The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Huh
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: you-know-whoDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134410Chapter: 1
i love a wrinkle in time, it's my favorite book, but my best friend gets all embarassed when i mention it cuz her name's meg and she has a crush on a guy at our school named calvin.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124281Chapter: 1
*jaw drops* The likenesses are amazing. I haven't read A Wrinkle in Time in so long... wow. Right down to lots of siblings and having no money!

Cute storyline as well.

Reviewer: meghanDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105129Chapter: 1
There last name is Murrary. Charles Wallace is a double first name. So It's Meg Murrary not Meg Wallace. other that, great parallel!

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104524Chapter: 1
Yes, someone ELSE noticed how similar the characters in A Wrinkle In Time are to Ron, Hermione, and Harry. The entire time I was reading it I was like its Harry Potter!

Good story btw =)

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99334Chapter: 1
damn.

been years since I read that book.

and damn. good point. way too many similarities.

or maybe its just something about tall red heads, big family, no money.

ending up with smart women.

lol.

Reviewer: DorianDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98184Chapter: 1
Yay! I love stories where the dialogue feels right. I can really picture Hermione and Ron saying these things, especially Hermione getting all excited about a book like that. Great job!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95954Chapter: 1
That was cool. Maybe I should read that book, lol.

*Geena

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95160Chapter: 1
I just read this twice and I loved it. I read the book, A Wrinkle in Time, a couple years ago, and for some reason, I liked Calvin. I couldn't explain it, I just did. Now, though, you drew all these parallels and I can see why. :)

Ron's my favorite character, and you got both him and Hermione down perfectly. I loved the "until Harry gets his lazy bum out of bed" bit.

Reviewer: RaneDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95125Chapter: 1
I absolutely adore A Wrinkle in Time! I'd never really thought about it, but the paralells you pointed out are definately there. This was a very nice, well-written story.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 82983Chapter: 1
You should write parody. Real, full-length parody. Your writing style lends itself to it.

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60199Chapter: 1
Vox,
KEWL. I haven't read 'A Wrinkle in Time' but I just might... The parallels (from what I have read here) are very close, especially Ron/Calvin. And, of course, we know, even without you saying, that Meg and Calvin get together in the end. Girly stuff, even though the main theme of the noval may not be girly. Great job, and thanx.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Alice Fomr WOnderlandDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56025Chapter: 1
Wow! I'ver read a Wrinkle in Time, but I've never compared it to the HP books before: and it IS like them! lol!

Reviewer: Paige K-er, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51273Chapter: 1
VoxMaille,
Very sweet.. Ron's so clueless... So in love.. Ergh. I despise R/H but this was amazingly written anyways... Glad I got you as my beta! I've never read A Wrinkle in Time but I just might thanks to this... Kind of like what I do when I want someone to leave me alone. I start talking about Geograpy but you don't want to see me when I'm reading HP and want to be left alone... full fledged report coming right up.

Paige Knorr er, I mean, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50604Chapter: 1
hee.
i might go reread that now.
its sitting on a bookshelf SOMEWHERE in my house..
i havnt read it since, like, 3rd grade, and i remember not liking it....
maybe i'll read it.
maybe.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50200Chapter: 1
That was a very cute story. hehe.
You're right, the characters are sort of different in A Wrinkle In Time, but this was the cutest story anyway.
:)
I like the ending too.

Reviewer: tixDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43357Chapter: 1
I had enjoyed Bbennet's fic years ago.

I like this fic for the same reasons: fictional characters discussing fictional characters and finding parallelisms between the fictional and non fictional life.

Actually nothing is real: Ron and Hermionre do not exist, they exist in a book.
Your Ron and your Hermione do not exist as well: they are your idea of the original characters, but only JKR will decide whether they are as you see them, or whether their destiny is to change, come closer or move apart...

And the parallelism is unreal too: yes because they discuss it but they don't know they are discussing their possible fate, they can't recognise themselves in the story that fascinates the girl so much she feel forced to read it eight or nine times.

So, what's real? Well, for once, to make postmodernist nutters happy, us, the readers. Or better, a tribe of the union of clans in fandom: those who like R/Hr and think this is the possible subplot appearing and diving through the series.

I don't know book, but I don't care: I trust you.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41538Chapter: 1
*giggles* That's absolutely adorable, that is.

I'm going to have to go reread _A Wrinkle In Time_ now.
And all the other ones, too! You know, I always adored
Meg and Calvin, but I hadn't really thought about how
Calvin -is- sort of like Ron. That's brilliant, that
is. ^^

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 39026Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so cute...I think I've read it before, but haven't reviewed it. Sorry.

I LOVE that book.

This story's so cute, I love it so much, thank you for writing it, even if you did write it ages ago!!

~Meghan ^_^

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 38951Chapter: 1
I read 'A Wrikle in Time' and I didn't think that for a second. I thought Calvin was blonde *ahhhhhhhhh* But,from the way you say it it's like Harry Potter and the Wrinkle in Time.

Reviewer: narcissaDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35371Chapter: 1
oh wow!!! i never even THOUGHT to compare hp to a wrinkle in time, but there ABSOLUTELY ALIKE!!!! man, AWESOME writing! ++luved the "tall skinny redhead with a million bro's and sis's, that was cute++

Reviewer: VoxMDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31067Chapter: 1
It *is* Martin. But why would Hermione care enough to get it right? Comic books aren't REAL reading. . .? ;)

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30979Chapter: 1
Huh - are you sure you weren't channelling me? That sounds just like me when I start talking about my favourite books. I talk faster and faster and no-one can shut me up.

I adore your short fics. Only read two so far, but hey - looking forward to reading the rest. They're very in character, and they make me laugh - exceedingly important.

I love Harry getting his 'lazy bum out of bed.'

I love the adolescent fascination with pestering, especially pestering people who are trying to READ!

hey - is it Marvin Miggs or Martin Miggs? Martin sounds more correct, but I don't have the books to hand.

On to read more of your stuff. Please write more! (I'll give you a chocolate frog if you do!)

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28441Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I never noticed the similarities before (although Calvin is my favorite character from A Wrinkle in Time and Ron from Harry Potter), and now I don't understand how I could have possibly missed it. Bloody brilliant.

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23784Chapter: 1
That was cool! I never really noticed the similarities between those two books, but now that I think about it, it's painfully obvious. I love Ron too, and you've got his personality down perfectly. You're an excellent writer, and I hope you post more stories here soon!

Reviewer: angellindaDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20280Chapter: 1
hehe. I liked it. very cute.

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19773Chapter: 1
this is great!! it inspired me to read the! i saw it a while ago in our school library- so now i'll read it- thanx!!! NOW PLEASE WRITE MORE!!!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19599Chapter: 1
ooh, the shame of having read this at least twice without leaving a review.
I can't ever thing of anything to say...except that I love AWiT, and am
amazed I missed the parallels--which is why you're a talented writer, and
I'm...uh...just a slacker (; Really cute story (:

Reviewer: BBennettDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11319Chapter: 1
This was delightful! Great job with the comparision - I hadn't thought about it before (although I just re-read this last year :), but parts really do match up nicely, don't they? The dialog was terrific, and I loved Ron's thoughts/not-thoughts. Wonderful, wonderful job, Vox.

And thank you for the 'Yay!' in the beginning. You're too nice. :)

Reviewer: DonnaDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11259Chapter: 1
What a clever little story. I loved that book, too and it is clever how you managed to find parallels. I hadn't thought of the similarities between Ron and Calvin before but they fit. The many siblings, the poverty, the uncertainty as to how he fits in the story and the love interest with the girl. Very good.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11217Chapter: 1
Pure and simple fun. Great fic.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11204Chapter: 1
Oh, how sweet! The wording was so very Ron, and the plot was nice and sweet. It's been ages since I last read that book, and I want to go find it now... :)

Reviewer: TamaraDate: 2002-11-13
Reviewid: 9014Chapter: 1
I love this story. A Wrinkle in Time was one of my favorite stories when I was Hermione's age, and the parallels are there! ;)

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2002-11-04
Reviewid: 8131Chapter: 1
Hey, I've never seen that connection before, and I really should have. Cute.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-09-30
Reviewid: 5025Chapter: 1
I've been trying to find this story for three days now! I just finished AWIT for the first time and remembered reading your story a month or so ago, so I had to find it to see the parallels you put forth. I like how you compared Harry to Charles Wallace and the brotherly feelings Hermione feels towards Harry. And I loved this part: "Ron decided to employ a classic technique in the self-entertainment repertoire of bored adolescent boys. He decided to pester someone, namely Hermione. Interestingly, pestering was also a classic technique in the repertoire of adolescent boys who weren’t bored so much as—absolutely nothing in particular, if people wouldn’t mind keeping their noses out of things that didn’t concern them, thank you very much." People sometimes get so down on Ron, and how he is just wrong for Hermione because he's so immature, well, it's because he's only 14 and yes, immature! That's how I knew a boy liked me or one of my friends if we were pestered by them. Very well written, and a fun and clever ending!

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1823Chapter: 1
Hee!! Aww, that was just wonderful. :) Honestly, I missed TWO of your stories while I was.. gone. That can just NOT happen. After all, you're one of my three all time favourite authors. :) Hmm. Maybe I should actually read A Wrinkle in Time. We had to read it in.. 5th grade, and I didn't like it at all. :P ::giggles:: This was just so cute!

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1616Chapter: 1
VoxMaille, first, thank you for inspiring me to read Wrinkle in Time again for the first time since I was 9. Second, thank you for an adorable story. I love the things that Ron is constantly NOT thinking, and the things he is thinking:

Ahh, this was turning out to be a very fine pester indeed.

:giggles:

Angua

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 739Chapter: 1
I love "A Wrinkle in Time" as well! I haven't thought of it in years, but now that you mention it... I always did love Calvin. I think I have to go back and read them now. YOU have such an excellent grasp of all these characters that I feel just like I'm reading an excerpt from canon.

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 640Chapter: 1
Oh, that is so sweet! It's so perfect that Hermione likes "A Wrinkle in Time." That does seem like her kind of book, doesn't it? :)

Reviewer: MistralDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 609Chapter: 1
Aw, VoxM, that was sweet! And you're right, Ron absolutely needs to read that book, so he can see that even "ordinary" people can be special.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --