The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Sprig of Lilac
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: AriannaDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132423Chapter: 10
Wow. This was an AMAZING work. I was entirely moved by this story, the first I have ever read I believe, that has brought me to tears. You made the characters act so realisticaly and believably, and I cannot give you high enough praise!

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118598Chapter: 10
You are an amazing writer - don't ever stop.

I love Minerva McGonagall and this story is just so perfectly suited for her. I can relate to some of it quite well. You make her character come alive. In JKR's books she seems so unattached and unemotional through out them. She is seen mainly as one with a dry sense of humour and tough attitude who seldomly shows emotion. This story is a reminder that all of that is probably just a mask. This story proves that Minerva McGonagall can feel pain and love, can be weak and is human in every aspect, so much so that even a lioness like her needs someone to lean on.

Reviewer: AngelaDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114820Chapter: 10
Wow. That was a magnificent, powerful, heart wrenching tale. You are the first writer I have had the privelage to read on Sugar Quill, and I must say, your work is amazing.

Your Minerva is different to the young Minerva I have imagined (and written about), but very real. I think you took the tiny Minerva scenes in the books and extrapolated upon them. Never before have I seen a Minerva with such an ability to simply FEEL.

Exquisite. It made me smile, and cry, and many other things. Thankyou for such a beautiful story.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88546Chapter: 10
This story is amazing. I hardly know what to write. Until now, I've never read a piece of fan fiction that brought tears to my eyes. The way you wrote Albus's reaction, and then Minerva's return to class...

Just, wow.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88540Chapter: 6
Oh my God. Wow.

Reviewer: elokinDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60172Chapter: 10
Very few fics make me feel with them. Thank you.

Reviewer: Tamara StarDate: 2003-06-18
Reviewid: 37530Chapter: 2
Why don't you ppl write your own stories and send them to publishers? Some of you guys have TALENT, but I'm tired of reading copycat HP stories. Have a little self-esteem and make yourselves into authors just like JKR instead of writing for a humble little fan club. Just a suggestion. I like the writing style and the vivid characterization of Minerva McGonagall. This is well-written. Now it's time to start writing your own ideas. Besides, making up the ppl is the fun part anyway. And then you can feel that they are truly your brainchildren and the book is really your baby. It's the best feeling in the world.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33482Chapter: 10
very nice. i liked all of ur desciptions very good. very.. vivid. and the poems in between were well cosen. very smooth. very fitting.

Reviewer: WizDate: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25467Chapter: 10
That's the first time fanfic has ever made me cry. Fantastic writing, though.

Reviewer: sandra (aka magpie poet)Date: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19275Chapter: 10
*sniff* i'm not sure which brought more tears to my eyes, the story or the fact that you obviously understand eliot a hell of a lot better than me!

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7249Chapter: 10
Minerva fic! I have a thing for minor characters, and Minerva fits into that category admirably. You portray her so well - she's so human. It's amazing, really. We don't think of Minerva outside of her role as Professor McGonagall, and yet...she's a person in her own right. She feels, she hurts. And she lives.

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6634Chapter: 10
A very good ending. May I just say that I love your quotes used throughout the fic?

Also, I find it strange that I read your and Catherine's fics because a) I'd heard so much about them and b) I wanted to return the favour of reading your fics when you'd read DD. And now, I look at our three worlds and see:
a) In my world, Antony is driven into a life of uncertainty and fear that exactly what happened to Minerva's family will happen to him.
b) In Catherine's world, Severus is quite similar to my Antony.
c) All three of us have male OCs the others adore.
d) What's with the evil Malfoys? ;-) Although Catherine has Lucius pretty much under control at the moment.

Okay, that's my random note for the day. Excellent fic. But poor, poor Minerva and Albus. And Minerva's poor family, not jsut those who died, but also Medea. *Sniffs*

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6633Chapter: 9
Finally. Perhaps everything's going to be okay now. I'm so glad that they have each other to help them through the grief. Poor Minerva, poor Albus, and Minerva's poor family.

*Sniffs*

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6632Chapter: 8
I love Albus. He's so kind and caring; despite his own grief, he takes time to help Minerva through the pain.

Drat. I'm crying again.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6631Chapter: 7
I love the way that you write the confusion, disorientation, and misery that Minerva is feeling, through the dreams, through her coldness, through her feelings.

*Sniff*

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6630Chapter: 6
Very, very creepy. You're so descriptive in your writing. And those first few lines of the chapter: poor, poor Minerva. You've shown how she was coping so beautifully, with the illusion that the picture and the lilac created.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

(Still sniffling)

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6629Chapter: 5
Now I *am* crying. That final line is so poignant.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6628Chapter: 4
Oh, poor, poor Minerva. I'm about to cry, Sweeney. You write so well.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6626Chapter: 3
What beautiful description of how Minerva feels ... But you - you *killed* him! Is that allowed? No. It can't be.

Yours in fanfiction,

A sad JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6625Chapter: 2
Oh, not, it's not all. Minerva ...

Only one problem with this story. The chapters are too short! ;-) Everything's so fantastic!

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6624Chapter: 1
Good foreshadowing, despite the fact that I am certainly not liking what you're foreshadowing.

Oh, it's all so sweet, happy, innocent ... *pouts*

As always, I love your description, writing, and such. And Theron. :-(

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2002-09-12
Reviewid: 3808Chapter: 10
As melancholy as The Waste Lands, and as beautiful as lilacs.

Reviewer: SilvertongueDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1579Chapter: 10
Oh... this was so painful and heartbreaking, in a good way. I forgot to say this when I reviewed "Footprints on the Sands of Time", but the friendship between Dumbledore and McGonagall, and its development as they grew older and wiser and wearier, is so palpable and solid and real and beautiful. It hurt to see Theron go, as well as the McGonagalls, and it hurt to see that Minerva wanted to leave as well -- as did seeing Dumbledore's pain and loneliness.

I say it once again, but I could never say it enough -- beautiful.

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1200Chapter: 10
Is this new? Has it been around before the server-change and I NEVER READ IT? WHERE HAVE I BEEN?

It was simply beautiful, in every way.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --