The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 55

Reviewer: snivelessDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148958Chapter: 1
lovely

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144122Chapter: 1
Oh, when I stopped crying I'll say something brilliant about this brilliant, heart wrenching story. It's wonderful

Reviewer: katz92Date: 2006-05-29
Reviewid: 143106Chapter: 1
great missing scene!

Reviewer: Music SageDate: 2006-04-03
Reviewid: 141577Chapter: 1
I recently reviewed asking about Firelocks's Down from the Tree fic, and having received no reply, it occurred to me that mayyyybe you couldn't find my email or something like that. It's lkelleher@gmail.com and I would be so, so grateful if you could tell me where to find Actions, or possibly even email the fic itself to me. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Music SageDate: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141317Chapter: 1
I have yet to read this story, because you have requested that we read Firelocks's Down from the Tree: Actions first. However, I cannot find that author or story on SQ or on FFNet. Do you know what is going on? Is there somewhere else I should go, or someone else I should ask? Please email me with a reply, because I love the Marauders and would love to read these fics. =/

Reviewer: Rebecca Erin ConnollyDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135329Chapter: 1
OMG. I'm in tears in the library.

Your characterisation is wonderful. The way you write is wonderful - I love your work so much. Be a proper writer and write lots of books for me to read.

Reviewer: AraphinDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135313Chapter: 1
Hey, its me again. I really really want to read the other parts of the trilogy, "Down From the Tree: Actions" and "Absolution", but I can't find them anywhere. I mean, I've found them on some sites but the links will never work or something, so if you could *please* e-mail them to me I would be eternally grateful!

Reviewer: AraphinDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135260Chapter: 1
Wow. This actually made me cry. But we never saw how Remus and Sirius made up? I know this is a ridiculous request, but...is a sequal possible? Or maybe another fic in which Sirius and Remus make up? Doesn't hurt to ask...

Reviewer: HARRYPOTTER11!!!!!!Date: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128516Chapter: 1
i was acually crying!!!YOU ARE A WIKED WRITER THIS PIECE WAS BRILLIANT!!!!!!

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128515Chapter: 1
breath......breath.....can't........that was WIKED!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: EllieDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119681Chapter: 1
That is by far the best story I have ever read on the internet! Absolutely fantastic! So powerful, and so wonderful it almost made me cry. I can't believe how amazing it was, and how much I enjoyed reading it! Thank you! You are a genius!

Reviewer: AMKDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115260Chapter: 1
The funny thing is, I actually didn't cry while I was reading this, which is very unlike me- I mean, when I watched Return of the King, I was flat-out bawling, but I'm not supposed to be talking about other fandoms now. *cough* Anyway, after I finished reading this, I just sat in front of my computer and stared off into space...thinking about everything that everyone had gone though, but especially Sirius and Remus... and before I knew it, my heart had shattered into a billion itty-bitty pieces and I felt like going to my room, crawling up in my bed, and crying my eyes out until morning. This story was so incredibly emotional and believable and heart-wrenching and tear-jerking and every other wonderfully sad compliment that could ever be given. You ripped my heart out and replaced it with MWPP, you've made me love all of them more than I thought was humanly possible, and you've made me wish that, for just one moment, Remus Lupin was standing next to me- so I could sob and throw myself at him and tell him how much I love him. I can't think of any more compliments to give, although you certainly deserve them, and OH MY GOOD GOD if there is a third part to this I will go to any lengths to read it. You are amazing. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106149Chapter: 1
You cannot end it here!!! i want read more about THE prank, please...pretty please with a cherry on top!

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100883Chapter: 1
Wow that was so brilliant, i was balling my eyes out, fantastic really.

Reviewer: jazzypomDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99043Chapter: 1
Gawd, I must sound like a stuck record.
This story was hard to read - sirius's actions and the consequences of said actions - wow.

Thanks for being unflinching in the telling, and *gosh* sirius has paid and paid for his actions.

*sigh*

thanks again.

pouring libations for padfoot now

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95900Chapter: 1
This was *brilliant.* I loved how you went back and forth between the eras, and how you described Sirius' pain was beautiful. Great job~!

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86901Chapter: 1
Good gracious me. This was terrific, but incredibly sad. This is the first thing that I have read to make me cry since my first time through OotP. You did a truly excellent job here, and made Sirius appear more human for me. Bravo.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75407Chapter: 1
wo. Just -- wo. This is really good. really really good. poor Remus! Ack! Poor Sirius, when Remus and him were talking! :(

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71805Chapter: 1
Congratulations. This is wonderful, and I'm a fairly critial reader. You're transitions are wonderful, your characters are well developed and perfectly cannon... I really, thouroughly enjoyed this piece.

Reviewer: SamanthaDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65732Chapter: 1
Loved your story way too much!! I was wondering if it would be too much trouble to tell me where I could find the third installment?...please? I would appreciate it very much. Thank you! : )

Reviewer: JocelynDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65730Chapter: 1
I loved your story so much! I thought that I was going to cry so many times,I love the way you portray your characters!!
But, well I heard that there was a third part to this story?? I have read the first and the second... and I was wondering if you could email me the link, because I have no clue where to find it, so if it's not too much trouble, could you send it to me at : elvira379@hotmail.com and if you do, would you please title it something like SIRIUS AND REMUS because it's likely get my attention that way. Thank you SO MUCH!

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64357Chapter: 1
This was wonderfully written. The emotion from Remus in the hospital wing was especially heart-wrenching. You write chracter so perfectly. I would love to read the third enstallment of this story or any more of your fanfic for that matter. Would it be to much to ask if you could tell me where to find it?

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61864Chapter: 1
I would really like to read the third part of this, however I can't get in the yahoo group to veiw it. It won't let me join for some reason. Is there anyother way to see it?

Reviewer: Val KyrieDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60376Chapter: 1
oh my god.

im sort of speechless.

this is an excellent piece of fan fiction.

excellent.

Reviewer: RSADate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57390Chapter: 1
Wow...I'm in shock, this is absolutely amazing. You did a great job of capturing everyone's character PERFECTLY, and I just...can't describe how well done this is. Remus's anger towards Sirius after the "trick" was perfectly understandable, though heartbreaking.

Keep up the FANTASTIC work!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49324Chapter: 1
There are no words that can describe the brilliance of this fanfiction.

Reviewer: RehanDate: 2003-08-21
Reviewid: 48128Chapter: 1
How do you do it? Yet another great one.

I can't believe how well you portrayed the "prank" from Sirius' point of view. Not malicious or even intentional, but still leaving him 100% to blame. The relationships between the Marauders were so touching. The fight between James and Sirius reminded me so much of Harry and Ron's fight in GoF, because it seemed that one person knew he had done something wrong and got mad at the other as a way of hiding what he truly felt. Remus' disappointment in Sirius was so heartbreaking, and just as sad was Sirius' realization that no matter what he did for Remus, he couldn't come close to righting his wrong.

This story, more than anything else, has really made me hope that after Book 7, JKR will write a few books about the Marauders' days at Hogwarts.

I don't know if you intended this in the story (I'm guessing not), but seeing Sirius' grief over divulging Remus' secret made me think that it could be a valid reason why he persuaded Lily and James not to use him as the secret keeper. Not that he thought about it consciously or anything, but just that in the back of his mind he was aware that he already betrayed the deepest secret of one of his closest friends, and therefore doesn't deserve the trust of his friends anymore.

Anyway, what else can I say? Nothing, really, except that I'm looking forward to reading whatever story you decided to write next.

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47472Chapter: 1
Just let me add my comments to the others, this is an amazing peice of work. I have enjoyed few fanfics as much as I have enjoyed most of your work. I hope you keep at it. Also I would love it if you would write another fanfic describing how Sirius and Lupin made up after these events, I'm really curious to read your take on it. In any case keep on writing you are very gifted.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47387Chapter: 1
How totally heart-wrenching to read this after OotP. So many lost opportunities! Your characterization was spot on as well, I might add, especially in light of OotP.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46549Chapter: 1
There are so many wonderful qualities to this piece that I don't know where to begin.

First, your writing blends seamlessly with Firelocks' "Down the Tree: Actions" and with J.K. Rowling's account of the night when Harry and Hermione rescued Sirius in PoA. Continuing Firelocks' story from a different perspective (Sirius rather than Snape) was a brilliant idea.

Your account of what happened in the tunnel was both terrifying and heart-breaking. Even more distressing was the shame, remorse, and estrangement Sirius felt when he realized that he had betrayed his closest friend. In the end, the Sirius's self-punishment was far greater than any that Dumbledore could have imposed.

Arabella, the great talent you possess is convincingly writing from so many distinct perspectives. I have tremendously enjoyed reading all of your works.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45786Chapter: 1
*weeps soppily* Oh, oh, oh... oh wow.

That was... God. magnificent as always, Arabella-sama.

Reviewer: SallyDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45014Chapter: 1
WARNING! IF YOU HAVENT READ OOTP DONT READ THIS REVIEW! JUST SCROLL DOWN TO THE NEXT ONE OR ULL HATE ME!

holy hell. im not gonna say anything, jsut that despite the fact that i felt worst than harry when sirius passed on (i know, not REALLY) you just made me hate everything more. im so depressed and blacked out and miserable rite now, that its all i can do to contain myself and not throw eggs at jo's house for killing him. killing my dear, dear sirius. i just had one request. PLEASE post absolution on SQ cuz yahoo wont let me go into cuz it features 'adult content' nad u know...im a baby (ugh for gods sake!) teehee. that was a weak laff. im to depressed to laff. bye.

Reviewer: JennaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42215Chapter: 1
Hey- I found this story because it had been recommended at Shades Of Black (http://www.dawnshadows.com/black/myrecs.htm) and I just read through it, and thought it was AMAZINGLY well written!

You do an incredible job with Dumbledore's reaction, and the events of the night of Sirius's trick are so creative- It was a really interesting read! =) Young Remus was charecterized really well too! Great story! You are an awesome writer~

~Jenna

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39129Chapter: 1
Brilliant story as always. Keep up the good work!

solarphoenix

Reviewer: LubnaDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39111Chapter: 1
Wow...this was so amazing. I just read this after reading book five, and you have no idea how much you've made me cry. I mean it made me realize what could have been. Honestly you did a superb job portraying Sirius. Bravo!!

Reviewer: QuandraDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37947Chapter: 1
This is one of three great Maruder fics I have read, and just one of about twenty Marauder fics I've read. I would have likd to have read how Sirius and Remus made up but that was al. The prequel was nice too (though I know you, Arabella, didn't right)

Reviewer: britneyfanDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31355Chapter: 1
this story is so good
it is better than many real books

Reviewer: Someone ReadingDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30484Chapter: 1
I've read this story several times now, and just have to keep coming back, even tho it makes me cry like a fool everytime I do. Thanks for such a wonderful story, especially the flashback to the Marauder Years.

Reviewer: Someone ReadingDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27787Chapter: 1
Oh my GOD! What an incredible story, tho I do wish you had finished in the Dorm what happened with Remus and Sirius, and how Remus EVER forgave him. I cried my self sick, and had to come back to this story later. Wonderful, perfect, so sweet, tender and moving. So...REAL! I could SEE all of it, and it was wonderful. Thank you, thank you for such a beautiful story.

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15196Chapter: 1
In my opinion, this is one of the few really good fics that deals with the consequences of the original Shrieking Shack incident. It's a terrific read!

I think you switch between the past and the present very effectively.
Harry's charms assignments are perfect! They read exactly as if they were written by Harry, and it's wonderful that Sirius gets to read them. Great use of the location.

Even though I knew that Sirius would be rescued, I was so anxious along with him as he waits for the Dementors. Thanks for such a great story!

Reviewer: EssayelDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13346Chapter: 1
Followed a link from the Shades of Black website and am so glad I did. This is an excllent take on the whole Shack incident and its aftermath. Dumbledore's helpless cmpassion was excruciating and the account of Sirius 'punishment' made my heart bleed. A truely wonderful fic. I'll recommend it.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8541Chapter: 1
Gosh, you are brave, to write a mini chapter that could easily have been one from JKR's pen. This is an excellent idea. Keep writing....

Reviewer: Checkerboard NinjaDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7543Chapter: 1
That was...amazing. I'm stunned quite frankly at just how good that was. And it held a special significance for me, to see Sirius Black, one of those characters who I truly hate without reservation, brought so low. Even knowing that Remus would forgive him and that he would escape with the help of Harry and Hermione I still gloried at his misery over betraying Remus through his own stupidity. And when Snape was going to pay him back and pissing Sirius off, ooh that was great. Your characterization of Snape was perfect, I loved it.

Reviewer: ArborealisDate: 2002-10-21
Reviewid: 6784Chapter: 1
I'm pretty sure I reviewed this before, but it seems to have disappeared. Hmmm. Ah well, I don't mind doing it again, because it doesn't get any better than this. Oh, man. This piece (and its companions) are among my all time favorite fanworks ever written. It's simply stunning. Your deftness in handling the time-jumps, your spot-on characterization (especially of Dumbledore! wow!) and...just...everything. This is what I've always thought fanfic was meant to be.

I'd also like to point anyone who was desperately wanting a sequel to the beautiful piece that Arabella has already written, called "Absolution," available on the Sirius_Black_and_Remus_Lupin Yahoogroup. That list has an obscenely large archive, but if you just go there and search for "arabella," the story should pop up. It's definitely as good as the first two. They're all good. They're all amazing. Siiiiigh... :-)

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-10-20
Reviewid: 6701Chapter: 1
This was stunning.

And heartbreaking - it made me cry, which (despite my excessive crybaby-ness) I rarely do when I read. Just beautiful. I love Sirius, I love Remus, I love James - I even almost love Peter, in a sad sort of way.

You know how when you read, there's always something you really *want* to happen, in the back of your mind? Well, you always make it happen. James holding Sirius after their fight, Sirius running to the forest, then later falling asleep on the floor by Remus's bed. For Sirius's sake, of course, I didn't *truly* want any of it to happen - but you manage to create the perfect...tension, I guess, between characters. It's not quite that, though - but you make their interactions tug at the reader's chest and throat. Everything is sadder than it could possibly be, and more tender.

Er, sorry for that weepy speech. I'm still under the spell, so don't mind me. :) But I maintain that this is a beautiful piece, and you are an incredible writer.

Reviewer: BlaiseDate: 2002-10-16
Reviewid: 6453Chapter: 1
Superb! Marvellous! Wonderful! Perfect portrayal of Sirius, and James too. But I think you missed a scene. I was expecting a dual eucatastrophe (to use Tolkien's brilliant word - read his essay 'On Fairy Stories' if you want to know more), where after Sirius-in-the-present got away on Buckbeak, Sirius-in-the-past would manage to make up with Remus somehow and be forgiven. So I was disappointed when you ended with the first scene. It left the story somewhat unresolved. Or is there a sequel with the lost scene somewhere? Anyhow, excellent story, well done.

Blaise

Reviewer: EranaDate: 2002-10-09
Reviewid: 5805Chapter: 1
I'd try to write a proper review of this incredible, incredible story, but I'm afraid I can't see too well. There's something in my eye. Must be dust season or something. <sniff> Great story. :)

Reviewer: CasDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4479Chapter: 1
I love this fic. It has one of the best 'Dumbledore speaks to Sirius' scenes that I have ever read. It really captures the horror of Sirius' position as he realises that Dumbledore isn't all powerful after all.And even though we know how it turns out, you still manage to suffuse it with a degree of tension that is surprising. Great stuff!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3992Chapter: 1
Blimey. Y'know, Arabella? This kind thing makes me sick. This quality of writing never fails to make every single other writer look bad.

Reviewer: ZinniaDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2696Chapter: 1
Oh my GOD. This is one of the BEST fics I've read in a LONG time.

The characterizations, the emotions, and your interpretation of Sirius are so, so, awesome. Congratulations!

Reviewer: EsmereldaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1146Chapter: 1
I'm going to have to second what everybody above has already said, and at the risk of gushing i have to say that i thought this story was wonderful- very ingsightful and true to the characters. I have loved all your other stories, so my only request is that you find it in your heart to write a sequel, so that we can see how the rift between the marauders is resolved.

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 604Chapter: 1
Another great masterpiece! I loved how Sirius looked through Harry's school things. You made young Remus exactly how I pictured him. All the characters' personailties were as they should be. Great Job!

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 389Chapter: 1
This is my very favorite HP fic. And there is some tough competition!

All of the characters are in character, but the best part (for me) is how you explained and described "the prank" to my complete satisfaction, making Sirius both a nice person he is, and also not at all blameless.
And it also explains Sirius' obsession with trust and loyalty. he felt he betrayed Remus, and in a way being "pretend secret keeper" would be his way to redeem himself. And of course that backfired because of Peter. I also love the way you described remus. It is very natural for him to feel angry and betrayed and I am glad he didn't get over it in a day. (But then another part of me just wants to give Sirius a good snuggle and a cup of cocoa, can't help myself :))
Only one thing: please write a sequel: I want to know how MWPP made up again after this!

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 102Chapter: 1
Fantastic! I couldn't wait to get home from work to finish reading it. Your characterizations are wonderfully unique and realistic. I LOVE the foreshadowing with Peter and Sirius -- I believe I actually exclaimed aloud, "Oh my gosh!" when I *got* it. Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful! Is that too much gushing? No way!

Reviewer: ManuDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 99Chapter: 1
Oh, everyone lost their reviews, so it's *almost* as if I were the first one to review the story, see? Maybe I can make up (even if only a little bit) for practically never having reviewed your stuff, even though I adore each and every one of them to pieces.
I'd never read this one before. Don't ask me why, I don't know. But well. I read it now. I'm still a bit speechless. That was *beautiful*. It was unbelievably well-written and the emotion was dripping from it.
Right. I remembered why I don't review your stuff normally. I can't do anything but gush, and I always feel stupid. =P I wish I could offer constructive criticism or even interesting comments, but I'm just too... *wow*, you know? You REWL.
I might not review anything by you ever again (even though I'll think about it, I will), but remember that I love your writing. I gush about it to people who've never heard of the 'Quill. You're amazing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --