The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114316Chapter: 1
Even better. I love your work.

Reviewer: squeakypersonDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108306Chapter: 1
Wow! I've been looking for a fic capturing this scene in more detail than was shown in the book, and this is utterly amazing. I love the focus on Snape's facial expressions. Ha HA! Poor baby, I'd like to help him bandage his leg. Very well-written.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101106Chapter: 1
I like the "idea" of a different PoV, but I have rarely seen one so well executed. Filch is not the type of character anyone cares for or would be interested in. But you have made him so. He has more in his life worth knowing than I could imagine.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67203Chapter: 1
Ooh, very good. I really don't like Filch but you represented him fine in this fic for what you knew about him when you wtote it. It was a very good missing moment to do and you pulled it off quite nicely. Good job!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-06-18
Reviewid: 37522Chapter: 1
Wow! I've heard so much about your stories but haven't had the chance to read any until now. This is great! I love your portrayal of Filch--you actually make him likeable and in character at the same time. The little touches of humor you threw in were perfect. I loved the line: "Iíd been greeted with a stare so caustic that I wished I could bottle it. I could peel centuries worth of grime off the castleís stones with that much corrosive power." So descriptive! Well done, and I'm looking forward to reading more of your Squib stories!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36752Chapter: 1
What a great story! The concept of the two most unlikable people at Hogwart's actually having a civil conversation and helping each other is just priceless.

Reviewer: Oktober_GhostDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25757Chapter: 1
"There are few things in life more satisfying than hunting mischief-making students down, but blood is very difficult to get off stone, once it sets. Knowing that Mrs. Norris could be trusted to uphold her end of things, I cleaned up the messes as I found them, as swiftly as I possibly could."

Filch is so practical here. I don't think a wizard or witch would think twice about this sort of thing; they'd be off to bag the culprit at once. Is this sort of thinking indicative of his status as Squib? I would think that as a caretaker and as a Squib who cannot rely on magic for quick and easy solutions, he tends to think more as a Muggle would.

" Oh, my, I thought gleefully. Defiling the castle corridors and trespassing!"

His work done and now a chance to grasp the offender. It's almost a complete day for Filch at this point in the story. :)

I also like how Mrs. Norris is quite intelligent and attempts to warn Filch (in her own way) to not enter the staff room. I wonder if you have a theory for Mrs. Norris and Filch's relationship (no other way to put it because they clearly do have some sort of relationship).

" Did I say that the first look he gave me was caustic? Well, the second look could have dissolved the castle stones, if given half a chance! To escape his glare I looked down. There was a pile of used, bloody bandages resting on the floor. Some of them were bloody enough to stain the floor under them.

'Look at this mess youíre making!' I exclaimed. "

I don't imagine that Filch just said this to get away from Snape's scrutiny. Did he also intend to use it as a distraction to spare himself from further caustic remarks and glares from the Potions Master? (By the way, I very much like your Snape; he seems in-character, which is a bonus with all the Fluffy Snapes that run about.)

" His eyes went so cold that they seemed to freeze two holes right through me. I could feel the temperature in the room dropping. The air itself seemed to thicken and solidify around us."

I just like this description; it's very vivid and striking.

I also enjoyed Filch and Snape's interaction. The Gryffindor comment was well-placed, even if Snape obviously did not appreciate its truthfulness.

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25493Chapter: 1
I never thought I'd be calling Filch delightful. But he is.

You haven't softened him a bit. Like him to react to blood on the floors with delight at tracking down a rule-breaker, rather than concern for the wounded.

Snape's look may be caustic, but so is Filch's tongue. "Reckless courage is supposed to be strictly a Gryffindor trait, isnít it?"

Oh, very good.

Snape is drawn particularly well. Soft, mysterious, but hard, cold, and incredibly annoying as well.

NM

Reviewer: Artemisia BristolDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25294Chapter: 1
I wish I could stay longer to rant and rave about what a smooth piece of work this is. But, I'll gie it my best.

A careful balance of distant emotions (and that's the type that twangs at the heart strings the most) and laugh-out loud descriptions, this is an exemperary piece of writing and characterization.

Filch has been rescued from oblivion and ridiculous villan status by your talented words.

Reviewer: LizBeeDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21875Chapter: 1
Another gem. I really enjoy fics that fill in gaps in canon, especially if they do it in a new way. I was particularly entranced by Filch's Catalogue of Snape Looks.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15734Chapter: 1
Wow again, the way that even though we know what happens and we know Harry will turn up, its still a suprise when he does, your stories fit in with JKR like a hand in a glove.

Reviewer: EilanDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13335Chapter: 1
Hi,
this was a really well-written from one of the most interesting PoVs I've ever encountered. Really unique story.
Keep writing,
Eilan

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13080Chapter: 1
Excellent story all around. Snape is expertly done with all his pride, secrecy and sarcasm. The description of his wound (ouch!) highlights the fact that Fluffy *is* an extremely dangerous creature, despite all of Hagrid's affection. I love your Filch: perceptive, aware, funny, brave (he works in a place with people who could literally kill him with words), and still cranky. I'm going to have to read the rest of your stories.

Reviewer: Ravishingly DiscreetDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11774Chapter: 1
A concept I would have never thought of. Snape's point of view, maybe; but Filch's? It was wonderfully written. I can't wait to read more of your work.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11496Chapter: 1
Wow! Excellent characterizations and descriptions! You've really got something here.

The interiors on Filch are wonderful.

Catherine

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 11086Chapter: 1
what is up with you and your squib stories??
come up with a different topic

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2002-11-30
Reviewid: 10712Chapter: 1
'Iíd been greeted with a stare so caustic that I wished I could bottle it. I could peel centuries worth of grime off the castleís stones with that much corrosive power. Unfortunately, the only wizard at Hogwarts who might be capable of bottling that look for me was the one who was glowering. And he didnít appear to be in the mood to do anyone a favor.' What a great paragraph, and what a great story! Good work, I always love your Snape/Filch interactions! Keep it up!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10088Chapter: 1
I'm sorry to only be starting your series right now, but I'm glad I did. I loved Filch's touch of humor and your descriptions of Snape's icy stares. I also knew that Filch had to like some of the students! I'm looking forward to reading the rest. Great story.

Reviewer: RebeccagraceDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9891Chapter: 1
Oh this was wonderful! I saw that you had reviewed me, and so I had to return the favor. I'm glad I did, although you have so many stories it will take me a while to get through them all. Snape is perfect in this story, the way you characterized him was excellent. I love "missing piece" stories, and this one was brilliant. You've managed to also make Filch very developed and real, which isn't an easy task! Anyway, aren't reviews great? They take so little time, but they make such a difference to the writer, don't they?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8832Chapter: 1
"Iíd been greeted with a stare so caustic that I wished I could bottle it. I could peel centuries worth of grime off the castleís stones with that much corrosive power." Wow! Who knew Filch could think up things like that?

I've been meaning to read your Filch stories forever, and I think I actually began this one a long time ago...anyway, I finally made it to the end and I can see why everyone has such great things to say about your Filch! Thanks for helping us get into his head. He's still the same anal-retentive git all the Hogwarts students know and love, but you've exposed him as someone who has thoughts and feelings of his own. I think you can tell from the quote above that I especially enjoyed his cleaning-related descriptions! Great job! :)

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8481Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. Your portrayal of Snape is spot on. Very acerbic! I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your squib stories.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5602Chapter: 1
Another great tale and a good 'missing time' piece. I've always thought that Snape and Filch had a special kind of relationship. They're both dreadfully lonely in their own way. It's nice to see them, well not exactly enjoying each other's company, but at least being able to relate to another human being. Great job, as always.

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4459Chapter: 1
I'm so glad you've joined the Quill. Not that I'm not going to keep looking for you at ff.n, but because I like the look of the stories here.

And because I'm enjoying the excuse to re-read...

What I'm noticing this time is how much you've gotten Snape right. Very intense, very private, and very determined in a scary way. "Only know that I will do whatever I must to keep the Stone from falling into the wrong hands." is a great line, and so is [quote]He gave me a sneer that should have been classified by the Ministry as "Dangerous/Requires Specialist Knowledge/Skilled Wizard May Handle."[/quote]

[quote](Either that, or I would have ended up floating, pickled, in a big jar in his office, labeled "Insubordinate Wretch of a Caretaker.")
[/quote] reminded me of a friend of mine, who tells me that in the UK, the things in jars are called "alcoholics" -- yet another reason for Filch to avoid the condition!

So glad to have you here. *grin*

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4267Chapter: 1
Wheee! You're posting over here! Your stories are why I occasionally brave the dreaded ff.net. Your Filch is believable and even likeable--and extremely plausible. Please keep sharing.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4259Chapter: 1
Amazing story!

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4252Chapter: 1
Very nice job of filling in holes in the first book. Thanks for posting this here where I can easily find it! So, we now know that even Filch is a decent human being! Amazing! ;)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4247Chapter: 1
Very nice. Filch was much calmer than I thought he would be, but I suppose he does stop yelling and ranting once out of earshot of students.

My favorite passage was:
"There were always Slytherins who acted as if I was some sort of uppity house elf that they were not allowed to kick down the stairs. Severus had never been one of those. Never."

Could you take a shot of the scene in GoF when Filch finds the egg?

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4236Chapter: 1
<joins in with Durayan's cheering>

Yay! Yay! Ozma's at the Quill! I'm going to post my ff.net review of this here -- a little lame on my part, but I was so excited to see your name, I wanted to do something! So, here goes:

What an interesting take on this scene...I always wondered about how and why Snape came to trust Filch with his knowledge about Fluffy. As you write it, it's a trust born of necessity, which I can easily believe.

You really expand Filch's character beyond the cartoon-ish crankpot he's sometimes made out to be. I was oddly touched by this passage:

"Contrary to what the children at Hogwarts think, I do not hate all the students. Only most of them. There are some I actually donít mind too much. Itís true that I never forget the ones who were the most trouble. It is also true that I never forget the ones who treat me decently."

I also like how you convey a Squib's reactions to wizards and magical dealings. Unlike a Muggle, Filch is fully aware of magic's scope and knows exactly what he can't defend himself against.

Loved the final paragraph... :)

"I turned to look at The Boy Whoíd Just Distracted Snape. Poor Potter. He had just gotten the full force of Snapeís fury. And he would never know how grateful to him I was."

Oh, I really can't wait to see more Filch in the CoS movie!

Katinka

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-09-18
Reviewid: 4193Chapter: 1
*Squeeeeeel!!* I am excited to see your name appear here on the author list!!! I LOVE your stories! The way you have developed Argus Filch as a character is just fantastic! Added so much depth to him, while keeping him very much in canon. Your work with other canon characters is quite excellent too. Neville, especially of course. But Harry and Ginny also stand out as well-done. Glad you are here at Sugar Quill!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --