The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 57

Reviewer: lady_of_sherwoodDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145934Chapter: 1
Wow.

This is excellent. When are you going to write original work, Jedi? You have an amazing gift for the written word! I don't care if this was a collaboration, everything you write is amazing!

This is something that I could actually see happening. The slow, build up to the end is perfect. It works, the whole thing works. At the conclusion, it's still Draco and it's still Ginny. Wonderful.

I want to see more!!! :b

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112590Chapter: 1
another tale enjoyed

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109489Chapter: 1
For the first time, i actually feel sorry for malfoy......................If only HP world was real, i would give anything to see the expressions of Ron and Malfoy after reading this! Your fic-Malfoy deserves Ginny! can we have a Sequel?!! please (something like malfoy becomes a spy for dumbledore, like snape, and Harry and Ginny are getting married??) hmmm, anyways.

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108464Chapter: 1
That was great! I loved it and everyone was in character. I loved how you wrote Draco.

Reviewer: angela prexusDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107725Chapter: 1
absolutely fantastic. very believable.

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101488Chapter: 1
This was an elegant, and breathtaking read. You all have done a beautiful job with the charachterization in this peice. Right down to the image of Pansy Parkinson who is very often maligned as just 'ugly' and simpering, but shes treated as real, and realisticaly unplesant.

The way Draco notices, and despises, every little thing about Ginny and how we see all the repressed tenderness mixed with Draco's nastyness, and self importance keeps him in charachter, but creates a very plausible attraction on his part (Whether Ginny would/could ever find the same fascination in Draco remains to be seen...*hint..hint?*)

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99538Chapter: 1
I can't believe that I haven't reviewed this fic before...if you still read these reviews (and even if you don't), I'm so sorry. This fic is one of the most impressive things I've read in the HP fic-verse. As another reviewer put it, the perfect word for this fic is "Breathtaking." I have never read such a good characterization of Draco and pre-OoTP Ginny, and I have never read a fic with an equally deep Draco.
This fic is so realistic and so IC I just don't know what to do with it. Maybe we can ship it off to JKR to convince her to add hints of it in the HBP. It deserves it.
Oh, I've also read Rising from Ashes, of course (it took me just about forever to track down, but I did, and downloaded E-reader and all that, because I was so moved by this piece). It definitely measures up to this one-shot, but the two stand entirely on their own, as well. I confess to liking this one slightly better; it is so compact there is nothing for me to dislike; but RfA is still one of the best fics I've ever read. I don't know what to say about all your writing...it just blows me away. Thank you so much for posting this and writing it and sharing it and for just existing, really.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94033Chapter: 1
I have (rather foolishly, I admit) put off reading this fic the whole time I've been at the Quill. Today, I read a review of it that made me want to read it. I despise Draco...and your story made me keep despising him while also pitying him. This is the most in-character, true-to-canon Draco Malfoy I've ever read. His insults were just as scathing and hilarious as they are in the books, and I praise you for it! Wonderful job! (I'm also very glad to find out that you didn't have Ginny returning Draco's devotion, which is what I always feared when hearing this story was D/G.)

Thanks for a very well-written and extremely entertaining read! :o)

Jules

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94002Chapter: 1
That's the most convincing job of Draco noticing Ginny I've ever read. Brilliant. :0)

Reviewer: SailoranimeDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93255Chapter: 1
Everyone, I think, has heard wonderful things about this story. And, I must admit, it lived up to my expectations. While I'm a D/G shipper and would have liked to see it in in actual D/G, it's just as great as it is. D/G is not a realistic pairing, but I think you could have pulled it off, in any case.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86846Chapter: 1
Wow. This story is so well-written, particularly the characterisation, I love it. Your portrayal of Draco is fantastic, you manage to give him plausible reasons for being attracted to Ginny without making him lose any of his nastiness from canon, unlike the myriad other D/G fics which wimp out and redeem him. The fact that he is disgusted with himself for liking Ginny is very in character as well. He should be, after all she is from a blood traitor family, poor, and has a crush on Harry Potter, all reasons for Draco to look down on her.
Something that astonished me was how well you captured Ginny. This fic was written pre-Ootp, but the way Ginny acts around Malfoy is the same as the way Ootp Ginny would behave, which shows how well you interpreted the existing canon info about Ginny from the first four books.
You really know how to get across the urgency of Draco's emotions. I particularly like this sentence: "He was the Malfoy heir and even if he wanted - even if he really, really wanted-" Just the way that sentence was cut off says so much.
And the ending of this story is just perfect. Ginny would never like somebody who is so nasty towards her family and Harry, and I'm so glad to see you didn't make her fall for Draco. And Draco realises how futile it is to be attracted to her, going back to the person who gives him devotion: Pansy. Just perfect ending.
Congrats to both of you for a fantastic fic.

Reviewer: chi26Date: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86784Chapter: 1
hi! great story, please update soon

Reviewer: chi26Date: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84567Chapter: 1
great story! update soon ^-^

Reviewer: LamielDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79138Chapter: 1
I'd like to inform you that I've just very recently managed to cure myself of the Fanfic Draco/Ginny Disease - because even then I was well aware that there was no way it's going to happen in canon, which is just as well really - and that my reluctant admission that H/G will happen is only due to OotP.

Now I'm going to tell that it's a wonderfully-written story, but what should I have expected from the both of you? Surely one of the best Hogwarts Tour one has ever imagined.

Reviewer: Slytherin TattooDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76445Chapter: 1
Good, very good, very angsty.

Reviewer: EvaDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67278Chapter: 1
what? you can't just end it there!!!! no Draco and Ginny have to be together - forever!!!!:) otherwise it ids REALLY good and

Reviewer: Picante FollupaDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 57977Chapter: 1
Eeeks! This is wonderful! UPDATE IT!!

Reviewer: DelylahDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53293Chapter: 1
Great story. One wonders if Draco is as truly irredeemable as JKR portrays him in the books. You've written a fic that leads one to believe that somewhere under there, he is just a teeny tiny little bit human (maybe a molecule's worth). I'll always be a H/G shipper, I think...but the thought of Draco reluctantly harboring a secret yen for Ginny is intriguing as well, especially since you portrayed him as still basically being a pr!<k !

Reviewer: veronicaDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51468Chapter: 1
bravo sequel

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44080Chapter: 1
really love this story. if i didn't think that ginny and harry are good together, i would be cheering for D/G avidly.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43759Chapter: 1
wow, a d/g that i actually didn't mind..loved it. especially the broom shed.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43215Chapter: 1
I really liked this short story! Are you going to write more about it? I hope you do! Email me if you ever get a chance. And btw, I loved ur After the End story!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42335Chapter: 1
Wow! That was great! Very believable and beautifully written.

Thanks. :)

Reviewer: V. EquinoxDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41987Chapter: 1
This is SO great! I can't believe I hadn't read this before. *bonks her forehead* It really, really left me wanting more. Oh, how I wish there was more. So very much in character. Poor, poor Draco, caught up in his longings and foul temperament. Wonderful. ;)

Reviewer: Cyke's GirlDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41900Chapter: 1
Ohhh that was so good. Sad when Malfoy got all "I hate_" on things but it's probably true yeh know? This might just be the only D/G fic I like but it was writen well and with the overall plot what not to like? I loved the closing line not just the R&J one but "No. Fire burned. One did not reach out for fire, no matter how mesmerizing. But he watched. " Part of me was all like " Malfoy's gone stalker on us all." But who knows...

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41846Chapter: 1
In Character D/G.
And here I was thinking it didn't exist.
--Amy

Reviewer: TriciaDate: 2003-06-24
Reviewid: 38432Chapter: 1
this was the absolute BEST d/g fan fiction ever!! please please please let there be another one!!!! great job!!!!

Reviewer: MaeDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36641Chapter: 1
Very nice story, i love it when good authors write the complete opposite of what 'should' happen (eg. Harry/Ginny) And you were able to keep the personalities of the characters straight. Good for you, keep it up!

Reviewer: toriDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35983Chapter: 1
no!!!! is the story over? don't let it be over. this one of the best d/g fics i've ever read.
and sorry about the no caps--i only have one hand at the moment; the other is covered in chocolate.

Reviewer: ellenmuggleDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33711Chapter: 1
I loved it and that's the first Draco/Ginny fic I've ever read!

I think you've really captured Draco. Well done

Reviewer: jacquelineDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31933Chapter: 1
pike@kyotaku.com:
I thought you migh tlike to know that the twins are still here because they are in their 7th year. Hogwarts students graduate after their 7th year

Reviewer: the elfieDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31595Chapter: 1
This was fantastic fantastic. Draco's bitterness is so perfectly--and very nicely not supersexyfanon!draco. Just fantastic, all of it.

Well, okay, most of it. Why're the twins here? It's set in the fifth year, yeah? They would have graduated, wouldn't they?

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-05-01
Reviewid: 30318Chapter: 1
oh my gods I feel sorry for Draco...and I've stopped calling him Malfoy *runs and hugs him* Poor Draco....oh my gods you've created a Draco-lover....
Brillent and he still acts like canon!draco.
I like Ginny too...she actually has a life besides Harry unlike some fics.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 28972Chapter: 1
Wow... you two achieved the unthinkable, and actually made me pity Draco. I never thought the day would come when I'd feel sorry for him. Excellent writing!

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28142Chapter: 1
By the way, amending our previous message... We do award you 6 out of 10 O.W.L.S on our Wizarding Scale of Excellence, plus an extra O.W.L for escaping the use of the word "snog," which we hate with a passion that borders on the maniacal. That makes you 7/10, and even Professor MacGonagall hasn't always done as well. Cheerio!

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28141Chapter: 1
Hmmm... We like lots about this, including Pansy's sycophancy, and Draco's Very Grudging Admiration of That Weasley Girl... We do have to profess ourselves uncomfortable with this story's (and much of fanfic's) portrayal of Draco as having no real friends, but only a couple of toadies in Crabbe and Goyle. We believe that if Draco Malfoy is as intelligent as canon would show us, then he must have more friends than just The Servants Crabbe And Goyle Plus The Ever - Simpering Pansy. We enjoy much of your writing, and we have faith that you can do better in the future in portraying Malfoy as a real human being, instead of just Antagonist Extrodinaire.

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27293Chapter: 1
Breath-taking. One of the only stories I've ever read where Draco is actually IN character while smitten for Ginny Weasley. His emotions towards her were perfect. totally Draco-like.

Fleur

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26640Chapter: 1
wow!!! this story is sooooo cute!! I relly liked it! & i know this won't happen but it's sweeT!!!
congratulations!!!!
i'll be looking 4 more of ur stories!!!

Reviewer: Blue OceanDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25979Chapter: 1
Oh! How incredible! How utterly perfect! I can't stand it!

I don't think I can express with words how much I enjoyed reading this piece, because you've expressed what I could not yet. The skill with which you weaved this story astounds and shocks me. It is absolutely incredible. I expected it would be good when I saw the title, but my expectations did not -- could not -- reach this high.

** Ginny’s eyes followed him. Her face paled as he came deliberately around toward her and Draco saw her swallow, hard. But Potter didn’t stop at her seat.

** Draco sat in silence, and watched the fire burn for a very long time.

These are some of my favorite lines, but I could go back through and find twenty like them. Oh, my heart, I think I shall not soon recover from reading this fic. This is what I wish for my writing to be.

Reviewer: CorvidaeDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25977Chapter: 1
Oh...MY...*gulp* i can't take this. it was just like if J.k. had written it...it was beautiful it made me want to snog malfoy myself...please write more! please let them fall madly in love because i won't rest now till it happens...*sniff* taht was truly AWESOME!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-03-28
Reviewid: 25570Chapter: 1
Wow! I have been firmly wishing for an H/G thing, but you really have me going with this one. Wow! How angsty can you get!!! This is awesome and you are really selling this story so far. You're actually making me feel SORRRY for DRACO! Something wh/ I thought was utterly impossible.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24779Chapter: 1
And I forgot to say: this fanfic was absolutely fantastic!!!! Amazing how you managed to keep Draco nasty but still vulnerable. SEQUEL.....SEQUEL.....please
Do let him get Ginny.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24778Chapter: 1
You know, after a while, I really am beginning to like Draco. Maybe he should get Ginny. In the Rebirth series, Harry seemed a wimp and Draco had more character. Maybe people should start writing more fanfic about Ginny and Draco. Can anyone point me to another story similar to this?
Thanks.

Reviewer: siraDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19649Chapter: 1
i really want a continuation*mabye they are gonna make one...be patient* when did u come back? i thought i got rid of u...*u can't* im gonna die(yea right)ANTWAY i have a draco fic that i would like u to preview(if u got the time) e-mail me...*when they have time...convient* well it is...unlike you...* ha ha so funny* i know it is...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 16976Chapter: 1
This was lovely! You did Draco so well -- he wasn't one bit nice, and still I liked him. I think it was the childish frustration over why he couldn't have what he wanted that did it for me. And Ginny standing up to him was brilliant.

Poor, poor Draco. Would you rather be with someone you love, or someone who loves you?

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14906Chapter: 1
Wow...this s one of my favourite D/G fics ever. Amazing

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11637Chapter: 1
You mean Draco doesn't get Ginny? Darn.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9628Chapter: 1
Wow! Excellent characterization of Draco! This truly captures that horrible jealous feeling when you have feelings for someone who doesn't care for you back. I loved how Draco remained such a jerk, his nasty comments about the Weasleys and his idea to knock Harry's glasses off during the Quidditch match made him stay canon!Draco.

I also loved the humor in this fic. Tea with the giant squid! Half a brain between Crabbe and Goyle! These touches kept the fic from becoming too full of angst, I love fics with a sense of humor.

I also liked how you portrayed Draco's obervations of Ginny. Even when he was insulting her (her freckles were lopsided...how would he know that unless he was staring at her) the strength of his feelings came through very clearly.

I also liked how your Ginny behaved, subdued around Harry but full of spunk and life when he wasn't around. When you havea crush on someone, you do act differently around them and Ginny's quietness around Harry and her dejectedness when he continues to ignore her just broke my heart. When Harry strode past her to ask Cho to the Ball I felt like banging Harry over the head with a broomstick. Only truly great writing such as this can evoke such strong feelings from a reader.

The ending of this fic is what truly sets it apart. The realization that there are different types of love and relationships is a sad, but necessary one. Love isn't always hearts and flowers and unicorns running underneath rainbows. Sometimes our parnerships ae just based on a mutual understanding; in Draco's case a recognition of devotion and a realization that devotion is good enough; Pansy is not his true love but rather his approximate darling and he's resigned to that fact. The line: "In the end, Pansy was one thing – she was ambitious. And her one real ambition was him." was chilling, but that mutual ambition is enough on which to build a relationship. There are worse things holding two people together and it's so moving at how cool, calculating and honest Draco is at the end of this story.

Excellent, excellent characterization! Please team up again!

Reviewer: Gabriella CarlinDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8593Chapter: 1
wow. this was a fabulous d/g fic. i've read some epic d/g and they were as good as yours. meaning you two collaborated to write a perfect short fic, that takes others tons of chapters to develop.

i loved it.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2002-10-23
Reviewid: 6868Chapter: 1
What a fantastic story! Everyone was in character, and you revealed a whole new (yet completely believable) side of both Draco and Ginny. Well-written, and very enjoyable! Congratulations on an excellent peice of fiction!

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2002-10-01
Reviewid: 5104Chapter: 1
Jedi and Arabella- I should have reviewed ages ago when I first read this -- but I just read it again and loved as much as the first time. This is my favorite Draco in fanficdom. I laugh at Draco's venom the whole way through. It's absolutely spot on.

Your Draco is the inspiration for mine in my own story, and if I need to get in the right mood, the right "voice" to write Draco's POV, this story is the place to get it.

Superb.

--Alchemilla

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2002-10-01
Reviewid: 5082Chapter: 1
I thought I had reviewed this before -- I guess not. So I will now. This is one of the most impressive D/G stories I've ever read, and I don't really read a lot, because it's all the same. This is different. Much. I am absolutely intrigued by Draco's fascination with Ginny, Ginny's obliviousness to it. Draco's thoughts are right on - I really like how Harry is referred to as "Potter" in this entire story, it was a nice canon-ish touch. My favorite bits --

He really didn&#8217;t know if he could explain it anyway. He only knew it wasn&#8217;t natural. It wasn&#8217;t right. It was just a restless feeling that made his stomach writhe whenever she came around corners, but that was all. That was all.

*shivers* Ooh...and...

He certainly wasn&#8217;t going to admit that he was serving a detention in the broom shed with Ginny Weasley.

And he certainly wasn&#8217;t going to admit that something about the idea was almost appealing.

;) I love it. Just love it. Beautimus.

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4544Chapter: 1
Absolutely fantasic. My favorite parts:

But at the moment, it was only gratifying. Here was devotion. Unlike Potter, he knew what it looked like.
&
(my favorite, favorite line)
One did not reach out for fire, no matter how mesmerizing. But he watched.

I can just SEE him doing that, thinking those things. Yes, I hate Malfoy, but due to the quality of this story I think I may have to find some other D/G fics...:)

Superb!

Reviewer: Hermione girlDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 3009Chapter: 1
This is a totally awesome story. I've never heard of a Draco/Ginny story before! Sequel!

Reviewer: ImpDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2851Chapter: 1
Wow. Just... wow. That was brilliant.

I have to admit I'm not normally fond of fan fiction for a number of reasons. (What do you call someone like me? A Mundane? Heh.) That being said, I really loved this fic. I especially appreciate that you wrote Ginny in a way which shows she is strong and brave without turning her into the clichéd "sassy little spitfire". In fact, thank you for keeping ALL of the characters more or less as J.K. Rowling created them. The fact that you did that and still managed to tell an absorbing story of your own is very impressive.

I've always been intrigued by the idea of D/G, but I have to agree with the poster above and say that this is the first fic I've ever read in which it's even been remotely conceivable that one of them could be attracted to -- or even interested in -- the other.

This story is complete and quite beautiful in and of itself (and I do realize this is not a D/G shipper site), but I would love to read any sequels or companion pieces you might be inspired to write.

Again, well done.

Reviewer: mayDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 731Chapter: 1
A delightful story and very intriguing!

Reviewer: Moose GalDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 645Chapter: 1
Jedi, this story ROX! You and Arabella did a great job on it - it's the closest thing to D/G that makes SENSE, and the closest thing the Nice!Draco I can read without being siriusly ill. -_- Keep up the work, OK? Maybe you two could do the Ball from Draco's POV, or........ yes, well, I'm no good at plots. I'll leave this to you geniuses out there. :P

I hope the next time I review will be for when you and Arabella get together about something......... medeivil? Yes, that would be lovely: Lots of oppertunities.

Much love and Happy writing,

~Moose Gal

Emily

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --