moments in it, but you pull if off beautifully. One of the saddest things about going into this story was knowing that Ginny *would* probably shun Carmen's offers of friendship, and that Tom *would* win, to a certain extent. But the end of this chapter was incredibly heartwarming, and you've managed to stick to the canon plot -- Ginny is possessed and made miserable by Tom -- without making the entire story dark and depressing. I'm glad Ginny is making friends. I know she's going to go through a whole lot in future chapters, but it's nice to know she has *something* going for her.

Carmen is really cool! I loved the details about Ginny's pranks on Fred and George -- it helps remind us what she's *really* like. And I'm so glad Carmen sees it too!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10244Chapter: 8
I swear, I gasped out loud when Ginny called Penelope the "M" word. Ginny!!! That let us see how steadily and stealthily Tom has been creeping into her consciousness, until all of a sudden, HE is speaking for her. Very deft handling of emotions in that scene, with both Percy and Ginny -- bravo! It adds an extra little incentive for Percy to interrupt Ginny when she's about to tell Harry and Ron about the Chamber -- not only would he be embarrassed about Penny, but about his behavior toward Ginny. Her moment of realization was also well-done. I couldn't help but picture Bonnie Wright's face from that flashback in the movie -- perfect. Oh, I was so happy to see Ginny start to have some normal interactions with other students. If only I didn't know that Tom would come back... :(

Great stuff!

Katinka

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10094Chapter: 8
Tom, you nasty dirty little rotten [censored] [censored]!!!!

How DARE you hurt my Ginny?!? oh, oH, OH! I just want to bash Tom 'round the head. And I bet Ron would too, once he finds out, that is.

I'm glad she's making friends with Carmen and Jeremy....but what happens when she gets taken? ::chills run down TPR's spine::

awaiting the next chapter,
~TPR

Reviewer: GogirlDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 9983Chapter: 8
Whoa!!! Ginny called Penny a Mudblood! And the way you described her throwing the diary... were you, by any chance, inspired by the flashback of Ginny and the diary in the CoS movie? Update soon!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8733Chapter: 7
My favorite line from this chapter:

<<"Hrnk," she squeaked.>>

LOL!! The speculation about the possibly evil accountant second-cousin was also a great touch. Poor Ginny -- the strain is starting to show. I love the flow of this passage, where I think you illustrate that particularly well:

<<Her grades dove like Harry on the Quidditch field. Her nails were chewed down to the quick, and she was starting in on the hangnails. Her nerves could have strung an entire violin section.

But there were no more attacks.>>

I think you've hit on some interesting family dynamics, too. Brothers just don't always *get* things, do they?

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2002-11-10
Reviewid: 8662Chapter: 7
I'm really enjoying this story! It's great, and it's one of the best Ginny-POV's I've ever read. Get the next chapter out soon!

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2002-11-10
Reviewid: 8630Chapter: 7
"Hrnk," she squeaked.

"Sheís learning the fine and feminine arts of really making us suffer."

A priceless H/G moment! Lovely Mosylu, I loved the Weasley Secret too. LOL! Please post more SOON!

-Tiki

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8590Chapter: 7
WOWY WOW WOW! This is soooooo good! I've just read the entire thing so far, and I absolutely love it! Gosh, Fred and George and Ron seem so MEAN through Ginny's eyes! I feel so bad for her. I like how close to canon that you're keeping this. Although, the purple hair part did seem a little unnecessary. It was still good, though. It showed how out of place Ginny felt. I can't wait for the rest of it!

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8589Chapter: 7
And she delivers up another excellent chapter!

I'm still loving this story, and I *do* wish you'd update more often. :-) I really can't wait to find out what happens in the Chamber, and how Ginny reacts when she relizes that Tom is evil.

Also, I love the birthday cake touch. All Weasleys are simply adorable. Ginny's brothers may be prats, but they're very endearing prats.

Reviewer: GogirlDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8556Chapter: 7
Finally, you've updated! Poor Ginny, her brothers are such prats! Update soon, I can't wait until the scene in the Chamber of Secrets!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6534Chapter: 6
oh, oH, OH! Poor Ginny!!! ::wails:: How evil Tom is...he's manipulating her so cruelly... I loved/hated seeing the Quidditch match through Ginny's eyes. And that part with Diggory... LOL Brilliant. Just Brilliant.

Next chapter, please!
~TPR

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2002-10-06
Reviewid: 5500Chapter: 6
"Donít tell anyone about it... Think what your parents would say...Best not to tell anyone. You donít want people to think youíre really crazy, do you?"

I think Tom is perfect... knows exactly how to manipulate people... "But maybe Parseltongue isnít such a horrible talent. Itís not a Dark thing itself, is it?" Knows exactly how to lull Ginny away from safety and keep her pacified. Gently keeps her from going for help.

And a parselmouth?! Oh, I do love that! Of course, she'd have to be a parselmouth because Tom can't talk from the diary, can he? I'd love it if in the canon JK would leave that 'scar' in Ginny as a result of Tom's diary. "Keep it? I donít WANT to keep it! What do I do?"

Ginny's POV for CoS is a great idea. I've seen other take it on who couldn't handle it. You do well with Ginny and Tom and also with your minor (JK's major) characters.

The mark of good fanfic is that it doesn't screw up the real characters... good job.

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4392Chapter: 6
Wonderful next chapter! I liked the bit you added about the hair(poor Ginny!) and the bit about looking like a bundle of sticks. I can totally relate! :)
Things are getting more and more sinister.... I'll be interested to see how you do the part where she's taken into the Chamber, as I've always wondered how exactly it happened. :)

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4342Chapter: 6
Fantastic timing for re-examining 'CoS', isn't it?

What an excellent idea, having Ginny be a Parselmouth... I wonder what other powers she's picking up from Tom? Oh, and I loved that little, erm, "dig" at Diggory. Trying to impress a Ravenclaw, huh???

Anyhow, wonderful as always! You do an especially nice job handling Ginny's crush on Harry. She reminds me so much of myself....

And, poor Tom... almost. He just can't handle "girltalk," can he?

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4331Chapter: 1
I really enjoy this story. Ginny's POV during CoS is a great idea for a story

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4323Chapter: 6
Mo! I'm glad you posted more! I loved the Purple Hair part; it reminded me of Anne of Green Gables, except her hair turned Green. Hey, if Ginny came to my school, I doubt anyone would even notice her purple hair, as our student body's hair color goes from Pink to Blue to Pink AND Blue! Sheesh. Anyways, more SOON, okay?
<^_^> Tikster

Reviewer: SparrowChildHermioneDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4313Chapter: 6
oh! oh! more!! please?! this is amazing!

Reviewer: GogirlDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4308Chapter: 6
Oooooooooooh! Getting good! Keep it up!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4302Chapter: 6
Excellent. I liked Tom's forgetting the exact casting of the hair color charm. It put me in mind of how at the end he forgot that a phoenix's tears heal. Nice to see that evil people can be a bit forgetful.

"Oh, Ginny, theyíre only Mudbloods"
-you are doing a great job with Tom. I liked his non-apology as well.

You are also doing a nice job on showing how isolated Ginny has become from everyone.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4295Chapter: 6
Can I have her hair color? I wouldn't mind it at all. :)

Ooohh...Ginny understood the Parseltongue. That was a very cool little twist. I'm assuming it's because there's enough of Tom in her at this point that she's sharing some of his abilities? Tom, by the way, sure is a nasty bugger.

The Cedric reference also gave me a little laugh. :)

Reviewer: LaceyDate: 2002-08-29
Reviewid: 3443Chapter: 5
This is one of the best fics I've read, are you going to write all of the Chmaber of Secrets from Ginny's point of view? Because if you did that would be great!
-Leviosa

Reviewer: DreaDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 3033Chapter: 5
great stuff! when's the next chapter coming?

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2967Chapter: 5
Great chapter! Very interesting to see the gradual possession by Tom, and how Ginny doesn't always believe him at first but comes to listen to him more and more. I like your characterization of Colin, too. I'll be looking forward to more of this.

Reviewer: RogueAngelDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2930Chapter: 5
I'm glad you are continueing this. It's very entertaining. I just reread CoS and it's fun to hear it from Ginny's POV. Any chance that you will be working on your other H/G story/series. I can't recall the titles at the moment, but I loved it.

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2908Chapter: 5
I also really, really love your characterization of Ginny. She's a delight (and you do the gradual Tom-possession very well, too).

"He&#8217;s really regular--hates broccoli and left his socks inside-out and everything" - I really liked that bit. :)

This is a wonderful Ginny PoV, and I'm looking forward to your next chapter. Again, your 11-year-old Ginny is excellent, just the way I imagined her. And her birthday's on Halloween...interesting choice. That's my preference as well. :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2888Chapter: 5
Yay! More Ginny! Really, your characterization of young Miss Weasley is one of my favorite. She comes across very much as I imagine her.

This chapter had many excellent moments and lines. Ginny's mild cursing ("Hey, Mum's not here!"), her developing friendship with Colin (which comes across very naturally -- good job), the Quidditch match (fingernail biting -- nice detail)...

Loved this part:

**
But then when she saw how it embarrassed Harry to be so blatantly worshipped, her opinion had fallen. Really, didnít Colin realize? Signed photos--following him all over--practically having an apoplexy at the thrill of speaking to him--honestly! Ginny acknowledged to herself that she was a sad case, but at least she wasnít obvious.

Not very.

Not too much.

Well--not as obvious as Colin! Because honestly, he was about as subtle as a short plank to the back of the skull.
**

Oh, and the dream/possession sequence was genuinely creepy. Look forward to more!

Katinka

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2808Chapter: 5
Yay! Another chapter. Great quick development of Colin before he went all rigid (poor boy!). Your Tom is great and slimy as usual. I thought you did the mind-control scene really well. I see you're a follower of the young-Hermione (and young-Ginny) school. Hmmm.

Love this:
[I]She was caught up for a moment, as they walked to the Quidditch pitch, in a lovely pink-tinged daydream starring Harry on a white horse, and herself the lovelorn princess in the tower. Naturally, he rescued her from her foul imprisonment and as he gently lifted her onto his horse (which was quite docile and well-behaved and didn&#8217;t smell at all) he said . . . he said . . .

"Looks like rain, d&#8217;you think?"[/I]

And this: [I]In all her life, she&#8217;d never known Ron to move so fast.[/I] I love Ron.

More, please.

Angua

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2727Chapter: 5
Don't apologize for taking so long to get this chapter out. Remember, you are doing us a favor by writing this.

Loved how you handled Colin.
Never--" bounce "--seen--" bounce "--a proper--" bounce "Quidditch match--" bounce "--before."

and Lockhart
"Professor Lockhart stampeded past her, glowing with the hope of attention."

and Tom
"You can do better than that, Ginny, you know you can. After all, he was just the Muggle-born son of a milkman, and you said yourself he was an absolute laughingstock. Really, what advantage would it have given you? You have to be careful about who you make friends with. Iíll tell you something I learned very young--this worldís all about the people you know."

Reviewer: GogirlDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2724Chapter: 5
Awwww, poor Ginny! Update soon!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2717Chapter: 5
Yay! I love this point of view from Ginny! Keep it up!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --