The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: On Dry Land
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: Ginny LoverDate: 2007-04-23
Reviewid: 147836Chapter: 1
After reading this for the 5th time I decided to finally comment. As stated earlier, I loved how you scripted the characters so alike Rowling's. I loved especially the twins and Neville, I always imagined he would act exactly as you perceived him to be. Also enjoyed the topic and thought it was very nice to get Ginny's perspective during the Tasks to see how she and others felt when Harry was competing in them. Keep up the awesome writing!

Reviewer: HappyTearsDate: 2006-11-19
Reviewid: 146231Chapter: 1
this is so cool.really enjoyed it

Reviewer: Rachael DuBoisDate: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141267Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. I love how you kept all of the conversations so close to canon. It was like reading something JKR would have written. And so much fun to read!

Reviewer: gred and forgeDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137525Chapter: 1
I like this story I really like Ginny and when I read the summary I expected it 2 b something like this!!! WICKED!- F & G

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137482Chapter: 1
I only have 3 words : cute, funny, AWESOME !!!

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129817Chapter: 1
::grins::

She took both.

I have no idea why but that just makes me feel..awesome. Just...warm and fuzzy. Like after I read some really good fluff piece about Ron and Hermione. Like "Not as a Last Resort" and "Getting the Point." I felt like that.

You kept everyone in cannon like usual. Awesome.

::beams::

love and brownies

--Jessi

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129667Chapter: 1
"Dunno..." said George slowly.

"You don't KNOW?" Fred yelled at once. "Lord, man, I'm your twin!"
This part as well as many others had me laughing out loud. I also love how Gred and Forge are all protective of Ginny, even though they do tease her. It is nice to know that Ginny never really gave up on Harry.
Lizzybeth

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129666Chapter: 1
You got Gred and Forge down just right! And as for Ginny, you did great with her too! I have always wondered what it was like in the stands of any of the tasks and I am glad that somebody filled in one of those missing moments. I am pretty sure Jo would've put it the same way!
Lizzybeth
;)

Reviewer: IngridDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129125Chapter: 1
That was great

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122845Chapter: 1
Aww, this was wonderful. You capture Ginny so beautifully, with her worrying about Harry so much, and Fred and George... both their gittishness in teasing her and their love for her too

<"They should tell her," agreed Fred vehemently. "That's wrong - to do that to someone's sister."

"Yeah," said George. "She thought she only had an hour and it's nearly seven minutes past, now." He paused. "I'd be going mad if I was her," he added quietly.>

You gotta love 'em. And I really liked the Fred/ Angelina interaction.

<There was Fleur, looking utterly composed, her silvery hair whipping behind her in what seemed to be a localized breeze. >

I don't know why but I loved this description. So *Fleur*. This was a great story- I never thought reading about someone staring at a lake for an hour could be so interesting!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110982Chapter: 1
good - of course

Reviewer: VictoriaDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108268Chapter: 1
Yay!! :D

Reviewer: jovialityDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107226Chapter: 1
You captured Ginny's emotions and her feelings towards Harry perfectly, great job!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104217Chapter: 1
HAH! YES! Corking story, Arabella! It seems that you've got Angelina to be educated in abnormal areas of study, and all of your sixth year characters are in perfect character. Angelina and Fred seem perfect for each other, and I like the way that you have Ginny making a large point of it, what with exploding at Fred, and sharing that meaningful look with George. You've gotten our dear Ginevra down to a T, or should I say G!! I also like how thier discussions range from Harry to who each would have in the lake if any were the champions. THis is one of my favourite parts:" Dunno..." said George slowly.
" You don't KNOW!!" yelled Fred at once. " Lord, man! I'm your twin!"
And.....
Fred grinned at her. " Think I can't handle a bunch of grindylows? he said, in his manliest tone, causing George to snort.
Anyway, thank you for an EXCELLENT story, Arabella. Think you can do one for the third task, with the same characters? I CHALLENGE THEE!!!!
Lurve, lurve, lurve,
Angie

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93759Chapter: 1
Ohhhh! Sigh. How absolutely adorable! I feel warm from the inside out. Or maybe that's because I'm drinking hot chocolate in the summer. Or maybe it's because of your story. Who's to know? Anyway, I loved it. It is so sweet and everyone is exactly in character. Such a lovely piece of writing. A perfect match to the fourth story. Great work!

Reviewer: igo2hogwartsDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88945Chapter: 1
So cute! Fred and George were portrayed really well, they crack me up! I was seriously laughing out loud at some parts. You are such a great writer, I love how you write parts of the books from other people's POV.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88508Chapter: 1
<i>"Dunno..." said George slowly.

"You don't KNOW?" Fred yelled at once. "Lord, man, I'm your twin!"</i>

That made me burst out laughing. Altogether an amazing story, like always. Sometimes I forget it's not really J.K. Rowling writing your fics. :) And of course, who doesn't love the Weasleys (and some good shipping)??

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85598Chapter: 1
lOl! Too cute! Nice story line, and wonderful characterization!

Reviewer: ZibbyDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72766Chapter: 1
Absolutely perfect! It's great to see the second task from someone else's point of view. Fred and George act just like they do in the book. I love everything. I've added this story to a collection I've started on my computer of your stories. I bet by the end of reading all of them, they will all be on my computer since I love them so much. You are such a great writer. Plus you have given me some hope for a Harry/Ginny relationship later. Thanks! =)

Reviewer: niiDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59977Chapter: 1
fred & george are so cool

"Got a boyfriend these days O mistress of Gryffindor tower?"

tee hee
-x-x-

Reviewer: WinstonDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54632Chapter: 1
This is one of my favourite stories of yours.

I have read it several times, and every time it makes me cry. It is just so perfect for Ginny - she's a fantastic character, and it's so good to see her get what she deserves. It's so fulfilling and satisfying, and really warms the heart. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48044Chapter: 1
I really love ALL of your stories, and this one is no exception! Its so sweet, I love how Fred and George react! It's exactly how I would imagine them too!

Reviewer: Chocolate MuseDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47958Chapter: 1
Awwwww, that was so cute. I really enjoyed it. Now I'm off to check out the rest of your stories. ^^

Reviewer: KendaDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44547Chapter: 1
No words to describe how wonderful,pleasing and creative this piece is!

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42735Chapter: 1
Very cute. It shows how Ginny really feels about Harry and her relationship with her brothers. I love this author, she writes all the best stories.

Reviewer: Not AliceDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37155Chapter: 1
I like the way Fred and George offer their hands to Ginny at the end, nice gesture, but they are truly boys.

Reviewer: twistedmasqueDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 36994Chapter: 1
Ah that was good, excellent, fantastic! More please, MORE!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30801Chapter: 1
For some reason this made me laugh when ever George or Fred teased Ginny,and the password thing.Tidy little ending,eh?

She took both.

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24999Chapter: 1
Fantastic!

Reviewer: ShimmerDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24493Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness, this was so well writtena and so hilarious. I was laughing the entire time! I have to tell you, youre my favorite fanfic writer ever!

Shimmer

Reviewer: nikaleeDate: 2003-03-10
Reviewid: 23528Chapter: 1
You know, I think somehow I managed to miss this one, although I have religiously read and reread everything you've ever written. It's kind of nice to find something new. It was very good. I really liked the line about Ginny shining for Harry. Bravo.

Reviewer: The LeprachaunDate: 2003-03-03
Reviewid: 22514Chapter: 1
There should be a warning required for a dangerous overdose of romantic fluff. Good story though. Older siblings can be quite annoying, can't they?

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20730Chapter: 1
Poor Ginny! That was so out of line for Fred and George. Anyway, you captured the tone incredibly and kept everyone in character. Well done!

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18616Chapter: 1
Very nice story. I can see this being in the book quite well. Poor Ginny! Maybe in the next book, she will be able to talk to Harry. Thanks!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17752Chapter: 1
Thank you for writing a wonderful story. I love your version of Ginny, she is just as I have always imagined her to be, and how I hope she will turn out in the up comining books. The pain of unrequitted love is palpable in this story and it makes you want to shake Harry into noticing what he is missing. The love between brothers and sister is very touching and the characters of Angelina and Katie are clear and very pleasing. You write excellent stories (but this one is my own personal favourite)and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: Jenn JordanDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15413Chapter: 1
Awww.
What a good ending.
I never thought about what Ginny might have been going through during the second task, Good idea.
-JJ

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9467Chapter: 1
This was a very sensative portrayal of Ginny. I also appreciated the sense of cruelty in the trial. It is rather horrible to let the champions believe that their friends would die.

I am glad that Fred and George got a smack down. They do sometimes go much too far and need to be told about it. LOVED Katie and Angie, they were so kind.

Reviewer: Mellon CollieDate: 2002-11-02
Reviewid: 7945Chapter: 1
Awwwww!!! Poor Ginny! Unrequited love's a pain, isn't it? I do hope the Harry will, at least, finally NOTICE her in the upcoming books. *Sigh* Anyway, I really, really, really love this fic! Then again, I love all your fics, so it's really no surprise, eh? Hehehe...keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4403Chapter: 1
Oh this was a *perfect* fic! Everything from Percy's pompousness, to Neville's good natured cluelessness to Fred and George (I loved when they were talking about terrorizing the first years with gillyweed!!). This had romance, drama, character insight, suspense, and lots of clever humor. I loved it!!!!!

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2002-09-16
Reviewid: 4008Chapter: 1
Awwwww, Arabella, that was SO cute! Percy being, well, PERCY ("I'm judging!"), Ginny worrying herself sick about Harry, her brothers being prats about it and then, when Ginny finally exploded, trying to make it up to her...only to tease her once more at the end. And that bit with George asking the Fat Lady out (who IS older than him, even if we consider the age they portrayed her in, and not the age of the painting itself) just reminded me of him and Rosmerta in AtE... ;)

Reviewer: kate griffithDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2030Chapter: 1
what a devastatingly true example of brotherly love! ;) And I like the way you treated Ginny's 'crush' as the real thing .. to the detriment of older wisdom!

Reviewer: Q. StrawberryDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1034Chapter: 1
Wow! I love not only how you portrayed the worry and anxiety that the spectators must've felt during all of the tasks, but how Ginny reacts upon being teased endlessly by her brothers. I also love how you work in familial ties everywhere, from Percy worrying about Ginny, to choosing hostages, to the very end, where she takes both of her brothers' hands. Wonderful story! I love your writing!!!

Reviewer: FezDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 856Chapter: 1
I really loved this fic. I just reread it again and it was one of the first fics I read in the HP fandom. Have you considered writing more fics with the twins and Angelina & Katie? You write them so well and have them in character. And I can honestly say that your Ginny is the only one I've found that is exactly like canon.

Reviewer: GengiDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 755Chapter: 1
Woooooooow!!! I so LOVE this fic! ^___^ I love how well you match the characters' personality to the actuall ones so well! ^_^ And I loved that little sybolic swist at the end, with Ginny taking both of their hands! :^__^: A VERY good job! :)

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 248Chapter: 1
I truly love all your work! This is a fantastic story, as are your others. Most stories that center around Ginny are mopey, whiny, 'Why doesn't Harry like me? Maybe if I stop liking him, he will notice me, and make an idiot out of himself in front of the entire school, like I have' monologues, but yours was nothing of the sort. It was perfect, and made me like Ginny more than any other fic I have read, to date. Congratulations on your fantastic story. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 239Chapter: 1
This is one of the best ones I've read. And it's so true.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --