The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: His Ivory Tower
Review(s): 84

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 65981Chapter: 5
The plot thickens - I wonder why Cesara was in the Forest, and how she knows about Remus' lycanthropy. And why does one of Cate's friends want to borrow Ludicer? Must read chapter 5 to find out. More beautiful descriptions, this time of Cate's cottage. It sounds like a wonderfully cosy little place, particularly the sitting room. And this line, which sums up so beautifully what the impact of that Halloween must have been on Remus:

>>He had never loved anything so intensely before as his friends, and their loss took a part of him with them.<<

(*sniffs*)

Atropos

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 65980Chapter: 4
There's a lot of lovely character development going on in this chapter. Cate is revealing herself to be practical, empathetic and straight-talking, whilst Ludicer seems like a mischievious and rather intelligent little plant. I bet he would have stolen Remus' clothes if he did have opposable thumbs (that line made me LOL. And poor Remus still seems a bit bemused by it all. I must read the next chapter - I need to find out what's going to happen next.

Atropos

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 65979Chapter: 3
The descriptions in this chapter are really beautiful. They combine to give an impression of peace and serenity, and of a rather otherworldly place. But you skillfully change the mood to a more down to earth one when necessary, which I think helps give depth and realism to Cate's character. I particularly liked this part:

>> ..She wore a gold heart locket about her neck, but that was the only adornment to her simple white robes. She seemed very earthy and yet unearthly, somehow. Remus wondered idly whether she was a Herbologist.

"Shall I twirl, as well?" she asked, smiling.<<

A very adept 'gear change'. And Ludicer sounds like he is going to be fun. Am off to read the next chapter straight away.

Atropos

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 65978Chapter: 2
Oh poor, poor Remus. And it all seems so much more poignant because of the happy memories you have interspersed with his current suffering. In fact I think the structure of this chapter works really well. I also continue to like your Remus characterisation. Whilst he's clearly descending further into the depths of his grief you have managed to keep his actions believable by showing some little glimpses of his inner strength. When he falls over he gets up again. That's my Remus.

I was also pleased to see that you made it Peter's idea to become animagi. There are so many fics that show Peter as an idiot tagalong - it's nice to see you avoid that trap.

Atropos

(On a slightly less literary note I had a bit of a "Frodo, hear my voice, come back to the light" moment when Cate turned up but I am sure that this is just my brain making unwarranted connections. No offence intended!)

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65929Chapter: 1
I've read a lot of fics that look at Remus' reaction to James and Lily's death and have usually found that the authors either make Remus too angry or too overcome by grief for his reaction to be entirely believable. Not this one though. You have captured Remus' conflicting emotions beautifully, and in a way that is consistent with what we know of the older man. And that makes it sad and rather harrowing.

I am also very impressed with the way you use quite simple phrases to conjure up some very vivid mental pictures. I particularly liked the following:

>>Why did the extinction of their bodies mean the dousing of their spirits, like candles held under water?<< and

>>And not only had he forsaken their trust, he had fed them mercilessly to the most vicious and depraved wizard of their time.<<

I am looking forward to reading the rest of this very much.

Atropos

Reviewer: MedeaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60681Chapter: 12
This was a beautiful tale. Remus was very much in character, And Cate was charming and original. What hooked me up, though, was the quotes opening each chapter.
Good work.

Reviewer: AnnaKDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19219Chapter: 12
Oh, this is so very *you*--and that's one of the best compliments I can give. :-) Glad to see we're both big Lupin fans too...hehe I *heart* Moony. Seriously, though, this is a really beautiful story--I love your characters. Which reminds me...is 'Cate' short for 'Catherine'? I don't know if you want to take this into consideration or not, but somebody once told me that Catherine is a slutty name.... ;-)

Reviewer: MistralDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15407Chapter: 12
That was a lovely story. I believed your characters, especially Cate and Aiden, and I especially enjoyed all of the interactions with the forest - you made it seem like a character in the story in its own right. It was also fun to see a Remus who isn't completely in control (rigidly controlled), but not totally out of control, either. He had his moments of stress and anxiety, just like any other man. Very refreshing.

I did have one question - early in the story, you mentioned that Mundungus trusted Sirius, too, and then Remus didn't know Mundungus Fletcher when he met him (or thought that he finally was able to meet him). Was the first one a different Mundungus? Am I being completely stupid?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15385Chapter: 9
Hahaa! I liked DiscomposedAndDripping!Cate in this chapter, and Smoothie!Remus -- he probably absorbed the vibes from Sirius and James while at Hogwarts. I also enjoyed reading about Cate's friends -- they seem like delightfully vibrant people :) Onward I go!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15384Chapter: 8
Wow. *shiver* The scenes in the forest sent chills down my spine. And I am feeling the need to go see if the Last of the Mohicans soundtrack is locally available.

I liked how you didn't go into excruciating detail on Remus' transformation in this chapter -- I hope that means the forest was able to help him rise above it or bear it easier somehow :) And the reason why Cate accepted his *difference* was unexpected -- and so fitting. No wonder she's so into trees.

Re: Otto Bagman...LOL. That lot seems to be very involved in the games and amusements sector.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14933Chapter: 6
I hate to drop all these short messages all over the place, but I finally got to "take a good look" at Cate's forest and I just wanted to say that it sounds like a lovely place for a person like Remus to heal :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14929Chapter: 5
"Madam Pince would wrestle a Nundu for some of these titles." LOL -- given JKR's description of the dear lady, she'd probably win, too.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14927Chapter: 4
Ah, and now I have met Ludicer! :D I think it was the raves about him/her/it on the Pensieve Board that got me curious about this story. I like how you managed to imbue a plant with personality. I'm sure all plants do have personalities, but I'm not much of a plant person...hee, now I'm rambling.

Just another thought before I move on: does Ludicer track dirt when he hops over the bedclothes? If he has a mind of his own, then I guess he knows well enough to keep his feet/roots clean :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14925Chapter: 2
Remus' memories were so sweet. I loved how Sirius "bounded" over to James in the first flashback -- it seems like such a doggy thing to do :) and to credit the idea to become Animagi to Peter was surprising!

Just a thought (nothing to do with your story, really): I can't believe James & Co. never suspected Peter if he kept clutching his arm and suddenly remembering urgent appointments in their presence! They were either rather thick, or didn't have much of an opinion on Peter and his capabilities! Haha!

Now, onward I go!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14922Chapter: 1
FINALLY got around to reading this, Emma, and before I go on I just had to say that you did Remus so well :) I like how he was both sad and angry about Sirius' alleged betrayal, and the description about his transformation that night was riveting.

I didn't know Seldes was your beta, too. I'm proud to think about her reading my work alongside stuff like this!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14860Chapter: 12
Oh, well, I had hoped, but I guess it couldn't be. . .

I have to tell you my favorite moment was this little sentence: He resisted the urge to shuffle his feet, and nodded instead in silent acknowledgement. So, Remus had his Gary Cooper moment. I love that shy sweetness in a normally strong and decisive man. It's very endearing.

As for the end, Remus is such a survivor--a little misguided in his assessment of her feelings, but he's really a strong person. I'm so glad that he values the right things--like her friendship. Friendship that deepens into passion is much stronger than passion that fizzles without friendship. Now that he took the time to make the medallion, he's shown her just how much she means to him.

Gee! Wouldn't we all like to be cradled to sleep by Remus Lupin!;)

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14826Chapter: 12
I think Axelle's comment sums it up nicely: 'This is a lovely romance you're building up and it reminds me exactly of Maxfield Parrish's paintings, the ethereal-looking kind filled with dreamy wood nymphs and maidens. Um... but with the twist of equality.'

Exactly - I get an almost tactile forest-feel from this story, a cool-breeze-with-leaves mood through the whole thing (and, of course, the poignancy of the two hesitant, cowardly idjits! ;) ). I'm glad to see a sequel in the works, even if I'm rather miffed that you don't seem to be be cross-archiving at Weird_Sisters. <pout>

You read almost like a light (as in silk gauze versus thick cashmere) version of Textual Sphinx, in a way. And I love the depth of detail you've built. The deeper the detail, even when it's not actively used in a story, the richer the result.

And you might have given me my 'Remus in pants' concept....

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14775Chapter: 12
I want to smack both of them, right now! And you too, Emma, because I somehow missed this last chapter, and when I clicked on your name in the update list, I find this story had been finished (EEEEPPP!!) but that you'd begun another (WOO HOO!!).

Anyway.

>Remus mercilessly quashed the unruly spring of hope that had erupted within him

One of the reasons I want to smack some sense into him. He's got Cate draped all over him, and he *still* thinks she's in love with Aidan? Silly man...and Cate, attributing all those good reasons for Remus to go with her except the real one...


>Remus turned to look at the other owl, which was dark brown and gazing at him serenely. He bent down to look it in the eye, and was pleasantly surprised to have it affectionately nip him on the nose.

Awww....you always give the smallest creatures in your fics vivid little personalities!

The short conversation starting with this:

>"Do you ever think of all the things in the world there are to do, all the things to be learned, and wonder if there will ever be enough time?"

is just so lovely and sad, especially for the Werewolf and Dryad, and builds up so perfectly from the description of the night and the candles.

And the medallion!!! Oh, that's a wonderful bit of imagination - all of this is so romantic, in the very best sense of the word.

HIS is a beautiful accomplishment, Emma, and you've created a set of wonderful, memorable characters.

So glad that I read this *after* I knew the next story was up!

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13902Chapter: 12
I give you my highest praise for this one, you've made me cry.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13895Chapter: 12
::sniffs:: Poor poor Remus...for a minute there I thought *COUGHhopedCOUGH* they were going to kiss goodbye.

The END?!? Nooooooo.......thank goodness for sequels. :D

What a gorgeous medallion...I can just picture it, too. The hair entwined around the leaf....

You better get the next chapter out soon, as I don't know how long the rabbits can wait. :)

luv and Butterbeer,
~TPR

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13722Chapter: 6
Oh, Emma! This is Wonderful!
Poor Remus, in the beginning! But I stuck in there like you said, and things are definitely looking up for him. Your OC Cait is very likable. I know this is a multi-chapter review, and I'm not being very specific, but I've never read this before, and I have a hard time doing each chapter when I'm reading all of them at once. As each chapter comes out, I am much better at! I will finish some more of this story in the next few days. I can see why you are on the professor's bookshelf!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13715Chapter: 12
Oh, Emma! *sniff* That was an unbelievably heartwrenching ending!

<<"Holding the one person he had left to love, knowing she loved another. And she was leaving.">>

Ah, the pain of That Which Could Be, But Is Not! Honestly, are you channeling Jane Austen?

I should have expected this, I should have known, as it's you. ;) You have such a masterful way of drawing us into Cate's world, paving the way with luscious imagery, and emotional and psychological observations of Remus and Cate which are little in size, but monumental in scope and meaning. And it is a SUCH a great pleasure to be immersed in the poetry of your prose. But... only in sleep a king--poor Remus. *sigh*

This chapter flows along stunningly with beautiful dialogue. I especially liked your depiction of Remus's interiors as he deafly listens (hmm... is that *possible*? *scratches head*) to Cate dropping the bombshell on him. And his restrained reactions strike me as so very (for lack of a better word at this late hour and meaning no offence whatsoever to anyone) British, such as:

<< "Come with me," she said impulsively.
"What?"
"Come with me. Come with me to Atlantis."
Remus mercilessly quashed the unruly spring of hope that had erupted within him. "I couldn't... >>

Arrrrggghhhh!!

It is a testament to how well and good you've got me when by the time the first few bars of "The Way You Look Tonight" appear, I was already reaching for the Kleenex.

But even while I'm crying, I can't help but be impressed with your imagination -- I'm dying of curiosity now to see this Spero Charm in action. How fitting that it should be forged in part from the Mirror of Erised, wink, wink (really, Remus! Come on, wake up and smell the pumpkin juice!).

And before I forget (as if that's even possible), I'd like to register that you write the most gallant, romantic Remus I have ever encountered. And his healing through the story is well-paced and credibly told! I'm so glad that Remus has come to terms with his inner scars. He's finally found the peace he needed. And these lines wonderfully capture the trade-off he's making now:

<<As the familiar waves of love swept gently over him, he rested the back of his head against the stone of the sundial, and breathed deeply. Here, there was unconditional love, with none of the despair that came with unrequited love. The Forest loved him without asking questions or making demands.
And yet. . . Remus shifted so that he now lay on the ground, crossing his arms behind his head. His eyes instinctively sought the moon, and then traveled to the constellation Virgo.
And yet, the great ocean of the Forest Soror's love was not enough. He would have gladly traded it for even a small pond of Cate's. >>

In a way, the Forest is almost his sire, and as such, that is where he finds unconditional love (in a sense, paternal, maternal or both)--and security. But the love he craves is the kind which requires him to be vulnerable, and he knows it. Though, I suppose, he might not be quite ready for it yet. (!!)

Already eagerly looking forward to "Many Waters" (serendipitous ? , really, that I started re-reading Madeleine L'Engle's book of the same name yesterday :) ).

Brava, Emma! A beautiful ending of a beautiful story that also represents a beautiful beginning.

Thanks for sharing this with us!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12914Chapter: 11
*Sigh* Melancholy chapter, but wonderful just the same. I loved Remus' thoughts on the moon and his reconciliation with Her. A very beautiful scene, and both flashbacks show how intimate Remus & Cate have become:
"Cate paused, her breathing soft and even. He exhaled slowly and felt himself drift toward slumber, gently led there by Cate's voice"
A revealing bedtime story, I think. Lovely; I wonder how long she lay there, watching him sleep (what woman in her right mind wouldn't, LOL, and yes, I have a terrible case of Cate-envy; sue me :P

"She obviously had no idea what his true feelings were, but she soon would if he couldn't stop his hands from straying to touch her face, her skin"
Mmmm...touchy-feely!Remus :)

"She was in love with someone else. He wanted her to be happy. But oh, how he needed her."
"Five years without Remus. She sat down on the sofa and put her head in her hands, feeling lost and very alone."
**Sigh** These two need a heart-to-heart. Pronto.

Wonderful, as always. Emma, take pity on us poor readers; don't leave us hanging for long, 'kay?

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12906Chapter: 11
Wow...what a sad chapter, in many ways. So, Remus and Cate have been closer than I expected (the memory of the moon/chat, where she's got her head in his lap. LOL, are you *trying* to inspire Cate-envy in your readers?)

When Cate got the letter, I was cheering for her, and mentally Bludgering both she and Remus for being so stupid.

I love what Remus does to Cesara. Good for him! His memories of his friends were suitably heartbreaking, but I like the toughness that your Remus displays. He's haunted by Sirius' betrayal and James/Lily/Peter's deaths, but he isn't broken by them, and keeps going.

Nice mix of flashbacks and the present! I can't wait to see how Remus reacts to Cate's news about Atlantis!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12712Chapter: 11
The memories are particularly effective in this section, as is the part where Remus and Cate discuss lycanthropy.

You're doing a great job! Imagery, characterizations, and descriptions are quite good.

Catherine

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12669Chapter: 11
::cries:: She's not even going to ask? Oh, Cate.... You darling thing, but you're being a prat about it! As are you, Remus! ::huggles them:: They both need a good snog.

She better take Remus with her....I wonder how Atlanteans react to werewolves? Are they kinder because they're wiser? I hope so...

waiting urgently for more...
~TPR

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12614Chapter: 11
You have no idea how this chapter quelled my tears after a difficult day of shopping. I've been out since 8:00 this morning and it is now almost 3:00 in the afternoon! This was my reward and it's better than a soak in the tub.

I admire the natural progression of their relationship, because most people go through something like this-a hesitation to be vulnerable. At this stage, both are trying to shield their hearts, but it's already too late. If only they could read each other better.

You really weave the different strands of your story together well. You give a picture of how complicated life can be. We're always moving forward and until the decision is made to move forward together, things can be tough for a couple. I hope Cate decides to ask Remus and that he decides to go along.

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12611Chapter: 11
I love the part when Remus curses Cesara the best! You also brought back the tragic part of Remus' life back into the story, which we knew was lurking in the background all this time he was spending with Cate. And now, I know you won't be so evil as to seperate them for FIVE WHOLE YEARS! Poor Remus, he needs his loving.
Love-
Tiki, also an avid nectarine lover. :)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12600Chapter: 11
[Peering very contentedly from above a mountain of scrummy, cocoa-topped foam...]

*sigh* Another lovely chapter. :)

That idyllic moment outside between Cate and Remus and his reflections on his reconciliation with the woman (LOL!) on the moon was just lovely. These two are so right for each other... so much so that the yearning they each have which goes unrequited only becomes more poignant. (The poor dears.)

Cate's theory on the sequestration of Atlantis is so imaginative! Wow, kudos to you! And I love how Cate is borne away by her ebullience and enthusiasm. No wonder Remus finds her so attractive. :)

And Cesara--what a witch! I'm glad Remus put her in her place. "Forma vera" indeed! Allow me to indulge my Inner Snape now and say "I see no difference". ;P I wonder what her issue is with Cate, and what her connection is to Snape and if she's active with Death Eaters (and if so, why is she lurking about Ara Virga?).

And I very much enjoyed the flashbacks, particularly the fact that Cate has now crept in to his subconscious! Now if only he would listen to those desires... I hope that the Puritan reserve they both share isn't going to be their undoing! (Say it isn't so! :o ) BTW, those flashbacks are wonderful for another reason: they show so well the slow, subconscious seduction that's running between the two of them, like little streams of electricity that only *they* can't see. *sigh*

<<Yours in fellowship and principle,

Adolphus Nor
Archdruid of the Atlantean Druidic Council
Archmage, Order of the Alchemist First Class
Prime Knightcaster, Nectarine Lover>>

LOL! His whimsy has a lovely Dumbledoric tinge to it. Lovely!

Oh DEAR, though! What will become of out two heroes? Must they part? The suspense is now killing me. (I certainly hope you've got the next bit lined up so we won't have to wait too long after you get back from your trip! *hint* )

Superb job!

Axelle

PS. I MUST know: So, just who *was* Sirius kissing? :P

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12240Chapter: 10
Lively dialogue, Emma!

And great characterizations and interiors. I really like Aidan.

Catherine

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11652Chapter: 10
I love Aidan. I like the idea that a dashing fellow can be pleasant and admire Remus too.

Finally, Remus understands how he feels. It's interesting what makes him think that she cares for Aidan. A woman can be a true friend to a man without having romantic feelings, but it seems like friendships can be misinterpreted. This line really got to me: "But he did know, and the thought was strangely comforting, that he would rather his feelings be unrequited than never have befriended her at all." I understand why he feels this way, but I just want to kick him!

The Gladys incident was truly funny and I loved Remus' reaction to any implication that Cate was not modest. He's so in love with her, it's not even funny. Aidan was hilarious! He's a great character. You've done a wonderful job of giving us a good feel for each person in this scene in a very short space. I really am looking forward to Remus finding out how she feels about him!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11651Chapter: 9
Well, I'm finally reviewing! (I'm so embarrassed because I did read this the night I got home!) Anyway, I enjoyed reading it again. First, Remus sleeps like a mountain troll with a hangover! Hee! He wouldn't happen to be related to my husband, would he?

I thought Cate's embarrassment rang true. It shows just how much he means to her. I also thought his gentle teasing was fun. Does he know what's happening? Does he have a clue about his feelings? When Aidan appeared in the fireplace, I was amused at Remus' jealousy. Perhaps he needs to analyze his feelings!

The adventure with the Moravian Biting Vine was interesting. I can imagine the need for her talents often. Again, this shows wonderful imagination on your part. You've got us spoiled with all the wonderful magic in this story.

You also left us with a wonderful mystery and the incorporation of the myth (?) of Atlantis is really fun. I'm enjoying this story a great deal. Cate is a wonderful character, with a quiet grace and a generous heart.

Reviewer: Barbara MillerDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11532Chapter: 1
I love this story! You have created an environment for Remus that he needs a t this time in his life. I am terribly afraid that he does not get the girl, and loses out to Aidan. If Remus does win out, and Cate does not die or permanently turn into lumber,you could do a lovely series of stories where she appears at certain times in the next fifteen years or so. You could even bring her back around Harry's fifth or sixth year at Hogwarts, and let Remus live "happily ever after". He so deserves it!

I look forward to every chapter!

Sincerely, Barbara

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11530Chapter: 10
Ooh! You updated! *bounces* And what a wonderful chapter!

Let me see: I liked the description of Aiden (Rowr!), little Ludicer, the Latin nicknames, the description of Remus' feelings for Cate, loinclothed Remus... oh, HEX, I liked everything! ;-)

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11514Chapter: 10
>Remus felt oddly disappointed to find that Aidan was even more attractive in the flesh than when his head was floating in the fire.

We aren't, though! Woo hoo, more gorgeous men!

I love Ludicer's taunting of Mandible. Heh. Fern-as-terrier. And the description of Cate's distracted behavior was hilarious.

The passage describing Remus' feelings for Cate was superb - absolutely so. And I like how you bring his thoughts back to his own friends, dead and scattered. It unifies and rounds out the story. Little details like that show the care you take in crafting the story.

>The last thing he needed was for Cate to see him naked while she was furious with him for leaving a carnivorous, ravenous plant alone in her house.

LMAO! The entire last scene.....hilarious! I *love* your Remus, yes I do.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11488Chapter: 10
<<
Ludicer peeked inside from the garden and hopped swiftly over to Aidan's feet, where he bounced up and down in a shameless demand to be picked up.
Aidan laughed and obliged him, patting the fern affectionately as he stretched a few of his fronds with pleasure>>
This is so cute. I can totally see that.


<<"Aidan Knight, head of the African Beast Commission, or the Alphabet, as we prefer to call it. >>Creative!

<<He knew from experience that old friends, familiar as a much-worn and loved robe, were of a different sort than new ones.>>
Yes but at some point the new will become old. And then it is a wonderful think to have another much-loved friend.


<<"The Marauders weren't the only gang at school with nicknames," Aidan said, smiling, carefully noting Remus' subtle reaction to the mention of his boyhood friends. He had certainly improved since he had first come to Ara Virga, Aidan thought, if what Cate had said about his first few weeks was accurate.>>
Just how much has Cate told him?

<<The situation was rendered even more painful because he couldn't hate the man who had won Cate's affections. He genuinely liked Aidan, and that was the deepest rub of all.>
Oh, how very true. Its so much eazier to hate the person who you have been thrown over for than like them.

<<"So," Aidan said, leaning forward in his chair and grinning, "up for a game of Quidditch?">>
How do you play Quidditch with two people, dear?

(Ah...never mind I see someone else brought that up.)

<<as Gladys gleefully cried, "Ooooooh!, was he wearing a loincloth?">>
Have you ever seen George of the Jungle? Buttflaps? Now I have to go take a cold shower thank you!!!!

Lovely chapter. Poor Remius. I think you are correct though. Being her friend will be worth it. He needs one so very badly at this point in his life.

Have you read Jedi Boadicea's new short story: Secrets of Silence. Go take a peek. Very poignant 48 hours after the death of James and Lily and the arrest of Sirius.

Talk soon.....Elizabeth

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11430Chapter: 10
LOL! Ludicer the little fern terrorising the monstrous Moravian Biting Vine!! I love that little fern.

A-ha! The much-awaited arrival of Aidan Knight: "...two jean-clad legs and attached to a narrow torso..." Well... hellooooooo there. (Now, I see temperatures in computer labs worldwide dropping slightly due to the phenomenon of readers' synchronized eye-lash batting.) And he's a charmer, too!

<<"I'm tired of always sitting on that bloody ottoman every time I visit, so I decided I'd bring my own seating arrangements this time. Hope you don't mind, because if you do, I don't give a damn anyway." He grinned and carried the chair into the kitchen...>> Heheheh. Gotta love an affectionate manly man who travels with his own pint-sized club chair. ;)

Oh, and "Remus felt oddly disappointed to find that Aidan was even more attractive in the flesh than when his head was floating in the fire." -- <Ahem!> No comment. ;) All right, I was almost not going to comment, but I can't help it, I LOVE the tension that's building between Remus and Cate, and his little flashes of jealousy are so endearing. And yet, he can still maintain an unruffled gentlemanly demeanor. <sigh> (You *do* realise how naughty you are, don't you, tempting us all with the likes of both Remus and Aidan in the same scene -- my screen is practically *melting*.)

Very imaginative, this idea of beasts being bred by Dark wizards -- I like it! I certainly hope none of these wind up in the wrong hands (like... let's say, Hagrid's!).

And THIS is simply beautiful:

<<He had felt awareness lapping at his ankles like the ocean tides, but today the waves had risen up and consumed him.
Cate. He turned her name over in his mind, moved his mouth to shape her name.
Cate. Bending over him as she caressed the forehead of a stranger drifting moments from unconsciousness. Making soup for him and letting him prowl about the house without attempting to make him talk before he was ready. Flinging a straight-faced jest over her shoulder at him while trying to subdue a plant as unruly as any magical beast. Blushing as she stood before him half-unclothed, thinking she had been walking across the room unobserved. Standing serenely still as she spoke with trees. Telling him unflinchingly, compassionately, that she knew about his lycanthropy. Squeezing his hand countless times, offering reassurance, warmth, understanding. Smiling as she read him amusing passages from books written by eccentric old wizards. Looking at him with that intense, profoundly emotional gaze of hers. Cate.
And just as surely as he knew the truth of his own feelings for Cate, he knew the truth of Cate's for Aidan.>> Oh, no! <gasp> Poor Remus.

Ah! And that sig line that caught my eye months ago and *still* cracks me up! <<"Remus! Remus!" Aidan hissed from the window. "Cate's in the fireplace! No time to put clothes on! Here's a blanket. Hurry!"
Remus tried not to panic. The last thing he needed was for Cate to see him naked while she was furious with him for leaving a carnivorous, ravenous plant alone in her house.>>

Remus's predicament had me in giggles! LOL! Oh, dear.

OMG, was I saying Poor Remus?? POOR CATE! That Gladys! (Remus's reaction to her regaling of Aidan's prank on Cate was just fabulous! <vbg> ) What a detestable woman!! I hope we see more of her. ;)

What a superbly entertaining chapter! Excellent pacingm, characterisation and dialogue, Emma, right down to the last guffaw: "Ooooooh!, was he wearing a loincloth?" !!! Ooooooh! indeed!

WELL DONE!

More more more! :D

Axelle

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11412Chapter: 10
Aha!

Yes! No! Wait a minute....:D
Perfect, as usual. But Remus, she doesn't love Aidan!

~TPR

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 11073Chapter: 9
<She started, and turned to find Remus leaning against the bedroom door in his bathrobe, arms crossed, and smiling in an enigmatic way.>
**Swoon**

<He wondered a bit grumpily what reason a male as attractive as Aidan Knight had to call Cate 'love'.>

Heh, heh, the green-eyed monster isn't making an appearance, now, would it?

Very humorous, relaxed chapter, and a nice balance to the previous rather intense one. I'm very curious to see how Remus reacts to Cate's friend coming to visit, and how Atlantis is going to figure in the storyline.

More soon! Please? (whine, whine, whine, whine) I'm addicted!!!

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 11072Chapter: 8
Another spectacular chapter! So much to talk about--

Your description of the glade was breathtaking, from the casting of Tectum Incantatum Shield to the invokation of Pluvia Evoco to Remus hearing the voices of the trees. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!!

The Pora are very interesting--I wonder if they will meet up with these people/creatures at some time in the future. Love this: <His tone was reassuring when he replied, "Not all men are so entranced with appearance, you know. Many actually--"> And where is he going with this, I wonder? :)

<"He's going to shower now, is he? He's using your indoor shower? You have a naked man in your indoor shower right now? >
ROTFL! I like Brighid, oh yes!

<"So you're--you're a tree?" Remus asked, feeling something within him sink heavily to the pit of his stomach.>

I had to laugh at this--"a tree?"! But, I do hope you get into this a bit, as to why her being a dryad is a bad thing. Is it supposedly bad to have contact with dryads?

<He stood up, rearranging an afghan around her shoulders.>....<He bent to kiss her swiftly on the forehead and then walked towards the door.>...<He gently ran his fingertips down her hair, and marveled at how soft it felt when he could feel every strand.>

*Sigh* And she's already in love with him. It's a miracle she doesn't melt into a little puddle when he keeps doing little affectionate stuff like that; I would :)

Wonderful, wonderful!!!!!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-12-02
Reviewid: 10931Chapter: 9
>She held it tightly against her chest and strode regally back into the bathroom without another look at Remus.

Now, that is too funny, considering that she's gotten a *very* good look at our Remus. Turn and turn about is fair play!

>"I'll be. . . in the garden. Gardening."

I just love seeing Flustered!Cate - she's been the one in control of herself and the environment for so long now. And I like how Remus responds. Your Remus is so charming and dry-witted.

>"Cate! There's a man in the fireplace for you."

LOL, only in the wizarding world.

>Cate would have to glower it back into submission

The whole Moravian Biting vine episode was hilarious! You've got *such* an imagination. What did Ludicer think of it? Still chuckling over the threat to Remus' underpants...

This was a great chapter to read after the angst and poetic writing of the previous ones - lovely change of pace. And the Atlantis/Unplottable theory is brilliant! Can't wait to see what Cate is up to.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10760Chapter: 9
yay! i'm done! Now: more more more!

This was good, very good.

It's going to be interesting when Aidan comes to visit....and i nearly ROTFL when Remus was teasing Cate! :D

You write eloquently and well...

(have I flattered you enough yet?)

::coughMOREcough::
so I'm not so sublte...

and I love how you include the Latin in the names; I learn so much from you!

hoping for more soon,
~TPR

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10759Chapter: 8
::chants:: Cate loves Remus...Cate loves Remus! ;)

Now, if you just get Remus to admit his affection for her in the next chapter, I'll be happy...

rushing to chapter eigth,
~TPR

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10755Chapter: 3
the plot thickens....I have to get back to reading, but I wanted to say I love your Marauder vignettes and Ludicer may prove to be as darling as I imagine...

~TPR

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10754Chapter: 1
I was rightfully directed here by the Review Challenge...gues who ROX? You do!

I can picture this happening, unfortunately. Remus! ::sobs:: You need a hug. This line caught me:
"His friends had died because of Sirius. He wouldn't let Sirius kill him too."

on to the next,
~TPR

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-11-30
Reviewid: 10647Chapter: 9
I'd like to know how you get away with a half dozen pages or so and I'm lucky if I can CUT AP 11 at 18pgs! What's your secret? *LOL*

<<The door shut quickly behind her, and Remus fell back onto the bed and grinned despite himself. That was the most discomposed he had ever seen her.>>
Goodness I can see him doing that.

<< "I'll be. . . in the garden. Gardening." She shut it quickly, carefully avoiding his amused gaze.>>
She is just so cute here. How is it that Remus has resisted her this long? Wake up man and smell the flower before your face!

Sorry so short but I've got tons of stuff to catch up with and I only signed on to get mail. But then I saw this and had to read!!!!!!!!

Please post again as soon as always.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10600Chapter: 9
EVERY woman Remus meets knows he's a werewolf, except Amanda, and look how SHE ended up. :)

Anyway, more great tension, and nice bits of background thrown in rather organically.

You may wish to slow this all down in rewrite. It's grand here, but could be sumptious spread out over more time. Lots of room for innuendo and development. ;)

Which isn't to say I'm not enjoying it immensely. You have a good basis of innuendo and development, of characterization, and of adverbial description.

Keep at it Emma!

Catherine

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10237Chapter: 8
>He opened his eyes and watched as ten tiny golden orbs hovered in the air a meter or so above him, then quivered and burst. Golden light spilled downwards in arcs, so that the rivulets touched only the edges of the glade.

Once again, gorgeous descriptions!

Brigid is *wonderful.* Her dialogue is hilarious, and so lively. Cate needs someone like her.

>"So you're--you're a tree?" Remus asked,

OMG. I laughed so hard at this. The strange parallels between them keep growing stronger. I like Cate's hint of bitterness over her lot, much like Remus.'

The ending of this chapter is truly amazing. You can sense how Remus comes to some kind of understanding. Lovely.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9935Chapter: 4
Well, I've just read the first three chapters of this, and by golly, this is good.

Isn't this every woman's fantasy? Nursing Remus Lupin back to help.

Cate seems interested, multifaceted, and I hope she'll join the action Mary Sues!

I'll try to pick up the rest of this next week.

Well done!

Catherine

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9904Chapter: 8
Certainally this has been my favorite so far! How do you get them up so fast? I have read more Si-fi and Fantasy than I can count and I didn't see the dryad comming. Wonderful twist. The whole decripton of Remus opening himself to the voices of the trees was marvolous.

<< For what felt like seconds, hours, he stood there, transfixed by the intense sensation of speaking a language whose words were made up of emotions. Then the spirit left with his brethren, fading from Remus' body as rays of sunlight are cooled when clouds pass between star and creature. The forest waned again into silence>>
This right here is what writing is all about.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9857Chapter: 8
This confirms it. Your Remus Lupin is a man. No doubt about that. This is how I know ;) :

<<He never explained his absences, always hoping irrationally that Cate either wouldn't notice or would appreciate the solitude. She never said anything about his monthly disappearances in any case, although her cheerfulness was usually dimmed for a few days after he returned.>> Gee, I wonder why that is?

<<He stood raptly at attention as little puddles of color appeared at his feet and streaked in little rivers toward the edges of the glade.
As each stream touched the golden residue, that color briefly suffused the Shield until another stream touched it. He watched, fascinated, as the air glowed sapphire, crimson, saffron around him.
When the last stream had reached its destination, the Shield flashed blinding white and began to gently pulsate with patches of color. >>

What *gorgeous* imagery! I've said it before, I know, but it never ceases to wow me when you do it. The Shield and Pluvia Evoco are breathtaking visuals, and extremely creative! Lacuna Cara *moves*. It breathes. And it must be the most beautiful fan fiction spot my brain has been to. Simply amazing and poetic description.

The Pora sound very intriguing indeed. ("Smoldering"! Ha! Love that word. ;) ) I wonder, will Cate or Remus have to encounter those women... er, succubi (?) later in the trilogy? Whether or not they, do, I'm pleased they elicited this comment from Remus: "Not all men are so entranced with appearance, you know. Many actually--" (Damn! You also have WICKED timing! I SO wanted to know where he was going with this. Hmmph. You tease, you! ;) )

I loved Cate's confession! And Brighid -- what a character! ("Merlin's armpits!" LOLOL!) And just as I'm riding high on hopes of a Cate/Remus waffy ending, there's the revelation that she's a *wood nymph*!! Remus was obviously thinking along the same lines, poor guy. Probably wondering if there's any hope for a workable human/dryad relationship. <<"So you're--you're a tree?" Remus asked, feeling something within him sink heavily to the pit of his stomach.>> Oh, no!

But Cate is obviously stronger than I! I love how well-balanced she is, not at all self-conscious about her woodnymphism, but whether teh secret of her childhood crush was given away. :D Heheheh. She may be a dryad, but that's about as Bridget-Jonesy-human as you can get! ;)

Well, now we know that's how she manages to converse with the trees, and why she has such a green thumb (because in its natural form, it probably *is* green), why she keeps Ludicer (though, he's so cute, anyone would want him).

Her tides of emotions shape her character well; she's changeable like the weather -- like the trees in fall. :D (I love this line (she's got spunk): "Don't look at me as though I'm a sideshow for Otto Bagman's Meandering Menagerie..." --Like I said, a very strong woman... er, nymph.)

And this image is perhaps the most beautiful:

<<Remus watched, spellbound, as the leaves began to rustle along the ground, Cate's face the essence of serenity. The wind picked up, blowing in a circular motion around the glade. Cate's hair stirred in unity with the wind.
And then he felt it. A pressure building inside of him, in the air around him. He felt his heart beating against his chest as he held his breath. A shiver ran along his spine and he felt something wonderful, something beyond his comprehension ebbing and flowing within him, but growing steadily. The sunlight shining into the grove intensified, finally dissolving in a shimmer of white light.
Remus suddenly felt as though a heretofore-unknown mist that had been clouding his senses had been swept aside. The world was clearer, but he realized that none of his senses were enhanced; it was his mind that been unfurled.>> By the way, if there is anything that reminds me of the illustrations I mentioned several reviews ago, that was it!

Remus's communion with the wood is perhaps one of the biggest steps he can make in self-healing. As a man, he battles against his nature as a wolf, and doesn't see what gift there is hidden in the curse. As they say, when one door closes, another opens...

I'm looking forward to seeing what more is in store for our two heroes.

Very beautifully done!

Axelle

Reviewer: Sweeney AgonistesDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9855Chapter: 8
Just read chapters one through seven -- I *like* this story. The Lacuna Cara reminds me of the poem "Gold Glade" by Robert Penn Warren. Cate reminds me of Galadriel if she were less powerful -- but it may just be the name. ;)

Your Marauders flashbacks are *wonderful*. They ring of canon. You did a great job with those.

Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9850Chapter: 8
Emma, you've outdone yourself. I'm so captivated by this story and it's such a wonderful way to deal with Remus' problem. The Pluvia Evoco was wonderful enough with your rich description, but the end is breath-taking. Congratulations on a great chapter.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-19
Reviewid: 9556Chapter: 7
Oh Emma, I adore your concept of a wizarding catalogue! If only ours worked that way! The titles of the books are hilarious.

>he was too enthralled by all the knowledge around him to react with more than a slight quickening of the pulse.

Great line!

>Obviously he had been correct in his assumption that the little plant was capable of more mischief than his innocuous appearance indicated.

How I love Ludicer! Yes, I do!

>Cate walked over to her and they chatted animatedly for a few minutes as Remus gazed reverently at the books all around him. He saw Cate point at him and Robin peer around Cate to look at him, nodding appreciatively,

I think there is slight overuse of adverbs, here. I'd get rid of one or possibly two out of the three - perhaps describe Remus' reverent look, instead.

>Remus chuckled. He could imagine that the constellations, stationary for so long, would have relished the opportunity to move about, although he doubted very much whether Cassiopeia had had much say in the matter. Although, he thought with a grin, once a tease, always a tease.

It is touches like this that make your writing so wonderful! It's erudite, but the erudition sits lightly upon the prose.

Yea!!!! Cate gets a promotion! She deserves one.

One small quibble - I'm unsure of the time that has passed by the end of this chapter. You mention the routine they fall into as one becoming standard for the next few months...and then at the end, he's facing what is, if I've got it right, the first Transformation since Cate found him? So really, only about 4 weeks have passed?

You've really keyed into the magical aspects of JKRs world - the flying carpet, Ludicer, Lacuna Cara, the, er, rearrangement of the constellations. And the really great thing is, all of these have meaning, and are connected with other elements in your story (Ludicer, for instance, being obliquely referenced in Fudge's letter to Cate).

Oooh, by the title of your next chapter, I assume we get to see how Remus deals with his first transformation after his last disastrous one? I can't wait...

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9295Chapter: 7
Emma, your *story* is like those waves in Lacuna Cara. The images you invoke are so rejuvenating, you can't help but feel what Remus must be feeling as you read it. And what an imagination! I like the idea that hidden within the great European cathedrals lie the cavernous branches of the International Wizarding Library. It's those little links to the Muggle world that I think make up a lot of the attraction of Rowling's universe and you capture that wonderfully here. And that reference "orb" -- a lovely idea that fits perfectly into the idyllic setting you've crafted.

<<"How could he possibly choose one topic when thousands of years' worth of wisdom surrounded him? It was like trying to choose a favourite star.">>

Indeed! I know that feeling. :)

The very illegal flying carpet! Excellent tie-in to one of JKR's canon lore. But the Ludicer twist, "a fern... with a flying carpet and a quest," is highly amusing. That pesky fern is swiftly becoming one of my favourite fanon creatures. When does Hagrid get hold of one? ;)

I liked the tales of her friends' Hogwarts exploits -- it sounds like troublemakers to rival the Marauders.

Researching Atlantis! Now that's a first for me in fanon. Very innovative. And I admire how you've used the Head Scholar offer to paint a bit more depth in Cate's character. The more we learn, the more she and Remus seem quite well-suited.

And I'll echo Yolanda on what a lovely idea it is to have a healing place like Lacuna Cara. And that that is where the happy memories are called. (Could any of Sirius Black's be there, do you think?)

And that last image of the slowly unwinding coil is beautiful.

Great work!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9290Chapter: 7
Emma, you've made me very happy tonight. What a treat to get a new chapter. I enjoyed the descriptions of the books at the library, Cate telling Remus about her the astronomy misadventure, and the tale of Ludicer running amok in the library. I enjoyed your descriptions of the library and Emrys.

By far, though, I love the magic you've estblished here. The idea that there's a place that shields you from prying eyes and unhappiness is captivating.

I really enjoyed the end. The idea that Remus is wound like a spring is compeling. I also like his realization that his connection with her is so natural. I'm always happy when Remus is happy!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8571Chapter: 6
>That he was able to feel guilt for being remiss in being a courteous house guest said much about his state of mind.

Woo hoo! Remus is healing. I like the subtle way you're showing this progression. At least he's over the fern paranoia stage!

Speaking of ferns:
>Ludicer hopped out from behind the armchair's shadow and jumped awkwardly into her lap, where she proceeded to twirl his fronds absently

Hee! WONDERFUL image. <spitting coffee on monitor at the thought of attack ferns. "We are pleased to report that Edward LeStrange, a prominent Death Eater, was found fronded to death this morning in a small forest glade...">

Woo hoo! Cate's an archivist? I knew I liked her...

I'm not sure how you do it, but you give Cate and her surroundings this wonderful airy, free feel that is hard to pin down to one sentence or paragraph. It just permeates your prose, and you can see why Remus responds so readily to her and the atmosphere.

Cesara - what an annoying woman. Lupin's horror over the news of her former attachment to him was hilarious. Poor man.

Lovely chapter, as usual! I'm looking forward to more.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8560Chapter: 6
As always, too short but lovely non the less. You've painted Cait as a very kind and giveing woman. One problem in that area I saw:
<<"Thank you." Remus was humbled by her offer, not to mention the way she had opened her home and cared for him for two weeks.>>
You mention two weeks worth of care three times. This draws the readers attention to it. It also made me wonder if she is such a kind and caring host why did she leave him alone for such long periods of time. Did she feel he needed 'me' time to heal? Being alone all day for two weeks seems to much 'me' time to me!

<<He had always thought the cottage charming--it was cozy and motley and exuded warmth and friendliness.<<
Motley is often given negitive connotations. A hodgepodge that has not been thought out. Perhaps colorful, opalescent or iridecent wo0uld be better. Just my NSHO

<< She shrugged. "It's nothing personal. I'm just not a big fan of mountain trolls. I wouldn't have minded letting you rot, but the trolls tend to get a bit tipsy off of fresh meat and I didn't feel like having my house crushed by a troll passing out on top of it.">>
I love this line!!!!!!!!! Can I use the troll part somewher in AP. I'm still laughing. :)

Looking forward to more.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8517Chapter: 6
This chapter gave me warm fuzzies all the way to work this morning. :)

This is a lovely romance you're building up and it reminds me exactly of Maxfield Parrish's paintings, the ethereal-looking kind filled with dreamy wood nymphs and maidens. Um... but with the twist of equality. I liked this image:

<<"A walk sounds marvelous. Lead the way, my lady."

Cate retrieved a shawl from her armoire and then offered her arm to Remus, who took it in an exaggerated gesture of reverse chivalry. >>

Cate is the very embodiment of all that Remus finds soothing and nurturing about the forest. I can't decide whether it's her love (though it may be premature? to use that word) or the spirit of the wood that restores him; in many ways, they seem to be one and the same, like the wood (at least to Remus) is an extension of Cate.

And you've gotta love Ludicer: <<"...jumped awkwardly into her lap, where she proceeded to twirl his fronds absently.">> Awww! And I love the idea of these shrubs being spies that don't show under surveillance charms. Excellent Rowlingesque notion.

You have a talent not only for vivid description, but for nomeclature, too: Campana Liber Candela -- great name!

And in a very very short space you manage to make me like Cesara even *less* than I thought possible (which is saying a lot). I wonder if she's only really motivated by jealousy, or by some Darker Force. (cue eerie HP theme)

And as I like Cesara less and less, I can't help but take a shine to Cate. It's no surprise that her lightness has this wonderful palliative effect on Remus. :D

More please!

Axelle

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8462Chapter: 6
Your descriptions are a treat to me. I had to have my car towed tonight while trying to meet a friend for her birthday and I came home to read this wonderful chapter. The description of Cate's cottage and all the flowers was lovely. The dialogue between them was enchanting--if I can get away with using that word. I feel very happy right now.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-02
Reviewid: 7955Chapter: 5
I'm *vastly* amused and even more flattered about my cameo in your story. Emma, you are too funny - I'll be giggling all week over this.

>he wouldn't put it past the impish plant to goggle while he got dressed

Yep, Ludicer is definitely the Peeping Fern type!

The description of Cate's cottage is so vivid, I could instantly *see* it. I especially like the chair drowning in pillows. Cate is interesting in passing as a Muggle? Hmmm, what's that about....unless it is an inherited book.

Ooh, Cesara is something else. I hope we get to see more of her - I like smug, annoying women characters! Does Cate get to take her down a peg or two at some point in the story? I hope so. And I hope Sev shows up - you've done such a fantastic job writing Remus, I'd love to read your take on Severus.

The glade, and your description of the peace it gives Remus, was wonderful. You've got such descriptive talent!

Waiting for more!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7849Chapter: 5
I was so very glad to see more so soon. I just can't get mine done that fast but most chapters have been 15 to 20 pgs long! Go figure? Very insightfull. We get a sense right from the start that Remius is ready to move on with his life. It will be slow but he will survive.


Madam Pince would wrestle a Nundu for some of these titles.>> LOLOLO loved this line. Very few people remember poor Madam Pince!


A friend of someone you were closely acquainted with at Hogwarts.>> Closely acquainted? I'm not sure if they would ever describe their relationship as close!


<<His friends' absences were a gnawing hole in his heart. He didn't know which hurt more--the fact that James, Lily, and Peter were never coming back, or that Sirius' friendship had been a lie.>>
*Sniff, sniff* I wounder what hurts more for him? Some times the death of a friendship is worse than a physical death.

Looking forward to more next week! You have to you know, you've spoiled us with your quickness!

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7845Chapter: 5
I'm really taken with this story, Emma. In this chapter, I particularly like your description of the glade and how it's peaceful energy is healing to Remus. Lovely! More soon, please!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7808Chapter: 5
You have the most tantalising sense of description. Cate's home sounds idyllic and seems like an oasis in the forest, and yet, very much a part of it at the same time. Kind of like Cate, I guess. (Which made me wonder a bit how she might look in Paris -- and with Juliane!! :D Great cameo, btw.)

Her library sounds delightful and those titles were curious indeed. So Cate is brushing up on faking Mugglehood? Hmm. It can't just be for Halloween. ;)

I wonder how she manages to communicate with the forest, and I like how you've personified the forest itself. It's as if nature has something big in store for Remus. Pity about the neighbours! I'd certainly like to know more about Cesara and what she has to do with Snape.

Well done!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7807Chapter: 5
I loved the insertion of Juliane in this chapter. LOL! I'm sure Ludicer would have a great time in Paris with her!

An interesting exchange with Cesara. She sounds like a nasty person. I hope Cate is not in danger. I like Remus in healing mode. Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7134Chapter: 4
Sorry it took me so long to read. RL just gets in the way too much.

<< Bare skin on linen bedclothes. Was he naked? Remus' eyes widened.
"Er--why am I naked?" he asked in a strangled voice. "Who undressed me?">>

Oh I loved this part!! Question though? Would a witch make cloths? I think sewing machine =s make. Did she conjure new robes or maybe transfigured some of hers into larger things for him. Just a thought IMNSHO

Very nice that she knows him already. Saves him the trouble of getting to know her before he opens up to her.

Another question. How do the trees "talk" to her. Was this explained in another story I haven't read or will it be explained later.

Great read. Yes you've forced me to put more Remus in AP thank you very much! I was trying to avoid it but you've givin me the "Wolf bug."

Looking forward to more
Elizabeth

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2002-10-25
Reviewid: 7052Chapter: 4
I'm always happy to see a Remus Lupin story, and I'm really enjoying this one. I will definitely have to get caught up in the archives, as your Cate Fairchild character is so fascinating (and lucky, too--undressing Lupin?! Oh, my!). She knows his name, and I'm curious as to what else she knows about Remus. I also love the little fern creature! How adorable! Looking forward to more...

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-10-24
Reviewid: 7001Chapter: 4
Emma, I love the verses you're choosing for your chapters. That wonderful Ludicer is a great addition to the story. He's curious and I bet will become an ally of sorts for Remus. Cate is a strong, self-possessed person. She seems to know intuitively what will be good for Remus. I'm so glad he talked to her about his life. And the mystery of her-that she hears the trees talk. I like her very much.

I noticed your sig line quote in the body of this chapter and I giggled at Remus's predicament. She handled him beautifully. I can't wait to see more of the development of their relationship.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-10-24
Reviewid: 6984Chapter: 4
Emma, you don't know how timely this chapter is! I was having a pissy morning, and when I saw your name on the updated list, I did a little happy dance.

Woo hoo! More Ludicer! I have no idea where you came up with him, but I just adore the little guy!

>Remus levelled him with a stare. "And how long have you been watching me without my knowledge?"
Ludicer blinked innocently up at Remus and hopped a little closer.

Bwaaaaah!

>he was concentrating solely on whether Cate's movements about the house would lead her to the bedroom.

<porny thoughts intrude here>

I like the way you indicate Cate's hesitation before entering Remus' room. Subtle, and a great little detail.

It was a wonderful plot twist, to have Remus explain his history to Cate, and then find out she knew, and was helping him to heal a little bit. The progression of their relationship is paced very well - they still have the air of tentative acquaintance.

I'm *really* curious whether or not Cate knows about his lycanthropy! And I like her slightly flirtatious attitude towards him, and his confusion. She's got a quiet self-confidence that's very appealing.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-10-24
Reviewid: 6968Chapter: 4
Oh, Emma! That is the most adorable and hysterically funny fern I have ever had the pleasure to entertain in my head. LOL! You've created one of the most amusing Original Creatures in fan fiction, I think. And what a personality Ludicer has! This is just fabulous:

<<He quickly surveyed the room looking for his clothes, but failed to find them. He did, however, see Ludicer hiding behind Cate's legs with an expression that looked suspiciously like impish glee. Was that a swatch of brown he saw clutched in those leafy fronds?
"Ludicer! Ludicer has my clothes!" he thundered, pointing at the fern, who was now doubled over with mirth.
"You think my plant stole your clothes? Really, Remus, I know you're still ill and all, but come on now. What would a fern want with your underpants?" Cate asked, exasperated.>>

LOL! Your Remus is adorably mortified here. :) (I'm glad you think your Remus looks like mine, because that's the imaginary man I've cast in the lead for your story! ;) Add his apparent lack of vestments and our now-shared physical image of Remus and... ooooh, it's getting quite *hot* in here, don't you think?? <loosens collar and turns distinctly pink>) And I love Cate's matter-of-factness in response to his near-hysteria. I like how her patient silence and sympathy manage to elicit the therapeutic unburdening of his sorrows. At this point, that's precisely what he needed, and Cate is intuitive enough to sense that. She's great -- I can't wait to find out more about how Brighid, Iris and Aidan might fit in to the Potters' story. And what *else* the trees might have had to say about him.

And last, but not least:

<<She reached down and took his soup bowl, then brushed the hair off his forehead with her free hand.
"You really do clean up nicely, you know, when your robes aren't covered in dirt and your hair isn't caked with mud," she said lightly as she straightened and walked towards the door.>>

<sigh!> <swoon> Well, now we know she's HUMAN. I do think Running-A-Hand-Through-Remus's-Hair is right up there on the list of Things We Wish We Could Do For Real.

Oh, and very aptly titled, BTW.

Simply wonderful! Looking forward to the next bit! :D

Axelle

Reviewer: Hermione GirlDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6590Chapter: 3
Great job, Emma!<br>Ummmm, not to be really picky, but as you're putting the pronounciation at the bottom, "virga" would be pronounced "WEER-guh." At least in the Classical Latin; Ecclesiastical Latin would be "VEER-guh," as you have put.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6589Chapter: 3
I LOVE Ludicer! I want one - a friendly fern. I'm still giggling over Remus' shock.

More lovely writing - I like how carefully Remus notes everything - I suppose he would have to learn to be a sharp observer, to stay alive the way he has. The calmness and serenity of this chapter is such a contrast to your last one. You've conveyed the feeling of healing and safety so well - just as well as you conveyed loss and sadness in the first chapter.

Cate is most interesting - very likeable, but very businesslike with Remus. I can't wait to see how, and along what lines, their relationship develops.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6572Chapter: 3
You used Stephen Foster!!! I love Stephen Foster!!

I already like Cate very much. She's self-possessed and strong. I think Remus will have a tough time isolating himself from her. He needs a friend right now who will not ask too many questions.

I think you did very well with her reactions to him, especially to his asking to see her face. I liked that.

I'm enjoying this story. Good touch having an interesting plant that can see!

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6570Chapter: 3
Emma, this is wonderful! Why didn't you mention you had a story archived as well. Only fitting I should come visit and review after all the time you took to read Ancient Prophecy.

I have to admit my Remus is weak and does not play a large role in AP, but now after reading yours I just might try to work a bit more of him into the story.

<<However, the moon was still shining defiantly, refusing to be veiled, and her light fell upon him gently, almost apologetically.>>
This is beautifull. I've always loved the moon and felt sorry for Remus for not being able to enjoy it in its full splender.

I don't see chapter three posted yet. Will you please let me know when it is up?

Hugs--off to work on chapter 11 of AP.

Elizabeth

P.S. I did a google search and a bartleby search on your pen name beause I know it's from something and I can't find it! Oh that bothers me when memory fails. Tell me please? Its a musical/play I know that much I think.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6543Chapter: 3
Emma! Hooray! Another chapter!

What fantastic descriptions of Cate's home. YOu have the really rich visuals here -- funny ones, too:

<<a warty old witch in one of the tapestries crept towards a mistletoe tree with an axe, unaware of the bowtruckle stealthily following her with a couple of mountain trolls in tow.>>

and the leering Delphic Descrying Shrub! LOL!

And you do a lovely DazedandConfused!Remus here -- how he's struggling to regain his composure and flubs up both stealth and tact in the most adorable way possible.

His saviour is certainly intriguing. I like the lightness with which she handles his awkwardness, but despite this she seems quite wise (oh, and not a stranger to feminine wiles). Remus has noticed she's quite the mystery, and I'm with him -- can't wait to know more about Cate! (Actually, she reminded me a bit of this: http://elfwood.lysator.liu.se/loth/j/e/jeshannon/morning_mist3.jpg.html and http://elfwood.lysator.liu.se/loth/j/e/jeshannon/summer.jpg.html, both by the same artist.)

Well done! Now, get going with those other chapters! Now that you've secured your tickets to the CoS sneak preview, what other priorities could you *possibly* have? :D

Axelle

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-09-30
Reviewid: 5039Chapter: 2
Wow! You're such a grand mood-setter! The descriptions were lovely (if harrowing).

I like how you interspersed the flashbacks - very smoothly done! Sirius was great - brash but not overwhelming, and the Lily/James engagement scene was wonderful, in the reactions of all of the characters.

>every time some opportunity for mischief comes up, he clutches his arm and mumbles something about his mother before Disapparating," James said, frowning

Oooh, that evil Peter! But I'm laughing at the thought of Voldy as his 'mother.'

I like how you underlined Remus' feelings of "outside-ness" with the Animagus plan. He must have been feeling so left out, until they explained what they had been doing - what a gift for him!

Great chapter - eagerly waiting for more.

Reviewer: SorchaDate: 2002-09-30
Reviewid: 5022Chapter: 2
Great story! Remus is my favorite character - I would love this story to have a happy ending!!!

Reviewer: VeronicaDate: 2002-09-28
Reviewid: 4881Chapter: 2
I like your stories! Keep it up ^_^

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4845Chapter: 2
Remus' grief is visceral. You certainly captured it at this level. All the stories were so touching. He lost so much that night. I can imagine him losing touch with reality like that. I'm also glad she found him.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4844Chapter: 2
Oh, Emma, I have been looking forward to this -- and you do not disappoint. *Wonderful* characterisation of the Marauders, and excellent dialogue, especially all the mick-taking at Sirius's expense. ;)

Flashbacks are tough to carry off, but you do a fabulous job here and the juxtaposition of Remus's happiest moments with his worst is well done.

And your descriptions, particularly of the rain in the forest, are admirably evocative. Poor Remus!

Happily, he seems to have found his haven (excellent description of the changed surroundings, btw). Now, I'm dying to know more about Cate! ;) She's a creature? An Animagus? A faerie? I guess I'll just have to wait... (but please hurry up!)

Axelle

Reviewer: EriaDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4390Chapter: 1
I'm crying. Cherish every tear that settles into my keyboard: you've moved me. Within... *scrolls* around three sides. The flashback scene is especially nice, since I've often wondered how Remus would have reacted. Nice!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4297Chapter: 1
>Peter's bumbling adoration

This is a lovely characterization of Peter.

Remus' breakdown when Dumbledore tells him of his friends' deaths is so sad - I forget sometimes how young Remus is when this happens.

>That wretched traitor deserved to have all his happy memories stolen from him as he had stolen his friends' lives.

Cool sentence! I like the way you describe Remus' rage, as well as his sorrow. The details of the house, and Remus' anguished questions about Sirius' motives, really bring the scene to life.

Eeep! You write a chilling transformation scene. Remus turning his rage against himself in wolf form is sad, but quite in character.

I love your style! You've got a great lyric quality to your writing, and I'll be keeping my eyes open for the next chapter.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4286Chapter: 1
Wow! I feel his loss so dramatically and I can imagine Remus tearing at himself to forget the mental pain. I'm looking forward to your first chapter. You set the tone really well with the prologue.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-09-19
Reviewid: 4276Chapter: 1
Emma, what a tragedy to begin with! Poor Remus! JKR mentioned that he was one of her favourite characters because his life has been so tragic, and I think you've captured that here. Bleeding is believing, indeed.

Looking forward to where you're taking this.

Axelle :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --