The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 148

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-27
Reviewid: 145507Chapter: 10
Very Entertaining. Thanks.

Reviewer: BeatriceEagleDate: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144578Chapter: 10
I was absolutely sobbing. The promise of happier endings helped, but wow. I haven't reacted that violently to anything in a while. Good job!

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138483Chapter: 10
All right, so some minor parts of this were blasted by Book 5 & 6.. But most of it remains remarkably unouched. Eleanor Gamgee, would you kindly grace us with more of Moody Slavic Man?

Reviewer: InvisiblePinataDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136941Chapter: 10
Let me just say that I have been lurking around SQ for a very long time and until now I have not felt the need to review *anything*, but I just wanted say you've done such a wonderful job with MSM and MSM2! I spent a sizeable chunk of my weekend reading them and I have no complaints. They're both examples of fantastic writing and hats off to you for taking the time to research the cultural bits! I was very impressed with both stories, although I realize I am a bit behind the times, as this story was finished nearly three years ago and MSM even before that. You are very talented and I would LOVE to see a continuation of this story if that's at all possible! Please? Gracias? S'il vous plait? How can you resist a plea in three languages, eh? I know I couldn't! Really though, thank you so much for putting your stories out there for everyone to enjoy. I can't wait to see more of them!

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136556Chapter: 10
It was great to see Viktor find love again! Rositza is a marvelous character! Even more adorable than Hermione (if that is possible).

Well, I came to the story rather late, but it’s been well over two years since it was posted, and still no hint of a sequel. It’s nice to know that you and Arabella and Zsenya have coordinated your plots, and that the “wife” referred to in “After the End” (Chapter 22 - you might have told us) is indeed your Rositza.

Even though I know now that there IS a happy ending, I’d still love to know what it is. OotP and HBP have come out now, with no hint that Viktor is a Death Eater, so I think it is safe for you to take your therapist off of retainer. I was trying to guess what your next plot twist would be, based on your hint (“Remember, Rositza is a good liar”). I thought perhaps it would turn out that Rositza, though it seems pretty clear she is Muggle-born, is a witch who has had to suffer the disadvantage of little or no magical education. However, in AtE, Viktor clearly states “My vife, Rositza, ... is not magic, and does not understand the danger of dragons.” (Can it be she STILL hasn’t told him.)

So, I’d love to read the sequel to MSM2, if you can ever manage it!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130464Chapter: 10
Over the past few weeks, I've taken it upon myself to read quite a few of the SQ 'classics', and I'm very glad I did. I spent roughly the whole day reading MSM and now MSM2, and I have to say that I really loved it. I was a little wary at first, because I never really liked the surly Viktor Krum we know from GoF. Your fics changed my mind extremely quickly, I'll have you know! =P You've made a real, lovable character out of Krum. I was a bit surprised that he pulled the whole we-can't-be-together-it's-for-your-own-protection-hero-complex thing, but you wrote it nicely. You've made us cry with him, laugh with him, and sometimes want to kick his hero-complex arse. And that, truly, shows a well-written piece with a lot of heart put into it.

-Arimalka
P.S.- I also love your OC's very much, but that didn't seem to fit in with the rest of the review. =P

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130387Chapter: 10
Long after completion date I know, but two books further into canon and you're still pretty safe and still an excellent read. Thank you for giving Krum a real persona and a great story of his own. Book 7 is going to give us a little more of the man, I know, but I hope it won't be detrimental to your own plans!

Reviewer: RikeDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129520Chapter: 10
Aaaaargh! This is so sad...I nearly cried :(

Reviewer: love/hate relationshipDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122548Chapter: 10
I am so stunned..... You see, I'm an avid Ron/Hermione shipper, and whenever I think of book four, I'm happy because of all the evidence of their ship, but you have managed to make me feel so sad for Viktor. I love how you portray him, and Rositza is such an intriguing character. Wonderful story!

Reviewer: skinnyritaDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118401Chapter: 10
oh no! that's really sad! though v noble of viktork, i think. oh what a wonderful story i loved it all the way through, i read the first one too and all the off-shoots. oh this was perfect. i think i will cry.

Reviewer: TimDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110930Chapter: 10
:'( Breathtakingly beautiful...

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104924Chapter: 10
WHOAAAAAAA!!!!!!

i read moody slavic man (part 1) first and loved it, and i wasn't sure if part 2 could live up to it (b/c sequels generally degrade)... i am happy to say that my low expectations were wrong. at the very least, part 2 is just as good as part 1. may even be better! :-) your creativity in moving away from fitting this story perfectly into canon is what really makes this piece sparkle and stand out from part 1. the ending is so, so SO sad.. tragic, yet appropriate. i almost cried (if the end lasted a bit longer, i think i would have.. but believe me, for me to even almost cry for a story is something, so please don't take offense at my not crying! ^_^) poor krum and his luck with girls.. it nearly broke my heart to read about krum forgetting hermione.. unrequited love is both ten times more bitter yet sweeter too.. i like how pashnik is turning out, he seems a lot less annoying than in part 1 (perhaps b/c krum finds him less annoying now). i'm glad that the whole confusion about the pashnik family history has been cleared up, b/c it was bugging me about what was wrong with his family. the wedding was superb, i love how well rositza handled it in general. nice job on keeping up the suspense throughout the fic. my only concern is that krum seems far, far less characteristically curt and surly than what we're familiar with. i suppose that once he's in his homeland and with people who really do care about him, he stops acting so stand-offish? anyway, once again, EXCELLENT JOB. i would love to read a part 3 of this! :-)

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94034Chapter: 10
No. Effing. Way.





Ok, seeing as you know Arabella and Jedi B., you'll probably understand my pain. Before I finished this I was reading both RfA and Moody Slavic Man at the same time. (You can probably see where this is going.) I just finished RfA earlier tonight. So, naturally, I was bawling my eyes out. Very disturbing. Even worse I HATE that ship, so I was beating myself up inside for becoming so attached to it. I was in desperate need of a pick-me-up of sorts, something to get my mind of the horrible D/G angst, and I thought "hey, Elanor Gamgee's story always makes me happy. Why don't I go read some more good Viktor romance! It's sure to have a happy ending to get my mind of this darn D/G angst...."


I think the ending of this made me honestly hate you for a split second. Granted it was only a split second :P but still.... *head desk die* Wonderful writing, you made me love Viktor, great plot, now go write part 3 or I may very well go insane at all the horrible, horrible angst. Book five didn't completely destroy your story! In fact, it positively fits with the new canon! Write, darn it!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90511Chapter: 1
u need to write another chapter!!!!!!!! PLEASE!!! i can sign it if u want!!! omg!! wat happens next!!!!!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76862Chapter: 2
Hey ElanorGamgee! I'm so glad I finally understand your name since I read LOFR- aww.. you must be a cutie if you take after Sam :). Anyways, I just wanted to leave a good review, since I followed this fic for a long time and didn't do it justice, I think. Also, I wanted to tell you that I drew Rositza, so if you want to check it out it archived here under sveltskye in the fanart. Only I got kind of lazy during the coloring so her hair is a bit...unfinished in some places. Use your imagination. :)
Now, on to the real review:
It was really nice to see Viktor healing and growing throughout this fic. I think Rositza was very healthy for him since in MSM he was a bit...scary shall we say? *Every move you make, every breathe you take, I'll be watching you* :) I was glad to see Viktor and Rositza together in AtE, but I did like your bittersweet ending. Sometimes a story just lends itself to that kind of ending, and yours was one of them- it put a little dose of reality, bringing us back down to earth yet it was hopeful, and not depressing. You really captured Viktor's intense personality wonderfully (of course, you'd had practice)- he's so loyal, and brooding, and too stubborn and moral for his own good sometimes. I loved the conflicts you brought into their relationship and the tensions between Viktor and Rositza and their colliding worlds, especially when they came to a head in scenes like the wedding chapter. His dark background from Durmstrung and the anti-Muggle atmosphere around him gave a lot of opportunity for tension and moral dilemmas and I think you explored that really well. Rositza is such a wonderfully interesting, fully developed OC, also, and it was particularily interesting to see the differences between her and Hermione and how Viktor got over one while falling in love with the other. I'd give you some constructive criticism, but honestly I'd have to read the whole thing over to find enough nitpicky things, because I don't remember anything that stuck out as needing improvement. It's a really enjoyable story- thanks for sharing it. You've always been one of my favorite authors at the Quill.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74818Chapter: 10
You are cruel. But I will still be looking forward to whatever sequel you write, since OotP hasn't made Viktor a Death Eater.

Reviewer: ADate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69840Chapter: 10
Hi! This fic is really good -- hehe Viktor/Rositza -- but I was wondering when you're going to update it... Thnx!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54624Chapter: 10
*sniff* I wanted a happy ending... but if they get married... :) I'll be waiting for the sequel :)

Reviewer: Kitty_Kat_from_BallaratDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54501Chapter: 1
his was the BESTEST fic I've ever read!!! (Actually, it's about the only one, since I'm not that much into fanfiction) But this is sooo good! Especially since Viktor was my favourite character, even before I read this story. I loved Rositza, it's such a pretty name, and I'm glad that he got over 'Hermy-own-ninny', but a bit disappointed, too, because they make such a cute couple! Please please please write some more stories...you said there was going to be a sequel...I hope you were telling the truth! Great work! I love viktor!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54236Chapter: 4
This story is wonderful! I love the character Susanna Ivoniva, please write more about her since I really think she is cool.
Keep on plugging Elanor, little flower. (remember what Frodo said to Sam about the name...?)

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48426Chapter: 10
I just read both stories, and can only say this: You have taken a character I generally disliked and made me like him. I don't know that there can be much higher praise. When I came to the end, I was wondering what you were doing, since there was so much story left to tell, but I like the way it ended. I trust we will see more. I'm left wondering how much Hermione knows of this at this point in time. Interesting to play this off of some of the correspondance they show in OoTP

Oh, and now I have "Moody Slavic Man" to the tune of "Secret Agent Man" going in my head.

Reviewer: kLynDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45963Chapter: 10
I just finished Moody Slavic Man and MSM2, the first stories from Viktor's point of view I've ever read. I thoroughly enjoyed both of them. You took a minor, though pivotal, character (can a character actually be both minor and pivotal?) who we've only seen through others' eyes, and fleshed him out into a real person. Well done. I've also enjoyed the other characters you've created, especially Ivan and his sister.

You've got a very interesting plot going on--I'm looking forward to finding out more about the Bulgarian battle against Death Eaters in your next story in the series.

Reviewer: ClareDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44315Chapter: 10
I enjoyed this story, very much. Thank you.

Reviewer: WonderSheepDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43810Chapter: 10
Come on, you know you want to write more. Pwease?

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43408Chapter: 10
Oh! I love this story!!! But when I saw that one word..."Obliviate," it seemed like my heart just stopped!!! (Kinda like when I found out who died in the 5th book.) Oh my! I was just so...soo....distraught!!! I really wish Victor hadn't done the memory charm on her! It's really really sad! If I were her, I would definitely have wanted to remember all the magic! But yes, I did read the Author's Notes, so I'm hoping there's a happy ending sometime!!! And also, what does "Remember, Rositza is a good liar" mean? I still don't get it...did she or did she not get her memory modified? Oh...well, I hope you write a sequel to this! I loved it!

Reviewer: vicky-luvvaDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43193Chapter: 10
that was so sad, especially the end, please please write another fic, Viktor is my favourie character in the HP books...I'm looking forward to the 3rd part of Moody slavic man more than the 6th Harry potter!

Reviewer: LewisDDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41608Chapter: 10
Right. So. Slowly working my way back into the world of fanfiction.

First off, Susannah, obviously, is no longer creeping me out. :) I especially liked this line:

"Ah, do you see what they do? It goes so far beyond what you see on the front page."

Too, too true. I felt like she was channeling Dumbledore for a moment there. In addition, The Circle sounds very, very cool. (I'm all for resistance movements after OotP.) I really hope that you have the time and energy to continue this story. The events we get in canon are just so closed-in. I'd really like to see Viktor's story continued so that we can see how what's happening in Harry's World is affecting the rest of the Wizarding communinty.

So, on to Viktor and Rositza. I'm glad to know that they'll have a happy ending eventually, but I can understand the whole taking time to get there. Frankly, I think that the rough end that you have for this story fits the current tone in canon. And while that's not going to make for the happiest of tales, I'm still going to be anxiously awaiting Part 3.

Lewis

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37031Chapter: 10
(Hey, I got on another thank-you list. This reviewing thing has its perks.) ;-)

He did WHAT?? He hit her with the SPELL?? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Okay, I wasn't EXACTLY expecting a happy ending--after all, it's a little late to be writing a Year 5-7 fic--but--but--*whimpers, sniffs* Oh it's good. So good. So sad, so realistic, and so VIKTOR-I'M-GOING-TO-KILL-YOU-FOR-CASTING-THAT-SPELL-ON-HER!!!!!!!!!!!!! *calms down*

Ooooh, I hope you're able to write a sequel!

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36531Chapter: 10
sorry i haven't been reviewing my computer got smashed i mean annihilated so im at my parents house using there computer while they're out very good ending i love endings that are bad they're the best. well later.


:-P Prof. D :-P

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36505Chapter: 5
I've only finished Chap. 5 and so far I'm really enjoying the story. I just have one issue and you can take it or leave it, it's not major. You're writing style is very good, but it seems that you're writing Viktor and his family in the cannonical style reminiscent of when we met him in GoF, when he was a Bulgarian speaking English with an accent. Mind you, J.K. Rowling wrote out his dialect beautifully and you aren't doing that which is great, but I wonder that you aren't contracting words when Viktor or his parents are speaking. The speech patterns of Rositza and even some of his contemporaries that you've invented are very natural, but the Krums speak haltingly as they did at Hogwarts. I was wondering if you did this on purpose or if you were just mimicking the style of speech he used in the book. If everyone is speaking Bulgarian only we are reading it in English I feel like the speech patterns should be more natural. That's it really, no big deal, I'm going to continue reading. =) Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36499Chapter: 10
I have been reading your work for a while, but this is my first review. Your stories are excellent, and it has given me a completely different view on Viktor. I used to "hate" him, for trying to take Hermione from our Ron, but this story changed my mind. I admit, the ending shocked and disappointed me, but it was an excellent way to end the story all the same. And the hint....well, it's given me hope!!! :)

Reviewer: AdriannaDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36467Chapter: 10
Aughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! Nooooooooooooooo!! I cannot BELIEVE that you stopped here! And did he REALLY have to Obliviate her? he promised he never would!

I loved this story so much, and the one before that. And so you better write a sequel because I love this story too too much and I really, really, really want to know what happens.

So write a sequel otherwise I will send Ivan's father to come and get you and eat you for his supper. ha. ha.

I loved your story, it was amazing and I was completely taken with it. Viktor's always interested me and there aren't many good fics about him... so thankyou, thankyou,thankyou!


~Adri

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36416Chapter: 10
GREAT! Very well written, I love how you've developed Viktor's personality, and Roszita is AWESOME! I really, really was another "Moody Slavic Man" story, you are an excellent writer! It would be cool if you turn it into a trilogy. Again, GREAT JOB and Happy Writing!
~MaRgArEt

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36411Chapter: 10
I have been reading this fanfic for a while now. And I have to say that I've loved every minute of it, it has given me a completely different perspective of Viktor. I loved both the first story and this one, they are so filled with such rich descriptions, excellent dialogue and well developed characters that I feel as if I truly know them now. Thank you for sharing them with us and I sincerely hope to read part 3 when you eventually write it.

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36398Chapter: 10
Ack! So gorgeously bittersweet. This was a wonderful story, and I can't wait to see how Victor & co. buid their Resistance (and I can't say how relieved I am that Susannah is one of the good guys:).

Frankly, no matter how OOtP turns out, I don't think you should let that influence your story. It's so engaging and amazingly written that I, for one, think it stands alone from canon. I've enjoyed reading this more than most books, and I think that you'd have a great career as an author (I'd run out and buy your book!.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36394Chapter: 10
I am on the verge of tears now!
I can't believe it has ended like this.
I really hope you can continue even after book 5. I feel like you've captured Viktor *perfectly* though, so I don't think it'll be a problem.
Hmm... Rositza is a good liar? *cries more* I can't figure that out! When Viktor first met Rositza, I thought she might be a witch - and then I thought that Eliza was a witch. But I really have no idea... This and the first Moody Slavic Man have kept me on my toes!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36383Chapter: 10
::picks gaping jaw up off the ground::

Whoa...NOT the ending I was expecting! Elanor, you amaze me! (And being the big Mary Chapin Carpenter fan that I am, I cannot believe I missed that in the titles. So that's why they sounded familiar. <g>)

Viktor, Viktor, Viktor. I'm disappointed that he would Obliviate her, even if only partially. I'm not disappointed in your writing, because you led us up to that point skillfully, but all the same...bad choice, Krum. However, your "Rositza is a good liar" comment gives me hope. It seems as though she accepted the break-off a little *too* easily, so I look forward to seeing what she has up her sleeve...

I really liked the scene with Susannah and the "circle". Yay, she's good! And I adore Ivan:

<<He smiled weakly, his eyes begging Viktor to help him make a joke of it all, as if that was the only way he could deal with it.>>

And even though you think you're done, just wait...I give you two weeks before you're itching to write more Viktor. ;) Well done!

~Katinka

Reviewer: AriellaDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36382Chapter: 10
I never expected this to be the grand finale! You wrapped thing up nicely, but still left room for more. I love the depth that you give your characters. I hope that you will continue on about the Circle in your other stories. Keep writing!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36377Chapter: 10
Ivan shook his head. “Ilana warned me he would mess it up somehow.
-forget Victor and his Muggle female fetish, I want an Ivan and Ilana story.

“Oblivate,” he said quietly.
-Wow. Did not expect that. Excellent ending. Thank you for not making it a happy one.

I haven't been too impressed by some of the Victors I've read in the past, but you do a great job with him.

Rositza has flaws? Bring em on. Just please make them a bit more serious than a penchant for plaid.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36375Chapter: 10
A great story, and the ending was perfect. War is hell.

That being said, I'm looking forward to the continuation. Good work!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36366Chapter: 10
Oy covoy.Actually,I AM depressed by the ending of this story. However,I know that you will write another sequal (or your therapy session will not be for cannon Deatheater!Viktor but for something like the Longbottoms got!) :-) Other then that,VERY suspenseful,totally love your Viktor. You get him down just right. Also,thanks for replying ^-^

Reviewer: ZiskDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36363Chapter: 10
Viktor will NOT be a canon death eater . . .don't even joke. I think I'd have to foresake canon on that point . ..

As for the ending: AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! But very well written, very canon. Very Viktor.

To heck with the book 5 - write this all out anyway!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36362Chapter: 10
AUGH! Here I was just commenting to someone about how comforting Harry Potter fanfic is, and then you have to end your story like this!

I think it's the idea that he obliviated her that's really unsettling. I can take not seeing each other while Viktor fights. But obliviating her... that's what makes me want to just bawl.

I'm definitely looking forward to seeing some more of Viktor's adventures. I think we'll ALL be disappointed if anything in the books really negates this story!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 36042Chapter: 9
This story is turning out to be marvelous so far. I was sad to see that it wasn't finished. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: joew111Date: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35650Chapter: 9
Your Moody Slavic Man stories are well written and very engaging. I certainly hope you will continue updating often.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35614Chapter: 9
This chapter was far too short. I liked seeing Viktor's frustration, and shame, and I'm glad Rositza didn't start in on him--but I'm sure the next time they meet they're going to have a LOT to talk about. Viktor's mother...it's nice to see some explanations coming out, now. Oh, you must update. Order. That is a. Now.

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35578Chapter: 9
Great! I love the confrontation betwen Viktor and his mum. Excellent, keep writing!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35554Chapter: 9
Wow.What a GREAT chapter.Rositza is no longer so Mary-Sue,which is good,and I like to hear what Victors mom REALLY thinks.I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35544Chapter: 9
ohhhhh....

Viktor.....

Rositza is *so* strong, and Edina is very smart. Ivan is very suave, altho we can't tell that from this chapter.

Poor Viktor needs a hug right now.

Another fabulous chapter, Elanor.

Please write more!

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: fefeDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35543Chapter: 9
Wow! Yet another great chapter, even though it was really sad. I wonder what i would have been thinking if i were Rositza...that's good that Victor was there to comfort her, though, otherwise she would probably be even sadder. It's terrible that Ivan has a Deatheater for a father...but I'm glad Ivan is a good guy. Anyway, please continue! I can't wait! And the 5th book is coming in only 2 weeks! WOOHOO!!!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35488Chapter: 9
Sigh. Well, at least Rositza is allowing Viktor to help her, a bit. Edina and Ivan were brilliant - talk about calm under pressure! Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: AriellaDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35472Chapter: 9
Superb chapter. You've given a lot of depth to the characters. Thanks for not making us wait so long since the last chapter!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35466Chapter: 9
AAAAHHHHH! A great chapter. Poor Viktor. Poor Rositza. Can hardly wait for an update.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35461Chapter: 9
Ivan had his wand out and was quietly casting Memory Charms on the other wizards nearby
-I'm liking Ivan even more. Outwardly a bit of a fool (I'm sure his father uses stronger language), he is calm under pressure and doesn't hesitate to do what is right even though highly risky. I doubt any of his father's friends would appriciate any type of memory charm being put on them, and I get the impression that these are powerful and important men with few scruples.

“Apparate in.”
-that was a surprise.

Excellent job with Victor's mother.

I don't think Victor can keep it a secret that he is dating a Muggle. His picture was taken with her and I'd think he'd have rabid fans who'd find out everything they could about anyone he was seen with - just look at the what goes on with regular celebrities.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35424Chapter: 9
I just felt sick to my stomach for Rositza...I think you conveyed her jumbled reaction well. :(

I sense that Ivan still has some clean-up ahead of him regarding this incident. Would it have been so easy for Edina to pull Fedor away? Or was he drunk enough that it was possible? Either way, what an awful thing to happen.

<<Viktor leaned his elbows on the table, pressing his forehead against his hands, understanding for the first time just how powerless he was to stop the things that had been set in motion around him.>>

Oh, isn't that the truth.

~Katinka

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35417Chapter: 9
Poor kids. I'm not sure whether I'm sorrier for Rositza, who has been tossed into this world about which she knows nothing, or for Viktor, who's finding out that the world that he thinks he knows is much darker than he could have imagined.

I'm less than thrilled with Viktor's mum at the moment--her cracks about the "exoticism" of Muggle-borns were way out of line--but I understand where she's coming from. She's worried for her son, and it's making her speak more sharply and less tactfully than she normally would. And she's right: It is dangerous to make friends with Muggle-borns, to say nothing of the danger of making friends with Muggles. But I still hope that Viktor decides that making his own friends and living his own life is worth the danger.

TSS, still entranced by this story

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35308Chapter: 8
OMG! I hate that- poor, poor Viktor. OMG- is Rositza all right?

Reviewer: AdriannaDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35274Chapter: 8
Oh nooooooo!!!!! This is very, very bad! Hurry up and update and don't leave us in this suspense!

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35198Chapter: 1
Oh and T.S.S amen except you need to hurry it up on your fic too, lol


:-P Prof. D :-P

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35197Chapter: 8
Amazing story with a great turn i cant wait till the next chapter you really outdid yourself two wands up just absolutely fantastic.

:-P Prof. D :-P

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35103Chapter: 8
DARN Ivan's father! DARN him! Dang it--now poor Rositza--God, how will Viktor explain it--oh no! Hurry up and update! Now!

Reviewer: AriellaDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35040Chapter: 8
Brilliant chapter, but how cruel of you to end it there! Please write more soon.

Reviewer: CassandraDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34974Chapter: 8
OMG IM DYING!!!!!! MUST FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS! It really is a great fic and i really enjoyed it except for the cliff hanger!!!! I cant wait to read the rest!!!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34958Chapter: 8
You do realize, don't you, that the only reason I'm not going to kill you for this cliffhanger is the fact that I need an ending to this fic.

Consider yourself warned.

Giving her the dragon - that was such a nice touch.

Kizmet

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34956Chapter: 8
ARGH!!! Was the cliff-hanger *absolutely* necessary? Give all your poor readers insomnia, why don't you. ;-)

It wouldn't have been thematically in keeping with previous titles, but something like "The Perils of Keeping It From Them For Their Own Good" might have made a nice name for this chapter. I'm trying to make a mental list of all of the folks who should have told someone an unpleasant truth in order to avert disaster, and it's getting pretty long. Viktor should have told Rositza about the Dark. Good liar or no, she needed to know what she was getting into. And he should have told at least Ivan that he was bringing a Muggle. Yeah, Ivan can act sort of careless and scatterbrained, but Viktor ought to know him well enough to see that it's an act and that Ivan can keep things to himself when it's necessary. Ivan (poor Ivan; can't be much fun to have to worry that your dad is going to try to kill off your wedding guests) really should have told Viktor about his father. (As should Viktor's mother, in my view, but she may not have felt like it was her secret to tell; I could understand and sympthise with that feeling.) Not that this secret-keeping makes any Death-Eater activity Viktor's *fault* (or Ivan's, or Viktor's mum's, or anyone's but the Death Eaters), but, even so, they all should have been a bit more forthcoming. And that's *so* true-to-life. It's perfectly real to have all of these people trying to hide things in order to protect the feelings of the people that they care about (and to protect themselves; as long as the truth isn't spoken, it's easier to hide from it) and to have the secrecy result in something bad.

I wouldn't want to be any of those "middle-aged wizards" who are going to have to face a worried and angry Viktor. Don't make him angry. You wouldn't like him when he's angry.

I loved Viktor fretting about what to give to Rositza and finally settling on the dragon. One of the advantages that seems to come from his shelteredness (if that's a word) is that he doesn't have many pre-established ideas about What Girls Like, so he's actually thinking about what *this* girl will like instead of trying to fit her into some little pigeon-hole. Good job, Viktor.

I am still loving this story [aside from its cruel, heartless, nail-biting-inducing cliff-hangers ;-) ], and I'll be checking the Quill every three seconds to see if the next chapter has arrived.

TSS

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34937Chapter: 8
Pro:
What a sweet chapter!And the end is very exiting.
Con:
Everybody takes the fact she is a Muggle too calmly,and you left us at a gaping cliffhanger!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34928Chapter: 8
Ahhh! How horrid. Just when we were making such progress... *Please* don't let anything bad happen to Rositza. And *please* let her still like Viktor. And *please* let everything work out. They deserve it. Pretty please? ;)

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34924Chapter: 8
::wails::

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

::cries::

I am waiting for an update....I am expecting one tomorrow...

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: ZiskDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34915Chapter: 8
*gawp* Yer evil . . .evil. Heck of a cliffhanger - biting my nails, for the love of all that is good get the next chapter out so soon as life permits :)

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34911Chapter: 8
oooooh, great! i love your characterization of Viktor, and Roszita and her dragons....are great!!! Keep writing!

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34902Chapter: 8
Oh yes, that is much worse than marrying an Episcopalian!

It was so sad, but yet so real, to see Rositza's delight in discovering magic destroyed in this way. But, this story has never shied away from the fact these are dark times in JKR's wizarding world. Some Muggles do truly deserve to know what lies beyond their perception. I'm grateful that you're including your readers within this favoured class of Muggles. I hope that, in the end, Rositza joins us.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34901Chapter: 8
Aaaagh! Cliffie!

I can't wait to see what happens next! Great chapter!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34899Chapter: 8
Oh, no. Oh, no. Please, please, don't let them hurt Rositza, please… Evil cliffhanger! I do hope you update soon. I was so happy to see they'd made up… Now I'm terrified! Please let her be alright…

Love,
_Meg.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34873Chapter: 8
That is one cliffhanger of an ending!

I enjoy this story very much so please don't take offense, but Rozita is starting to get a little Mary Sue-ish: her creativity, her love of dragons, her nearly unblinking acceptance of the magical world, her amazing ability to fit into the wizarding culture (yes, I did read the ending), her good looks, her eagerness to better herself, her immmediate desire to go riding on Victor's broomstick, etc.. She is starting to become just a bit too much. However I still hope you don't off her or her memory in the next chapter.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34870Chapter: 8
Okay, now that I've pulled my jaw up off the floor, I'll try to review. ;) But OH, NO!!!!!

I was very touched by Viktor's gift of the dragon and by Rositza's pure elation at discovering that dragons were real. Their reconciliation was sweet. I thought this was wonderfully put:

<<Truthfully, he could think of no good reason why the magical world should be hidden away from someone like her. For the first time, it occurred to him that some Muggles truly deserved to know what lay beyond their perception. That some of them actually yearned for it, never felt complete without knowing it, and yet never knew what they were missing.>>

It was a nice touch of realism to have Viktor slightly annoyed at Rositza's incessant questions, even though he knows why she's asking them. Excellent pacing in that final scene, too -- my heart started to pound as soon as Edina said, "She's a Muggle, isn't she?"

Another great chapter, but again -- OH, NO!!!

Katinka

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34354Chapter: 7
oh, thank goodness they made up!

you had me really worried there, Elanor. Poor Viktor; he is so confused. What do his grunts sound like to Rositza? (Gorgeous name, by the way.) At least he admitted his Memory Charm to her, instead of keeping it as a secret.

Oy, that scene with Ivanova made me nervous. As, of course, did the one with Viktor's mother, but somehow less so. Because I know how good Ivan is, and how caring Viktor's mother is. But I truly don't know anything about Susannah Ivanova.

PLEASE update soon!!!!

~an eager, impatient fan,
ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34091Chapter: 7
Oh boy oh boy she's not mad at him and he told her and all will soon be right in the world! :-) Still lovin' this story. I love your characterizations of Viktor--bewildered and grumpy. Poor Vicky. And Rositza rules too.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34027Chapter: 7
Lovely story, lovely characters...so glad to see that Viktor took a chance and sought Rositza out again. And it sounds like she hasn't written him off for good -- yay!

Your chapters are always a treat. Thanks!

Katinka

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34001Chapter: 7
Good for Ivan! He's such a good friend! I'm so glad Viktor talked to Rositza - yay!

Reviewer: LewisDDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33971Chapter: 7
Awww, this is a great story! Yay for Rositza! I love the slow transition of Victor's character from Moody Slavic Man to where he is in this chapter. I've really enjoyed watching the step-by-step progression of his character because it's been so realistic; he's really matured. I love that he's gone from esentially ignoring Ivan to actually sort of listening to his advice. I also appreciate that you made Victor into his own character. He's not just Harry II, which would be what I think I would wing up turning him into if I wrote a Victor-centered fic. He and Harry do share traits in common--like their quietness about their emotions--but Victor still manages to be distinct. He seems a bit more jaded to me, then Harry has been in the first four books, at least.

Now I'm just hoping we'll get to learn more about Ivan. And about what's up with Susannah, who is kind of creeping me out.

Trying to be patient,

Lewis

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33961Chapter: 7
HOORAY! Oh, thank goodness, he's fixing things with Rositza. I was so worried. And thank you for not dragging it out too long, I don't know if I'd been able to stand several chapters of mess.

I do worry about Ivanova, though. She seems like trouble in the near future.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33947Chapter: 7
OoooOoooh,I LOVE THIS!!It's so exiting-you made such a cliffhanger!Only problem is,won't Viktor get arrested for breaking the Internation Wizard Code of Secrecy?

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33944Chapter: 7
Oh! I am glad that Viktor is doing the honorable thing and telling Rositza the truth. It seems like she's taking everything in stride. I'd still like to know more about how people like Rositza's father know about wizards. I bet Eliza knows a lot, doesn't she? Beautiful job of writing this chapter. :)

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33898Chapter: 7
Yay! First reviewer for this chapter! Thanks for updating. Outstanding, as usual. I also read the outtake (I skipped the author's notes and was lost for a while there… Bad me!), and god, did I enjoy Edina's "chat" with Alandra… :) About this chapter: seems like Ivan, as always, is the only one who can talk some sense into thick-skulled Viktor… And is it me, or it took him far less than usual to realise Ivan was right and follow his advice? Must be Rositza's good influence, but he does seem to be maturing, and growing braver. Love your story. It's interesting to see how Rositza forced herself to find a rational explanation… I expect we'd all do the same. Can't wait for the next installment! Will she forgive him or not? I do hope she will…

Love,
_Meg.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33277Chapter: 6
WTF??I hope it gets done soon!!

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2003-05-01
Reviewid: 30320Chapter: 6
What an interesting chapter! I really enjoyed the new characters you've added -- Eliza, Rositza's family. I look forward to getting to know them better, that is, if this huge mess you've created ever gets sorted out! (Please, please, please.) I do have one question though: what is a "shapeless jacket?" Is it a specific kind of jacket that I just don't know about, or Viktor's interpretation of a nice Muggle dinner jacket? That confused me a bit. Oh, I also want to mention how I like the way you every once and a while remind us of Viktor's fame and how that has shaped his personality.

"Viktor made a low, noncommittal grunt. This often worked with reporters."

and

"It was still satisfying, somehow, the complete lack of recognition shown at his name."

It shows you really know Viktor. I can't wait for more of this!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29807Chapter: 6
NO! No! Nononononono!!!!

argh...I HATE cliffhangers.

please update soon, this is quite excellent. Rositza is now one of my favourite OFCs. How do you pronounce her name?

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29806Chapter: 6
Oh, good. Now Viktor HAS to explain this whole wizarding thing to Rositza. That is, if she ever decides to speak to him again. AH NON! ZUT!! WHY, Viktor, WHY? Of course, it isn't REALLY his fault. Anyway, this needs to be resolved. Soon. *evil glare* Wonderful stuff.

Reviewer: Doctor AichaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29768Chapter: 6
Oooooooooooh. OH, what a GREAT chapter. I didn't expect her father to know anything. And R. must be SO confused!!

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29743Chapter: 6
*What* a wonderful story! You've taken our favorite Bulgarian, filled him in (so to speak), and made him so true to canon that Rositza also feels like a canon character.

I absolutely love Rositza's dragons as well as the authentic-feeling Bulgarian village life, not to mention the authentic-feeling Quidditch team life.

And what a cliff-hanger! I have no clue where you're taking this, but I will be hanging on to find out!

-Stella

Reviewer: kcDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29734Chapter: 6
This is the next best story I've read since 'After the End'...(and I've read several). :)

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29534Chapter: 6
Ah! No! That's horrible... Even Manuella was coming around. I love Rositza's mother - she seems lovely, but wow - the father... he's a party and a half, huh? I hope Viktor and Rositza's fledgling relationship survives this!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29525Chapter: 6
had told him to say this no matter what they served
-remember being told that myself

Enjoyed reading this chapter and the ending makes me look forward the next couple.

I think you did a good job with Victor's nervousness and the akward dinner conversations (boy, did it bring back some annoying memories of the ones I went through). The father was a nice surprise and I look forward to see how you handle this.

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29502Chapter: 6
damn...

update asap.

Reviewer: lotrfanDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29415Chapter: 6
Ack! Oh no...what's Rositza going to think? What's Viktor going to do? So many questions, so many questions...questions that you should hurry up and answer!:)

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29413Chapter: 6
NOOO!!! Viktor and Rositza have to get married and live happily ever after!! :( I'm sure they will at the end, of course, but I don't like this...

You've done a nice job showing the problems Viktor has with falling in love with a Muggle girl of traditional family. I really liked the way you've contrasted Rositza's imagination and ambition with the conservatism of her father--Rositza would have clashed with her family anyway, and falling in love with Viktor just makes her life more difficult. She's such a layered character. I especially love the way you had her be a good liar. It makes sense, given her circumstances.

And I love how Viktor wasn't Mr. Smooth, and panicked at the end.

Reviewer: ZiskDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29408Chapter: 6
Ouch - poor boy.

Can't wait to see how he'll fix this mess :)

Reviewer: AreillaDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29365Chapter: 6
Poor, poor Viktor. How will he ever explain this to Rositza? Brilliant chapter.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29359Chapter: 6
Oh, dear. Oh, dear, oh dear. Argh! I do hope things will be all right!

I feel so awful for Viktor.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29351Chapter: 6
Ohhhhhhhhhh, Viktor. You shouldn't've done that. Disapparating was a bad, bad idea.

But it seems an in-character bad idea. His child-like side would make him run away in a situation like that one, wouldn't it? Viktor's odd childhood--the early Quidditch talent, the early fame--has given him this funny combination of being extremely sheltered and young while also being very self-contained and mature, and I like to see the young, confused side come out once in a while. (For his sake, I wish it wouldn't come out quite so spectacularly, but c'est la vie.) I'm really looking forward to seeing how he deals with this situation once his flight instincts have calmed down.

Eagerly awaiting,

TSS

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --