The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Diminished C
Review(s): 35

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141021Chapter: 1
Your Draco may not have seemed in canon before HBP, but he certainly seems so now!! You have foreshadowed some of his doubt here - very well done. I think his cruelty balanced with sadness/doubt is done very well. The only thing that seemed out of character was Lucius picking up Hetty - I don't think he would have disdained to touch her - probably would have shoved her with his shoe or cane instead. Oh, and wouldn't Draco have called Lucius "father"?

Reviewer: MargoDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131642Chapter: 1
Wow. This fic's really good! I think you understand Draco so you're able to write stuff that he doesn't normally do; but he's still in character! Really enjoyed it! -x-

Reviewer: leelouDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130018Chapter: 1
wow. i've never read anything so deep. sad how he can't escape from himself. nowhere to go. and really poetic too!

Reviewer: IvegotanaxeDate: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123509Chapter: 1
Oh.... my.... god.....

I am dead in a puddle of drool. So touching, and sad. I think I want to cry.

Normally I don't like non-humourous Draco fics, because it bothers me the way people try to go deep into a character they don't understand, but this.... this..... I'm speechless. *cries*

I think I love you. *throws roses*

Reviewer: Faith MaguireDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117323Chapter: 1
I never thought of Draco as a piano player, but it does fit. I really can't think of anything that could improve it. I really liked it. I always thought that Draco should have a bit of art in him. This is a good example of that. ^_^

Reviewer: Chelsea_EvansDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108465Chapter: 1
THis was very good, I've heard of PianoPlaying!Draco before, and I think that he was very IC. I always tend to think of him as trying to keep up with his father, you know? Very well done.

Reviewer: ArmelleDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105211Chapter: 1
Wow. A fantastic, well-crafted piece of fiction, that sums up everything. And the musical information conveyed was interesting.

Reviewer: lilyqueen777Date: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102224Chapter: 1
wow! well written stor, and i like how you portray draco. and he cried. who ever knew that draco wasn't as evil as he make himself appear in the story! =)

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102032Chapter: 1
This is one of the stories I forgot to review. Heh...oops. But...well...I'm gob-smacked. I just read it a second time. Gah! SO, so angsty. I can barely stand it. It's so amazing how you make him out to not be quite evil, without making him out of character. I need to cry. Also, I love Hetty.

Reviewer: RPFDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93328Chapter: 1
Wow. I am a musician and I believe that music is the best way to express what you are and how you feel, and you have put that in words in the most extraordinary, heart-wrenching way. I'm slowly becoming obsessed with Draco, and I like the way you've pictured him. I like to believe that he's only being who his father wants him to be, but I guess I'll have to brace myself when canon comes and I see that Draco is really just plain evil. I think that how Jo wants him to be...

Cheers!
RPF

Reviewer: RPFDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93327Chapter: 1
Wow. I am a musician and I believe that music is the best way to express what you are and how you feel, and you have put that in words in the most extraordinary, heart-wrenching way. I'm slowly becoming obsessed with Draco, and I like the way you've pictured him. I like to believe that he's only being who his father wants him to be, but I guess I'll have to brace myself when canon comes and I see that Draco is really just plain evil. I think that how Jo wants him to be...

Cheers!
RPF

Reviewer: LuviaDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87148Chapter: 1
I don't usually review (shame on me!) but this time I felt compelled to do so.
It is so easy to hate Malfoy; the comments he makes, the way he acts, how horrible he is to our heroes... but do we really see beyond? Do we wonder why he is this way? Not enough.
While I doubt that deep inside he is mr. goody-two-shoes, I get the feeling that there is something very emotionally complex behind his behavior and I can only hope we see it clearly in future canon.
That said, I very much enjoyed this piece, me being not a Malfoy lover nor a Malfoy hater, but most definitely Malfoy-intrigued.

Reviewer: DreaDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85546Chapter: 1
It sounded like the way i think of Draco but i didn't like the way you made him cry.

Reviewer: Etc.Date: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81922Chapter: 1
That was a great portrayal of Draco. I have a fondness for music theory metaphors, though, so I'm rather biased. But I really liked it. I have a sneaking fondness for Draco, so I approve wholehertedly.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79783Chapter: 1
To answer your question, I'd say no, Draco isn't very in-character. You make him appear sad, I think he's bitter.

But the writing itself is very good.

Reviewer: LSDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76184Chapter: 1
So sad. I'm going to read it agian.

Reviewer: Holly ClearwaterDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66012Chapter: 1
Wow, I loved how you used the character of Draco, and made him the way everybody pictued him, and yet, he plays piano, I never would have excpected that. And the way you used the musical term diminished, well, I play the piano and sing, and I know alot about how he feels, everybody just feels... diminished.
Again, I say wow to your amazing, artistic even, ability to write, keep writing!
-Holly Clearwater

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63638Chapter: 1
its so sad... but very fitting. i dont necessarily think that your draco fits the real cannon, because i believe jk's draco is indeed very much so like his father. but i like your draco, and i think he's cannon in the sense that he's more real than jk's draco. even though you've written him as really sort of a half-alive soul, he's more real and true than jk's draco, who, like his father, is cruel in solely a mechanistic sort of way. jk's draco almost seems unreal, and yours seems very much a true character. so really i think he is cannon. and so many people choose to write him as you do, making him a real charachter rather than just a plot device as jk does. not to insult the master. no, we must never insult the master. *grin* i really like your draco. i know this isnt exactly the best answer to your question of if draco's cannon or not, but its definitely how i percieve things. and i think other quillers will agree.

Reviewer: RachelleDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54125Chapter: 1
What an amazing fic. Draco plays piano! I have fallen in love.

I don't know why, but this paragraph was perfect:
'Looking up sharply, he looked past Hetty into some distant place she couldnít see. "Do you know what dissonant means? It means discordant. It doesnít fit with the harmony. It pulls and pulls and strives to fit, but it never can, because itís different. " Shaking his head, his eyes suddenly focused on her. "You really are ugly little creatures, arenít you?"

I got the whole story right then and there. Both parts of Draco show in that paragraph.

Again, amazing job.

Reviewer: girmeisterDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46968Chapter: 1
i loved your story! it shows draco in a new light that i find very interesting. keep writing!

Reviewer: Junsui ChikyuuDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46472Chapter: 1
That was so sad... I loved it, totally. Personally, I just hate it when people give up. It comes off as if that's what he were doing. I don't think there is a true Canon Draco.. but this is probably one of the best I've ever seen. It was perfect. Best story I've read all year, however depressing it was. ^-^ It was great.

Reviewer: Rana EresseaDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42364Chapter: 1
Dear Lord, that broke my heart. Such masterful writing, believable canon characters, and a house elf! Few people ever try writing a house elf! Wonderful, wonderful story. This has given me some excellent inspiration for my own fanfiction. Just beautiful. :)

Reviewer: CorvidaeDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32094Chapter: 1
that was amazing, it was...hauntingly beautiful. i suddenly wish i knew more about the piano...Malfoy IS hauntingly beautiful, and you've done a great job of capturing that

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28113Chapter: 1
This is most certainly one of the best fanfics I have ever read on Sugarquill, and I have been reading the stories here almost since its creation.

You allow Draco to be entirely in character, but still arose pity for him in the reader. Many fanfiction writers attempt to do the same, but with their result sounding out-of-character and clichťd. Most imporantly, you beautifully captured what it is about Draco that makes Harry Potter fans wonder about his experience outside of his encounters with Ron and Hermione, especially those at home.

Thank you for this unusual and brilliant fanfic! I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: Carlisle GreenwoodDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25949Chapter: 1
THAT WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! you should really keep writing. I want to read more, that was... amazing.

Reviewer: Fidelius FemmelaDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19604Chapter: 1
wow... draco has *feelings*. i'm impressed, this is written very powerfully.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15236Chapter: 1
I love it! All your stories are so artfully written, and I really like your portrayal of Draco here. I thought it worked with canon because it explains Draco's actions from the books in a reasonable way. You don't make him up to be the poor, abused son, who really WANTS to be friends with Harry, or the irrationally cruel monster, who has no motive for his behaviour. Well done. I was a bit confused when you wrote, 'If he was to succeed, he had to stop hearing Diminished C every time he saw a Mudblood (person) or a Muggle-lover (human) or indeed anyone who opposed to Voldemort (soul) murdered.' Is Draco starting to correct himself in his prejudice? I thought the line 'Unless one made Dumbledore the Major, of course' was brilliant.

Reviewer: DrakkhenDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12221Chapter: 1
Wow, this is beautiful! You've written my favorite kind of Draco--perfect canon accuracy, but with deeper psychological and emotional development. Draco's situation in life gives him such fascinating potential as a character, and it's nice to see people exploring that in fanfic. One of the other reviewers has already mentioned most of the wonderfully in-character parts, and I'll gladly second them. The part where Draco scolded Hetty for correcting him was also a great canon!Draco moment.

The symbolism with the major and minor keys is brilliant, as well as the metaphor of Draco being a living Diminished C. His screaming fit was incredibly emotional. I was moved by this line in particular: "...I just want to be in my own melody, in my own melody where I fit, and I’m part of the tune…" Poor Draco! I just want to hug him and tell him everything will be all right.

I thought one line near the end had a wonderful hint of foreshadowing: "Because Lucius was the Major, and he was always right. Unless one made Dumbledore the Major, of course." Hmm. I'm crossing my fingers that Draco will come to that realization in the books themselves. The suggestion that Draco hates Harry in part because Harry has the freedom to decide his own future is interesting, too.

Last but not least, I also love Hetty. You write house elves very well, and she is a likeable little character. "He said he couldn’t kill people. Was she a people?" Aww!

To answer your question, your Draco is excellent! I'd love to see more. :)

Reviewer: DraicanaDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7717Chapter: 1
Wow. This is a fantastic piece. I'm a very devoted Draco fan, and you wrote him very well. I can just picture him as being musically inclined, and the 'Diminished C' metaphor was so fitting. A very believable fic. Definitely one of my favourites.

Reviewer: MeelieDate: 2002-10-24
Reviewid: 6966Chapter: 1
Wow that was absolutely AMAZING! The way you used the chords to describe people was wonderful. And poor Hetty, you made me sympathize with her (not to mention Draco). Excellent job!

Reviewer: kbkDate: 2002-10-02
Reviewid: 5127Chapter: 1
I can't remember if I reviewed this when I first read it, but I know I intended to.
I truly love this fic.
I'm very into music and I could hear the diminished chords in my head as I was reading this.
I'm a bit of a sucker for conflicted!Draco, but this really is beautifully done and convincingly in character.
Thank you.

Reviewer: Queen of the Tinfoil FishDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2036Chapter: 1
Wow. That. Was. Amazing. I could see Draco's outburst, his repetition of diminished. It was so sad...and powerful. Wonderful.

So many descriptions...it's as if it really happened.

I think I may go off and stare sadly at the piano for a few moments now.

Reviewer: Jedi BoadiceaDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1549Chapter: 1
WOW. Just... wow. I am so happy that I finally found this fic.

Swirlyhead, this was amazing. It really isn't often that I *react* to a story, but when he grabbed Hetty by the throat and went off on that BEAUTIFUL rant I found that I was literally holding my breath, and my arms were tingling.

While I can't say that I think I know which way JKR is going with Draco, if he were ever to truly lean toward redemption, THIS is gorgeously in character. And I never before honestly imagined him playing music, but it fits, it does fit, and this was absolutely fantastic.

Your writing is smooth, the descriptions both vivid and just visceral. I couldn't even point out all of the little bits I liked, but here are a few:

"He believed that a temperature slightly below comfortable was conducive to higher levels of thinking. Master Draco simply wore thicker robes."

That is funny, twisted, sad, and *right.*

"Be quiet. I wasnít talking to you; I was talking to myself. If you speak again, Iíll throw you out of the window."

That's so wonderfully IC. It's refreshing to see Draco - especially a self-doubting Draco - portrayed as the character he IS.

' "When I nod, turn the page. Iíd charm them to do it by magic, but I canít use my wand out of school," he added, as a reminder to Hetty that he only needed her help due to circumstances out of his control.'

Again, beautifull IC, and very real.

"She, who understood little of the ways of humans, understood that he was talking to a loved one and someone else had written the words."

That just ROX. I don't know how else to say it.

And after that I really completely froze up with emotion reading the rest. I said it before, but his explosion was amazing. Oh, and this:

"And as she hurried from the room, Hetty collapsed by the door. Yes, a terrible thing he had done.

Master Draco had been crying."

Perfect.

Would you allow me to archive this story in the files section of the mailing list I share with Moey?

Thank you for this fantastic story.

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 455Chapter: 1
This was a painfully beautiful fic. The descriptions were a pure joy to read and the characterization of Draco was excellent. Truly a great fic.

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 387Chapter: 1
Great, sad, made me fell for Malfoy, and yet in character. Quite a feat! Thanks!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --