The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Charmed Memories
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: Grace (Laurel)Date: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130368Chapter: 1
THANK YOU for writing about Neville. I don't think people (in the books and in the real world both) really understand or appreciate him that much. This was well-written and real-sounding. Good job!!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77828Chapter: 1
Oh, goodness. That was so beautiful, Soupytwist, but I'm crying, now. I think you may have gotten everything right. I don't know what to say... it was perfectly done.

Reviewer: percivalDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19365Chapter: 1
I particularly like the strong setup. You describe the Longbottom's actions very sparsely, but
the reactions of the people who were at the scene conveys the full horror what has happened.
And his terrified face being so memorable - that says more than a detailed description.

percival

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15325Chapter: 1
that was really good! and now we know y neville is...well... so out of it... i really like it. GOOD WORK

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7692Chapter: 1
Wow. A wonderful Neville-fic. I think I've seen this idea before, but never done so well. Great job.

Reviewer: katDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4840Chapter: 1
I LOVE it!!!
bravo!
great neville fic!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2108Chapter: 1
Short and poignant. The result was bone-chilling. Great work.

Reviewer: CirceeDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2089Chapter: 1
*sob* Neville! Oh, the image of baby-Neville under the table, so quiet that nobody noticed him and so scared...Siriusly, I've got tears in my eyes...poor Neville. Poor Aurors who found him.

Excellent details, by the way! The trampled garden, the half-finished supper. You pack a lot in for only five-hundred words!

Reviewer: SparrowChildDate: 2002-08-07
Reviewid: 1208Chapter: 1
Bravo. My hats off to you. this is an excellent and poignent story.

Reviewer: Lucy RavenclawDate: 2002-08-07
Reviewid: 1207Chapter: 1
Bless poor, dear Neville's heart. Your story's brevity makes it all the more powerful.

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1199Chapter: 1
Very well done. So so sad...

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1172Chapter: 1
Wow, Katie, you managed to get some really powerful writing in here! It contains such strong emotions, feelings.

You did a wonderful job, and I'm glad you archived it here. :)

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1170Chapter: 1
Very good! It's surprisingly difficult to write short-short stories. Excellent use of the one-sentence paragraph; chilling!

Reviewer: tigerlilyDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1169Chapter: 1
Wow, I can't believe that was only 500 words. This is one of those times when less is so much more.

I loved the too-human reacions of the aurors. You have to wonder if they would have insisted on memory alteration if it wasn't the son of one of their own. A great story.

tigerlily

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1166Chapter: 1
Wow, Katie, you managed to get some really powerful writing in here! It contains such strong emotions, feelings.

You did a wonderful job, and I'm glad you archived it here. :)

Reviewer: SinbinDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1158Chapter: 1
Oh Katie. That was so sad. Poor Neville.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1138Chapter: 1
You got this in, bravo! You know I think this is absolutely gripping. A short piece, but you managed to convey such a powerful sense of loss. It conveyed the true senselessness of the act. Again, I really liked the paragraph about the capture of the DE's; the way the Aurors thought the excessive use of force was justified. Like I said before, it's different when it's one of your own. I am so glad you decided to 'Quill' this! :)

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1130Chapter: 1
I always thought it must have been something like that. Bravo on an excellent interpretation. Poor Neville...

Reviewer: PinkpantherDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1115Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. It does seem to explain a lot about poor Neville.

Reviewer: AlannaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1113Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this -- you managed to fit some powerful moments and great dialogue into only 500 words. I commend you! You had a lot of really snappy lines -- "It was a full two hours before anyone remembered that the Longbottoms had a son," "
A few weeks later one of the Aurors, an old friend of the Longbottoms’, would kill himself. No-one would ever be certain whether it was because he’d arrived too late or too early, after his friends had lost their minds but before they were granted the release of death," and "They did, however, all remember exactly what Neville’s face looked like when they found him hiding in the dining room, under a table still laden with a half-eaten supper" were a few of my favorites.

Wonderful work. You're really talented, along with ROXing. ;D

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1112Chapter: 1
Oh, poor, poor, poor Neville!

I've loved this piece from the moment you posted it on your LJ. Such a plausible explanation for Neville's "condition." Also, your writing is very mature, and you handle the pathos extremely well. Kudos!

Reviewer: TheRealMaraJadeDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1107Chapter: 1
That was really nice, soupy, even if a little small! :) I've wondered about Neville's forgetfulness as well, and also came up with the conclusion that someone must have used an Obliviate spell to make him forget that faithful night when his parents were attacked by the Death Eaters...

But that's not about my fic, but yours. I liked how you made us believe how HORRIBLE everything must have been by telling that one of their friends killed himself in grief (even if a bit overdramatic, I think this kind of situation could make such thing happen), and how everyone was so startled by the Longbottoms condition that they only remembered about Neville's existence hours later... Nice fic! :)

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1106Chapter: 1
Awww! That's a good explination for Neville's constant forgetfullness. Poor kid! There should definitly be more "Neville-fics". Very nice job.

Reviewer: Darrel DoomvomitDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1105Chapter: 1
oooh! very very good!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1095Chapter: 1
That's hard to do in five hundred words, but you squeezed it all in.

Some pretty precise description in there, in certain segments.

Catherine

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1092Chapter: 1
Wow! This is a very powerful portrayal of a very horrible scene. I can imagine how finding the Longbottoms like this would drive someone to commit suicide. This is an interesting explanation of Neville's quirks. Heart-breaking.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1089Chapter: 1
Oh, this just about broke my heart. Poor, dear Neville, hiding under the table for hours. You also do a good job in giving the Aurors a sadly human touch. Pardon me while I go find a tissue...

Katinka

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --