The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: bluerain22Date: 2008-11-26
Reviewid: 151251Chapter: 1
Great stories! THanks for sharing! :)

Reviewer: cloudDate: 2006-03-26
Reviewid: 141341Chapter: 7
wow this is pretty old i just read it and it was exelent

Reviewer: emjayDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134691Chapter: 7
i know that this is going to be pointless, seeing as how the last comment was over a year ago, but i just want to say that i absolutely love this story, and all the ones before it....just wonderful keep it up

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73291Chapter: 7
That turned out great! The second part lacked somewhat of a plot, but this third incarnation is really good. A full-blown wizard battle is certainly interesting.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73290Chapter: 3
Let me quickly address an error in this chapter:
"Dumbledore paid a quick visit to Ginny."
Wesley's talking to Ginny, it should say "you".

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50345Chapter: 7
You wiped out the future that caused you to go back in time.

ok. now, for my time-space-continuum rant.

so, if he did, indeed, wipe out the future that caused him to go back in time, then he woudlnt have gone back in time in the first place, so therefore, wouldnt the wesley in our (this) present dissapear because hed never left the future in the first place?
and furthermore, since he went back in time and chenged the future, he carries out the grandfather paadox- rather than goign back in time and killing his father or something, he went back in time and changed the future so that ron and mione had harriet, and not him. therefore, shouldnt he cease to exist?
my brain hurts

a very clever tale, great concept, but like any stories where time travel is involved, my brain is in overtime.
it was really very good. the writing. the characters, wesley. all of it.
but... oy.

Reviewer: cbDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50343Chapter: 6
oh my
well.
that battle was very... Lord Of the Rings-esque, wasnt it?
its very similar to the battle scene in the Two Towers.
quite excellent.
wow though.
woudlnt "apparatus totalus hogwarts" move the BUILDING itself tho
whatever, im not being picky on incantations.
wow.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9970Chapter: 7
I have read all of the stories involving Wesley and I just simply adore them! I love your writing skills. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7251Chapter: 7
I loved this trilogy! I must say, Parvati and Wesley? Erm... I didn't expect that one. And I dunno about Draco either. You wrote P/W and good-Draco well though, so I still loved the stories!

Reviewer: THOMAS W. BINNSDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3157Chapter: 3
An interesting and thought provoking set of stories on cause and effect.

Reviewer: kat097Date: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3087Chapter: 7
Wow... that's all I cna say. This is incredible! I ca't describe how brilliant it is.

Reviewer: gloryDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2878Chapter: 7
WONDERFUL STORY! You have amazing talent. I just read through the Wesley series and I'm in absolute awe. The hokey pokey scene with Voldemort? Bloody brilliant!

I'm going to go now before I'm not coherent!!

p.s. I'm very interested to know more about Parvati and Wesley!!

Reviewer: caitlinDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2540Chapter: 7
sooooooooooo sweet. i really liked it. think of my idea? o.k.? good. well i got to go and read ur other stories. see ya,caitlina

Reviewer: caitlinDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2459Chapter: 2
tight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i've g2g now see ya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yes now i can finish reading this some other time. see ya!! bye!!

Reviewer: Katherina BlackDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2422Chapter: 1
I've been working my way through your "Grandfather Paradox" stories recently, and just before I launch into this one, I'd just like to say how hilarious they are...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1955Chapter: 7
I've read every part of the Wesley series and am so glad you brought them back! The action was amazing!

Reviewer: snappyDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1944Chapter: 7
i love this series, especially the battle of chapter 5. a lot of the time stuff was difficult to get my head around, but i like wesley, he seems like an excellent person. i also really liked the way you wrote the other characters. hooray for you! splendid story.

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1927Chapter: 7
James,
I've been a huge fan of your stories since you started posting them on the Sugar Quill. Wesley Grange is one of my all-time favorite characters (probably because he's Harry, Ron and Hermione rolled into one). I'm so glad that you've written another installment in this series.

I love that the chapter starts out with a wedding. I've been playing around with R/H wedding ideas in my head for weeks, and it was nice to see it written out - your chapter satisfied my craving!

And I confess, since the Grandfather Paradox, I have been really wondering (to the point of using it to occupy my daily commute) what would happen when Wesley was "born" again.

The whole scene at the Burrow, with Ginny fighting the Death Eaters is wonderfully suspenseful. And it's a tough writer who dares destroy the Burrow... I love the wartime feel of the flashbacks. I mean, I don't "love" them, because they're warlike, but you've really managed to create a certain feeling that works perfectly in the story.

The involvement of Parvati is just kewl, and original. And the touching of the staffs just ROX. I wish I could be more eloquent, but I'm running out of complimentary words...

Thank you for writing this!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1896Chapter: 7
That was FREAXINGLY ROXINGLY AWESOME!!!!!!!
I LUVed the way everything turned out so perfectly in the end. If you think about it, though, Wesley and Harriet are twins. Doesn't *that* make your head hurt? :D

The Prologue's song was perfect for this story. Was that how you got the idea? That, and the Grandfather Paradox?

Something else I love is Wesley & Parvati's romance. That might not seem like a big thing, but that's the first time I've seen Parvati charactarized with a real romance and she's not giggly and ditzy. Parvati also happens to be one of my favourite characters.

Are you going to do another story with Wesley? It seemed like you tied everything up quite nicely, but is there room for outtakes or something? I'd love to hear about more in this universe, especially the romances. :)

~TPR

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1860Chapter: 7
These last two had me alternately gasping and grinning right up through the last line.

You've painted a vivid and credible war Hogwarts war scenario in just a few short scenes, all without extensive narrative description. I've said it before, but I do admire how you manage to make a scene cinematic through realistic *dialogue*, the difference between show, and tell.

And once again, I do love your OC (I've restarted the Pensieve's OC gush thread with Wesley; I hope you don't mind). His wanting to leave is heroic; his reluctance to say goodbye, perfectly understandable.

***

"I can't." Wesley drew a shaky breath. "It would mean having to say goodbye, in person. And I can't face that."

Ginny stared at him. "So, after all that you've done, and after all that you've faced, you're that much of a coward?"

Wesley looked up, opened his mouth to say something, then closed it. Finally, he said, "Yes."

***

LOL! Just wonderful. I love how you build drama and suspense and still make room for wit and humour. I'm still grinning from Parvati's last word. ;)

Thank you for sharing such a great story with us!

Axelle

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1857Chapter: 5
You don't mind this many reviews in one day from the same person, do you? :)

I am in awe. An have lost all power of description. This is excellent:

***

"Ron! What are you doing out?"

"Well," Ron huffed. "I couldn't sleep, so I thought I'd stretch my legs. Look around a little."

Wesley's eyes narrowed. "You're heading back from the girls' dormitory, aren't you?"

Ron's cheeks went as red as his hair. "Well, you see, I thought I'd check in with Hermione, and--"

"Nope!" Wesley shot up his hand. "No details. Not one word. Off to bed with you."

Ron turned around.

"The boys' dormitory, idiot." He shook his head. "Honestly!"

***

LOL! And the scene between Draco and Harry is wonderful. (Wes picked Exploding Snap for a duel! Oh, I love your OC!) I am particularly taken with this:

***

"Turning a respectable duel into an inter-house Snap contest. The nerve of the man." Draco shook his head. "But while we were playing, Wesley talked to me. Just kept talking. And winning even with all his words. I was ready to kill him. But one thing he said in particular caught in my mind. I told him I intended to be famous; that everybody would know my name. And he said to me: 'What name would you rather be known by? Draco? Or Malfoy?'"

***

Excellent.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1855Chapter: 4
I reached the bottom of this page gasping, gasping, gasping. I *really* admire the cadence of your dialogue, quick and sharp -- precisely painting the war environment without the need for narrative description.

I like the little magical touches as well, of which "Butter-scotch" is my favourite in this chapter. I blinked at that for about 5 seconds and grinned for 30.

Great stuff.

Axelle :)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1854Chapter: 2
James, you write action and drama exceptionally well. I like how you've introduced the war without reference to it, just letting us see it for ourselves (through our fingers, breathlessly). I'm thoroughly enjoying this so far.

Axelle :)
PS. Ginny used *Crucio*?! Wow. Desperate times, desperate measures, I suppose.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --