The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Never Go Back
Review(s): 68

Reviewer: trinderatdawnDate: 2007-04-04
Reviewid: 147669Chapter: 1
that is amazing. it is wounderful how you added so much detail into everythings. it was excellent. it made me cry....twice but i don't care it just was astounding!! well done

trinderatdawn

Reviewer: lil_munchkinDate: 2006-05-06
Reviewid: 142574Chapter: 1
o my god!!!!!!!! that was soooooooo good!!!!!!! it was soooooo touching how harry gave his life for ron!!!!! i was soooo sad after that bit! but good sad if you no what i mean!!! anyways, extremly well written, VERY touching, and an overall AWESOME fic!!!!!!!!!

lil_munchkin

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138293Chapter: 1
Well, I must thank you, Athena Arena, for putting all of the snot back into my nose and throat after fighting a really nasty cold.

I know that Jo will keep Harry alive and kicking, but I am sort of happy to see (even thought that was a really sad story, funny, eh?) that *that* road was peeked down. I don't think that I have read a single fic with Harry dead. Glad you did it, I love fluff and a reason to cry. (I am NOT weird!)

The only constructive critisism (I usually don't give advice, as I am too damn proud to take it from anybody else) I can think of is: I don't think that Hermione would use *that* many metphors and GRAMMAR! What is up with your spelling and grammar? You can't pull those doozys with Ms. Grammar Freak Of The English Language!

Drama is good. I love drama. Keep on writing drama. :'(

LizzardPhobia

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135679Chapter: 1
I cannot believe I have not reviewed this before. It is one of my favorite R/Hr fics out there. I love the tone of the story, as well as your style of writing. It's a very nicely written and moving story. =)

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134892Chapter: 1
You write the way I wish I could. It's a wonderful, wonderful story. Write another!

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134464Chapter: 1
I simply loved this fic! It was completely heartbreaking and you wrote the emotions of both Ron and Hermione so well. In general, they both felt entirely like canon, too.
R/Hr at its best! :)

Reviewer: Fairy LightsDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127466Chapter: 1
You know, this fic would have to be one of the best I've ever read. I almost convinced myself to not review because usually I just let fics that are out-dated and finished rest and I don't really review, but I told myself I had to break that tradition at least for this one. This fic was amazing. I mean there are two kinds of fics in this crazy world-the ones that are trivial and make little impact and the ones that are SO good you can still remember them in detail, vivid in your thoughts. This fic made me cry, at first I was a bit impacient wanting to know what happened already what made Hermione flee and close herself off, then at the same time I just wanted Ron to tell her he loved her and to whisk her off to London with him or wherever. But in the end, I was satisfied and also teary-eyed. This fic is a beautiful piece of work written so well, I envy your talent [in a nice, I'm-not-going-to-kill-you way :)]. I wish you had more fics for me to enjoy but sadly I looked and couldn't find anymore, must try harder and get back to you on that.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126189Chapter: 1
...I can't even begin to truly decsribe the emotion running rampant through me right now. I've been crying ever since Harry died...possibly before, I can't really remember, all I know is that is hasn't stopped and I just let the tears run unheaded down my cheeks. I only stopped to wipe them away when the tickling became unbearable.

I was so afraid that you were going to end it with Hermione and Ron seperated. I was truly scared for a moment, but I realized that you just couldn't do that and I will say I am eternally grateful. Geeze, I'm still tearing up just thinking about Harry's sacrifice and how it was so...Harry. I can't believe how much grief these characters are giving me, I'm way too attached, lol.

To say I'm a hopeless romantice is an understatment. To say that I want exactly what Ron and Hermione have in this and every other fanfiction story I've read where to two of them get togehter (and even some where they haven't yet) is so exact it's scary. Then again, that desire has been fuled by these stories...I just wish this sort of thing happened in real life and I'm afraid that I might never be completely satisfied...

This was a very poetical, elegant story.....at least to me. The Sugar Quill authors have this amazing ability to cause emotion to over flow in me...even more so than some authors I've read who get paid for what they do. This story is no different. You have a great talen (even if this was bitter sweet experiance, no matter how happy the ending).

Thank you. I am very glad I read this. I needed a good cry :D.

~GW

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119081Chapter: 1
That was really sad. It really was. Don't think I'm on dope or sumthing but that made me cry. It was amazing! I just can't describe it. But next time you write a story can you PLEASE let Harry live. I don't think I can stand my brother teasng me about being a human waterpipe just because of a story again!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117305Chapter: 1
*sobs*

This is so tragic, and so happy...

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111812Chapter: 1
This was absolutely incredible. You are a genius. I loved it.

Reviewer: KirstinDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110787Chapter: 1
Great story. I loved it. I couldn't stop reading it until I had read it completely through. Great job.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110427Chapter: 1
Quite good - enjoyed - Thank you.

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107748Chapter: 1
I started reading this on the bus this morning on my phone, I had printed it out at lunch time to read again. And I had a bath as soon as the children where in bed so I could finnish it off :)

I know a story is good when I have to slow myself down while reading it to make sure I am reading what the author has writtern and not what I think they have writtern.

The tone of this story is unlike JKR but thats no bad thing.

Thank you.

Reviewer: ViatrixDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107692Chapter: 1
WOW. Wow. This is an incredible story and immediately one of my favorite pieces. I was foggy-eyed and sniffling for the last two-thirds. The writing is superb. Both Ron and Hermione are very believable, as is the plot. Thank you!

Reviewer: kaycieDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103231Chapter: 1
still shaking.. that was amazing.. i love it!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100173Chapter: 1
What a beautiful fic, actually left me with tears in my eyes. So well written.

Reviewer: rockyDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99071Chapter: 1
that was amazing!

Reviewer: cygnaDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98063Chapter: 1
Great story. I love the way you write... One of the memorable fics I've ever read. Good job. :)

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94845Chapter: 1
Wow, this was an amazing story!! i can totally see harry giving away his potion to save other peoples lives but not his own. i actually started crying at some point. awesome job!!! keep writing pleaze!

Reviewer: AriannaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93560Chapter: 1
That was just... oh my god, that totally blew my mind.

This is the most beautiful Harry Potter fan fic I have ever read! WOW.

Reviewer: SlideDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90321Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Ah, I have a long love/hate relationship with Duffy and her poetry, but when you study the woman's writings in A Level English Lit, you do have to learn to appreciate her, and 'Never Go Back' was always one of my favourites. I knew that was a good omen for this fic, and it turns out that I was right! Just the right mixture of angst and hope, reaching the level of being cathartic rather than just damned depressing for the hell of it, as so much angst seems to be about these days. A surprisingly effective and lengthy exploration of the characters within the limitations of a one-shot (though this is an UBER-one shot, I suppose!) and there wasn't a note that rang false. All in all, I applaud you, indeed!

Reviewer: sesjayDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90284Chapter: 1
I loved it! Pity it didn't have proper chapters but it was still great

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88919Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I really loved it. It was written so well and Ron and Hermione were really believable. Well done, I really enjoyed reading your story!

Reviewer: JanieDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85086Chapter: 1
Ooo... *wipes eyes* This was lovely! My eyes were half-filled the entire time. It was so sad, but it was made better at the end, so I was happy. Wonderful, wonderful story.

Reviewer: moiDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84008Chapter: 1
That was the sweetest (and saddest...I can't believe Harry died!) thing I've ever read! I applaude you.

Reviewer: DaniDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81581Chapter: 1
This was so good! It was so consistant in details and it didn't move too fast or too slow. This is one of my favorite fan stories. Awsome job!

Reviewer: AlchemistDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72221Chapter: 1
This was the best angst story I've ever read. I was really tense at some parts, and I almost cried at the end. This was so great!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67862Chapter: 1
great story, bittersweet, like a dark chocolate frog, love the a/n at the end,needed that but of comic relief

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60929Chapter: 1
It made me cry. Me. Estie. Who never, never cries.
There's no higher praise I can give you than that.

Reviewer: thestral_unicornDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59151Chapter: 1
This was a real tear jerker. Throughout the story I was praying that in the end Hermione would go with Ron. Thank you very much.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58950Chapter: 1
I found this story because I was at your profile on fanfiction.net a long, long time ago and read The Unknown Witness. I positively adored it, and when I discovered the wonderfull Sugar Quill, I looked up your name. I'm SO glad I found it, because this story ROX. You captured Harry, Ron, and Hermione's personalities beautifully. You made them develop and grow. I think this is exactly how JK will end her books-- with both Harry and Voldemort dead, (maybe) Hermione gone, and Ron sort of left alone... you captured the spirit of Ron and Hermione romance perfectly. Thank you so much-- I look forward to reading more of your stories!

Reviewer: Sheila PlickneyDate: 2003-11-02
Reviewid: 58570Chapter: 1
god this was sooo longggg. i couldnt go on it was getting too depressing. i also had slow depressing music stuck in my head as i was reading so that made matters even worse. i had to stop some where in the middle of the beginning. sorry. i am sure it would have been great though. you write very well.
sorry, again.

Reviewer: SerenaDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56467Chapter: 1
This is such a beautiful story. Truthfully, this is how I think the whole series will end up-Harry dead, Hermione gone, Ron left alone, but you have told it better than I could ever.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55761Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I think my heart was clenched in my chest the entire time I read it. You portrayed both Ron's and Hermione's pain so well that I was feeling it myself. I was a bit disappointed at the ending... after all the rich descriptions and sheer substance of the rest of the story, I felt the ending was a little flat, but I'm glad it was a happy ending nevertheless. I discovered this story from the little "First kiss" page, and now I'll definitely be checking out your other work. Thanks for a very enjoyable albeit heartwrenching read.

Reviewer: leigh donnellyDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52509Chapter: 1
luv the story please write more

Reviewer: powerpetalDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49119Chapter: 1
Wow-wee! That was really something! The description is amazing and as a native brit myself i could picture it clearly! Oh, and the dialogue wasn't too bad either! Hehehe! The characterisation was greta and their recations were spot on! I really enjoyed reading so all I can say is Thank You. Keep writing!
XpowerpetalX

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48904Chapter: 1
damn, i ACTUALLY was thinking about the train fair
how abhorrently pathetic.
but, i want to thank you for a fic where harry dies. because i love the beautiful realism of that. crazy that i am, i hope that jk will end her books with both harry and voldie dying. because, although she WONT, its makes it real. it makes the all of it... beleivable.
wonderful.
and beautifully written as well.
i loved it.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48415Chapter: 1
Oh God, that hurt.

And it was beautiful.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47914Chapter: 1
Aww, so sweet, tears are coming lol, a sequel perhaps? (please!) Was great reading thanks!
Beth xxx

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46350Chapter: 1
wow...
a sweet, sad and woderful story
I loved it....
:)

Reviewer: MecheDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44474Chapter: 1
I loved it. You have extraordinary talent.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41766Chapter: 1
Excellent, excellent, excellent!
Beth xx

Reviewer: marzoogDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41626Chapter: 1
I love this story...it's so rich and well-wrtitten!

Keep it up!

Reviewer: ManravielDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39115Chapter: 1
That was so beautiful. Tear jerking at times and heartbreaking at others. The true love that existed between the three .

Reviewer: BooDate: 2003-06-24
Reviewid: 38411Chapter: 1
This is by far one of my favorite stories.
I have read it a totally of three times and each time it gets better. Nice work.

Reviewer: VariaDate: 2003-06-23
Reviewid: 38329Chapter: 1
Who wrote this? It should be made a movie or something!!! awesome! lolz :)
except 4 1 thing.... Uric the Oddball doing something unspeakable with a GOAT?!??!?
haha l8erz
V

Reviewer: aliceDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34675Chapter: 1
i love it!!!

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30863Chapter: 1
Wow! Fantastic, I really enjoyed that! A nice bit of fluff to cheer me up- I really liked the way you stayed true to the charactors and the bit of dialogue in the flashback where Hermione's suggesting going into auror training is suberb- I don't know why but that bit seems to stand out. Anyway thnaks for such a great story and good luck with your exams.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29575Chapter: 1
That was really good! My roosters are even crowing for you! heehee...Anyway. I like this very much. Thank you for writing such a great story and sharing it with us on The Quill!

Reviewer: CroupierDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28269Chapter: 1
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this story yet, since it's one of my favorites and I keep coming back to it. I absolutely adore this piece.

Reviewer: jkbDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26964Chapter: 1
This was REALLY, REALLY, REALLY fantastic!

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26594Chapter: 1
Very very very good!! I love your story so much! Excellent! Very well done! Thanks for the story :) I found a really awesome story to read! Whoo! :D

Reviewer: Hermione WeasleyDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24435Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. This is a thoroughly entertaining story. I am nearly speechless. Athena, you have a true, undeniable talent. I have read a few stories that take place years after Ron, Harry, and Hermione leave Hogwarts, but, this one...is different. You captured sparks and personality and made them grow, not change, grow. You've molded them into what I think J.K. Rowling will one day make them to be. You've created a beautiful story, and I hope you continue to write with such excellent calibre!

Reviewer: SparrowChildDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23712Chapter: 1
*SOB* oh this is just the BEST. wonderful, heartwrenching, fluffy darling stuff. So very candid and detailed. Just lovely.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20938Chapter: 1
Just beautiful and the fluff is not really there, more like the cherry and hot fudge on a really good sundae, you don't need it, but it just makes it taste even better. Okay I apologize for the bizarre metaphor, brilliant story.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20928Chapter: 1
Wow!!! Your story was really good!!!! I totally loved it :) Harry died to save Hermione and Rons love, how sweet!!!! I loved it sooooo much!!! It was awesome!!!!

Reviewer: *Missy*Date: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18857Chapter: 1
GREAT STORY!! WRITE MORE OR MAYBE A CHAPTER 2 PLZ!!!! AGAIN GREAT STORY!!

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18465Chapter: 1
Absolutely amazing!, totally moving and well worth reading from start to finish even tho its the early morning and i need to be a work in a few hours I had to finish reading it.
Totally addictive.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17656Chapter: 1
Your story was simply wonderful. The recount of harry's last moments reduced me to tears, as did several other moments. All I can say is thank you for such an original, creative and powerfully emotional masterpiece. It was one of the best pieces of literature I have ever read, and yes, that does include the works of Ms Rowling herself. Congratulations, you should be truly proud.

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15834Chapter: 1
I love it... wow thats so fun!!! ^_~

Reviewer: EmilyKateDate: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14460Chapter: 1
Oh! That was so beautiful! It was wonderful...it was sad that Harry had to die but it was lovely, and what better reason for Harry to die other then love (like his own Mum). It was so lovely!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11593Chapter: 1
I read this over the summer when I was still lurking about the site & didn't review it - shame on me! I came back to re-read it & to let you know that this is one of the best stories at the SQ as far as I am concerned. It is wonderfully well written, and a completely plausible plot that manages to keep the trio completely in character. I actually cried while I read parts of this - Hermione carries so much guilt and pain and you've written it beautifully.

BTW - I am including this in my weekly review challenge in the forums. Hopefully this will generate some more reviews for you.

Can't say it enough - fantastic job!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-12-02
Reviewid: 10940Chapter: 1
GOD. Oh god. I can't BELIEVE this story has so little reviews! It deserves THUNDREDS! God, god, god… Thank you so much for writing it, thank you so so so so so much. My heart was about to burst throughout the whole fic! Breath-taking, lovely, amazing, incredible, painful, bittersweet, beautiful… Perfect.

Love,
_Meg.

Reviewer: DVDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9411Chapter: 1
!mama woohoo! I love this fic.

Reviewer: gwenalynDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9050Chapter: 1
I LOVE this story! It's two in the morning and I should be asleep but I've been so lost in this fic... words can't describe how great this is. Thank you for writing it! I'm going to make all of my friends read it. ^_^

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8564Chapter: 1
Wow! What an amazing story! I'm currently writing a story in which Harry dies, and someone on the boards suggested this one as a good example. Your story was so amazing that I was nearly moved to tears almost the entire time I read it!

Reviewer: BelindaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1159Chapter: 1
This was an amazing story. One of the best I've read. I'll definately be watching for more of your work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --