The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Home for Christmas
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141120Chapter: 1
Well written but a sad piece. I hope Harry will be able to see what’s in front of him in your follow-up.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133140Chapter: 1
this was a good stand alone, BUT i think it would be a better series, also i want to know where the white hair came from.
thanks for witting,
Jay

Reviewer: shaziaDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127132Chapter: 1
why haven't u updated?.... neways... great job...i really like it, especially ur writing.

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109822Chapter: 1
This was the absolutely THE best characterization I've read about the Weasleys, Harry, and Hermione. Spot on. Just lovely.

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107284Chapter: 1
That's it? That's it? I'm a bit lost. That was all beautifully written and I love the way you accurately portrayed everyone's relationships in this--and created an interesting one for Harry and Ginny--but I have to say I don't get the feeling this is finished. Now, I'm not one of the people who demands sequels; I almost never do, because I love open endings where lots of things are unresolved. So in that way I liked this ending, but on the other hand...I feel there wasn't ENOUGH here, as if you didn't develop enough. While open endings are nice readers have to have enough information to be able to create in our minds some sort of semblance of either where the characters are going, or where they have been, and I don't get a good sense of either here.

But in case I am sounding too critical, don't take it that way! Your writing is truly excellent and I am going to check out your other fics, especially to see if there are any related to this ficlet. Thanks for posting!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103052Chapter: 1
I'm going to waste some space and copy ny favorite bits here.

This shows why I always like Ron and it's typical of what makes him seem in character when you write him:
>>Harry looked at them, his eyes laughing like they’d used to, and Ron’s embarrassment faded. He could resent nothing that made Harry laugh like that.<<


This is one of my favorite bits in fandom:
>>Don’t be daft," Ron said again. "D’you want us to tell you who you are?"
Harry’s mouth twisted, and his voice was unHarryishly sardonic. "Yes, will you? I’d love to know."
"Fine, then." Ron pointed at him. "You’re Harry Potter."
"We’ve established that."
"Shut up a minute and let me talk. You’re terrible at potions, fair-to-middling at chess, and the best bloody Seeker I’ve ever seen. You’ve got a house-elf’s head for alcohol--three butterbeers put you under the table. You’re ridiculously loyal--once you love somebody, you’ll stick by them forever. If someone needs help, you’re there, even if it kills you. You’re the eternal friend of the underdog."
"You’re not too terribly concerned with rules," Hermione added. "But on the other hand, you’ve got a sense of fair play that’s incredibly stubborn--and then a sense of responsibility that tries to take punishment for everything and credit for nothing."
"Yeah," Ron said. "Could someone explain that one to me?" Harry’s lips quirked, reluctantly, and Ron felt a surge of relief. He was reachable, after all. He picked up where Hermione had left off. "Harry, you’re not just the Boy Who Lived. You’re you. You’re Harry. You’re my best friend--and dammit, I’ve missed you."
"Me, too," Hermione said. "Oh, me too."<<

And together these show why you're one of my two favorite authors. AT least. Maybe top.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101444Chapter: 1
I love this. My favorite part is when they start running down the list of things that define Harry Potter. And you can tell they are friends because they like the derogatory things as much as the good things!

Anyway, this is clearly one of my favorite stories! Which includes an awfully large number on your list!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95432Chapter: 1
Once again, beautifully done! You've captured all the characters just as we've always imagined them ourselves.... it makes us downright homesick for the Burrow!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90443Chapter: 1
Wow. Beautiful writing- my heart aches for poor Harry, it really does- and th others. The most frustrating heart- wrenching thing is to have a friend in pain when there’s nothing you can do to help them. There were some beautiful lines such as:
“ Ginny had not been a wreck, but mere fragments, held together by white-knuckled willpower.”
And the part about Harry feeling like he’s fallen off his broom but hasn’t landed yet. I’ve always thought- falling is the most terrible feeling, waiting, like a person with their head on the block waiting for the axe to fall- it’s a brilliant description of the combined numbness and despair and futility he must feel.
And I loved the Weasley /nurturing thing-a very good insight into the way that family works. Amazing writing. I’m going to go read the sequel now.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78562Chapter: 1
You had better write a sequal because this was absolutely wonderful. This story was awesome! If you do continue to write, please put a little H/G in there. I can't wait to see them together in this story. I can picture it now.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76847Chapter: 1
Hmm... interesting. It makes sense that Harry would feel very out of place after Voldemort is gone, and it's entirely possible he would do something like this. I wish you had some kind of resolution here, but that would take a long time. Good job.

Reviewer: DiskobolusDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74964Chapter: 1
Shockingly I am discovering this story NOW, when I'm been visiting this site for a year and a half...

well done, and i can't wait to move on to your other work.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71725Chapter: 1
I don't believe I didn't review this earlier. I really like this story. Poor Harry, can't settle down. I can understand his restlessness, considering all that he's lost. (And this was written before OotP.)

Great scene where he shows up at the front door.

His poor hair. I had him going white at age 15 (which is when I started going white and I didn't have nearly as much stress in my life as he did!)

I particularly liked the way you had Ron and Hermione tell Harry who he is.

Good job. I'll have to reread the next story, too, in case I haven't reviewed it!

Reviewer: SteppsDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70973Chapter: 1
Hear that? That popping little noise like a bubble or a balloon? That's my heart breaking for Harry. And Ginny naturally. Asleep while Harry's in the house my arse!

*sigh* Brilliant, just brilliant Mesylu.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70959Chapter: 1
wow. you've nailed it. this is a wonderful fic and i can't wait to read the sequels....which i am about to do right now.

Reviewer: spinDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69354Chapter: 1
Well done MosyLu!!!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61180Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed your fic, you captured Harry especially very well. I can definitely see him travelling after everything's over, searching for home, as you said. I loved how you dealt with him and Ginny.

Reviewer: kateDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53397Chapter: 1
AWWWW!!!

Reviewer: PatsyDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53139Chapter: 1
So Cool! Sorry, I'm just happy because you used The Overlooked State in your story: Maine, my home state!!!! Great story

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47562Chapter: 1
I was serching for a good story and this one cought my eye. Now i'm very very hooked. Is this going to be a Ginny and Harry story?

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43238Chapter: 1
Awesome chapter!!
It was a really really good story!!
Ohh poor Harry he lost Dumbledore, Sirius, and Remus!!!
It's a really good story!!
Aw he's looking for a home!
Poor Harry!!!

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42660Chapter: 1
PLEASE write more. I love this story it rox!
<<I think....home.....>>>>>> That was beautiful!
PLEEASE WRITE MORE I LOVE THIS StORY!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: kathDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42485Chapter: 1
that was very cool. ron and hermione are so cute together!

Reviewer: ms. blackDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42447Chapter: 1
this is GREAT! i don't think jk could have done better. dude, publish a book.

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42289Chapter: 1
I just found this story and thought it sounded interesting. It was very good and I was wondering if you ever had plans to extend on it. Because I think it's wonderful and I would like to see what happens next

Reviewer: TishDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41515Chapter: 1
I just adored this story! It was amazing how you managed to get Harry to talk about his feelings without making it seem out of character, or sappy, but just right. Not many people manage that. I am also intrigued by any stories written post-Hogwarts (especially since that's where the books will end), where will they go? Yours was one of the best I have read!!

Reviewer: Minerva WeapotterngerDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33138Chapter: 1
Oh my God! This has to be one of my favorite short-story fan fics ever! This is perfect. Have to read the sequel now. Will review again shortly! Great work, really!!!! Just awesome!

Reviewer: moneypennyDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31539Chapter: 1
Wow. That's a terrific piece of work. I loved the way you made Harry vulnerable, but didn't overdo it.

But what's an angel-on-horseback?

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20372Chapter: 1
Just re-reading some of my favorite H/G fics on Valentines! You had mentioned in the a/n that there would be three in this series...I would love to see the third one. Now I'm off to read number 2!

Reviewer: Miss SnufflesDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14661Chapter: 1
Mosylu,

I wanted to PM you, but I'm not familiar with your forum ID, so here goes:

I have a fanfic plot bunny nipping at my little toes, but I feel almost as if I've stolen some elements of it from your two Christmas stories: this one and the sequel. I was wondering if I could borrow Harry's traveling bit and credit it to you? Unless, of course, you were planning on writing a sequel to Home Is Where the Heart Is with Ginny possibly going with him? I'm not certain if my story will even progress that far, but if it did, I didn't want to trounce on your territory.

Please PM me under Sheila#6! :-) Thank you!

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8594Chapter: 1
oh i absolutely *love* this story! please write more of it. i really want to know what happens to the rest of harry & co. great job! ^^

Reviewer: NinirDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2877Chapter: 1
hmmmm...this is really good..very interesting..email me when u update will u....

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --