The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Yours Sincerely
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2007-03-30
Reviewid: 147639Chapter: 1
Hahaha, this is really funny. Good work!

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143550Chapter: 1
I wonder what poor MacNair is going to do when someone tells him he's going to visit Mad-Eye? I should think he'd commit suicide on the spot, or arrive with half the DEs in tow. Nice fic, very JKRish humour and I do hope you decide to continue. Maybe someone's trying to breed a Basilisk, after the story of CoS got out.

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119889Chapter: 1
lol. thats really funny. your stories are great

Reviewer: EowynDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108486Chapter: 1
I'd like to know what happens to the deputation from the Committee for the Disposal of Dangerous Creatures and the squad from hte Department of Magical Law Enforcement arrive.

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102462Chapter: 1
Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57172Chapter: 1
That's extremely funny! How about some sort of magical snake creature (besides a basilisk, of course.)? Or better yet! Have her write Voldemort (as Tom Riddle, of course, since not a lot of people know that that's his identity.) about illegal basilisk breeding (not for the one in the Chamber . . . not many people know about that, but for trying to breed a new one.)!

Ok, I'm off to read your other stories now. I liked "My Friend, Ron," by the way. :)

Reviewer: lexiDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36866Chapter: 1
oooo! poor yolanda! shes got her work cut out for her. i loved the celestina warbeck thingy. that was cute. the whole thing is very original and well done! great job, cant wait 4 more!

~*lexi*~

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12490Chapter: 1
Wow! This was really inventive! My favorite letter was the one about Lockhart! "...their song can drive owners to insanity. Dr. Stone feels that licensing you to keep one would not be advisable at this stage of your recovery." Loved that line! So funny and administratively serious at the same time! And Lockhart wanting the Fwoopers because they make for good fashion statements was just the icing on the cake! Loved Moody's menagerie and how those letters were sprinkled throughout the fic!

Maybe Yolanda could write a few guest columns for the zoology feature in the Daily Prophet Rita Skeeter mentions in GoF. It could be a Q&A type column (so how *does* one pure their pet Puffskein from drinking out of a toilet?). This was a very clever, very original fic!

Reviewer: SevenDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11939Chapter: 1
*hysterical giggling*

ROFL!!

That was so funny!! I've alreday said this about another one of your fics but it was incredibly original. And I love how she started out polite at first ('specially with Moody- lol!, you can't help but love him! Paying no attention to the letters and getting more dangerous creatures :P) and got angrier and angrier.

You rock!! I don't have any brilliant ideas at the moment, but I'll let you know when I do. Now I'm off to recommend you to someone. :) Write more stuff, write more stuff!

Reviewer: Human149Date: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10383Chapter: 1
This was hilarious. There aren't enough fics like this. I love stuff just set in a world but not dealing with any main characters. And it wasn't the least Mary-sueish.

I think it would be hilarious if Percy got in trouble for something. Really any weasley would be nice, but Percy especially because he's so uptight.

Thanks

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2002-10-06
Reviewid: 5503Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
I love it! Since I purchased "magical beasts and where to find them" and "Quidditch through the ages" last week, I have understood loads more in fanfic. I absolutely love it and wish I'd purchased my textbooks ages ago.

I love that you use Doris Crockford, Mundungus Fletcher, and Dedalus Diggle. They seem to be wholly untouched by fanfics. And I love... love the recurring letters to Mad-eye.

Fabulous and funny. If you think you're funny, you're right.

Reviewer: Seldes KatneDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2214Chapter: 1
I've been reading Harry Potter fanfics for over a year and a half now, and I must say that "Yours Sincerely" is one of my favorites. The story features excellent use of the information in "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them". Along with the depiction of an escalating situation involving "Mad-Eye" Moody's acquisition of increasingly more dangerous animals and the amusing side-effects (poor Mr. Quapshot!), the story also features glimpses of some of the lesser-seen characters from the Harry Potter books (including Arabella Figg, Celestina Warbeck, and Mundungus Fletcher) and their beast-related woes.

"Yours Sincerely" is written in correspondence form, in a very light and humorous style. A good read and an entertaining look into the life of an over-worked (and presumably underpaid) Ministry of Magic employee.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --