The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sugar and Soots
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141135Chapter: 1
Excellent. A cute story.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110374Chapter: 1
I discovered this fic while searching for Snape fics since today is Snape's birthday.

That was funny! And it's interesting how you used a magic creature from another fandom.

Reviewer: skipyDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102353Chapter: 1
this is way to cute lol

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91878Chapter: 1
Seems to me they showed up in "Spirited Away," too. And in that one, they're *twice* as cute!

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77726Chapter: 1
OMG OMG OMG!!!! As soon as I saw the first picture of the 'Black Soots', I was like, "Dude, those look exactly like the 'Dust Bunnies' from 'My Neighbor Totoro'. And then, to my surprise, I read on and found that they were - rock on!!! When I read the part where Snape gets a face full of soot, I imediately thought of when Mei and Sadzuki (spelling?) come down from the attic of their house, and Sadzuki discovers that both she and Mei are covered in soot from the 'Dust Bunnies'.

Way to add Anime to Harry Potter - especially something as cool as Miyazaki's work! Major kudos to you!

~Caitlin ^_^

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72534Chapter: 1
How cute! I love the pictures!

Reviewer: CarlottaDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68162Chapter: 1
This is the most precious fic I have ever read!!!

Reviewer: DillybeanDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65561Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH! This is the funniest story I've ever read all week! Love the pics!!!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64964Chapter: 1
Aww, the black soots are so cute! Awesome fic!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60482Chapter: 1
Sorry I wasn't clear on it - the sugar quill caused the appearance of the soots when it touched the potion in Hermione's cauldron. Purely an accident. :-)

The soots are pretty much the same creatures in 'Spirited Away', except they don't have arms or legs - or not that we could see in 'Totoro'.

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60261Chapter: 1
I think those guys were also in the movie spirted away right? Cute story!

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57002Chapter: 1
Umm... Bit confused. What does that have to do with the sugarquill?

Hannah

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52847Chapter: 1
Nice, but you never did tie it in with the accident in Potions. Err, what did the sugar quill have to do with anything?

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49462Chapter: 1
This is a sweet story! I loved how Ron and Harry came to Hermione's rescue by putting some of their potion into her newly emptied cauldron.

Also love the image of Snape covered in soot. Serves him right!

McGonagall's delight in the creatures was amusing, also.

I hope you do more with these critters. It would be fun to see them interact with the students!

Reviewer: Aura BlackDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42883Chapter: 1
I loved this! Although, my first impression when I read about the little soot creatures were the ones from "Spirited Away". Anyway, excelllent job!

Reviewer: SnoozepossumDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40849Chapter: 1
Just like Totoro, this is adorable! (My favorites are Miyazaki's Dust Bunnies!) It was cool to see them make an appearance in "Spirited Away"!

May today tread lightly

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40476Chapter: 1
Oh! Black soots! You say My Neighbor Totoro,but I think the blacks soots are also in Spirited Away,aren't they? Anyway,they're very cute,but what do they have to do with the potion?

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12844Chapter: 1
aaaaaaawwwwww... cute lil' things. I can't decide if snape is your fav character or if you hate him.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7525Chapter: 1
I agree with McGonagall. The Black Soots are adorable! What a cute story.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-23
Reviewid: 4642Chapter: 1
Cute. I liked the image of Snape in soot-face.

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4561Chapter: 1
I had to grin at your delightful pictures of the soot-imps from "Totoro" and the image of Snape as sooty as little Mei's hands and feet. Will we see any Totoro in your future stories? (I bet Dennis Creevey can see them) Or the Knight Bus meowing? Please do more with this crossover!
All the best,
Pogonia

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3540Chapter: 1
Great story!

Reviewer: Supercalafragelisdi-expialidocious--Kurokurosuki fDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 3003Chapter: 1
Very cute!! I agree with McGonnogal--they ARE adorable! Where did you get the pics?

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2973Chapter: 1
Fun story! Are you a Star Trek fan, by chance? This reminds me of "The Trouble with Tribbles" ;)

Reviewer: Japetha RazorwireDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2539Chapter: 1
Can I have a black soot?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --