The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115763Chapter: 1
A good story. A dramatically different ‘Black’ family than most writers portray.

Reviewer: VJADate: 2003-01-29
Reviewid: 18284Chapter: 1
Oh, how I love this story! It's so sweet and funny and convincing. As a chorister myself, I like the idea of a musical Sirius. The very last bit, "...and it was Christmas again", is just so....PERFECT! There are far too few friendship fics out there - I'm just glad I'm come across yours.

Reviewer: AnjaDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5335Chapter: 1
Great story!!! (Even if it's not Christmas now!)

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4240Chapter: 1
Thanks so much to all who reviewed--Katinka, Julie, Catherine, Anne, and Laura. I really apprecitae it, and I'm so glad you liked it.

Katinka, I'm so glad you found the idea of Sirius as chorister convincing. In many ways I, like Alkari, see him as quieter than James, and with deeper interests; someone who finds deep satisfaction in selected quieter, solitary pursuits, and who appreciates both the emotion and the structure of music. And glad you liked Mr. Laufmann. He actually was a real person, named (drum-roll) Harlan Laufmann, choirmaster and organist at Saint James Elementary School in Corpus Christi, Texas! Just as Madeleine L'Engle put the real Canon Tallis into her books, I added my fifth-grade choir master. He would have been teaching the stone angels harmonies, too.
Thank you to all (doing yet another happy dance, pleased to have entertained ... )

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4238Chapter: 1
What a delightful read! You convinced me entirely that Sirius *is* a genuine choirboy, while not losing sight of the prank-pulling jokester in Alkari's works. Mr. Laufmann is a hoot. I've known people like him, consummate musicians who feel that food, drink, and sleep fall a distant second to making beautiful music. I about fell out of my chair when he started trying to direct the angels. The whole description of the "heavenly, magical mishap" was hysterical. The final paragraph left me with a smile on my face. Now, if only a way that I could really hear young Sirius sing! :)

Katinka

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-09-16
Reviewid: 4036Chapter: 1
A nice, sweet Christmas story. I love the friendship between Sirius and Remus - you've done a great job portraying it. And Sirius as a musician is one of my favorites!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-09-16
Reviewid: 4027Chapter: 1
I liked the sophistication and humor of this little piece! Nicely done! You really worked hard at crafting this.

Catherine

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3990Chapter: 1
Awww... how sweet! A lovely little Christmas story - it made me feel all warm and gooey inside. Good job!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3978Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. I love your style, and the writing flowed brilliantly. There really isn't any constructive criticism, or any derragatory comments, for that matter. Superb! Please continue posting here!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --