The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Absence of Light
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144685Chapter: 16
An absolutely fantastic wonderful story. I loved it.
On the critical side Ė only one. You might want to put up a silencing charm before yelling than someone is willing to expose their cover while in a house full if death eaters.

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110661Chapter: 16
Intriguing story line, and it all comes together very well (though not ideally) in the end. Well-developed OCs, though Snape was a bit more ... sensitive, perhaps ... than he seems to reveal in canon thus far. Regardless, an admirable achievement. Thanks for having written it!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93080Chapter: 16
Brilliant. I spent the better part of this night reading it, but it was worth it. Good job.

Reviewer: JoDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86305Chapter: 16
My God - that was stunning! Amazingly well thought out and well written. I can't say how impressive it is. I could write for ages about all the bits that make it so great but it would take far too long. I will say though that making us believe that Snape was was at Nick's house, not Malfoys was excellent. Also copying the opening paragraph makes a wonderful ending. Those are the bits that stand out. What amazes me the most is the intricacy of the plot and the amount of detail of the characters. Just brilliant - congratulations.

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32245Chapter: 16
I must admit that this is one of the darkest stories that I have read (no pun was initially intended, until I saw how appropriately it fit with the title.) I began reading when there were only seven or eight chapters and have watched faithfully for updates. Whether it was intentional or not, I think your story shows that bad things happen to good people, good people can make bad decisions, and how everyone else must live with the outcome of the two previous mentioned issues. You were able to do something with Jeffís death that unfortunately doesnít happen in real life. The reader was able to see the events from several point-of-views and with what was presented make their own decision about what really happened. My only complaint is with the Epilogue. I donít know whether I like it or not. I was not expecting a happy ending, which is what we basically gotóVoldemort is defeated by HP that night and Nick returns to Anna. I think, like Nick, that I had prepared myself for his death, that when it didnít come, I felt a bit cheated. But I suppose that given time, I, again like Nick, will be able to accept it.

Good job! Please PM me if you write any more stories because I really enjoy your style and the extensive amount of details you put into your writing.

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31761Chapter: 16
I NEVER cry the second (or eighth :P) time I read things. Maybe it's your ability to make every single character feel like he or she somehow came out of my head.

Then again, maybe it's the flawless comma usage. You never can tell with these things :P

Fantastic work, seriously. Mwah.

~Leigh

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31758Chapter: 15
You're amazing, you really are. Your PLOT. I don't know how you do it. You tied up all the ends, answered all the questions. Believably.

I love being inside Nick's head. I love Malek, just a brilliant character. Love the taunting from Voldemort and the perfectly feasible explanation (finally!) for Jeff's motivation. Love how, when Nick held up his hand to catch the curse, I got this image of Neo at the end of The Matrix and it wasn't even cheesy :P

Bloody FREAXing brilliant, Tim.

Reviewer: Rosey (again) :PDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30505Chapter: 14
I *love* this chapter, it has to be one of the BEST you've written. The Nick/Anna interaction is just so *darling* and touching, and so SAD.

Your Lucius Malfoy is brilliantly written, as is the actions of the Deatheaters, although like Leigh I hadn't really thought what they might do to their prisoners.. especially female ones. I really feel for Sonya. :(

I feel for Snape in all of this; the scene where he's desperately searching the dead Aurors cut me up; this is the *real* Severus Snape and you've captured him so well. I applaud you.

So hurry up with the next chapter. :P

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30504Chapter: 13
The parts of this chapter I like, are all of the typical routines that the Auror's have, and the ease that they interact with each other and suddenly stop and get ready for action. It's all so REAL. Just like your descriptions of the battles which leave *alot* to the imagination. (But I won't get into that, you've heard my rants about that. ;)) But I love the way you've written the battle, its descriptive, but its not. If that makes any sense.

On a random note, I like Sonya alot. She's kewl. :D I also like the way Snape is with the DE's, very very good. :D

I am *outraged* you killed Ronnie. You KNOW how I feel about him! :P And if you kill Anna you shall pay the consequences. :P

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30377Chapter: 14
Brilliant. Completely. Love it.

Brutal, those Death Eaters. Before reading this I'd never considered what they might do to their prisoners. Poor Sonya.

Anna's and Nick's meeting is just amazing. It couldn't be better; you captured it beautifully. "The only thing she could think of now was that she had to hold him as tightly as she could, because if she didnít, he would disappear again. Or perhaps he would disappear anyway, and if she held on hard enough, she could go with him, away from this place, away from Severus, away from all the pain and the fear." Yes. YES. Eee. And of *course* there isn't any why. Ha. Take that, right? :P

And what a cliffhanger! I wonder what happens next? ;)

Reviewer: HardyBoysinLimbo4eva!Date: 2003-05-01
Reviewid: 30319Chapter: 14
Jesus, you have a knack for brilliant intensity!

Reviewer: Leigh, duhDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26838Chapter: 13
Mmmmaction...

I like Sonya; she's cool. Malek creeps me out. You make everyone and everything so *real*. And I like the way you wrote the battles - very action-packed, very realistic, very creative.

*sniff* Poor Ronnie :P

Reviewer: Arm&aLegDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26761Chapter: 13
Wow! I've been keeping up with this story and it just keeps me perched at the end of my seat and addicted. Keep it coming.

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24284Chapter: 12
Well! I am sitting on the edge of my seat here! I shall eagerly await the next update. : ) You have a great deal of talent, keep writing!

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24281Chapter: 10
Aaaargh! The tension is killing me!

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24192Chapter: 12
It's all happening! *bounces* I love the Malfoys, perfectly written, I have to say that your Narcissa, no matter how little we've seen of her, she's one of the most canon-like Narcissa's I've ever read. Brilliantly done. Nice touch with Severus not wanting anything to do with Malfoy. ;)

There is one part of this chapter, that I feel needs a massive mention in this review, and this is Snape admitting this- "Severus resisted the urge to swallow nervously. People seemed to think that nothing frightened him, which wasnít true at all. The Dark Lord terrified him. Even more so now that he was a double agent. It was all he could do to look Him in the eye without trembling."
Here, is the moment, that for me makes Snape so real and believable. It's amazing written, and even just reading it now almost stirs me to tears and want to give him a great big hug. Brilliantly written.

I still love Anna as always, her kick-arse attitude is fabulous. Commander Sullivan, i like him as well, nice attitude.

The more and more I read of your background behind the Ministry and their procedures, even down to the little things like the armoured robes and such, the more I love it. It's so fascinating, and again, realistic. I cannot give you enough applause for all of the amazing work you have put into this fic.

Bring on the next chapter. ;)

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24191Chapter: 11
And it's all fitting into place, and its so much fun to read. I love seeing Snape finally break, and just the interaction between these charaters is just so *real* and.. *love*

Again, the more of them I see, the more I love them; the Ministry Personnel. You make the reader feel like they know the characters really well, even though they've only just met them.

Snape - "Oh, donít worry, Severus thought. Iíll sort it out. But Iíll do it my way, not yours." - I absolutely *love* this, its Severus Snape right down to a T. It's such a great line to read, and its just.. brilliant. (there aren't enough adjectives to describe in IMO ;)) I love your Snape. Snape-alcious. ;)

Anna's emotions and actions brilliantly written; well done. :)

Nick; he appears more and more evil every time I meet him. EVIL!

Brilliant chapter as always, King of Suspenders. ;)

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24190Chapter: 10
The first thing that hit me when I read this chapter, was this piece of writing-
"<i>Moody was standing in the doorway, looking odd. It took Severus a second to realise why he looked odd. He wasnít scowling.</i>" - love it. I love the interaction between Moody and Snape, its not all happiness and light, which I like to see. Its great. :D

Nick has a conscious. Who knew? ;) Makes him all the more human, if you ask me.

"<i>He felt the shiver, the sensation that had become so sickeningly familiar to him. Like pins and needles, only hotter. Much hotter. And yet, somehow cold at the same time. It only took it the tiniest fraction of a second to run down his arm. Then the wand-tip erupted, bathing the room in a harsh green light.</i>" I want to say that I love this description. Its absolutely breathtaking, and is so simple, but its so brilliant, it really is.

I love all the Ministry personel you briefly mention in this chapter, and Leigh is right, you have a real <i>knack</i> for writing people. Anna, Snape, Moody, all of them. You have them right down to a T and you should be proud.

I feel that this fic is barely just beginning in terms of drama, I eagerly await the rest. :)

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24183Chapter: 5
Well, this is intriguing! Very gripping, and I'm on the edge of my seat here, wondering who the masked Death Eater was! I haven't read your story before because I feared Mary Sue! But Anna is a very well realised, three dimensional character. Congratulations. : ) I started reading your story because I looked on the SQ map, and saw that you're a fellow Brisbanite. It's good to see some great writers in my own backyard. : )

I started reviewing at this chapter rather than when I'd finished reading what you've got because I noticed a small error, and I thought I'd bring it to your attention. "... and the surviving Death Eaters were taken into custody. At least, the ones left alive were." Um... those survivors who were left alive? : )

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24166Chapter: 12
*lovelovelove* Snape. Lucius and Draco. Anna being KIXass. I like Commander Sullivan, too. And... *lovelovelove* :P

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22277Chapter: 11
It's fun watching it slowly start to come together. Even though the reader doesn't know everything, they know more than your characters, which adds to your apparent love for suspense :P

I like Owen. And again, your Ministry procedural stuff is fascinating.

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20587Chapter: 10
I think this chapter shows more than anything that you have this knack for *people*. You don't just tell what happens or what people say, you get inside their heads. Which is good, because your characters have... lots of stuff in their heads. Right. A couple of these just jumped out at me:

"He raged inside, screaming at himself with every thought, but his face didn&#8217;t even flicker."

"Nick kept his eyes resolutely open, not shrinking back from the flash, as he so wanted to do. He still felt such a terrible fear for the power he could unleash with just those two words."

"If other people thought she was strong, it was easier for her to believe that she was."

Magnifico.

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17918Chapter: 9
GAH! Cliffhanger! You can't leave us there! Not like that!! *howls*

*ahem*

This is, however, a brilliant chapter as always. I really feel for Anna, the scene with her at the spot where Jeff was killed was very very touching. Severus' interview with Moody, Crouch and the Department of Mysteries was brilliant- I love the mannerisms you've given to the Unspeakables. :D And the insight that you show to the fact the Ministry is falling apart inside, even if it looks like its united outside. Brilliantly written again. :)
Nick's brief thoughts at the end is a brilliant cliffhanger, even though I am gradually beginning to despise you for writing such evil ones. :P
Now hurry up with that next chapter, I'm getting impatient. *stamps foot* :P

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17510Chapter: 8
OK, I've been looking for a REALLY long time for a Severus fic this good. I always loved this plot idea, and you are crafting a perfect story and characterization. I just love it.

Reviewer: CherubDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 16966Chapter: 1
Hey!

Scarily great story (what I've read of it so far :p).

Are we still going to meet at Uni? I lost your email address otherwise I'd write to you...

~Cherub~

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16639Chapter: 8
Dude- Snape isnt the only one who wants to know whats going on- what the hell??

Jeff the deaded one eh? Knew it all the long. :P Fabulous flashback though- same with the rest of the chapter, it provides some really excellent insight into why Nick did/doing what he does. :)

Fabulous chapter though- and sorry for not reviewing earlier.

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16516Chapter: 8
Okay, wow.

I love your description of Jeff, and his meaning to Nick. I think everyone feels that way about their best friend, so very identifiable.

I love love love the look at Nick and Anna before everything happened. Makes me like Nick even more.

Mysterious Death Eater finally revealed and the plot thickens. So, *why* was he a DE? :P

Like Nick and Snape interaction. And your whole physics of Avada Kedavra is all... smart-sounding. It's an interesting idea, that those killed by it wouldn't become ghosts.

Blaming everything on Voldemort and not Jeff is totally believable. I like the look we get at every aspect of Nick in this chapter.

Delicious :P

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16490Chapter: 8
Haven't read this before... glad I did. (A fellow MiSQA deserves it, no?) I'm not sure if Nick is 100% _gone_ yet, and that's a sign of good writing!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14454Chapter: 2
The prologue is interesting - I hope we get to find out who Nick is, and who is it that was killed!

In the first chpater, the atmosphere you describe in the room that contains Anna, Moody and Severus was so effectively tense that it had me literally squirming! I like the way you indicate Anna and Severus' former relationship instead of stating it right out. There are so many undercurrents of emotion running between the characters in your scenes that it is almost uncomfortable reading, but compelling reading nonetheless - that's a valuable skill to have, as a writer!

>ďNo, it didnít,Ē he said bluntly, but with genuine sorrow in his voice. ďThat was why I left. I donít try to make excuses. Iím not even going to bother asking for your forgiveness, because thereís no reason you should give it to me. But for what itís worth, Iím sorry.Ē

Oooh, I love how brutal your Snape is here - you don't soften him a bit. And neither he nor Anna really have any answers for each other, which is sad, but very true-to-life.

Also, I'm intrigued by your concept of renegade DEs. I haven't seen that concept used before, but it makes sense! I'll be sure to keep reading/reviewing - you're building a great story, here.

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2002-12-29
Reviewid: 14332Chapter: 7
WOOOO!!! I got mentioned in A/N!! *bows* No problem to plug. ;)

Right, as you were on MSN when I was originally reading this chapter, you will have probably seen my different moods and such in regards to reading this.
I love the flashback at the beginning, and I can easily see why you love it so much. It is a brilliant scene and you should be PROUD of writing such a scene.

Malek FREAX me out, like Leigh. I'm uncertain of what he might do to Nick, the fact you keep saying that he'd be quite happy to kill him worries me.

Severus Snape? Alive?? Well, you already know my reaction to THAT, plus this is a family site, so I wont say it here. ;)

But all in all, fabulous chapter, still one of my favourites. :) Well done.

*plug plug plug*

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2002-12-28
Reviewid: 14257Chapter: 7
Ooooh... Aaaah... Yes. Flashback fight is realistic. And revealing. Gotta love ends-means analysis. I'm scared of Malek.

Also?

"She reminded herself again that feelings never conformed to rules of logic like that, but of course, that never stopped her from trying to force them to."

Get out of my head! ;)

~Leigh

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12542Chapter: 6
Tim, you have a real gift for telling stories that are utterly *film noir*! I Like it!

There are some fabulous descriptions here, of Goldman (how creepy are those eyes!!) and of his nameless shop. But your character descriptions are wonderful. You manage to weave in your OCs so well without disrupting the story.

I LOVED that entire scene with Mr Borgin! I could *see* it. Right down to Anna's gestures and facial expressions.

And the sycophantic simpleton Ronnie--I wonder, is he really that simple? Nah, maybe I'm just being as paranoid as Nick.

Great imagination, too! Imperceptus is a *fantastic* charm!

Wonderful work. :)

Axelle

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12481Chapter: 6
Dude, Tim, I said I was going to read this and review, and I'm bloody glad i did- this is TOO good, SPELL binding, INSPIRING, etc. ;)

I adore this fic so far, its inspiring me no end to write Snape-ness, although I dont think I'll be able to get the words down in a way that you can. I love this plot, I love the characters and the way they interact and love the description you put in that makes it such an amazing piece to read.

There is one scene I love especially in this chapter, and is probably my favourite so far- and thats Snape and Anna scaring Borgin to death- its BRILLIANT. I love the way you portray Snape, show that there's two sides to him; do you know what? Its enough to make me start liking him.

Another character I am curious about is Ronnie. Ronnie is one of those characters that FREAX you out, yet you find his attitude oddly adorable at the same time, which I think you should be proud of writing, because he's a brilliant character, and to sum him up in that short scene is a brilliant skill.

I eagerly await the next chapter.

Good job, Boss. ;)

Reviewer: WillowishDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12431Chapter: 6
Ha! I found it before you told me about it :) I loved this chapter, perhaps even more than the flashbacks, and I can tell you right now it's because of your supporting characters. Mr. Goldman and Ronnie... You have a talent for writing memorable, quirky characters. And Ronnie's conversation with Nick about love was one of the most interesting exchanges in the stroy yet. I'm not sure why, but I really enjoyed it. Please say we get to see more of Ronnie? ;)

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12428Chapter: 6
Nice commas ;)

Mr. Goldman is well done - I like all the descriptiveness about him. I can picture his eyes quite clearly when I read him, and it's creepy.

I get really uncomfortable reading Snape sounding all Voldemort-ish. I mean, like, good-uncomfortable, probably like Anna feels watching it. Nice.

I like the Imperceptus idea, especially that the mental aspect is so important. On a related note, Nick's musings (there they are again) after his glimpse of Anna are interesting.

Ronnie. Heh. I have to like him. Very disturbing. Unique.

Yay you.

~Leigh

Reviewer: WillowishDate: 2002-11-30
Reviewid: 10720Chapter: 5
Ha, it only took me hold long to find time for this last chapter? ;) I'm still in love with your writing, hope you know that. Your use of flashbacks and limited POV are both wonderful. It's easy to tell how well you know your OCs, because they interact so seamlessly with each other and with canon characters. Now, you know my only complaint--want more! :)

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10076Chapter: 5
Told you you were a good tease ;)

I like the look at their relationship in this chapter, especially when he's watching her sleep. As I think I told you, you do characters' musings quite well. The look at Snape's morality is interesting - his inability to justify being a DE, how he doesn't like people being used as weapons, and all that. And I like how Anna's outburst came out - very realistically done. Superb, in fact. (That's the new word, in case you were tiring of "brilliant" and "masterful" :P)

~Leigh

Reviewer: MoeyDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9758Chapter: 5
Here's me, reviewing like some *ordinary* reader! ;)

This story gets more intriguing. I want to know ALL about the Army - and Nick - yes, more Nick is in order. I love the flashbacks and how you are giving us just some information - but not all. You're such a tease. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9757Chapter: 1
I like the way you set it up... well written and great use of existing characters. Great job...can't wait to see what happens.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9653Chapter: 5
I'm happy to say that I stayed up late last night to read this, MM, because you do a wonderful job with your characters. I like how you've made good use of the flashback style to show us Anna, Nick and Severus in the past and present, slowly wheedling down to the in-between, letting us get to know them-- and the mystery of Who Is That Dead Death Eater?

Of all the chapters, I think this latest is your best so far! Anna's emotional outburst is wonderfully done, very genuine. In fact, Nick and Anna become even more three-dimensional here as a result of your showing the tumult of their emotions. And I admire how you use Severus as both the link and the catalyst for them.

You also do a great job of putting the reader in the thick of the war behind the scenes.

Very nicely done!

Axelle

Reviewer: readerwDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9121Chapter: 4
Cool story, well written and much suspense. I'm looking forward to how things go on. Keep up the good writing !

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8157Chapter: 4
We talked about this yesterday, but I'll just go ahead and appreciate it where it's publicly accessible and stuff. The flashback in this chapter really made me think about the internal workings of Slytherin in a way the books don't address. And I think the bit where they talk about Snape is right on. Looking closely to the books in the parts where he isn't belittling his inferiors, you can tell that he *is* too smart to be uncivil in situations like that. Masterful, you are ;) As always, I want more :P

~Leigh

Reviewer: WillowishDate: 2002-10-26
Reviewid: 7116Chapter: 3
Look! I finally got to reading it! Wooo!
Although I've been talking to you *while* I was reading it and all ;) I still have to say that this story most definitely has me bouncing on my toes for more. Your use of flashbacks is absolutely brilliant so far, because it's making me wonder how we've gotten from point D to point Q and then to point H. (Oh, you know what I mean) your OCs all ready feel real and like a part of the HP universe, and your characterization of known characters seems to be well thought out.
Now give us more!! *grin*

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2002-10-17
Reviewid: 6491Chapter: 3
Really really ;)

No, I know I have to say more than that :) It's really obvious that you've put a lot of thought into the procedures of the whole ordeal. The little details that you work in everywhere make stuff realistic, and add a lot to the imagery. Also, I like Nick. He's an interesting character. And the ring is a great idea. And and and and and. Stuff. You know. Get CRAXing some more :)

~Leigh

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2002-10-02
Reviewid: 5158Chapter: 3
Well Tim, I said I'd review this- and here I am. And can I just say, I'm pretty damn impressed by all of this. I can say I dont think I'd be able to create such amazing OC and such GREAT history that seems so real.
I cant wait for the next chapter! HURRY UP AND FINISH IT!!!
(btw- could I have one of those rings too? They look rather useful...)

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2002-09-24
Reviewid: 4658Chapter: 1
I like it! It's a really intreguing story so far. Great use of emotion and the motif of darkness at the beginning. Hope you write more soon! Yours in Fanfiction and Star Wars. ~Scribe

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4218Chapter: 2
This is very intriguing. Your dialogue is excellent and the idea of the Crimson Star is really imaginative. I'm enjoying this story a lot because it has the personal story aspect and the action/mystery aspect too. Thanks!

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4158Chapter: 2
You know what I think, and I don't want to give anything away. Let's see what I can do.

I really like the use of flashbacks, and that each one reveals a new snippet but not everything the reader wants to know. As ever, your dialogue is realistic and commentary is well-developed and... expressive... and stuff :P Get CRAXing on the rest of it!

~Leigh

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-09-17
Reviewid: 4107Chapter: 1
I like your use of flashbacks to build tension. You certainly have my attention with the prologue. I'll be looking forward to reading more. And I can imagine that Aurors don't like to write reports too!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --