The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dreamscapes
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134424Chapter: 4
These little vignettes were perfectly elegant, they bring a wonderful depth to Snape, especially with the poetry references and the really beautiful, simple, interactions with the girl in chapter 2 without reducing him to a series of silly cliches.

Reviewer: Ebony SteinbachDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48573Chapter: 1
I actually read this fic a year ago and thought i'd better review it now.
I love "Dreamscapes". I have a copy of it on my bedside (printed it out) and read whenever I need cheering up. It's so beautifully written in every way and Snape's characterisation is wonderful. I even borrowed some T.S. Elliot poems to understand the vignettes better (though Elliot is still very confusing).
I love this fic because it's so calming and I want to thank you for writing such a beautiful fic.

Reviewer: Angela AlsiraDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 40003Chapter: 4
Well done! I am new to SugarQuill, having been advised of its existence by a friend at a Science Fiction/Media convention in May. I've been reading several of the contributions, but yours stands out as well-crafted and showing a good deal of character insight. Please continue your writing efforts. I studied your literary inspirations in college also, so the references are appreciated.

Reviewer: rachelDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35890Chapter: 4
Great vinettes, I enjpoyed them and it was neat that you didn't say what was behind the door in the forest.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35292Chapter: 4
As promised, I'm reviewing the end of this - and as expected, the whole thing was wonderful. Normally I'd be a bit miffed that you didn't say WHAT was on the other side of the door - but right now I see that it wasn't necessary, and, in fact, completely necessary to not say what was there.

I liked the first and last ones, of course. Overall - I just love this set of stories. Very well done.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35291Chapter: 2
I'm on the second one, haven't read the others yet...but I'd like to thank you for this second one. It's been a long time since a story like this made me cry like this, and I really love it. It's so short, so simple, and so poignant. Thank you - thank you so much. I'll probably review when I get to the end of the last one, but I just wanted to tell you how much I like this one right now.

Reviewer: Lucy RavenclawDate: 2002-09-09
Reviewid: 3604Chapter: 4
Loved them all! Insightful and wonderful!

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3286Chapter: 4
Beautiful characterization of Snape. Still the irritable ogre we know and love, but there's a deeper side to him that you reveal that's very thought-provoking. As the HP books are written from Harry's POV, we don't get to see inside Snape's head, see what thoughts are hidden by the angry exterior. He's actually human in this story, not some evil-warped Dark Lord-wannabe. It's a nice change.

Loved this: "Severus watched him, feeling rather like a malevolent bat as he did so." Alan Rickman really is perfect for the part, isn't he?

And my final note of praise: I like how you drew inspiration from O'Connor and Eliot. They're both very appropriate for Snape--O'Connor warns not to judge people by appearances, and Eliot was just a Modernist genius. Good work!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1568Chapter: 4
LOTS of folks have reviewed this back on the old board, Maurice!!!

And it continues to be one of the most innovative, interesting pieces of fan fiction that I've read.

You know Sweeney, you're much too literate for someone your age. Get out! Have some sunshine! And don't read Milton.

Beautiful work, as always.

Catherine

Reviewer: The Amazing MauriceDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1556Chapter: 1
Precisely *why* has no-one reviewed this yet? Humph. There's just no accounting for taste with some people.

I love your ability to take the vague assumptions and theories that the books have left with us and spin out this wonderful universe. I always liked Snape; now you've made me adore him. That in itself is worthy of more than *my* simpering adoration. There should be a lot more simpering going on around here!

*ahem* Please keep up the excellant work. This entire site continues to enthral me and keep me up 'till shameful hours of the morning reading. Sugarquillers forever!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --