The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Birthday Wish
Review(s): 69

Reviewer: Laurelin, Queen of SnorkacksDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144233Chapter: 1
AWWW! That was incredibly sweet.

Reviewer: rm/boDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142191Chapter: 1
This fic was adorable! I'm a solid H/G shipper and I thought it was really sweet! Well done!

-rm/bo

Reviewer: Manda06Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140239Chapter: 1
Awww! This was a very well-written story. Everyone was extremely in-character! I love Ginny's wish at the end - very good foreshadowing, seeing as how Harry really DOES end up as part of the Weasley family in the books, after all. Great job!

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138868Chapter: 1
What a sweet story. I think you've captured the younger Weasleys (including Molly and Arthur) extremely well and the little hints of foreshadowing are very subtly placed. A very enjoyable read!

Reviewer: ThePenofGloryDate: 2005-11-23
Reviewid: 136219Chapter: 1
Great job! I really like this, as it's not often you get to read something good from a smaller child's point of view. Nice ending especially, and I liked how you portrayed everyone's character correctly.

Reviewer: samanthaDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134496Chapter: 1
awww how cute! wonderfully written, and such an awesome ending. i love it!

Reviewer: WormyDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129139Chapter: 1
How cute! I LOVED IT!!!!

Reviewer: HopeDate: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127586Chapter: 1
So good. I loved Five-Year-Old!Ginny. The last line completes the fic perfectly. We all know that Harry will have a family <i>exactly</i> like Ginny's. :D xo, H

Reviewer: JackieDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124517Chapter: 1
Wow! Really creative, especially Ginny's dislike of Harry. I thought the very last line was suberb--way to end the story!

Reviewer: LinneriaDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123120Chapter: 1
Aww! That was as sweet as Chocolate frogs in pink icing tutus! Splendid work!

Reviewer: Kasey DonahueDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122093Chapter: 1
Awww! That is soo cute!

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121707Chapter: 1
OHHH HOW CUTE! I REALLY LIKED THAT STORY!

Reviewer: MaddieDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116494Chapter: 1
This was a beautifully done story. Ginny's feelings seemed exactly right. The only problem I have with the story is that Ginny seems a bit old for a five-year-old; a little bit too insightful. Other than that, it beautifully conveys the jealousy that goes along with having a large family, and also shows a rarely seen glimpse of what the wizarding world thought of Harry while he was living with his aunt and uncle. And Ginny's wish at the end was touching. Overall, it was a very well done story.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114965Chapter: 1
nice story. Not exactly on the H/G ship, but cute.

Reviewer: Oliver KremerDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105955Chapter: 1
The story's really wonderful. You captured all of them the way I imagined them and I loved what Ginny is thinking of Harry (I just a big fan of Ginny). Please write more about the Weasleys, esp. Ginny: It would be nice to see her developing her crush for Harry whom she never even saw until her 10th birthday. I would love to read more from this point until she meets Harry. Then the books fill in and there comes cts with his story. Though 3 different authors it all fits nicely, wouldn't it? Please keep going, you're doing great.

Reviewer: SaeasDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101916Chapter: 1
That was so good! I particularly liked the line:

“Oh,” said Ron. “Not like bread.”

It made me laugh out loud. This was a very good portayal of Ginny's thoughts - especially because you didn't depict her as being infatuated with Harry. The last line was just lovely.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88357Chapter: 1
This story is very well written, and everyone is in character. Percy, of course, was annoying..."I am ten years old..." and Ron being kind of gullible or no naive "You can't drink toast"...I love Ron by the way, because he is so much like me, except, well, I am a girl. Anyway, Ginny was so adorable. I like how she doesn't worship Harry from the start. And her wish was rather ironic. It came true. I bet she didn't know that her family would become Harry's family when she made that wish. ;)

Great job. I want to see more of your work. It is very good.

Reviewer: July31Date: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86123Chapter: 1
ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY ADORABLE!!!!!!!

EEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86014Chapter: 1
Very cute. Great Ginny!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85965Chapter: 1
Adorable! Very Ginny-like, judging by her slightly rebellious streak in the fifth book. I loved the way you portrayed Ron, too: naive, but always ready to stand up for Ginny. I really enjoyed this story.

Reviewer: AmethystPhoenixDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82442Chapter: 1
Very cute.

The irony at the end was really well done, and I liked how Ginny didn't hero-worship him from the start; instead, she was jealous of him. Interesting that her birthday is the day Voldemort was defeated.

~AmethystPhoenix

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80750Chapter: 1
I really like this since it's so different from the other five year old Ginny story I've read, "A Magical Bedtime Story," which was also excellent. Love the idea of Ginny resenting Harry, though I'd be interested in reading about how her feelings developed into the adoration of the first two books.

I thought everyone here was wonderfully characterized, and I loved little Ron and wanted to sit on little Percy, which I'm sure was the reaction you were going for.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79023Chapter: 1
This was such a beautiful story. i like these kind of stories that are light, little ficlets that are funny. This was a great story, and I loved it. I particularly loved the opening line (like other people), and the wish that Ginny made. I'd say it came true, wouldn't you?

Reviewer: WiddershineDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74508Chapter: 1
So sweet. I love the first sentence: "Harry Potter had stolen her thunder..." that's just brilliant. You can just see little five-year-old Ginny sitting there pouting 'cause some boy didn't die. And of course the end wish is wonderful...and it comes true too (we hope!). Wonderful job.

Reviewer: lilmermaid987Date: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73783Chapter: 1
From the first sentence it is so cute. Exactly as I would think that a five year old Ginny would act. Also just as a little Ron would act with his "You can't drink toast" comment. Even little Percy was perfectly in chracter at his great age of ten years old. Ginny's little wish is wonderful at the end. I loved every minute of this little fic!

-Mermaid-

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70509Chapter: 1
Ingenious!!!! Wow,that fanfic was brilliant! D'you know, while it was really cute seeing Ginny as a little kid, seeing Ron was even more enjoyable!! Absolutely everything you have him say or do in this fic makes me feel like I love him as much as if he were my own kid.
Ginny's wish was incredibly sweet.
Btw, have you ever read anything by LM Montgomery? Your writing style reminds me of hers. Thanks for the fic!

Reviewer: MacyDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69514Chapter: 1
That was just beautiful... really clear and organized, and the ending was wonderful. Really touching...

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69422Chapter: 1
I loved the way this piece was put together. The irony of the ending, was exellent. I also enjoyed how the author kept to the characters personalities.

Reviewer: AriellaDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69056Chapter: 1
Great story. Quite touching. I like the origin behind Ginny's crush on Harry.
Nice idea.
Keep up the good work!
-Ariella.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68781Chapter: 1
What a sweet story! A great peek inside the mind of young Ginny. Very well done.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65959Chapter: 1
Oh, this was so lovely! This story should be held up as an example of how to write through the eyes of a five year old. Ginny's disappointment at having her birthday overshadowed, her determined attempt at clinking glasses with everyone, her savvy at fishing out George's tadpole (which made me crack up) and her sharing the chocolate frogs with her brothers was great. Ron's insistence that you can't drink toast was priceless! You really captured the dynamics of being a small child in a big family and an even bigger world, it was perfect.
The only tiny nitpick I found was that Ginny would be more likely to call her mother Mummy rather than Mum at that age. But that's a miniscule detail. Lovely story, so cute.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65626Chapter: 1
Ohhh... just read the story. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Really, a great ending.

Reviewer: WoLfPaWsDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65323Chapter: 1
That was really sweet of Ginny...*squeal*...at the end I mean, when she make that wish for Harry Potter...anyway, it's a great chapter!

Reviewer: AlrauneDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63880Chapter: 1
Love the story! Very original idea. Poor Ginny, having everyone talking about Harry on her birthday. "Ginny was glad Harry Potter hadn’t died, of course, but she rather wished he had chosen another day to not die."
The characters were spot on, I esp. liked Percy. Clueless!Ron was funny and I liked how he pointed out they should toast for Ginny, not Harry.
The chocolate frogs in tutus were hillarious.
I liked Ginny's thoughts at the end and the last sentence was a perfect finish.
A very enjoyable read.
Keep up the good work!
Cheers
Alraune

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63765Chapter: 1
Boy, that must be terrible for Ginny...still, nice story. Sweet ending.

Reviewer: KechloenDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56505Chapter: 1
Very nice. I like how Ginny acted especially five-year-old with the 'It's my birthday! Couldn't he have chosen so other day?' mantra.

Reviewer: AnastasiaDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55545Chapter: 1
I think this stroy is really cute and a great tribute to Ginny and the Weasleys.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55461Chapter: 1
Very nice and sweet ^^

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48271Chapter: 1
awww...........

how cuuuuuuuuute! ::big happy grin spreads across face::

wow, Ginny is a lot less selfish than I expected. If I had to share *my* birthday, I expect I would be quite put out about it.

more stories! you're good!
ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: SamiDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42226Chapter: 1
how cute!

Reviewer: ImpDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40899Chapter: 1
That. Was. Friggen'. Adorable. You made ME feel all warm and lovely inside (not an easy thing to do).

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40691Chapter: 1
Sweet and utterly adorable!! Loved your characterization of the Weasley family, and the last line just made my heart melt.

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37784Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this story very much. I liked the foreshadowing(is that spelled right?) it realy fits the original story quite well!! @:-}

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35989Chapter: 1
Aww..."And someday, Ginny, your wish will come true!"

My favorite part, though, was Ron's "You can't drink toast!" comment. Ron as a six year old=comic relief.

Thanx,
Meghan

Reviewer: IsolaDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31654Chapter: 1
*Squeaks and dances about the room* So SWEET! I loved the little hints of sadness and I loved Ron's comment about drinking toast, and Percy was just magnificent! "I am ten years old..." *Cracks up* Wonderful.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@aol.comDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28417Chapter: 1
AWWWWW! SO CUTE!

Reviewer: KaeDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28078Chapter: 1
I thought this was really sweet. This is one of the best Ginny pieces I've ever read.

Reviewer: MiliDate: 2003-03-09
Reviewid: 23397Chapter: 1
oooh, sweet! :)

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22791Chapter: 1
This was so sweet! The birthday wish was perfect! And alas poor Ginny...she'll appreciate Harry much more when she's older...

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21794Chapter: 1
This was just lovely. I also found the recommendation on the "fic for children" thread - and am so glad I did!

You wrote a five-year old very realistically. I'm also a big fan of the plot idea that Ginny was born the day Harry defeated Voldemort - it's really something, sweet and a great secret, in the context of an H/G ship. You really did a good job with that, what with the final comment - great work! I was really pleased by both the general character of Ginny at 5 years and the deeper twists and turns in this piece.

Oh, and Ron with the toast? Absolutely classic. :D

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21636Chapter: 1
That was quite possibly the sweetest thing I've ever read. I saw this on the little kid fanfic recommendation at the Pensieve and I'm very grateful that Elanor Gamgee mentioned it. It was beautiful!

Reviewer: ColleenDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20481Chapter: 1
I love this story, especially the ending.

Reviewer: The Ultimate OtakuDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19787Chapter: 1
This story, I swear, it is one of the cutest, funniest, sweetest stories I've ever read! If only Ginny knew about her future! I love the way the whole Weasley family were smiling at her, and the way she had a wondrous cake. The chocolate frogs in tutus, lol, so funny! I could almost taste them. The ending was so sweet! It made me cry because it was such a great story with the most magnificent ending! Congrats on making me all sentimental! I really love this story, excellent writing, mate. Two thumbs up, and five stars!

Reviewer: Amanda PickellDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15902Chapter: 1
Stupendous work! It's the first one I've read, so I cannot compare it to others here, but I think It's marvolous.

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2002-10-21
Reviewid: 6771Chapter: 1
I really like the ending on this one! very cute story :-)

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2002-10-17
Reviewid: 6516Chapter: 1
I love the ending. Fabulous, simply wonderful.
I think there are only three or four wizarding families in Ottery St. Catchpole, but if one family is having a big party, I suppose it's not unusual that they should be letting off illegal fireworks.

Reviewer: PottiriusDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6118Chapter: 1
Awww...qute li'le Ginny

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-10-03
Reviewid: 5224Chapter: 1
Ooooooooh! Lovely!

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4520Chapter: 1
aww, what a sweet little fic. great job!

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4503Chapter: 1
What a great story. Write more, please!

I love seeing Ginny *not* fawning over Harry. And the chilling bit about Aunt Elizabeth... shudder. Everybody wonderfully in character.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4499Chapter: 1
Very sweet! Love the frogs in tutus and Ron's idea about "toast"! Loved the line "Ginny was glad Harry Potter hadn’t died, of course, but she rather wished he had chosen another day to not die." Excellent job getting into the mind of a 5 year old!

Reviewer: OpheliaDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4436Chapter: 1
Oh, my. This is such a sweet story! I loved the part about the twins and their own version of the banshee song. :)

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4414Chapter: 1
What an adorable story!

> ?I?m ten years old,? said Percy importantly. ?You can tell me, at least, although I doubt the children will understand--?

LOL! That is so Percy. Ron is adorably in character, too--and 8-year old twins being mischievous as usual... hehe

I like your portrayal of Ginny. She's appropriately petulant (it IS her birthday, after all), but the ending's very sweet and hints at how her character will develop. Good job!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4393Chapter: 1
I loved her wish at the end. You did a good job portraying the family. I also liked the "you sing like a banshee" from the twins.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4388Chapter: 1
Cute. I liked the frogs in tutus the best and the wish was very sweet.

Reviewer: ava_kedDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4377Chapter: 1
Awwww! That is so sweet of Ginny at the end! I love how you portrayed Ginny's feelings in this fic - I can imagine her feeling cross about everyone making a fuss about somebody else on *her* special day.

Reviewer: mayDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4363Chapter: 1
Truly heart warming story! Loved it!

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4344Chapter: 1
Ohhhhhh!!! This is simply adorable.

Loved the last line. :-b

Reviewer: LizDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4338Chapter: 1
It's rather hard to get into the mind of a 5 year old, and that's why I like this story. It works. Ginny is 5, and she is still adorable. Chidlish thoughts and all, she manages to make a selfless wish. Wonderful characterization.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --