The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Moody Slavic Man
Review(s): 67

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-26
Reviewid: 145490Chapter: 10
Exceedingly well done. Thanks.

Reviewer: The Enchanted TeakettleDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140500Chapter: 2
This was a wonderful chapter! I especially liked Krum's reflections on Quidditch and what it meant to him, in the past and in the present. It was really well done!

Reviewer: The Enchanted TeakettleDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140498Chapter: 1
So far, this is a really excellent, well-written fic! I love Krum's character; it's really accurate. And his thoughts on Hermione were wonderful!

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136552Chapter: 10
Well, the lines for the GoF movie were much too long this weekend, so I thought I’d look for some GoF fanfiction that I hadn’t read yet, and ended up devouring “Moody Slavic Man” parts 1 and 2 over the weekend instead. (See MSM2 for a review of that fic.)

I will admit, I was highly suspicious that Viktor was really a Death Eater, partly because I found the canon explanation of the Cruciatus curse on Cedric rather thin, and partly because in another popular fanfic series (which I won’t name) he DOES turn out to be a Death Eater (albeit a reluctant one). However, after reading the MSM series I’m completely convinced of Viktor’s innocence and essential goodness. It’s really nice to see Hermione through the eyes of someone who adores her as much as I do, even while my heart is breaking with the knowledge that she can never be his.

Wonderful writing and character development, both of Viktor and his OC pals! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134592Chapter: 10
Wow, this fic is simply... perfect. Seriously. I loved it so much!
You turned Krum from the Quidditch star we knew in canon to a fleshed out character, and made him feel completely real. I loved everything about this story, Krum's character, completely canon and with so much depth, it was heartbreaking. I only saw him as surly in canon and I never bothered to think why he was that way. I loved how he ended up calling Pashnik by his first name and that he had finally found friends. I loved his inability to pronounce Hermione's name and how it stood for everything else he couldn't manage to tell her, and how he was actually not the one for her.
This is truely a brilliant fic!

Reviewer: Melissa RaeDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131014Chapter: 7
How wonderfully written! I've always been a hermione/viktor shipper, I'm so glad I could finally find some good fanfiction on that ship!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129821Chapter: 10
Beautiful. Simply beautiful. I was crying at the end, which I rarely do. Honestly. I guess I'm just a sap for Grumpy Slavic Men.

Thank you.

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128843Chapter: 10
...
Words cannot describe. They can attempt, but they will not be successful. What a *brilliant* story.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127738Chapter: 1
Me gustaría que pusieráis a la página un traductor al español, a poder ser mas fiable que el de google.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127432Chapter: 2
Me gustaría saber si podrías traducir el texto al español, por favor.

Reviewer: BDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126716Chapter: 1
That's actually awesome! Really cool I'm impressed of the quality and I like the made up friends Krum acquired. Good stuff.

Reviewer: marina krumDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126267Chapter: 10
sorry for my grammar, but i'm french and i don't know speak english very good:
i love your story. it is great!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Alice I.W.Date: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123258Chapter: 5
'Viktor very much wanted to kick something, preferably himself.' — All together, now: Awwwwwww!

Your Viktor is so wonderful — so perfectly in character, so believable as an awkward teenager and so sympathetic and vulnerable. Reading this, with all that we know about GoF and can guess about Hermione, it's just impossible not to go, 'Merlin. Poor son of a . . .'

Er, yeah. Lovely fic.

Reviewer: skinnyrita (find my work under this name at fanficDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118188Chapter: 10
what a fantastic story! I love krum I can't believe I never thought to find fanfiction on him before. Unless you already have, you should consider posing this on fanfiction.net -there really isn't enough krum stuff on there. i was so happy when krum found true friends in this. and like love the way you handled his integration into the GOF novel.
please let me know if you have done any more krum fics, and if you have time give some of my stuff a read on fanfiction.net under 'skinnyrita'
love rita xxxx

Reviewer: JasonDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111857Chapter: 10
I don't think I've ever enjoyed a piece of fanfiction as much as I've enjoyed this one. I can really relate to how Viktor feels through most of this story. This is a wonderfully written piece of work and I thought it really deserved a good review. Not often do I make an effort to read all the way through a story as long as this one, but it really interested me in a way that few stories have done before. Another thing, I don't normally review fanfiction or art or poetry or things like that unless they belong to a personal friend of mine, but I enjoyed this story so much, I just had to comment, even if it goes completely unnoticed. This fanfic was awesome, I wish there were more like it. I was almost sorry to finish reading it.

Reviewer: TimDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110918Chapter: 10
I'm very impressed - that was excellent, especially as it did not conflict with the J.K.Rowling's plot. In fact, I would recommend it to anyone as an addition to the Harry Potter series.

I especially like that way that you actually did a lot of research for the story, just simple things such as the names of characters, and linking parts of the Goblet of Fire to your story, giving a history, an explanation of why those things happened. Ingenious.

I see you have a sequel to this story and I hope that it lives up to my high expectiations of this - I'm sure it will. Oh, and a special mention to how you have portrayed Dumbledore, a very difficult task to do well, but yes, it was brilliant. Now to work through the rest of your fanfics :D

Tim

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104782Chapter: 10
first off, great piece!!! you did an excellent job of turning krum's inscrutable surliness into something that makes sense given his situation of constantly being badgered by everyone, including his own classmates. you also did well turning a mysterious, brooding celebrity into someone all of us can relate to. i really enjoyed your interpretation of his perspective towards quidditch, that he's become jaded with playing for the fans rather than playing for himself. it really gives depth to his character. he's someone who wants to be sincere (as opposed to bagman, who seemed to have thoroughly enjoyed being a professional quidditch player.. and went on to cheat in bets and go bankrupt).

i also like your theme about defining friendship. krum doesn't understand friendship. all his life he's never really had any real friends. his doting fans and endless fan mail can hardly constitute friendship. he's suspicious of people who could be friends (harry, ron, pashnik, edina..). he doesn't understand that "friendship is truer than love": he doesn't understand hermione's friendship with harry (and also ron), or that friends will talk about each other all the time. he also doesn't understand that most people become friends first, and then proceed to romance. his awkwardness with relationships is revealed by how jealous he becomes at things most people think of as just socializing. i'm also really glad that you sort of went against the whole Hermione/Krum slash story, b/c even tho it sort of was, you still got the idea across that they're only friends.

my only concern is the way you portray cedric and hermione. i know that you were focusing mainly on hermione and krum, but it would also be interesting to see more of how krum interacts with cedric, esp. since krum told harry that cedric has always been very polite to him. yet we see very little of cedric's interactions with krum.

the hermione we're used to (or, at least the hermione that harry sees) tends to be bossy and unafraid to say what she thinks. it's not just to harry or ron, either; she's like that to everyone, even strangers. the hermione we see through krum, however, is very, very polite, to the extent that she's not that friendly with krum at all. she doesn't act like herself. she even seems to be holding back on being bossy. perhaps this is b/c what we see of her is very limited to how much krum interacts with her, which is not very much, and is distorted by krum's own feelings for her. (but still, hermione is the same towards everyone, even strangers..)

besides that, very good piece!! really enjoyed it!! i can really see this piece fitting in with the rest of the canon. :-)

Reviewer: DeannaDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102060Chapter: 10
Its Brilliant!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74803Chapter: 10
Can you believe I accidently deleted the long comment I wrote? The story put me in a sentimental mood that made me write cheesy things that I would never write otherwise. It is the most heart-breaking and emotional rendition of GoF I've read, maybe story I've read. Viktor's longing for Hermione, his failures in dealing with her, his loneliness as a Quidditch hero all make me so sad and sorry for him I might cry if I weren't in a good mood today. And that is despite my dislike for Krum, owing to my adaption of fanon into my picture of Harry's world and his doubting of Hermione's truthfulness that is described in this storyline as well as in HQoW.

Your story has every trait I look for in great works except the optional one, humour. It ties me to it, making me read on and on for hours. It influences my emotions, as described above. And it makes me want more, makes me want to stay forever in the world that opens to my mind. Even if it is, as in this case, a world of sorrow and regret.

I hope you will, in the future, find similar interesting characters to write alternate POVs for, though I fear that few have such special involvement in the story. Characters where their story is not just a copy of the book (which is the case with Hermione's or Ron's POVs, as well as Ginny's in CoS), but which have a story of their own, a story as powerful as this one.

Reviewer: CornedbeeDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74793Chapter: 6
The full praise for the story will come at the end, but Certissima is a superlative and translates to "surest" or "truest", not "truer".

The sentence retains its sense though, and the parallel between the dream and the reality is very interesting. Too bad Viktor didn't learn his lesson from it.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65056Chapter: 10
A wonderful story, I found your portrayal of Victor both true to character and very interesting. He was a character I never had thought about very much, but I enjoyed this story alot.

Reviewer: SoccerGurlDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57948Chapter: 5
I relly love this story in Viktor's view. It really is a lot different then GoF. Keep upi the writing
Thanks
~SoccerGurl~

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54604Chapter: 10
Wonderful ;)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-21
Reviewid: 48117Chapter: 10
it was SO interesting to read something from viktors pint of veiw!!
i dont think ive ever seen anythgin liek that before
and once again, magnificent title
i think this was so well written, and such a great way to delve deeper into the mind of a more minor character
very very great

Reviewer: cbDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47800Chapter: 6
ohmygod hahahahaha
i never caught how funny that actually is....
all the OTHER male champions are going after their girlfriends..... and... harrys goign after ron.
er....

Reviewer: c.bDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47795Chapter: 2
oh yeah,and i note you lost the accent. i guess its cuz since this is from viktors pov, he doesnt... well.. HAVE anaccent. i guess hernione ought to then... hm

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47793Chapter: 1
ok, before anythgin else is said, i mustthank you profuselyfor thetitle.
my space bar is having issues......feh
but, honestly, ijustsawit and knew i hadto read it. with a title likethat, who wouldnt wanna?

Reviewer: Brie Cheese EaterDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44286Chapter: 10
There are a LOT of nice things in this, like Krum finally warming up to Pashnik and Edina, and talking to Dumbledore, etc. Great writing, I really enjoyed this. And I also like the title a lot. :)

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38645Chapter: 10
**sigh** Lovely, lovely. Sad, though. I *do* wish things could work between these two. Has OotP changed your mind at all?
Anyway - loved this story beyond words. Thanks so much for sharing.

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38626Chapter: 2
Hey, nice _Hobbit_ reference :) I am enjoying this story immensely ... I'm a Hr/V supporter myself but it's so hard to find quality fic. Awesome job!

Reviewer: Aurora NightskyDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36934Chapter: 10
That was really good.You never see any fics about Krum. I sure hope we see him again.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36186Chapter: 1
I looked at the comment list and thought, "Hmm... How could I have not commented?" Then I remembered... "Oh, yeah. It's because I couldn't stop reading until I finished at 4 a.m." :)

A really nice look at what we see in GoF from a totally different perspective. I like your Viktor very much, and felt for him when Hermione told him that she just wasn't comfortable with what he wanted. You can really feel his sense of isolation here.

Reviewer: EllieDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35450Chapter: 10
Oh. Dear. I love this story. All I can say is... this is so /right/! I mean, it was as if I'd been reading Rowling's text all the time. Ecverything in this was extremely well written and very loyal to JKR. Thank you for that.

Your portration of my dear Viktor (who is my favourite character) is simply perfect. I just hate it when people usually turn him evil in fics. But this was exactly the Viktor I know. I'm also very pleased what you did with Hermione. Although I wouldn't mind seeing Viktor getting the girl, I liked the way she acted -- she has Ron and other things that keep her from falling for him. Your Hermione was good and truthful. Also, the original characters (mainly Edina and Ivan) were intresting and well-developed.

I Am definitely going to check out your other stuff as well.

And as a final note, thi may just be the best HP fic I've ever read :)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35392Chapter: 10
I felt you captured Viktor's character perfectly. This was an excellent story.

Reviewer: AdriDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35245Chapter: 6
That, was sooooooo sad!!! Poor Viktor! I know exactly how Hermione feels too, but I can't help but feel sorry for Viktor. Haven't finished the story yet, but I'm going to keep reading until I do.. love it.

Reviewer: Arrows' Biggest FanDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34926Chapter: 10
Brilliant - possibly the best I've read on the Sugar Quill. Exactly how I imagine Viktor.

Reviewer: IsolaDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33547Chapter: 10
Wow. That was fantastic. It may just be the sleep-deprived version of me talking, but I was nearly in tears several times during this story. I've never had anything against Viktor, but you've made me really like him. *Wonderful* story. You wove it with the events of the book so perfectly. I loved it.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-20
Reviewid: 32799Chapter: 10
This made me all teary-eyed.I LOVE IVAN AND EDINA!They are the best.I hope he tells!!

PS-Where did you get that LOVELY poem?

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31892Chapter: 4
It's refreshing, to see Hermione from a viewpoint besides Harry's. I enjoyed reading about her being lovely and all other things we're not used to reading in canon.

Again, highly enjoyable chapter. Viktor is -- surpisingly, really, and in the best way possible -- sweet and sincere.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31888Chapter: 3
Is it wrong to be falling in love with both Viktor and Pashnik?

Anyway, very well-written, like the past chapters. How Viktor interacts with everyone is interesting -- his dislike for Karkaroff, how he puts up with Pashnik, and how nervous he is around Hermione. All of it is very Viktor, somehow.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31886Chapter: 2
Oh, this is absolutely fantastic. Pashnik is utterly adorable (I'd certainly smile back at him, if he smiled at -me-!), especially when he told Viktor to scowl at the stains.

Hermione is perfectly in character, and I burst out laughing when, upon meeting Viktor and knowing him for less than a minute, launched into a speech about house-elves.

Bloody brilliant. I'm off to read more.

Reviewer: Astra JenkinsDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29801Chapter: 10
Oh, Hermione. You are so silly. Can you not see that this adorable Bulgarian is hopelessly in love with you? Obviously not. Can I have him, then?

Wonderful wonderful characterisation of Viktor dearest. I don't think I've seen him written better - and indeed, his OC friends were also lovely, as it was obvious that they were not there just for Viktor to talk to/for you to use as something for Viktor to express emotion at ;). Viktor's emotions themselves were very believable and often I found myself empathising with him.

Silly Hermione ;) *skips off to read sequel*

An adorable story. Now I shall go steal Viktor.

-AJ

Reviewer: IlyenaDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28780Chapter: 10
Oh wow, you're a great writer. This is one of the best hp fanfics I've ever read! Keep writing :)

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27510Chapter: 10
Oh. Wow. That was amazing. I was surprised at myself for starting to read this story, as I usually can't stand to read about unrequited love, and Viktor Krum never interested me much, but after finishing "Hermione's Fourth Year" I wanted to read everything else you had written. So let me just tell you that I once I started this one, I just couldn't stop. It was heartbreaking, but *beautiful* and *wonderful* -- I enjoyed it more than I ever could have possibly imagined. I've now realized how fascinating Viktor Krum really is, and I thank you profusely for that. You have an incredible talent, and I deeply envious :)

Well, I'm off to read the outtakes and sequel...

Reviewer: MartyDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22827Chapter: 10
I really enjoyed reading this! I don't think I've ever read something even remotely Hr/VK. It was a new and cool expereince
:)

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22821Chapter: 10
I would say Poor Viktor but you managed to end so perfectly with everyone keeping their dignity that I don't even feel bad for anyone. I loved Dumbledore's talk with him. And of course he had no idea of Ron's feelings! That was wonderful too, because he had no reason to think of Ron at all.

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22820Chapter: 5
Wow. I am almost a Hermione/Viktor shipper now. And I feel really sorry for Viktor that he is doomed to disappointment.

I really love the little touches around Valentine's Day with Ron and Ginny talking.

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22816Chapter: 2
I never thought I could think that Viktor was sweet (likeable maybe, but not sweet!). But now I do.

Very nice way of addressing his Quidditch fame without having any breastbeating or too much talk about how wonderful he is. He seems very human.

I loved:

"He was no longer flying for the joy it brought—he had other people to please now, other expectations to live up to."

Always dangerous when something you love becomes your job!

This made me laugh:

"He looked down to the table and saw Edina giving Pashnik a huge smile. "Perhaps," he said sarcastically. Pashnik didn’t seem to have heard him, as he was busy grinning back at her."

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22813Chapter: 1
Okay, I have been hearing about this fic forever and now that I read some of it I am tempted to start beating my head against the wall for not starting sooner. I really am enjoying Viktor already. You do a great job of making him nervous but avoiding turning him into someone far younger than he is.

And I loved this:

"Edina, a pretty girl with light brown hair, swatted his hands away, giggling. Viktor flinched at the sound."

I imagine he would be sick of giggles by now! And I like the little parallel with Harry's experiance.

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22789Chapter: 10
Wow, I just read this whole story in one sitting and I must say it was wonderful. First off, Viktor is a character that not many people explore except to throw him in on occasion to create friction and I think you've added a lot of depth to his character. I know I certainly won't read Goblet of Fire the same way again.

You're original characters were delightful! I loved Ivan and Edina...both just great. Viktor always seems so annoyed with them but it was nice at the end that he realized he had friends. Ivan is definitely one of the best original characters I have ever come across. I fell in love with him the first time his name was mentioned.

Poor Viktor...constantly worrying about Harry getting together with Hermione when his real rival is right there as well! But the jealousy seems very in character for the Viktor you have created. And Hermione...was very much in character as well. I liked how she told him that it was all too much for her...it just seemed very fitting.

I also loved the title of this fic. Moody Slavic Man was very creative, original, and just perfect for this story. Overall, a very wonderful story with good characterizations and a wonderful Viktor whom I will consider canon from here on out.

Reviewer: Night RainDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22727Chapter: 1
Now THERE'S a title! :~)

Reviewer: CatDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22724Chapter: 1
I love this! I always like Krum, and you gave him such a wonderful and believable story to tell. Well done!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18723Chapter: 10
Wow, that was really good! I really enjoyed the insight into Viktor Krum! I always find insights into not-so-prominent characters intriguing. Great job!

Reviewer: ~*vicky-luvva*~Date: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17600Chapter: 10
i loved this story! :) Viktor is soooo cool! And so is his cute friend, ivan... he's a bit of a loser, isn't he...krum? <<quote: "Viktor nodded. Friends. Now he had three.">> :P But i luv him anyway...*sigh* pity he couldn't kiss his beloved herm-own-ninny. that would b gr8! I hope poor ickle Vicky finds someone else who actually likes him ;D

Reviewer: licorice wandDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15228Chapter: 10
This was the best fic I have ever read.please write more like this. Also, please email me about cowriting a fic. I liked that you used real quotes and made the reactions exactly as the charachters would really do. I also think that Parvati is Indian. Keep writing!

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13694Chapter: 4
You are the first fanfic writer that I have seen notice and mention Angelina is black. Rock On. 3 cheers. Great job.
So far I am loving your moody slavic man. nice.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2002-09-23
Reviewid: 4613Chapter: 4
How did you do that

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4419Chapter: 10
Oh, this was great! I've never read anything from Viktor's point of view before, but you seem to capture him extremely well. It's hard, and a little weird, to look at the Hermione thing from his point of view. I never really identified with him before - sure, I felt a little sorry for him because I knew Hermione would eventually end up with Ron, but mostly I felt happy that Hermione had a date (take that, Ron!) and sorry that she would eventually be in a rather awkward position. But in this story Viktor's interest in her - love for her, even - is written very realistically and convincingy. I'm sad for him (unrequited love always SUX), but I'm glad there was some sort of closure at the end. :)

Also, his parents were pretty KEWL, as well as the other Durmstrang students (some of them, at least!). I liked the bit about suits of armor, and his father's collection. And then when Hermione suggested the third floor - that was a really nice moment, I thought. :)

Basically, Viktor ROX! Now I really hope he appears in the fifth book, as I've grown rather fond of him... ;)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2565Chapter: 10
Elanor, I cannot even begin to describe how much I love this story. Any words will only sound too trite to suffice. Still, of course, I'll make my incoherent, rather feeble attempt. I admire your imagination, taking the entire of Book Four and weaving your own creative embellishments around it -- the water in the maze was fantastic and frightening, more so because it touched the heart of Viktor's fears. Viktor's relationship with his mother is perfectly cast as that of a young man who is slowly coming to find his place in the world, and his mother, one who has reached that most difficult of points in child-rearing: letting her child leave the nest to find its own direction. Letting go. Just about everyone has to experience this sort of loss and recommencement in GoF, but your Viktor's is particularly poignant. And, much as it saddened me, I like how Viktor is left to face his world alone. Why is it that the hero who doesn't get the girl seems infinitely more profound than the one who does? Maybe because he reminds us more of ourselves in our low moments, but he carries on.

Thanks for this!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2126Chapter: 7
Oh, how terrible! Viktor--so alone!

<sigh> Well, now that that's out, let me say how much I love the subtle observations that you've inserted here, in the narrative, but even more effectively as seen from Viktor's point of view, like this:

<<Viktor stared as Karkaroff swept up the length of the cabin once more, not entirely sure that the Headmaster was even addressing him any longer. He had never seen the cold, polished Karkaroff…unhinged like this. Viktor sensed fear in the room; he could feel it the way he felt it sometimes on the Quidditch pitch, from opposing teams. On the pitch, he knew how to harness that fear to his own advantage, but here, it just confused him.>>

I especially love the awareness in that last line.

Great job.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2125Chapter: 6
Oh, how my heart goes out to poor Viktor! So unselfish and self-deprecating! How crushing it must have been for him --you've written all that painfully well! <sigh> He even felt *guilty* for having cared enough about Hermione for them to kidnap her... Oh, dear.

Your imagination and research into Book Four is really quite impressive! Not a canonical hair out of place. And that's an excellent hypothesis about Viktor's failed shark transformation and his modesty about not correcting the judges' conclusions.

Wonderful.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2116Chapter: 4
Elanor, this is a wonderful chapter! Viktor's self-consciousness under that stony exterior is fleshed out beautifully. I like the idea of his mother raising him as a gallant. I just read this and sighed for a good few seconds:

<<Focus, he told himself. Breathe. This was how he always calmed himself before a major Quidditch match. But, somehow, he couldn't remember ever being this nervous before any Quidditch match. He frowned at his own unrest and adjusted his robes-the black ones with the silver trim that his mother always insisted made him look very handsome. Viktor knew that he wasn't good-looking, especially his large and crooked nose. The Quidditch World Cup had not been the first time it had been broken by a Bludger. But being handsome had never really mattered to him, before.>>

I love his inner monologues which show just how uncertain he is of himself as a young man struggling to find and keep his identity, completely at odds with his public persona.

You've made him such a sympathetic character (even more so now with his yearning to join the Gryffindors in the childsplay he seems to have been denied in Bulgaria), it's impossible *not* to fall for him. Really, it's too bad Hermione seems to have been too preoccupied to notice!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1979Chapter: 3
Oh, Elanor! It's taken me a long time to read your story, and now I'm wondering how I could have missed this gem!

Viktor, his surroundings, his relationships are all so startlingly *real* -- here's me shamefacedly admitting that I had read The Goblet of Fire and never paid much attention to what anything might have been like from Viktor's point of view. I especially admire how you manage to achieve all this through Viktor's small observations (eg. Karkaroff's "ridiculously ornate desk" and the dragonshide armchair) -- after all, the boy had more pressing concerns on his mind to think about his familiar (to him anyway) surroundings.

Karkaroff is wonderfully in character, and I *adore* your Ivan Pashnik! His cheerful good humour is he perfect balance for your moody Slavin man:

***

"You have," Pashnik crowed, punching him on the arm. "Viktor Krum, you old dog! How could you do something like this without telling me?" He pretended to wipe his eyes and put on a high, teary voice. "Our little Viktor is growing up&#8230;"

Viktor shot him a disgusted look and kept walking. Pashnik hurried to catch up. "So," he said, "who is she?"

***

LOL! If he wasn't blond, I might have wondered if he wasn't some distant Weasley relation.

Simply delightful! And I'm glad to see so much in the library to keep me happily ensconced in your universe.

Axelle :)

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1954Chapter: 10
This fic is fabulous, to say the least. I've spent the entire night reading through it, and I absolutely adore it. Your Krum is perfect: I am very strongly considering marrying that boy. The writing style is wonderful, the emotion is strong enough to last through the entire fic without wavering, and it was definitely worth my evening. Great job!

*trisha*

Reviewer: Undercover AngelDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1782Chapter: 10
This is a really extraordinary fic, Elanor. I haven't read one of its ilk in quite some time. So few people go into the characterisation of Viktor, and fewer succeed in capturing a believable picture of him. I liked your original characters of Pashnik and Edina, and I liked the little inserts you provided, e.g. the interaction between Krum and Diggory, which wasn't completely necessary to the plot. Dumbledore's relationship with him is also just as I would have imagined J.K. Rowling herself to write. In a word, brilliant!

Reviewer: LinneriaDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 314Chapter: 1
Woohoo! Great ficcy Elanor!! Loved it. =) To be honest, it was the title that drew me to the fic. Really cute: 'Moody Slavic Man' =) I found Victor's perspective really interesting.. Loved the puffskein. =) Whee! I get to use the new system! Heh. =)

Reviewer: VaniityXDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 301Chapter: 1
I had to re-put a review for this fic after the move becase it is one of my favorites. I admire anyone who has the time and patience to write one of the HP books from another character's point of view so in-canon. I love Ivan and Edina! They are great OC's. Viktor is one of my favorite characters and it's great to read in-canon fics like these to get to know him better. :) Thanks.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --