The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 97

Reviewer: hollow_now_goneDate: 2008-03-05
Reviewid: 150594Chapter: 1
That was great.... There's not much else I can say about it.... Except maybe WoW.... You captured it perfectly.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-01-29
Reviewid: 139005Chapter: 1
I was looking around for some good Founders-era fics, and I happened to find this one.

This is a very enjoyable fic. It appears that you've written this fic from Ravenclaw's perspective. You show us the contrasting personalities of the founders from Rowena's intellect to Helga's resourcefulness to Salazar's ambition to Godric's leadership. They may be different, but they are all working towards a common goal, the founding of Hogwarts. I like how you mention the little things about the castle, from how Godric charmed the ceiling to make it reflect the outside weather to the Hufflepuff secret -- the passageways and rooms below the castle.

Helga/Salazar -- now that's definitely a ship you don't see everyday! And it's ingenious how you have Helga invent the Sugar Quill! It's a fitting tribute to the website you co-Founded with Zsenya -- thus a link between the Founders of Hogwarts and the Founders of the 'Quill.

Overall, excellent fic! Your fic inspired me to write my own fic featuring the Founders. Even though this is a pre-HBP fic (possibly pre-OotP), it still fits with the current canon.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133807Chapter: 1
Werd up!

Reviewer: omar bildernDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130847Chapter: 1
Wonderful work! so imaginative ! couldwe please have the first day students come to hogwarts! it is so fascinating!

Reviewer: DrakeDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130441Chapter: 1
That is one of the best storys I have read , I hope you are going to right more .

Reviewer: TaniaDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129752Chapter: 1
"With Sugar Quills". :) I absolutely love it. I never even imagined Helga and Salazar would be together, that's touching and creative. I hope I can find another Founders fic to rival this some day, just to satisfy my want for more!

Reviewer: seashellDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128453Chapter: 1
this is an absolutely amazing story!! I loved it.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128084Chapter: 1
wow

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128060Chapter: 1
::lets out a deep breath::

Wow. Just truly wow. It's beautiful. It all makes sense. Hufflepuff is accepting of everyone. Ravenclaw, trying to figure everything out. Gryffindor, being so innocent. Slytherin, wanting to be like Hufflepuff but still has to keep up with his image.

::grins::

It's perfect. Slytherin wasn't always evil. No, he wasn't. And it does not surprise me in the least that Helga was a muggle-born.

It is uberly cool about how the ceiling was made. Just uberly cool.

I love all of your works.

::hugs self::

Don't stop, kay?

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126119Chapter: 1
Simply amazing- I've never read a story quite like this and I love the idea- original and beautiful and touching and funny, you brought these characters to life. I can't praise it enough :-D

Reviewer: CamiDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125713Chapter: 1
Oh, brilliant! I'll never see the four founders in any other way than you described them here, pesonalites and appearances, again.
It was really inspiring, you know...

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125137Chapter: 1
This is very good, It almost seems there is room for a sequil with the kids coming and being taugnt, what problems do they encounter, how do they sort before the sorting hat and how do they choose when two of the founders want the same kid? how does Hogwats do in commparison to the other schools at first (better of course, but it isent nice to assume such things ssoooo...).
well i loved the story,
Jay

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124315Chapter: 1
I don't know if you even read these old comments anymore, but I just have the urge to read and review. It's been bred into me (LOL - a true fanfiction writer to the core!). This is an amazing piece. A few favorite moments of mine include the mention of Godric having painted the Fat Lady and Godric's "bumblebee's backside" comment. It's incredible. You've opened my eyes to seeing the mystical Founding Four as real people. I mean, I've always imagined them as real people in the HP Universe, but I always saw them so much older and much more dignified. Dumbledore-esque, if you will. But it was so tremendously fun to see them like this. Young, creative, and so inspired!

I have an extreme fondness for Helga. I wish you would expand this a little and revisit them. Perhaps write a piece on their eventual split? I can already foresee the terrible drama between Salazar and Helga when he finds out the truth about her. I don't suppose you'd consider it? I want so much for that scene to exist that I'm tempted to write it myself (and just keep it for my own satisfaction) but I know I'd never be able to come close to depicting the emotional depth that you seem to have the capacity for demonstrating. Wow, I'm sure that's the worst sentence I've ever uttered. Hahaa. PLEASE consider it. It'd be so terrific.

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2005-05-16
Reviewid: 122154Chapter: 1
Arabella, very well done indeed. Your characterization of the founders has definitely given me a better understanding of what they might have been like. It made me a little sad to see Salazar and Helga being a little sweet on one another, knowing his prejudices and the upcoming fallout. Have you considered doing more Founder fics; you really should.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119656Chapter: 1
Beautiful. This is a masterpiece. I think that my favourite part is when Helga explains about the Hufflepuff colours. 'Black is where a person begins, before they know what they are, or where they're going. ... The best we can do is take what we know and use it well-we're each calledto illuminate yhe world, a little. Yellow."
Thank you.

Reviewer: Queen o' th' MaraudersDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117357Chapter: 1
Wow. You made Salazar so... Slytherinish, but showed a soft side of him too. I loved all of your characters, especially Godric. He sounds kind of like Sirius on sigar quills....

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116027Chapter: 1
A really beutiful peace. Thanks for writing it. I love how in the end of the fic, they are all working together. Although later on they may break apart, at least it should start with something whole. Great story.

Reviewer: Stephanie the BolminatorDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111316Chapter: 1
This story is awesome like whoa. I love how you showed us things we long to know but don't get to know in canon, like the common rooms and the relationships. I love that they love each other. Not only did I appreciate the content immensely, but it was truly well written. I <3 Sugar Quill. Brava!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110531Chapter: 1
really good - thank you

Reviewer: anonDate: 2004-12-26
Reviewid: 108631Chapter: 1
excellent!!

Reviewer: PaulinhaDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107523Chapter: 1
OMG! This story is just beautiful. I haven't read something this good since... Well, I don't think I've had! Truly amazing! You were able to capture so well their personalities, the way they must have felt towards their "creations". For a second I almost forgot I was reading, and thought I was actually seeing. It's truly horrible that I dislike hermione/ron shipping. I would love toread more of your stories! Thank you! It was beautiful!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106021Chapter: 1
That was very cool, and terribly, terribly sweet. Your style of writing is just so, well, imaginative, and real. You can really get a sense of what the characters are feeling and doing. I could see Godric floating inches below the ceiling. Brilliant!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101175Chapter: 1
It's beautiful. I love it, I love it. It filled me with joy and wonder and tears. The founders are now true young people in the best sense of young - even Salazar who I usually feel toward as Rowena does. Thank you for sharing this.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100783Chapter: 1
I thought your story was very good, indeed. The creativity you have shown rivals JKR, herself. Some of your description was a little hard to follow, perhaps too many adjectives. But I have found the same problem occasionally with JKR's work as well. Perhaps, I have the problem and not you. Anyway, I really enjoyed your story and it's makes sense (in a magical sort of way). You described the beauty of Hogwarts eloquently as well as the kind of emotion that would be felt by the Founder's of the School. I never really imagined them as couples, nice touch. Cheers!

Reviewer: lindenDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98127Chapter: 1
Very original and very believable. The discriptions and characterisations were divine.

Reviewer: BlandsaftDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96909Chapter: 1
oh that was so wonderful...how the ceiling came to life was just too beautiful. Godric was so full of life, i loved him and rowena was a total minerva.

Reviewer: ZorbsDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95708Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this - I hope JKR writes Hogwarts, A History someday. But your version is great, with a hint of romance, beautiful imagery. Great work!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95564Chapter: 1
This work is simply stunning. I have read many of your other fictions, and I tend to forget that you are NOT JKR, and I get your writing styles confused

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95171Chapter: 1
That was really cool. It was an interesting way to portray the making of the enchanted ceiling, I liked it. :D
*Geena

Reviewer: Glen G.Date: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91188Chapter: 1
I just finished reading "Before the Beginning", and I am in awe of your amazing talent! You're an amazing writer, and you've written this story with such grace and elequence. I am extremely impressed. Needless to say, I'm now excited to read many of your other works of fiction as well.

Reviewer: CaityDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90411Chapter: 1
That was a great story!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: miss_rixDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90330Chapter: 1
oh my!! that was absolutely amazing! the characters! how indepth they are! absolutely fantastic!

Reviewer: igo2hogwartsDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89145Chapter: 1
I am speechless. That is such a beautiful story, there couldn't possibly be a better founder's fic. Everything was so real, the characterizations were so great, it seemed as if it were really JKR who wrote it! Keep up the EXCELLENT work!

Reviewer: heartseaDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86875Chapter: 1
this has been the most profound fanfiction i have ever read. i would like to thank you for this, i read this a few years' ago and i have come back just to search this out and re-read it, in the hype of pottermania. a wondrous, wondrous work of writing! it gives more magic to what jo has given us.

Reviewer: HelenDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85678Chapter: 1
I think this story is brilliant, it's made the founders feel more real to me, real like JK has managed with Harry, Ron and Hermione.
The only shame is that you haven't done another one similar to this, or continued this one on further. I would like to see that.
Otherwise, it is a wonderful fan fic and you should be proud. :) Well done!

Reviewer: Jennifer SaulsDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82394Chapter: 1
Simply Wonderful!!!

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79728Chapter: 1
That was excellent. Truely and utterly excellent. I usually would write a book, but there's really no time, so i'll just leave it with Great job!

-July
ps. excellent!

Reviewer: Sierra NicoleDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77338Chapter: 1
This is the best Founder's fic I've read. Thank you for not making the pairings the sole focus of the story. I really enjoyed seeing how each of the four interacts with the others, and also the insights into their personalities through the arrangement of the common rooms. Very, very nicely done.

~Sierra

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77329Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness... This has me speechless! Words of praise could hardly do this justice. Wow. Excellent, excellent, job.

Reviewer: TessieaDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77327Chapter: 1
This was so beautiful and full of hope. Each character is so human, and not a two dimensional cutout of their House's main characteristic.

Reviewer: YubsieDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77326Chapter: 1
Thank you for restoring my faith in the HP fandom. It's been a long time since I've read a good fic.

I love Rowena and Helga's legacies to their poor ignored Houses. The explanations of their colours were also beautiful.

The characterization was positively delightful. You really made these people who are just names in canon come alive.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76454Chapter: 1
This is incredibly beautiful. I am filled with a sense of utmost peace. Thank you.

Reviewer: JackieDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75797Chapter: 1
i loved this so much!!! is there any chance of sequel? Or maybe from Godric's or Helga's or Salazar's point of view???? Anyway, i loved this so much and was sad when i found out there were no other chapters or stories continuing on

Reviewer: TrineDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75427Chapter: 1
Hi!
I love your story.
Please write another one about the founders or atleast send me some good ones.
please!!!!!!
From well, Me

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74097Chapter: 1
This is great. I'll never look at Hogwarts the same way again.

Reviewer: ZibbyDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72898Chapter: 1
Perfect. Your characterizations of Godric, Rowena, Helga, and Salazar are just as I imagined they would be in the real books. I love your stories; they are so believable and real. Great writing! =)

Reviewer: CherylDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68378Chapter: 1
Amazingly vivid. I can really imagine it happening. And the whole concept, the idea, of what the individual common rooms will be like and the explanation for Hufflepuff's house colours... beautiful.

Reviewer: LarkDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65314Chapter: 1
I loved it! Its really great! I especially like Helga's explaination of why she chose Yellow and Black! It was beautiful. I really never would ahev thought of it that way. Kudos to you. And keep up the wonderful work.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64166Chapter: 1
This was a wonderful story. It is one of my favorites now, and it was not about Ron and Hermione! Keep writing about the four founders, I loved the story! I liked the explanations for the house colors, the paintings, and the ceiling. Amazing!

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54032Chapter: 1
Oo. I dunno how I missed this one before. This was splendiferous. Beautiful job!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50421Chapter: 1
Wow... that's all I can say.. I'm bad with comments.

Reviewer: MadelynDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48459Chapter: 1
I really hate you, did you know that? Every time I start to become secure in my own writing I read something by you and realize how far I have to go to be truly great. This is such a great fic. I've idly wondered what the founders were like, and I just know this is how they had to be. I desperately want to know what Salazar's downfall was. I want to know if Helga ever told him her lineage. I want to know how the Chamber of Secrets was built. Anyways, this was awesome. I don't care what canon ever has to say on the subject--those were the founders, completely.

Reviewer: DanDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48043Chapter: 1
Well, after reading that, I simply had to post a comment, but after seeing all the wonderful replies you've already received, I didn't think there would be a point. Still, that piece was fantastically worked, and made me feel proud of Hogwarts. And knowing what happens at the school in their future, it gave me a sort of reminiscent smile. You are by far my favourite author on this site, Arabella, and I love all your work greatly. Thank you.

"But no one ever gets to white. No one person can be everything. The best we can do is take what we know and use it well – we’re each called to illuminate the world, a little. Yellow." Marvelous. Shakespearean.

Reviewer: ct_lytsDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47839Chapter: 1
That was beautiful and inspiring. You really did make those characters come to life.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45736Chapter: 1
WOWo
that was SOOOOo cool!!!
totally awesome. must tell my friend....

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45041Chapter: 1
Oh, beautiful. I can't believe I've never read this before, but someone recommended ti to me, and everything they said was right. It's simply beautiful. I've rarely used that word to describe a story, but you've really gone beyond writing. This is poetry. Great job.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44611Chapter: 1
Perfect! I couldn't have imagined it better (and honestly, more believeable) myself!

Reviewer: letylyfDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44488Chapter: 1
Oh... that was wonderful. I love founders stories, and all the more if the writing is beautiful. The characterization, the castle, the ceiling, the relationships... this is wonderful.

I'm more of the Rowena/Salazar pairing, and I would never have thought that Helga/Salazar would work, but you made it work, and _well_. They're absolutely brilliant together, and Rowena/Godric are brill as well. The description of each common room was fantastic, and the closing scene gave me shivers it was so beautiful.

The sugar quills perfectly topped it off <g>

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43723Chapter: 1
That was just perfect, Arabella... it truly, truly was. What an unexpected alliance of the houses! Hufflepuff and Slytherin... Salazar able to love Helga. And Rowena is definitely my favourite. Godric... sigh. You've brought the Four Founders to life in a way I'm positive no one else could.

Reviewer: HollyDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40741Chapter: 1
That's one incredib;e bit of writing you got there! Well done you!

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39735Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I loved it. It's interesting to think about the beginning of Hogwarts and you did a wonderful job. I like the relationship between Helga and Salazar. You should write about Salazar starting the Chamber.

Reviewer: hiDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32604Chapter: 1
oooh! Right more begginer stuff!

Reviewer: girlyqDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32222Chapter: 1
wow. i am breathless. that is the best founders fic i have ever read in my entire life. wow. you are so oober good i feel faint. wow. that's all i can say. wow

Reviewer: Susan BDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31944Chapter: 1
Very, very nice.

Reviewer: kate griffithDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31582Chapter: 1
That was simply cool. I love the ringing tones of the spells; the reader can literally feel the excitement of calling into being.

Reviewer: VaniityXDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 29993Chapter: 1
That was a truly beautiful story. I would love to read a continuation of it, telling of the first day of Hogwarts. I love your Salazar Slytherin and the part where he smiled at Helga. You created him so perfectly. The relationships between the founders are also very intruiging.

Arabella, you are truly gifted with writing. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Helga HufflepuffDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29613Chapter: 1
Arabella,

I was drifting around the Quill ... looking hungrily for something to pass the time for your's and Zsenya's next installment for AtE ... and I came across this piece.

Thank you for creating an excellent image of what it may have been like for the Four Founders in their endeavours to create Hogwarts. Maintaining Ravenclaw's perspective throughout lent a great deal of forethought and visual effect.

Gryffindor's artistry in the fashion of Michael Angelo was a fantastic venue to rationalize the creation of the enchanted ceiling in the Great Hall. Utilizing each Founder to activate the diverse properties of the ceiling was also a stroke of genuis.

The language and characterizations are superior and very much in keeping with your previous submissions I have perused in the past. Humourous, mysterious, wonderment, heartfelt, intimate, sensual and truly enjoyable ... Who could ask for anything more in a great piece of writing.

Thanks again,


.:| + | Helga Hufflepuff | + |:.

PS. I immediately chortled at the inclusion of the 'Sugar Quills.'

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29273Chapter: 1
This is beautiful. It is actually the first founders fic I have read and enjoyed and I'm so glad I clicked on it. I love the idea of the Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw common rooms and the creation of the ceiling in The Great Hall is fantastically magical, yet strangely natural. Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful story.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27360Chapter: 1
I love the imagery and the details; each sentence made the story seem even more alive. It's creative, unique, breathtaking ---

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25998Chapter: 1
The story touched my heart and I am a huge Harry Potter fan this story reminded me of J.K Rowling's work. My favorite part of the story was the part about why Helga chose black and yellow as her colors. Your story was also a lovely romance. I loved how you described the common rooms (it was fasinating) and I loved the idea about Helga's tunnels.Your story is very inspiring and well writen. I'm sure others will be inspired by your work as I was. Your story really made me feel like I was there and gave me peace during the time I read it. It has made me want to write my own Harry Potter story. In simple words I loved, will you PLEASE write a second!

Reviewer: WilaniaDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25672Chapter: 1
Awesome. That's all I can say.

Reviewer: LeafDate: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25450Chapter: 1
Wow...that was amazing. I love how you explain the history of the house colors and, well, everything was just perfect. Good job!

Leaf

Reviewer: choclitbunnyDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21197Chapter: 1
so beautiful... so touching...

Reviewer: Ariana DeralteDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19394Chapter: 1
Gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous. I loved your use of Godric the painter, and the creation of the ceiling was perfect. Your characterizations were well done and I liked your pairings, especially Hufflepuff and Salazar. The sugar quills were cute and I loved the idea of the sett in the Hufflepuff common room. Thanks for the read:)

Reviewer: BritlifeDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18050Chapter: 1
More, please!

Reviewer: CrydwynDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14847Chapter: 1
Beautiful.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8559Chapter: 1
This story was just sooo cute. Most fanfic stories focus on Harry and the crew, and some venture into Lily and James.... but how often can you find a story on the founders. It was very clever.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8434Chapter: 1
Amaziing! Excellent! Tres bien! Parfait! Wonderful! Beyond of all these in fact.

Reviewer: bitoninoDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7719Chapter: 1
I am one of the members of a Harry Potter Fanclub named "Every Flavor Beans Ltd." in Taiwan. our members love to read any kind of literature, especially fanfics. Unfortunately, most of them are poor in English and incapable of reading English fanfics. I would like to translate this piece of work into Chinese and share it with my club friedns. How can I contact with the author to ask for the permission?

Reviewer: Checkerboard NinjaDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7540Chapter: 1
I love this fic, it rivals The More is my Unrest as the best fic you've written, and I absolutely love your Salazar. Your characterization was great, Salazar as cold and brilliant with the rest of them as muggle loving idiots, I love it. Your Helga especially, I laughed so hard at her justification of her horrible color scheme. Inflicting black and yellow on her house forever after, all for the sake of some silly little metaphor that no one else will understand, I can truly see how all the fools go to Hufflepuff. And Godric painting without wands simply for the sake of injecting personality, how very Gryffindor, its like something Potter would do, such a waste of effort for something so utterly trivial. And Rowena waxing lyrical about blue and bronze and how they really represent mystery and justice, how utterly Ravenclaw in its pretentiousness. And then Salazar, like Draco's wealth combined with Tom's handsomeness and Snape's wit, I love it. And you still managed to make him imperfect with the whole loving Helga thing, he felt so real.

Reviewer: AliraDate: 2002-10-03
Reviewid: 5240Chapter: 1
Arabella, this peice was incredibly beautiful. The Founders were so fully realized, and I loved descriptions of, well, everything. I love your writing and I have from the very beginning. *grin* Keep it up!

Reviewer: AlannaDate: 2002-09-29
Reviewid: 4961Chapter: 1
I must praise this yet again.

You know, your R/H is fascinating and adorable and HQoW is like canon to me and I follow the next chapter of AtE as closely as I follow the progress of Book Five...

But this is my favorite thing that you've written, and perhaps the most softly beautiful fic I've ever read. I've never liked Founderfic. But here, they aren't THE FOUNDERS, capitalized and italicized and immortalized... they're real. They're as real as the headmasters and professors who follow them and the students.

The atmosphere of the fic is just beautiful. It makes me feel peaceful; makes me want to be there.

Some fics, when I finish them, make me go "<word that annoys Cap'n Kathy>!" This one, when I finish, I sigh a little... because it's so beautiful, so perfect, so real, so right.

Reviewer: Dokuja MalfoyDate: 2002-09-28
Reviewid: 4937Chapter: 1
Eeeeeeeeee! *squeals and claps hands together delightedly* It's great!!! Wonderful! I LOVE it!!!! Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: CalliaDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4829Chapter: 1
Like Rownea, I'm all teary-eyed. This was a truly wonderful piece. You brought a whole new characterization to the four founders. All of your scenes were truly beautiful, and written with a delicate art. If it was possible to read paintings, this would be the result. You cannot begin to fathom how much I love this piece. You truly have a gift, and I thank you for sharing it with us.
~Callia

Reviewer: GregoraDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4431Chapter: 1
This is really wonderful! It mademe feel like I was there with them. I loved your take on the founders, except Godric and Rowena sounded a bit too much like Harry/Hermione, but that seems to be a comon theme in most founders fics, though. I liked Helga the best. I loved that she was such a dreamer. Thanks for the great read! ^^

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2002-09-17
Reviewid: 4074Chapter: 1
Beautifull. This is the best one you have written so far. I love the personalities that you gave each of the Founders, and the fact that Gryffindor painted the ceiling of the Great Hall ala Michelangelo. Wonderful! (My favorite character was Helga.)

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3441Chapter: 1
Really imaginative! I loved the explanations of the common rooms and the story behind the ceiling. Will you continue and add the story of the sorting hat?

Reviewer: KarenDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2537Chapter: 1
Wow is the only word I can say right now. It's amazing. Please keep writing stories about the founders. Please!! :)

Reviewer: Q. StrawberryDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1069Chapter: 1
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. No sequel could match this, although, if it were written by you, possibly. ^^;; There are still threads that hang loose at the end of the story, as in what Salazar would do when he finds out that Helga isn't pureblood...but there is also a tone of finality to the end of the story. We all know how it ends up to be like...It's the journey there that our imaginations are yearning to grasp.

Reviewer: rinoaDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 842Chapter: 1
very, very beautifully written. i loved Salazar Slytherin and Helga Hufflepuff's affection for each other, she seems the one who can make him smile like that =) you should write more founder fiction, this one is absolutely brilliant!

Reviewer: guestDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 655Chapter: 1
Fantastic,
Since there is yet to be book 5 I read this one to my children on July 31. They were mesmerized and it started them on a new line of ideas. (We've rehashed the first 4 books forever). I even printed a copy and put it in my night stand, for "light" reading. Thanks for the lift. The piece soared, high praise for a fanfic.

Reviewer: neshamniy2002@yahoo.comDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 615Chapter: 1
this is a great story i think that A should write a nother story on the second day. ever since i found this club i have enjoyed every moment of being here reading the stroies of other "artist" and i can finally say that i think that we should get harry potters creator here and maby some day even get these stories published.....absolutly fabulous.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 534Chapter: 1
One of my favorites :)
You should consider writing more founders' fics.

Reviewer: GloryDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 513Chapter: 1
Oh my, I'm speechless. The characters themselves had depth, and meaning. I can picture these people in everyday life. Excellent job (and that is the biggest understatement that I've ever said in my life)

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 506Chapter: 1
AMAZING! There are no other words. BRILLIANT, FANTASTIC, FABULOUS. (well, I guess there ARE a FEW others...) Really, outstanding work - what a beautiful story. The characters and setting was so true and real. You are extemely talented.

Reviewer: PinpointDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 229Chapter: 1
Excellently written. I like the portrayl of Helga.

Reviewer: VespertineDate: 2002-07-27
Reviewid: 69Chapter: 1
Beware, for this review is about to be exceedingly gushy :D But, in all honesty, this was the single most beautiful fic I have *ever* read.

These are the only words I can find to express what I'm feeling after reading "Before the Beginning"! It was all so... perfect. Your portrayal of each founder was in no way one-dimensional, as they may sometimes seem when we think of the basic characteristics of each house. Each of them was something more than is normally imagined, I think... the way Godric wasn't just courageous and good, but also an incredibly artistic individual... the way Rowena lived for reason, logic, and intellect but was far from being stiff or haughty, and the way she was so in love... the way Salazar was portrayed as not only cunning, but beautiful, and a tender man somewhere deep, deep down... and, most wonderfully, the way Helga was just... a dreamer... all of these things come together so ideally. Helga's speech about her chosen house colors brought tears to my eyes, as well as the gorgeous final scene... it was all so surreal, so rich in imagery, and yet so seemingly canon. An artist myself (as well as someone who's always been fascinated with the idea of the enchanted ceiling!), this was truly inspiring to me, and it's honestly become my favorite story. Thank you so much, Arabella, for writing this!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --