The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 235

Reviewer: maiteluxDate: 2009-01-18
Reviewid: 151340Chapter: 1
Well...i was swinming in a friend's old master list and suddenly i see that fanfiction. I'm so ignorant that even don't know this website. I read the story and takes me a lot, cause, my english it's not so well.
But i love it. Really. Is the best Draco Malfoy's fic I ever read before.
It's AWESOME!

Reviewer: darkly-beautifulDate: 2007-12-13
Reviewid: 150144Chapter: 1
I loved that story. Took me ages to read -- but I really loved it.
Well done.

Reviewer: soquidDate: 2007-05-07
Reviewid: 147948Chapter: 1
Sad, but so realistic. I love the characterization--I feel like you got Draco's beliefs across perfectly, and Ginny's personality. Great story!

Reviewer: jweasleyDate: 2006-12-10
Reviewid: 146419Chapter: 1
This story is amazing. So is Rising From Ashes. And I mean amazing. As in one of the best things I've ever read ever. Please, please, please write more!!!

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144369Chapter: 1
Truly astonishing accuracy in the characterization of Draco, as I'm sure you've heard over and over. Doesn't hurt to have one more voice chiming in though. :D It's spot on. And quoting Romeo and Juliet at the end is a nice touch -- it makes the reader think a little bit as they "turn the page."

Reviewer: Violet WallerDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140708Chapter: 1
UHHH there better be more! That was great. Please cont.

Reviewer: einDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139284Chapter: 1
I know this is just another comment, just another fan. But honestly, how do you two do it? I honestly don't understand how you have made me actually feel *sorry* for Draco Malfoy. And even worse, you've made me feel like Harry Potter is a huge prat, which he is. Great, fantastic, utterly brilliant writing.

Reviewer: eienvineDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138076Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant. I simply adored the bit at the end of the Quidditch game, where we got to see Draco at his worst- it was a really, really insightful passage. I really enjoyed reading this.

Reviewer: Luz18Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137275Chapter: 1
This is very good. Is there no sequel??

Reviewer: GinOviaDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135951Chapter: 1
I've read quite a few "observer" stories, but this is definately one of the better ones. It's very detailed, and I place a lot of importance on detail. Great comparison with Romeo there as well! I love the very end, how one should not reach out for flames, and how Ginny is the flame he should not be wanting to touch. Great job!

Reviewer: kiraDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134660Chapter: 1
How fitting a title. I really like how you built up the story line. And, something I always found interesting, it's nice to see a story that shows the other side to the "bad guys". You should read Wicked by Gregory Maguire. It basically spells out how no one is truly good or evil. It's quite interesting as is your story. I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: maseDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133751Chapter: 1
Just so you know, this can really fit in well with canon, which is the best compliment that I can think of. :)

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131979Chapter: 1
That is so...sad. We all know poor Draco doesn't stand a chance. This totally supports my Snape theory. I may be--and probably am--totally wrong (and it kills me I have to wait so long to find out!) but I have a feeling that Snape is really working for the good guys and his reason has something to do with Lily. Can you picture a similar story involving Snape and Lily? In Snape's memory that Harry saw, Snape insulted Lily when she was trying to help him and something about your story reminded me of this. He has feelings he doesn't want to admit (even to himself) and can't seem to "stop being nasty for five seconds." That's a great line, BTW. I love how it really got Draco thinking. Your writing is great, what a team. I think my favorite part is when Draco is imagining telling Pansy he was in the broom shed with Ginny. I laughed out loud. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131940Chapter: 1
Wow! I love that perspective. Very well done.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130410Chapter: 1
I like this story! I like how you use a lot of details. I can't help but think that Draco has some like good in him, somewhere, now. lol. Keep writing, your excellent!

Reviewer: MaddyDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130323Chapter: 1
Is there a sequal to this story? I really liked it.

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129815Chapter: 1
yep. I'm reading them all sucka, so get used to reading my comments, lmao.

All I can say is..WOW! If I had read this before HBP and OOTP, this would've made total and complete sense. Completely canon. Which is what I LOVE about your writing style.

::hugs self::

Oh yes. Now on to the next.

::grins::

love and brownies

--Jessi

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128806Chapter: 1
That was such a beautiful story. I'm Harry/Ginny *all* the way, but now that I see it this way... well, let's just say that I'm still firmly rooted to H/G, but if D/G happened (which it won't), I won't be absolutely revolted, and I might even start to... like it after sometime. I loved how you both protrayed Draco. He was as in-character as possible, and yet doing something he considers impossible. I don't know how to explain it. All I know is that this story actually has me considering D/G, and I'll have to go on a H/G reading-spree to convince myself that they're really meant to be. lol. It's all good, though.

[After a moment, Ginny pulled herself away, threw both her arms into the air and hollered something unintelligible. Her face was alight with happiness – she shone at Potter. Her focus was entirely his. And Draco knew, with a nauseating thump of his gut, that the scene would not have been reversed had he himself caught the Snitch. Ginny wouldn’t be yelling for him – shining at him. She’d be cursing him for knocking Potter to the ground.]

Oh, God, that nearly had me in tears. I'm feeling *so* sorry for Draco now.

Wonderfully written. You guys have done an *amazing* job on it. I don't think anyone could have written it better. Absolutely splendid, and you guys should consider writing together more often.

~ DS, who is nearly in tears now.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128618Chapter: 1
I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the whole idea of just except the idea that it will never work out and admire from afar

Reviewer: aleciaDate: 2005-07-23
Reviewid: 127663Chapter: 1
are there anymore chapters to this story? its really good.

Reviewer: boomeriangDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126915Chapter: 1
GREAT! DO MORE

Reviewer: mister snufflesDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126861Chapter: 1
intresting. that's all I have to say.

Reviewer: Nikki the Slytherin PrincessDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126750Chapter: 1
Poor Draco. I'm a 99% Harry/Ginny, but seeing it from Draco's POV, Harry doesn't deserve Gin. He did ignore her for years, after all. I am in no way liking Draco/Ginny, tho. If it can't be H/G, then I like Harry w/o any1.

ANYWAY, I love how you wrote Draco. If he did fall in love with Gin, this is how I would see it...

Reviewer: NatsDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126602Chapter: 1
wow that was amazing! and even possible. You captured their characters really well and added a whole other dimension to the characters as we know them. I've never really liked any D/G fic before, but this was great! Fantastic writing, and a great joint effort! I need to read more!!!

Reviewer: Ninja_Thief08Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125788Chapter: 1
Lol. I loved it. Too bad Draco didn't have a chance with Ginny, you know a *real* chance. But I loved how you ended the story, not like every romance fic, haha. I also loved your writing style. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: IndigoNightOwlDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123250Chapter: 1
Assuming that they could have any "relationship" at all this is probably the most realistic version. Thanks for this brilliant story. :)

I've been trying to contact you, but so far I didn't have any luck. I'd like to write a translation if you both agree. If you read this, please let me know what you think.

Reviewer: ReesesPiecesDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122653Chapter: 1
Is there *more*? It's so good, so intriguing...I want to see what else happens!!!

Please, wonder-writers! Add MORE!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ShoelaceDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120847Chapter: 1
...wow , this is the best fic i've ever read ! You captured Draco and Ginny perfectly .This story was written so well that I am now convinced this can happen in canon. I'm completly blown away.It's perfect ! I want to read it again . How about a SEQUEL ? PLEASE ! I am now a Draco/Ginny shipper ,is that ok fellow quillers?

Reviewer: DayanaDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120743Chapter: 1
I just want you to know that you, Arabella, are my favorite Harry Potter writer on the face of the earth. I have recommended this story (as well as all of your other stories) to everyone I know and I can never get enough of your words. I enjoyed Rising from Ashes immensely as well, and I just want to tell you: thanks. Thank you for writing stories that keep me company on lonely nights.

Reviewer: !!!Date: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120672Chapter: 1
Great. Luv it

Reviewer: MarcellaDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119561Chapter: 1
I Loved it!One word FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119445Chapter: 1
*sigh* You continue to amaze me, tbe both of you. This story was just as amazing the second time through as it was the first and, I am sure, as it will be the third, fourth, etc. You have succeeded in making me do something I never thought I could do: feel sorry for Draco.
The quote at the end is perfect.

Reviewer: EmylzDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118448Chapter: 1
Once again, another BRILLIANT fic! I'm always so impressed with your fics; they always end so beautifully, leaving me with a sense of fullfilment. I guess that's the correct word to use. Heh! I especially loved the last part though, about reaching out to fire. I always wished I was a pyro, just so I could play with fire. I'm such a loser. But great fic; I look forward to reading more!

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118429Chapter: 1
Loved it - a quite convincing Draco actually, despite the fact he would never actually go for Ginny. I don't really get why you put the R&J quote at the end but *shrug* no matter!

Reviewer: TassiaDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116167Chapter: 1
This is the first fic that has EVER made me feel sorry for Draco. Nice job.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115427Chapter: 1
another long favourite. excellent!

Reviewer: Agnes BeanDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114872Chapter: 1
Wow. I think this is the only Ginny/Draco story I've read that really managed to keep them both in character. You've managed to make Draco a character the reader can empathize with, without compleatly changing him, which is impressive.

I also love the characterazation of Ginny, having her shrink away in front of Harry, it's so true to canon.

The writing in and of itself is also very nice. You two have a great feel for details that enliven the story. This was a fantastic read!

Reviewer: YevgeniyaDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112182Chapter: 1
Oh! I knew I had read it before when I read the first few parts and only now did I realize where! This is the alternative thingy to Rising Fro mthe Ashes! Anyways--great fic.

Reviewer: Michel ClayDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112094Chapter: 1
Amazing.

Reviewer: StephDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109507Chapter: 1
Wow! this was bloody brilliant! i loved the way draco was portrayed here.

Reviewer: JoeyDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108217Chapter: 1
Wow. Powerful. I never expected to like anything remotely resembling a D/G story, but this wasn't the typical 'ship story. Also never expected to empathise w/ Draco. Any sequel to this would have to veer from canon characters (which you stayed true to very well), but like everybody else here, I'm hoping to see more of this fanfic. Well done!

Reviewer: Cassandra ClaireDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107830Chapter: 1
Written

Disclaimer: This is another D/G story.


She lies face down on the bed. He dips the quill in the ink before he climbs on top of her, straddling her waist, his hands on either side of her back, light, as if he is measuring the span of her skin, calculating what words will fit, where the letters will go. He touches her hair, not roughly but with an almost professional detachment, drawing it away from the nape of her neck, tracing the downy furrows behind her ears with his fingertips. He leans forward and the nib of the quill settles in the hollow of her spine, as he says, "This might take a little while."

When she first began coming to his room at night he thought it must be a dream or a joke or perhaps a little of both. She came in so quietly, pushing his bedroom door open with her fingertips, and he sat up and stared at her, standing there in the doorway. She wore white pajamas and in the dim light they seemed to hang in the air, ghostly and untenanted. It was only when she came forward and sat on the bed that he saw her and recognized her: that red hair almost blood's precise color, the dark-lashed dark eyes, the unfortunate Weasley freckles. He had always thought she had an interesting little mouth. Her upper lip was thin but the lower one was full and marked as if she had just bitten it, although up close he could see that those marks were freckles too.

He had been rough with her that first night. Not knowing what he was doing, partly, and because he wanted to make sure. When she had come in he had thought, I am dreaming, and then wondered why he would dream her up, someone it had never occurred to him he might have wanted. She shivered as she sat on the end of the bed. It was always cold in the dungeon rooms: cold stone breeds cold hearts, as his father would have said. Despite the cold, Ginny slipped her pajama top over her head and then shook her hair out and down over her naked breasts and shivering skin, looking at him. Where her freckles ended her bare skin was the bluish color of skimmed milk.

"I have to be back in an hour," she said, as if they had had some sort of predetermined assignation which, he was fairly sure, they hadn't. He would have remembered something like that. "Or they'll look for me."

He told himself later that he had been quick because she had wanted him to be, but in fact he had been terribly excited as well as terribly worried that at any moment he might wake up. He felt as if he were racing the leading edge of wakefulness, his heart pounding; he drew her under him and was on her and inside her in seconds, burying his face in her shoulder, grabbing handfuls of her hair. He was far too excited to kiss her and in fact it didn't occur to him until later that kissing her might have been a plausible extension of what they were doing. The end, when it came, was like the onset of a malarial chill: he collapsed on top of her, shaking down to his bones, drenched in cold sweat.

"Thank you, Draco," she said, and sat up, pushing him gently off her. She retrieved her pajamas and left as noiselessly as she had come, leaving him staring after her in a sudden welter of bewildered fear. Perhaps this was some sort of trap?

For the rest of that night he did not sleep and the next day at breakfast he sought her out, staring across the room at the Gryffindor table. At first he thought she was not there. It was only when breakfast was nearly over that he realized she had been there the entire time, sitting next to Potter, only he had not recognized her, she seemed so ordinary, so nondescript, with her neat hair twisted into braids and her dark school robes.

When she rose from the table, she looked across the room and right through him as if he were invisible. She stumbled a little, getting up, and steadied herself on Potter's arm.

She didn't come back that night but she did come back the night after that. She wore the same white pajamas and again she came and knelt on the end of his bed and took off her clothes and sat there patiently in just her long hair and her white lace knickers with the blue bows on either side, looking at him. There was no expectancy in her gaze, only a sort of disinterested curiosity, as if she wondered what on earth he might do next, as if he actually had some sort of choice in the matter. She wore a gold chain around her throat and when he pulled her over and into his lap he saw that the charm on the end of it was shaped like a small gold quill.

The next day he saw her in the hallway, her arms full of books, looking at the assignment list pinned up on the wall outside Potions class. Her hair was knotted up at the back of her head with a quill thrust through it and there were ink spots on her white cuffs. He walked up to her and knocked the books out of her hands with a clatter. When she turned and looked at him he grinned at her nastily and she looked mildly surprised, as if she had caught Crabbe and Goyle reading French love poetry to one another under the Fluttering Ferns. Then she turned around and walked away, leaving her books in a heap at his feet.

That night when she came back he was waiting for her. He met her halfway across the room and caught her arm. "I didn't pick up your books," he hissed in her ear, shoving her back against the wall next to the dressing table. "I left them there."

"I know." She looked up at him, blank and calm. "Harry got them for me."

A little shiver of memory and hatred went through him at that and he almost turned her loose, but that would have seemed like losing. He pushed her up against the wall instead and had her that way, her legs locked around his waist, heels against the small of his back. "You'll fall down when you come," she said to him in a small, assured voice, and she was right. His knees buckled and he nearly dropped her. She didn't seem bothered. He assumed she hadn't been, because she came back again the next night, and the next night, and the next.

He guessed that she came every night that nothing happened to prevent her, although he couldn't be sure, as she never answered any of his questions and never acknowledged his presence in the halls. In fact, she barely spoke and made no noise during sex, no matter what he did, how he kissed her, how he varied the way he touched her, if he went slow or fast, if he spoke to her or if he didn't. Sometimes he held her so hard he knew there would be bruises later, and he searched for them during daylight hours with a fierce intent sort of appetite, but there was never anything there. He began to be sure that he was dreaming the whole thing, or that there were two of her, and both of them hated him.

It was her necklace that solved the problem in the end. One night she had arrived so late that he had nearly been asleep; she had crawled into the bed beside him and picked up his hands, sliding them up under her shirt. He was careless and messy this time, too tired to hold back, and at the ultimate moment he bit her shoulder, hard. When he let her go and fell back, she frowned. "I do wish you wouldn't mark me," she said, she said, tracing a thin fingertip over the half-circle indentation and he thought what it would be like to see that mark on her during the day and to know. "It's such trouble to charm them off," she said, and lay down with the pillow across her breasts, the gold charm gleaming in the hollow of her throat. He felt a faint unlocalized resentment, knowing he wanted to ask her to leave it, but that he wouldn't; it was a lover's mark, but they weren't lovers. The closest he had ever come to asking her for anything was not asking her to leave him alone.

When she fell asleep, he took his quill and wrote on the back of her freckled shoulder, his own signature, scribbled and probably illegible. He didn't quite understand the impulse that made him do it but Draco had been taught that his own whims were law, so that hardly mattered. He wrote just the surname, Malfoy, as if he were signing something he'd made. Ink got on his hands and he put his fingers in his mouth, sucking the ink away, nearly choking on the bittersweet acidic taste of it.

In the morning, when he woke up, she was gone, and there was a smear of ink on his pillow. He looked for her in the hallways again, and found her just before Arithmancy class, standing with a group of other girls near the statue of the humpbacked witch. The strap of her bag covered her shoulder, but when he walked by, he saw her look up and over at him, blinking, and he saw recognition in her eyes. The other girls stared.

When she got to his room that night she seemed agitated, working her hands together as she stood in front of the bed. "You wrote on me," she said. "How did you know to do that?"

"I don't know," he said.

"I used to write on myself," she said. "During class, and at night. I don't have a diary, so sometimes I forget things, if I don't write them down - to remind myself."

"Maybe you should get a diary, then."

"I'm not allowed one," she said.

He didn't ask her why. This was the most they'd ever said to each other. "I have more ink," he said.

She always undid her hair when she was naked, and undone it fell to her waist, patterning her white skin with a thousand hairline fissures. When she knelt at his feet she twisted her loose hair into a rope and pulled it forward so that it shawled down over her breasts. She put her hands on his hips, her mouth moving over him as he leaned down over her and wrote on the naked skin of her back with the black raven feather quill his father had given him.

Confusion and arousal made his hands shake. In the end, all he could think of was his Potions homework, and he wrote the ingredients on her, dragon's blood along the wingtip of her shoulder blade, vert and asphodel on her waist, belladonna along her spine, looping and curling the letters, taking as long as he could. He thought his stamina must have increased in the past weeks because this time when he came he did not fall down, although he did drop the quill and dent the nib of it, possibly beyond repair.

"I'll get you another quill," she said, "if you like," she said, and stood up and went naked over to the mirror above his dressing-table and twisted around and looked over her shoulder at herself, her arms above her head, lifting her hair away. "You have beautiful handwriting," she said, "although, I suppose, that's to be expected." She let her hair fall down then, covering what he had done. "Next time you'll write what I want you to write," she said.

"I write what I like," he said.

She smiled faintly. "Potions homework?" she said, and her tone was contemptuous.

When he saw her in the halls the next day she had her hair up, as usual, and because of that, when he passed her, he could see where the ink had rubbed itself off against the inside of her white shirt collar. It was as if he was looking at the bite marks he had left on her breasts, the faint fingertip bruises on the inside of her thighs, and he felt it like the spike of a fever. He was vaguely aware of Potter turning and looking at him, "Is there a problem, Malfoy?"

"I was just," Draco said, looking past him at Ginny, "trying to remember the ingredients in our Potions homework."

"Well, do it elsewhere," said Potter, and weeks ago this would have been enough to send Draco into an hour-long transcendent sulk over how much he hated Harry Potter and everything do to with him, but now it didn't seem that important. He certainly knew something Potter didn't know, which was a nice change of pace at any rate.

When she came that night she seemed cross at first. "You shouldn't stare at me in the hallway," she said. "It upsets Harry."

She was wearing a nightgown this time, made of thin blue batiste with pink smocking, and there were ribbons on the end of her braids. "And it wouldn't upset him if he knew I was fucking his girlfriend every night?" he said, with more curiosity than rancor, undoing the buttons that held the straps of the nightgown up. They were tiny and he had to work at them with his fingernails.

"That ink ruined my pajamas," she said. The nightgown fell away and she was naked in front of him. The words he had inked on her the night before were not quite gone; they remained on her skin, faint as the ghosts of old bruises. "And Harry's not my boyfriend. I hope that doesn't wreck some fantasy of yours."

"I'm not bothered about his love life," Draco said. He drew her down with him onto the floor where he had left his quill and ink bottle; he pulled her onto his lap and kissed her breasts and stomach while she tugged the ribbons out of her hair and let it fall around them both in strands of damp and static silk. She bit on his hand when he came inside her and she wanted to move but he wouldn't let her, even though the tension of stillness made his hands shake. He almost dropped the quill into the ink bottle, and it bled red-black drops on him when he lifted it. She locked her hands behind his head and shivered as he wrote on her, mapping her skin with words, the first words that came into his head. Gryffindor, he wrote, and Slytherin, and a time when and once there was. He stopped only when he ran out of space to write; he dropped the quill and let her move, she came almost instantly, and so did he, partially out of astonishment: he had never seen her so excited.

They fell back on the floor and he held her while her shivers faded; she smelled of sex and sweat and ink and paper, as if she were a page of pornography come to life. The thought made him grin into her shoulder, soundlessly amused. When she could breathe, she said, "We've knocked the ink bottle over."

"I can get more ink," he said. "And next time, you can write on me."

She sat up as if he had smacked her, and drew away from him. "No," she said. "I won't do that."

"Why not?"

"I won't write on other people," she said. "I'm afraid."

"That's ridiculous," he said.

"I won't do it," she said, and retrieved her nightgown and left, leaving him sitting on the floor with his quill and ink all over him. He had used red ink but in the dimness, like blood, it looked black. The words he had written on her had rubbed off on him when he'd held her, a reversed copy, back to front. He had to read them in the mirror, having forgotten what it was he'd written, Once there was a girl.

The next day he could not find her in the halls, or the day after that, and when he did see her again, several days later, she did not look at him at all. She was with Potter; there was nothing he could do, and nothing he could think of to do even if she weren't. Her hands were scrubbed clean and her neck and her eyes when they passed over him were blank. He went down to his room after that, and kicked the ink bottle against the wall, but later, just in case, he took another one from his desk in Potions class and brought it down to the dungeon.

When she came that night he was sitting on the floor, holding the ink bottle up to the light. He saw her first through it, a wavering dim shape, tinted faintly blue. When he lowered the bottle he saw that she was standing in the middle of the room, her hand twisted in the chain around her throat. "I read what you wrote," she said, "what you wrote on me - is that really what you think? Is that what you think I'm like, what my life is like?"

"I don't know what your life is like," he said. "You never told me. It was just a story."

"But that girl," she said. "She was me. Or was she another girl you know?"

"You're the only girl I've ever really known," he said. This was true. His father had not encouraged him to befriend girls or to know them, and sleeping with them was not particularly encouraged either as it could cause unpleasant sorts of scandal, although such things were Never Discussed, so Draco was not entirely sure what his father was worried about; it wasn't as if he didn't know about contraceptive charms. "It was a story," he said again.

She took another step into the room, and another, and then knelt down next to him, and took the ink bottle out of his hand. She put it down on the bed, her eyes on him. "Maybe I want to know what happens," she said. "In the story."

He looked at her. He could see himself reflected in the pupils of her eyes as if she held an image of him there, trapped inside her head. "Why me?" he said. "Why me in the first place?"

"Why not you?" she said. She had begun to undo her pajama top; he knew this gesture of hers so well now, knew how many buttons there were and that she always fumbled the third one. "You can guess why you, can't you?"

"I'd guess wrong," he said. "It wouldn't be the truth."

She shrugged the pajama top off and folded it, put it behind her and turned her back on him. "No," she said. "It would be a story." She looked back over her shoulder at him, and he thought he saw her smile through the fine net of her hair. "Tell it to me," she said.

He picked up the quill from the pillow, smoothed its feathers with his hand. "Lie down, then," he said, and when she did, her face on her crossed arms, he thought of the way she had walked past him in the hall all those days, not looking at him, saying nothing, and all the words he had wanted to say and hadn't said. Every insult he'd ever wanted to shout at Potter, every question he'd wanted to ask his father and been too afraid to do it. All those words he'd swallowed down all his life, and where did they all go? He'd thought he'd lost them forever but perhaps not; perhaps they had been waiting -- as he had waited for her, as she, he now knew, had waited for him.

She lies face down on the bed. He dips the quill in the ink before he climbs on top of her, straddling her waist, his hands on either side of her back, light, as if he is measuring the span of her skin, calculating what words will fit, where the letters will go. He touches her hair, not roughly but with an almost professional detachment, drawing it away from the nape of her neck, tracing the downy furrows behind her ears with his fingertips. He leans forward and the nib of the quill settles in the hollow of her spine, as he says, "This might take a little while."

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107771Chapter: 1
Amazing fic. So real to canon. I'm not a Draco/Ginny person but D/G is............. so interesting to think about. Hmmmm....... Great, great fic.

Reviewer: MollyDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106889Chapter: 1
Wow. This was such an amazing story! I'm actually crying right now. I tend to cry at a lot of stories though. It was really good. I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106148Chapter: 1
For the first time in life, i actually feel sorry for Malfoy. Even though cannon malfoy is too arrogant and ignorant to care for ginny, this story is way to cool! I love how you describe ginny, and ugh stupid stupid Harry!! he seriously does not deserve ginny!....oh well, i'm still a H/G at heart. Keep writing, come on lets have sequel!!!

Reviewer: RabbitDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106087Chapter: 1
*growls* Update. Now.

Very nice, actually. He didn't become instantly entranced. And she's not gorgeous, like other people tend to do to her.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106083Chapter: 1
That was an amazing take on the Ginny/draco situation that I've never seen before. I loved it you guys, keep it up!

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105988Chapter: 1
This story was positively marvelous! I loved every word of it! I just can't believe how well written it is. I truly believe that it is the richest and most colourful 'thread' on the entire web site! Please, please, PLEASE don't stop writing together. I (and everyone else that ever read this story, i'm sure) BEG you! Thank you soooo much.

Reviewer: CaleonDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105837Chapter: 1
Excellent. I love the way you make Draco SEETHE. Very IC!

Reviewer: PlancksDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104583Chapter: 1
wow!! this is a GREAT story! and you just put it so briliantly! one can´t even desagree with it. I agree on the point that Ginny would never really care for Draco, but I´d never thought on the way round. it makes it seem really possible. congratulations, you´re a great writer!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103610Chapter: 1
Ack!! You can't end it here! Just when I was really falling in love with this story, it stops. *sigh* Oh well. It was absolutely fabulous while it lasted. Awesome job :)

Reviewer: KayDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102959Chapter: 1
How the hell do i get to the next fucking chapter?!

Reviewer: CaitieDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102945Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I have to say that this was one of the best fanfictions I have ever read. No other story has kept Draco so perfectly in character while insinuating the undeniable infatuation he has with Ginny. It could fit right in with the books. I'm just completely blown away. The story reveals Draco's point of view wonderfully. Why he says certain things, why he loathes the main characters so much, and how, even though most of the time he is an insufferable git, he does appreciate and reward some things that Harry has never taken the time to even notice. I have to thank you for creating such a meaningful story for Harry Potter fanatics (like me) to enjoy!

Reviewer: dragongirlgDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101026Chapter: 1
What a brilliant fic! I love how you leave it open-ended. This is so well-written - it flows really smoothly, Draco's characterization is perfect, all his comments about Ginny and the other Gryffindors; Ginny's characterization is excellent. Just, wow. This is really, really excellent. Yay for the Shakespeare reference, and very appropriate title. Congratulations on writing such an awesome piece!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100020Chapter: 1
Alright, now that's just not fair. I'm such an H/G lover, so when a friend of mine recommended this story I was hesitant, to say the least. But then I had this nagging voice in my brain saying "It's Arabella's, so it's got to be fantastic". I was right, it was utterly fantastic, and now I'm afraid I'm going to have a bit of a soft spot for Draco/Ginny now. Both of you captured the characters so beautifully, you deserve all the praise you receive.

Reviewer: ronnieDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98942Chapter: 1
this is a great fic! i loved how realistic the characters were!

Reviewer: cliodne/camiDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98185Chapter: 1
*sigh* it was very good, but the ending sort of leaves a reader unsatisfied. I guess I was hoping that Draco would have asked Ginny to the dance, or that Harry would ask Ginny...but I guess that wasn't the point, was it? The point was devotion. Any sequels perhaps?? =)

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98164Chapter: 1
I must say that I love this story so far. Draco is portrayed perfectly, I don't think he's out of character at all. Your writing is very good as well. I'd really love to read more. :)

Reviewer: lindenDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98126Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so utterly heart breaking. When I first began, I thought it wasn't possible for Ginny to be so dependant, but as the story continued, everything seemed so completely plausible that I was captivated. It was absolutely gorgeous and the title jut brought it all together. Thankyou for an exquisite read.

Reviewer: C-chanDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98006Chapter: 1
Just yesterday I was wondering if it was possible for anyone to write a D/G fic without them both living happily ever after. I mean, when I'm in the mood for it (as opposed to my normal H/G), I rarely read anything to satisfy that feeling I have. Mostly due to the fact that it's hard to find good fics on ff.net, so I refuse to look at all.

Anyhoo, As much as I sometimes love this ship, I know that, canonically, it just isn't possible. So it is nice, just this once, to see D/G without them ending up together in an impossible way.

Reviewer: TulzdavampslayerDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97491Chapter: 1
hey, that was awesome. and kinda how it would work with draco, too. good job guys! i really liked it.

Reviewer: Evan TintleDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97442Chapter: 1
AWESOME. Wow, I've never supported D/G, and this was just written so convincingly. Everyone stays in character the entire time. Well done!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96652Chapter: 1
Great! I'm not even much of a fan of Draco and Ginny together. However, you used some really great description, which really caught my eye. Alot of the smaller things you added really helped the story leap out. Great job.
~Katie

Reviewer: shariDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96398Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Draco as fanfic has not portrayed him. Explains so clearly why he cannot win a Quidditch match. Everything he accuses Potter of, he does- going after Cedric's leftovers, and yet he goes after Potter's unwanteds.
Ginny in this is brilliant- fiery, passionate, and believable. It's amazing the sides we can have, and what love can provoke in us; what girl has not gone unnoticed, or changed when she was with a guy, into what she thought he wanted.
Attraction springing from hatred is so believable here- he respects her because she is able to stand up to him- to dismiss him. And it is so believable that someone who considers himself the prince, should be fascinated by this unusual reaction. And i love that while he becomes more drawn into her, she is ...not into him. IT's not one of those- they suddenly looked at eachother and knew fics. I like that they are at different stages in liking each other. And she would have so said no.
Can't wait to see what happens at the ball.
You had better write what happens at the ball.
You had better write more of this.
Seriously.
This is very good. SO i'm waiting for an update.

Reviewer: AzkabellaDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96153Chapter: 1
AHHHHHHHHHH! So good!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94591Chapter: 1
Whoa. That was incredible. You capture characters so well! I'm in awe of your talents. Malfoy is an interesting character (despite his Darkly Dandified ways), and I'm looking forward to reading more about him. Again, this is excellent!

Reviewer: new fanDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93517Chapter: 1
wow- I can't even- this so amazing! I started reading HP ff only a few weeks ago and since then have been in a sort of stupor, reading into the late night... it's stories like this one that go beyond JK's world and so much deeper into the characters that make it all worthwhile. Perfect, flawless characterization of Draco. Beautiful prose. What more can I say?

Reviewer: Daphne23Date: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93396Chapter: 1
I was very pleasantly surprised by this fic. I have never read a D/G story I enjoyed before, and deliberately set out to find one to read for the Unexpected Task on FA. I was impressed by the way you managed to show Draco's growing attraction to Ginny while still keeping him IC, and the way he kept on noticing her, focusing slightly more on her each time. It was good to see that his character was kept very close to the character we know from canon, while fleshing him out a bit as the fic was from his viewpoint. Ginny was well-written too, and although OoTp shows her to be more forthright, especially where Harry's concerned, I still think this is a good characterisation of her based on the evidence from the first four books. I loved Draco's view of the other Weasleys - 'grotesquely duplicated' and many of his other thoughts on the twins were hilarious. And thank you for not going overboard on the 'forbidden love' thing, which is one reason why I find so many D/G fics hard to stomach - the brief quote from 'Romeo and Juliet' at the end was enough.

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93343Chapter: 1
wow! i like this story a lot! it's very descriptive which is of course, very good! of course i'm a real sap for love stories, and i have a feeling this is definately going to turn into one. are you going to continue writing it? its wonderful and i would love to see you write more

Reviewer: TaylorDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93175Chapter: 1
I've been hearing about this story for ages, and now that I've read it I've gotta say it completely lives up to the hype. It was really fun to read. Not that bad!Draco is really cool.

Reviewer: CamiDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 93012Chapter: 1
Gah, lovely work so far! I love the connection with how Pansy treats Draco and how Ginny treats Harry. Clever way of tying the two things together. Anyway, I'd love to read more. <3.

Reviewer: MockingbirdDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92365Chapter: 1
Very nice, very IC. Good job.

Reviewer: Rana EresseaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92013Chapter: 1
Lovely fanfic! Wow, I'm not even a fan of D/G, but you've fleshed out these two characters brilliantly, unlike a good deal of people who don't. It was the title that actually drew me in; a good title unsually entitles a good story, because if the author put enough thought into naming it, you know they put the same amount of thought into writing it. Amazing, really. Just wonderful!

Reviewer: HanDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91481Chapter: 1
This is great! Could I translate it into Chinese? So that more people could read your story. Would that be all right for you?(Of course I will put you two are the authors and I will give you the link once I post it on line).
Looking forward to you reply.^^

Reviewer: AphroditeDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90492Chapter: 1
Perfect. The best one-sided D/G story ever written.

Reviewer: igo2hogwartsDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90431Chapter: 1
Wow, that was really good. I don't support Draco/Ginny, but this almost made me want to! Great characterization, you portrayed Draco SO perfectly. The only bad thing about this story was that it ended! Please continue it or make a sequel, if you can.

Reviewer: shannanDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90104Chapter: 1
Great characterisation. Both of you are very talented writers and everything I espire to be. You should really continue it. The only thing I can add for the sake of constructive criticism is what another reviewer said, have him not think about how much he hates that Potter kid all the time. Most of the time he can think about that, but letting him have some idle thoughts makes it more believable. Perhaps you could draw the fic out to about say, seven chapters?

Reviewer: Donna Irene MohrDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90101Chapter: 1
Ok, you've got me hooked. The characterisation of Draco is spot-on. This is the first fic I've read from Draco's point of view that is actually in character. I assume this was written along time ago, before OOTP. I can't believe I'm just reading it now. I really urge you to write a sequel. Please, I can't stand not knowing what's going to happen next. It's interesting how, in a way,Pansy is his Ginny. I wonder if Pansy is any different when she's not around Draco.

Reviewer: TabithaDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89264Chapter: 1
i've read a few of your stories and i just wanted to say that i love them. you are a very good writer.

Reviewer: Sylver-AjahDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89237Chapter: 1
Wow. That was really unnerving. I don't even know if you reply/see these reviews, but I don't care. That was a very interesting take...it all made so much SENSE. It was like footnotes of why Draco does everything that he does...excellent stories like these really make me hate J.K. for not going more in-depth when it comes to characters other than Harry. I mean, yes, it opens up many new holes for fanfiction writers....but still. Harry is just so...uninteresting?
Anywho, amazing job on this, and I'm going to be up all night reading your stories.

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88782Chapter: 1
Wow, that was really something, wasn't it? It was really good. I love how you've portrayed Draco so realistically. Well, we obviously don't know what Draco is really like. What I mean is that you've made him a real person, not some tortured pretty boy or some hellraiser. His feelings are genuine and relatable, not fluffy and cliched. Great job.

Reviewer: erkisDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87840Chapter: 1
oooooooooh wow... that was so great!that he can never have her is the most intriguing part! i love it!

Reviewer: LonelySilverWolfDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87234Chapter: 1
This was beautiful. It explains exactly why Draco hates Harr and makes you sympathize for him! The added 'romance' with Ginny makes it better. He's jealous, but doesn't know it!

Reviewer: xx-blue-xxDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86716Chapter: 1
this fic is fantastic! it actually made me like malfoy >__< and the ending is good, it wasn't far-fetched, like malfoy and ginny becoming a couple or anything, it stayed true to the fact that the malfoys and weasleys will never really like each other or get together.. very well done!! =)

Reviewer: Rebecca JJDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86540Chapter: 1
Nice. Veeerrrry nice.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86410Chapter: 1
Brilliant.
Are you gonna finish it? i hate waiting!

Reviewer: Rosalind OaksDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84992Chapter: 1
Bloody hell, nobody writes Draco like Arabella and Jedi B. All hail the Draco queens. Who knew he had depth?

Reviewer: MyriahDate: 2004-05-21
Reviewid: 83893Chapter: 1
Write more! This is a great story and should really be continued by the original author. Two thumbs up!

Reviewer: BarquentineDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82958Chapter: 1
Havent got the time to right a long review.
Just wanted you to know I really liked this story, it was great.
WELL DONE!

Reviewer: THAT WUZ..........................AWESOME!!!!!!!!!Date: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82381Chapter: 1
THIS...........IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO...............PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!............EVERYONE..........IS POTRAYED SUPERBLY............JKR COLDN'T HAVE DONE BETTER.................IT SOUNDS LIKE U KNEW THIS BUNCH UR WHOLE LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!...................BYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEE!................WHY DON'T WE DUH REVIEWERS START AN ARABELLA............FANSITE HUH?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81609Chapter: 1
I think that you should write another part to this. Please! I want something between them to happen, anything!

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81471Chapter: 1
That was amazing! I love it!

Reviewer: romeeDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81255Chapter: 1
awww...i'm feeling sorry for draco now :(
Great story!

Reviewer: LamielDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79137Chapter: 1
I'd like to inform you that I've just very recently managed to cure myself of the Fanfic Draco/Ginny Disease - because even then I was well aware that there was no way it's going to happen in canon, which is just as well really - and that my reluctant admission that H/G will happen is only due to OotP.

Now I'm going to tell that it's a wonderfully-written story, but what should I have expected from the both of you? Surely one of the best Hogwarts Tour one has ever imagined.

Reviewer: HelenaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78659Chapter: 1
This was really well done; I really enjoyed the ending, even if I would have preferred to have them get together. Brilliant.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77231Chapter: 1
Oh! I love it! XD

Reviewer: HattieDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77046Chapter: 1
wow! cool story! i really liked it! you should write more together, you obviously work really well as a team!

Reviewer: Evil WhimseyDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75425Chapter: 1
What amazing fun. My favorite fics are those where writers take implausibile situations and convince the reader through sheer good characterization.

"Draco slammed open the locker room door, wondering how difficult it would be to drown himself in the shower. "

I had to get up and walk away at that line; the timing and the voice was too perfect, and I was laughing too hard.

Then, with the ending quote, I sobered right up. Because although Draco may have aspirations to something better, the wheels of this tragedy (ie, Draco following the Malfoy path, and the ensuing life of bitterness) have already gotten their momentum. It seems the predictable outcome is the inevitable one, in regards to him.

Nice, nice work.

Reviewer: CaitieDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74451Chapter: 1
I don't see it happening. The story was well written and a good read, but I don't see it as realistic. At best, Draco would enjoy the insults they shared. But as soon as it went past that, it just didn't work. He scorns her family much too much for any sort of romance to develop between them.
The story was well done, though. It was descriptive and focused on Draco's thoughts more than on the action. I loved the way it was done.

Reviewer: ?Date: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74261Chapter: 1
I can't stand Ginny. She's an annoying brat. "Do you ever stop being nasty for five seconds?" she asked simply, still looking at him. What was *that* supposed to be? Was that supposed to be some kind of stunning insult or comeback or something because, I'm sorry, but it was really LAME.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --