The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Educating Draco
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138595Chapter: 1
A most excellently done tale. Wonderful.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131705Chapter: 1
Does there have to be a cliff hanger?!

Reviewer: OttieDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123667Chapter: 1
Great story! I really enjoyed Draco's characterization; it was spot on. I thought Sirius a bit harsh at times, even though he was doing it to show Draco what the life of a Death Eater may entail. But getting locked in Azkaban for thirteen years, consumed by revenge for those who support Voldemort, might just make him so pityless in regards to a Malfoy. I loved Harry's compassion. :) And Pansy's heartbreak at the end and her resolve to become 'tough' for the coming war was chilling. Your writing is wonderfully smooth and detailed, please keep at it! Thanks for the great read! :)

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112242Chapter: 1
Whoa. What a fic. That was one of the more brilliant things I've read in a long, long time. Everything about it was just so real...Draco's emotions, especially his fear around Sirius. And the Sirius/Harry contrast was unbelievably perfect: Sirius is (was) definitely more reckless than Harry; while they are the good guys there is a lot of variance in how far they are willing to go in their treatment of enemies. It was a very interesting distinction. The ending was a bit upsetting, though. I feel like Sirius did more harm than good in telling Draco about how serious DE business is. And then it gets passed along to Pansy. In that way I thought the ending was actually kind of disappointing. Was Draco Educated? He does seem to be taking out his own confusion on Pansy, but then...Pansy seems to be sort of strengthening her own resolve, so it's kind of like a vicious cycle. It's all so convoluted. Which is what makes this such a phenomenal fic. Must go add it to my list of reccs on my LJ....

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109407Chapter: 1
Sirius sounded a bit...Insane....Harry, sounded like future Auror or something. And the ending was sad. But I loved it!!..sort of. Keep writing!

Reviewer: JodyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94371Chapter: 1
I really liked this tale its was so dark while they only meant to teach Draco a lesson little did they realize that in the end it only pushed him right into the enemies hands further >=) really well done!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91808Chapter: 1
Dark! This is well written, the compact lenghth gives it impact. ButI can't believe Sirius would feed rancid rats to anyone, even someone as vile as Draco. How would Sirius be any different to the death eaters if he didn't respect his prisoners human rights, and behaved so sadistically? But, an intresting foray into the darker side of Sirius' nature none the less.

Reviewer: annaDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90818Chapter: 1
that was one of the best i've read. draco's character was spot on, but it would of bin nice for Draco to have learnt something, but that wouldn't be a dramatic ending. When Draco was tied up and he had that dream that he had escaped and killed them both, that really shocked me, then I found out it was just a dream I was kind of relieved, I didn't want them to die. the loo bit made me cringe! very good story, very well written, needs anouther chapter!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80106Chapter: 1
Hmmmm...
Good writing, but I think Sirius is OOC. So is Hermione.
And I find it strange that the whole thing had the reverse effect - Draco has actually become more dangerous because of this.

Reviewer: soriDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73161Chapter: 1
may be you could add another chapter that he rembers

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66963Chapter: 1
Whoa! That's cool. And so in character, too...just, wow!

Reviewer: Poison IvyDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48031Chapter: 1
THis story is Awesome!

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40733Chapter: 1
very well written...i love how lucius malfoy has no qualms in torturing people, and yet can't allow draco's memory to be resotred

Reviewer: StephenDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33315Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story ... mostly because of the way you portrayed Draco. I thought you were dead-on, all throughout the story: while he's in the bushes spying, while he's emprisoned, his revenge fantasy, the whole thing. I'm especially impressed by the way you portrayed him in the epilogue, after the memory charm and the trauma he'd sustained. Pansy was actually touching...

I'd definitely interested in a sequel to this story, to see what happens to Draco.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26691Chapter: 1
I Loooove your story. It's one of the best I've read. Keep up the good work:)

Reviewer: percivalDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21007Chapter: 1
excellent! very, very good.

So Sirius' lesson backfires, and the torture teaches Draco
hatred. And the old, redeemable Draco is a goner.

I really like how you brought out Harry's kindness in spite of
the great danger.

The fantasised liberation sequence really shook me.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8543Chapter: 1
This is most interesting. I must re-read this again to make sure what exact conclusion will I arrive at after the end.

Reviewer: BlackbanditDate: 2002-09-17
Reviewid: 4069Chapter: 1
I liked it, and thought it was quite sad. Not really depressing, just a little thought-provoking of some of the more unfortunate events in life. I must say, this wasn't really what I expected when you said Sirius was a father figure (although a twisted one). I liked Harry as a confused-but-caring character, although I thought it too OOC for them all to be calling him Draco, not Malfoy. I also liked the scene which showed Pansy in a better light, and evil/cruel!Sirius was intriguing. Overall, I really enjoyed this fic. Nice work!

Reviewer: JavilinDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3971Chapter: 1
I've read this fanfic at quite a few places, and I'm very ashamed to say that I never bothered myself to review it, which is a bunch of bull, because me not lifting my behind into action to review such a wonderful story is hardly fair to you. SO, I love this story. Its got a rhythm, something a lot of stories miss these days. It isnít randomness, but it isnít screaming the plotline over and over. You let the story take its pace and I really love that. ^___^ I think Iím going to go look at your profile now.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3438Chapter: 1
You should write more chapters to this... a continuation.

Reviewer: RosieDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1581Chapter: 1
Very nicely done! Although from the title I thought it would be just the opposite; Sirius getting Draco to be on the side of Light.

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 414Chapter: 1
Exceptionally well written story! You really put alot into the characterization and your description was so strong that it was almost physical. The idea behind this was very chilling but also very real. You really ventured into that gray area. Just excellent!!!

Reviewer: Melissa PotterDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 247Chapter: 1
This is a good story and I'd go on and on about that fact if it was possible to remain imparshal. But it isn't. How could you do that to Draco! At least as his old self there was a chance that someone could save him! Well, that's my two bits. If you wanna know why I love Draco so much e-mail me at pottersister666@yahoo.com and I'll send you my unfinished HP fan fic which will eventually have a good Draco in it.

Reviewer: Sarah BlackDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 221Chapter: 1
I'm crying... I'm crying, damn, how come I always cry? Damn... but this was
really really good! I love how Sirius wasn't goody goody!Sirius cause I'm
sort of tired of that... he's more complex than that. And Draco was wonderfully
in character, as well as Harry. Expertly written!

~Sarah Black

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --