The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Friends
Review(s): 67

Reviewer: bradDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142137Chapter: 1
I think I've commented on this one before, but I can't help but do so again, this is just such a nice, neat, elegant little piece of writing. Plus I guess I can't help but identify with Hermione, having myself been an outcast through school. I wish I could have had two 'best friends', although maybe without the accompanying dangers that this Trio experienced ...

A very nice little snippet, done wonderfully well, thank you!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141123Chapter: 1
Very Nice

Reviewer: lpalacio1414Date: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140069Chapter: 1
more

Reviewer: Chanel ChapelleDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136951Chapter: 1
suh-weet! It's really good

Reviewer: FourDayHeroDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134144Chapter: 1
Awww....*sniff* That was so sweet!!!!! Props.

Cheers!

Reviewer: BradDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132969Chapter: 1
This was a lovely, warm story. Thank you so much for writing it!

Nice how you built up the tension/apprehension in the first half, going through her worries and how much she'd like to make friends. We, of course, knew what was going to happen, but it was all the more pleasureable when it happened.

Very nice, thank you again!

Reviewer: sic itur ad astraDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123434Chapter: 1
Nice :)

I like the ending especially - good characterisation, sounds exactly the type of reactions Ron and Hermione would have :D

Thanks for keeping a bored girl entertained momentarily :)

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121880Chapter: 1
Awwwww!!! SOOOOOO CUTE!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119161Chapter: 1
Awww...so cute. It's a nerd's dream. :P

Reviewer: passionflower89Date: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118105Chapter: 1
goodness, that was so adorable! perfet insight into hermiones mind, and just awwwww, i was grinning throughout that whole thing, just brilliant, absolutely!!!! love it, :D

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117994Chapter: 1
Love it. So cute! Especially Ron..... : )

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 110003Chapter: 1
You know, I've read this fic like thirty times and I never get tired of it; then I realized I never left a review. Time to rectify that oversight.

This, in my opinion, my favorite friendship fic I've read and a neat look into Hermione's head the day after. Best part is the last part where you get this interplay that really brings out the differences of the three: Harry is almost in wonder about being in this magical world; Ron is being the 11 year old he is; Herrmione is, well, the know it all.

Neat!

Reviewer: --Date: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103061Chapter: 1
very short and cute! adorable and lovely!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101432Chapter: 1
I do love this story. Hermione has never had real friends before, so it is impossible for her to imagine that she does now. And the attitude of Ron and Harry is spot on. The guys just assume they are friends now. And with friendship comes taking care of each other.

I think you should write a story about Hermione reflecting on the way that Hogwarts changed her life. Not the magic or the fight against evil. But the way she found friendship and then love. That would be perfect coming from you.

Reviewer: RachnaDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93252Chapter: 1
Very sweet. I truly believe that friendship fics are the best kind of fics in the HP Fic World. *nods* And this one has made it to the top five of my list.

Write more like these!

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91691Chapter: 1
Loved the story. It's become one of my favorite re-reads online, and I frequently read it again and again. It's cute, funny and extremely fluffy. Just perfect. I love how in the end they all settle into the roles as we know them. Hermione, knowing all, Ron, the humor and Harry, the...well...whatever Harry is! I don't know, but you've captured it perfectly!

Brilliant job.
~Becca

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90246Chapter: 1
That was a very sweet- I loved the way Ron and Harry just started treating her like one of them, no questions asked and Hermione’s surprise and delight. And I liked how you brought in her past of not being liked at primary school (btw grade school is, I believe, an American term We brits usually refer to it as primary school- or at least we do where I come from.) I like how you brought in Ron’s teasing as well. Very good!

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80924Chapter: 1
What a nice way of showing the beginning of the Trio. Everyone was very in character and it left me with a warm fuzzy feeling inside. Well done!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76861Chapter: 1
Excellent, this is always something I wondered about (since JKR never really elaborated on that point), but never at length. How did they start to become friends with Hermione? I like this a lot; it's always nice to read about the trio in the early days, when they had comparatively less to worry about, and it was all fun and exciting. Great job!

Reviewer: ~*~ Cutie pie ~*~Date: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76672Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW !! That is
soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!! I really like the ending and
how she says she has a charm for his wand. AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW i'ts a PERFECT fic !!
I luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuv it!!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73268Chapter: 1
Shweeeeeeet!
But "there's a few things you can't do without growing closer" still sums it up better ;)

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71772Chapter: 1
Well, in the end, Ron was two-thirds right about the prefect business, wasn't he? ;) Another good story!

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71377Chapter: 1
OH THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SWEET!!!
absolutely fantastic. i luuuuuuuuuuuvvvvvvvvvvveed it!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71155Chapter: 1
I think this is about the 40th time I have read this, and I still love it. What a wonderful peice!!!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71110Chapter: 1
sweet short fic about the day after our favorite trio came to be....loved it

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71078Chapter: 1
Well... I was on your page... and this is one of my favourites...so I thought I would take up a bit more bandwidth and leave yet another review. I'll have to count them. For this story, I mean.

I love the way you've got Hermione. Just perfect. Her emotions are almost raw they're so fresh. And her response is just a delight to the soul.

I was going to try and copy a favourite bit, but it was embarassingly long. Suffice to say I *really* like this story.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70966Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! I've always wondered how they became friends, and I loved your version of it. Great job!:-D

Reviewer: SpifeDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67039Chapter: 1
Very nice. I love the way they just slip into their roles...very nice indeed!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-10
Reviewid: 62779Chapter: 1
Lovely! This is such a nice angle to take! And you do such a good job of starting in her dorm and moving her to the Great Hall increasing the tension as she goes. And sincec we know how it turns out, we can see Ron and Harry being nice before she does. It's a good technical move! Sort of like telling a joke to a six year old and giving them time to get the punchline! That let's us get the point fully as Hermione reaches epiphany!
Truly a great piece.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58441Chapter: 1
*grins* Very sweet. Love the part about forgetting her homework. Sequel, please!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58425Chapter: 1
This is one of my favorite stories. Very realistic and sweet. I do love this story very much.

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49443Chapter: 1
there we go! good fic! i was wondering what it was like after the troll incident

Reviewer: Forgotten MarauderDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48453Chapter: 1
Sweet.

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48282Chapter: 1
What a lovely little missing moment! Just...aww, beautiful, sweet little friendship bit, and the last couple paragraphs ("Look, I still have troll bogies on my wand!" "Disgusting!" He sounded delighted.) seemed to tie everything together. So nice...and I loved Hermione too, and Insights into Muggle Life...very good.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47072Chapter: 1
cute. wee little missing moment cuteness

Reviewer: Sweet StephanieDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42655Chapter: 1
PLEASE WRITE MORE THIS STORY ROX!!!!!!

Reviewer: Sweety StephanieDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42398Chapter: 1
PLEAZ WRITE MORE THIS STORY ROX ROCK ON MAN!!!!!!!
I LOVE THIS STYR SO MUCH PLEASE PLEASE WRITE MORE!!!!!!!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42200Chapter: 1
I've always loved fics about Hermione in first year! I suppose it's just that I could sympathize with her since she thought that Hogwarts would be different and people would like her, but they didn't. Poor Hermione! But then she found incredible friends... You know, I wonder what she would be like if she hadn't become friends with Ron and Harry (the trio wouldn't be the same!). Would she always be lonely? Probably. But anyway, great short story! (And I REALLY need to go do my homework now! Even though I feel like reading more of your stories!!!)

Reviewer: TishDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41529Chapter: 1
Okay, every single one of your stories is genius. I ALWAYS wondered how they really became friends. ‘Can’t go through some things without liking each other’ was never quite enough. Okay first off, perfect first year Hermione (love the homework horror). I like the thought that she kinda wanted to be friends before. And you wrote the subtle shift from nasty to teasing and pompous to friendly nagging with… *absolute perfection*. Even Ron and Harry were amazing in their little parts, just assuming they’d be friends, and how Hermione realised Harry wouldn’t tease like that and then it was real. ‘The three of us. She liked that’. Me too.

Reviewer: KelpieDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31433Chapter: 1
This story is utterly gorgeous. I love the fact that, even though Hermione doesn't perceive that anything has changed, the boys just *assume* that they're friends now. The last three lines show them fitting effortlessly into their friendship roles. Great story - excellent characterisation.

Reviewer: lexiDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31187Chapter: 1
very cute! oooooo, just....cute!
~*lexi*~

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28461Chapter: 1
Gah, Hermione is in SHOCK....she's dazed. Doesn't have a clue what's going on. That's great. She thinks she's lost all hope of ever becoming friends...and then she sees them and she's....stunned. Everyone's very in character. Good job.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28423Chapter: 1
Oh, this is very clever! And great characterization!

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25614Chapter: 1
That's really sweet! I really like it!

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-03-28
Reviewid: 25563Chapter: 1
Wow. you have really made my morning. i;m sick and stuffy and you really made me smile. thanks.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24269Chapter: 1
Somewhere, I don't remember where, someone said that this story reminds them of Jimmy Eat World's song, The Middle. I have no idea who said that - whether it was in a review or an author's note - but now I always listen to that song when I read this story. I like it; it's so perfect for this story! And this story is so wonderfully Hermione, all the way through! Great job!

Reviewer: SicilyDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22337Chapter: 1
This is the most adoreable fic I have read in quite awhile. :) (I couldn't remember if I'd already reviewed it, but I don't care -- I'd forgotten about it, and now I've remembered,so I'm going to review again.) Everyone was perfectly in character, particularly Hermione, and they were very much eleven-year-olds, something that is very hard to get right (at least for me). I sympathized perfectly with Hermione's reflections, particularly the details about how she liked to go to the library, just as she did in grade school. (I did the same thing when I was eleven, and you captured the feeling just perfectly. Were you also a bookworm?) And Hermione's horror when she hadn't done her homework was spot-on. (Actually, thinking back on it, I'd think she'd be even more upset than you portrayed -- maybe panicking trying to finish? But you spent the perfect amount of time on it, and I can definitely see where she just figured she'd run down to breakfast before it closed. So that's not really a problem; more like the closest thing I could find -- this fic was really priceless.) I felt Hermione's jubilation, too, and the story just put a huge smile on my face. You made the situation so real. And even after she comes down to breakfast, through her joy she remains in character. Absolutely wonderful fic.

P.S. Are you the same Mosylu who wrote the story "Longbourn Academy," posted at the Derbyshire Writers Guild? I'm really sorry to ask here, but I've been wanting to review that story, and your name was the same, and I don't have an email address for that author or a forum account. If you are, please email me, I need to tell that author how much I loved the work! If you're not, I'm again very sorry to waste your review space. "Friends" was excellent. :)

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12017Chapter: 1
"'Eurgh!' Ron exclaimed. 'Disgusting!'" He sounded delighted.
I dont know if anyones ever told you this, but u have a great sense of humor. Keep up the GREAT and HILARIOUS work!!

Reviewer: VaniityXDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11386Chapter: 1
What a wonderful fic! It displays very well the way the trio fit together. Everyone was so in character, I would honestly have thought JKR wrote it.

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11166Chapter: 1
I loved it! This is probably one of my favorite short fics so far! The style is tight and immaculate, and the characters are portrayed perfectly in canon! I'm going to get started on GWCOS soon, but I have homework to do first. ;) (Hermione influence). I love Hermione's description of ron "actually having a mind under that carrot-on-fire hair" because of all his clever remarks. Love it! ~Scribe

Reviewer: Saskia PumbeditaDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11130Chapter: 1
ooohh, I love it! I don't know exactly why... it's just beautifully written, I think, and 100% Hermione. Wow. I'm still shaking my head. It works so well! wow!

Reviewer: PicksleyDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9644Chapter: 1
Pitch-perfect characterization of the Trio IMO. Love it!!!

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9368Chapter: 1
love it.

Reviewer: Hermione @ HeartDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8888Chapter: 1
One word: AAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!

Reviewer: zequistDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8716Chapter: 1
This is a very enjoyable little story, and one of my early favorites from when I was discovering fanfics. I could just see all of it happening, and the way Hermione concludes it by offering them a scouring charm left me thinking, "and so it begins". :) Well done!

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2002-11-10
Reviewid: 8614Chapter: 1
What a cute, short fic! I loved it! Especially how Hermione's joy at being finally accepted really came across ("The three of us. She liked that.") And her epiphany that Ron was teasing her...all wonderful!

Reviewer: Madame SnufflesDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8584Chapter: 1
*claps hands* That was too cute, and perfect! Nice filler for that bit of empty space in the books. :) Very cute, very real, and I loved it!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4396Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWWW!! Cuteness!! *hugs Hermione* this is great! I loved seeing things from her point of view, it was really interesting. Great story!

Reviewer: anneDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4337Chapter: 1
I read this a while ago but never reviewed it and wanted to. This is perfect. It is exactly how I would picture them becoming friends. Thanks for filling in a little gap in canon for me! It inspired me to think of Hermione everytime I heard The Middle by Jimmy Eats World. Check out the lyrics to it- I think they are a perfect theme song for this. :) Any way, I'll shut up now. Good job!

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-09-11
Reviewid: 3727Chapter: 1
This story makes me want to scream. Heh. That sounds bad, I realise. ;) Nope, it's a Very Good Thing. I want to squeal with glee and joy from this! I adore how Ron and Harry just assumed and expected them all to be friends while Hermione never thought it'd happen. I love how she realised Ron's insults changed to teasing. I love how she was able to joke back and offer Charms and such. I Love This Story.

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3082Chapter: 1
That's so adorable.

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3044Chapter: 1
this fic was perfectly in character. it was nice to see this part of canon from hermione's point of view: the crucial turning point where they all become friends ^_^ and hermione not doing her homework?! *gasp!* really nice job! :)

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2963Chapter: 1
I'm going through your stories, and I'm amazed at how real and in character they are. It seems like this really happened. I can just picture Hermione acting/thinking like this.

Reviewer: MarshaDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2849Chapter: 1
I loved it. I had always wondered how they could have just instantly "become friends" after fighting the troll, and this wraps it up nicely.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2817Chapter: 1
I love this story! I can so relate to how Hermione felt, being on the "outside, looking in," so to speak; and when she just suddenly found herself part of a group -- wow! :D
I also loved your description of Ron's hair -- I don't believe I've come across that one before.
Great work! Keep it up! ~ Ara Kane

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2752Chapter: 1
It's great to here what Hermione thought of Ron and Harry in her first year. Hope there's more.

Reviewer: Elanor GamgeeDate: 2002-07-25
Reviewid: 37Chapter: 1
OK, now this just made me feel all fuzzy. You know, I never really thought about this whole thing from Hermione's POV, but I think you're absolutely right. Boys and girls are very different about these things. I love how Ron and Harry are so casual and matter-of-fact about it--of course they're friends now--and Hermione is so unsure. You've got the characters just right.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --