The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: One Wise Woman
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: kitsuneDate: 2008-10-15
Reviewid: 151163Chapter: 4
If Minerva's cousin's (or whatever) nickname is Black Lion, what is Sverus'? I think that it should be shadow fox.

Reviewer: RiadhriDate: 2008-03-31
Reviewid: 150711Chapter: 4
This is amazing. There aren't many stories that focus around Minerva . . or Severus for that matter. This is very heart touching and it was very hard not to cry when I read it.
~Riadhri

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133283Chapter: 4
I loved it. This is my favorite story ever. Aside from the potter books.
UR a great writer.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103127Chapter: 4
A very good story. I haven't read your other works, but I could easily understand the family of Minerva before Harry Potter's time. I love the fact that her family all has names that begin with 'M' and are mythological characters. And you've done so much research into the tiniest details, like the Sitra Achra, it's amazing. Not to mention your characterization is spot-on.
In short, I was trying to write McGonagall for a fic, and this was the one I turned to. I'm very glad I did. :-)
~Q

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90201Chapter: 4
I stared reading this ages ago but never fished... very nice- endings great

Reviewer: tipDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89517Chapter: 4
Thank you, Sweeney.

Reviewer: YmmoDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79031Chapter: 4
Wow, you got me crying like rain in the middle of chapter 4! Such a sad and beautiful story...

Reviewer: SinbinDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63788Chapter: 4
Sweeny! I finished it and it WAS good. Told you!

Siriusly now, I have enjoyed this fic. I've never really thought of McGonagall having a family - she seemed to just be a background character, appearing occasionally to tell Harry & co that it was time for bed. There's nothing more I really have to say, other than, see ya! Off to read the rest. Thank god you gave me that list...

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51483Chapter: 4
Amazing.

Reviewer: ChrissyDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40872Chapter: 4
Wow. This story was so well written, and so insightful. I've always wondered about the history and relationship between Dumbledore and McGonagall, and Snape as well, and I loved the explanations of this story.

Reviewer: pennyDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33363Chapter: 4
well, I am now officially bawling my eyes out. you can't do better than that, well written.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33347Chapter: 4
I love stories about the adults in the Harry Potter books. The writers always make these characters more believeable and round out their flatness in canon. You've done a wonderful job with both Snape and McGonnagal. I'm looking forward to more of your writing.

Reviewer: sandraDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19291Chapter: 4
I think maimonides served a Khalif in Al Andalus. And I like the opinion in this as to why wizards celebrate Christmas. (I always rather wonder over religion and magic in the books)

Reviewer: Pseudonym SylphmuseDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16816Chapter: 4
That was lovely, it shows a different side to the cheerful, light one. It unveils things people block out that Christmas is not always a time of happiness but of remembrance and grief.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16523Chapter: 4
Thank you for the glimpse into the Professors' lives outside of Hogwarts. I especially loved reading about McGonagall's personal relationships -- how she has a sister, was once wildly in love, etc. And I enjoyed looking at Snape through her eyes. I really have to read up on Theron one of these days!

Reviewer: RenDate: 2002-12-29
Reviewid: 14337Chapter: 4
Beautifully done. Terrifically excellent. Straight to the point. Completely in character, and gut-wrenchingly honest. Very good.

...are you Jewish?

Reviewer: EvelynDate: 2002-12-28
Reviewid: 14166Chapter: 2
v. good! i love the change of pace... severus and miverva? v. clever, chica!

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12067Chapter: 4
What an incredible and beautiful insight into the oft over-looked and mysterious character of Minerva. (Wow, far too many adjectives.)

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7743Chapter: 4
I found your writing!! I always try to see if people who review Ancient Prophecy have written anything themselves--and boy have you!!!!!

I see you and I share a fondness for Severus. We also see him very much the same. He is as a person with deep pashions and emotions.

What you've written is wonderful. So good in fact that I teared up reading parts of this story. That doesn't happen often.

I will read the others and only hope they are half as good as this one was.

Thank you for an enjoyable story!

Elizabeth

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6622Chapter: 2
I applaud you for your Snape. Despite certain similarities between him and Antony, I simply cannot get inside the man's head. Nor can I characterise him to my own satisfaction. Well done. You've given Snape a good background through Minerva's eyes.

Your interaction between Snape and Minerva is also very believable. ANd it was nice to see a hint of what's happened to her family.

So, what's next? On to the next chapter to find out, I guess.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6620Chapter: 1
Poor Snape. Really. Being kicked out into the snow.

Love the gift for Medea. ;-)

On to the next chapter.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: Portia Victoria Isabella seriously, thats my nameDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2128Chapter: 4
That's a pretty good story. I liked it. Never really see that side of people. Usually its evil or just plain teacher like. Does that even make sense? Whatever. Well, all I wanted to say was thats a great story. So there, I said it.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-07
Reviewid: 1282Chapter: 4
Sweeney, this is a beautiful story. Powerful and sad (by the time Albus said "Consider all debts paid", Minerva wasn't the only one with tears in her eyes), yet infused with hope, the message of the Magi. And the tone of your ending fits perfectly.

Wonderful!

Axelle

PS. As a Maxfield Parrish fan, I thank you for including the painting -- as a child I remember being awed by the beauty in his works, and even wishing the people he portrayed *would* move. And here, they have! Thanks for that!

Reviewer: KenDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1145Chapter: 4
I found the story "One Wise Woman" very delightful and
regardless of the subject, it was also very refreshing.
I thought it great to read a stroy that gives
description as to Dumbledore's connection with Snape
and McGonagall. I especially enjoyed the true concept
that humans make mistakes and change for the better
if they choose too.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1118Chapter: 4
Wow. That was a beautiful story. I loved how it showed the teachers as actual people instead of "people-who-are-just-there". I especially revelled in the fact that Snape had a reason to be a bit nasty. I felt very sorry for him indeed. As well as McGonagall and Dumbledore. I liked how Minerva was Albus's daughter-in-law. The biblical references are really nice, too.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --