The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119819Chapter: 1
Hey, I finally started reading all your fics and they're great, but I guess everything's been said already in the reviews but what I really liked was this list he made of the worst students, black parchment and silver ink, I can so imagine him doing that - in fact I'm always making silly lists like that (well not worst students of course but like.. fav actors.. *blushes*), sort of unsettling actually the resemblance.. Just something we Muggles do when we're bored, perhaps?

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114320Chapter: 1
excellent - well done

Reviewer: CestrianDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69266Chapter: 1
I really like this, Remus is nicely in character and the part about the cheese is very funny. You've nicely caught Filch here too of course, his bravery and love for Mrs. Norris are rather sweet and his worst fear is wonderfully poignant. I also really liked his thoughts on students. How most are nothing more than 'muddy tracks across the stone of my clean floors' and his special hatred for MWPP and Fred and George. I do wonder about his thoughts on Lupin mind you, you did a nice job mixing pity with distrust and dislike, but even if I buy the respect and sorrow he has for Lupin (which I'm on the fence about)I have a hard time seeing him this open and relaxed. Still, very nice story.

Reviewer: walrusDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 57966Chapter: 1
cheese! that'g great. "professor, you're afraid of cheese!" oh, boy. I never would have thought to do that. that's absolutely hilarious. Lupin. sigh. I love him. And I love this story. cheese!... :-D

walrus

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53162Chapter: 1
Arresting, almost shattering images in the first lines--the Basilisk in Filch's office, banging its head against the hanging lamp, making its shadow seem to writhe...terrified Mrs. Norris racing for cover...the open file drawer. It's almost cinematic in its immediacy.

How horribly difficult and unpleasant it would be for Filch to ask for Remus's help, after all the Marauders doubtless put him through--as difficult as confronting a Boggart. Lupin, with his hard-won maturity and self-deprecating humor, is spot-on, and you give us a nice sense of a dawning mutual respect, even liking, between these two old adversaries. "People can change, you know"--this could be the theme of the entire "Squib Wizard" series--people changing, or revealing unexpected depths.

I'm beginning to appreciate the direction of your Squib stories--here is a Filch who, whatever hardships and loneliness he's known, hasn't yet experienced the best and the worst you have in store for him. Before his confrontations with the Death Eaters and Voldemort, his worst fear is the end of his usefulness, and he's so painfully convinced that it's on that usefulness that his whole value to others depends. As the stories progress, he'll meet real, active evil--but he'll also discover that he's dear to people who couldn't care less if he could never wield a mop again, except for his own sake.

And you've given him more great lines. "Ephemeral tracks of mud on my clean floors"--delicious. And, best of all:

"Stay out of trouble...I know where there's a lot of cheese."

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37841Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! So poignant, and yet funny too. Some of my favorite parts:
"Suddenly there was a mirror in front of me. I was staring at my own reflection.
I saw a Squib.
Such a useless creature! What could I possibly do with my life except hard, menial labor?
Break my back like a Muggle. Slave away like a house-elf.
Mop. Scrub. Dust. Clean. Fetch and Carry."
That speaks chapters about Filch. I think you've hit the nail right on the head by having this be his fear.
"Oh, I fear all types of cheese, Mr. Filch..." he said, very gravely. "Roquefort. Swiss. Cheddar. Brie. Edam..."
"S-stop..." I moaned, clutching my sides. Tears were streaming from my eyes.
"Baby Gouda..." he murmured.
kdjls;asaljg! I love your Lupin! He is dignified and professor-ish, but we can still see hints of the mischievous boy he used to be.
Excellent!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36753Chapter: 1
I really like your version of Filch. I knew that under that gruff exterior there had to be some sort of compassion. I'm glad that he and Lupin consider themselves worthy adversaries. Great bit about Lupin's bogart and the cheese, by the way.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36359Chapter: 1
"'Oh, I fear all types of cheese, Mr. Filch... he said, very gravely. 'Roquefort. Swiss. Cheddar. Brie. Edam...'"

Great line. :)

This was a sweet story, about a side episode in PoA that I never thought about once. Filch's memories of the Marauders, his mistrust of Remus, and his fear are all very prettily drawn.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-05-21
Reviewid: 33008Chapter: 1
Wonderful take on this part of PoA. I wrote a scene for my fic where Remus tackles the boggart in the files, but he does it without Filch's help. I like to see different version of the same incident. And I love the whole "worthy advisary" bits in this. I think the realtionship between Filch and MWPP is one of the best areas for fun in fandom and you touched on it nicely here. By the way, Durayan has been NAGGING me to read these fics of yours. I really liked this one, so I'm off to read some more!

Reviewer: JiminyCDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32427Chapter: 1
This was just wonderful!! Lupin was always so patient and helpful with his students - the thought that he would be the same with Filch was really touching.

It was also really moving to think that what Filch fears is his own nature. That one passage alone gives a tremendous insight into his character and tells us so much about his motivations.

Beautifully done!

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27257Chapter: 1
" He was evidently going to be a lot more comfortable with this mutual respect business than I was."

I love how Filch gave Lupin that line, not because he really felt good about it, but because he
feels sorry about it. That really defined your characterization of Filch for me. Not nice, but
essentially decent.

"Oh, I fear all types of cheese, Mr. Filch..." he said, very gravely. "Roquefort. Swiss. Cheddar. Brie. Edam..."

The other side of Lupin's character coming out. The side that tends to be forgotten. Lupin's
does tend to be very self-depecrating, but there is a sort of outside-looking-in quality
to it.

NM

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21686Chapter: 1
I love the way you mix drama, pathos and humour. You made a really strong start with the Basilisk, neatly placing the story in time with Mrs Norris’ recall of her ordeal in CoS. And Filch’s bitterness soon comes though as he harps on his Squib status. His inability to trust Lupin or accept his praise is an interesting variation on the theme, and the manifestation of his worst fear was vividly written.

Your Lupin too is very in-character, with his supportive encouragement of Filch – though I did feel he might have explained the procedure a little more clearly. Might he have been looking for a subtle revenge on his former nemesis?

The recurring memories of the fates of the other Marauders give the story a haunting undertone. In contrast, the cheese comments were hilarious, especially Filch’s parting shot at the end.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21399Chapter: 1
Wow, such a wide spectrum of emotion in a short piece. It sounds terribly cliched to say, "I laughed, I cried...", but, well, I did. ;)

THINGS I LIKED:

*The Filch-ness in lines such as, "Donít ask me why I thought that a mere wooden door could prevent the King of Serpents from going anywhere that it wanted to go" and "Mrs. Norris is as brave as a lioness...She was my dear one, my brave one, my Queen of all cats..." Hee!

*The perfectly succinct phrasing of lines such as, "I reflected, without triumph, that life had done far worse to three of them than I ever could have done." That says it all right there. :(

*CHEESE! Holy Gobstones, that was funny. :D "Oh, I fear all types of cheese, Mr. Filch..." he said, very gravely. "Roquefort. Swiss. Cheddar. Brie. Edam..."

*Remus, with his kind and yet slyly Marauder-ish treatment of Filch. Perfectly in-character.

What a surprisingly touching moment between these two. Excellent!

Katinka

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17668Chapter: 1
Havarti. Monterey Jack. Muenster. Stilton.

HAH!

I love your Remus--so sly and very funny. I'm hoping now to see him pop up in the Squib Doors stories, and harrass Snape. Excellent short piece.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9641Chapter: 1
Just a thought: if Lupin did stick the Boggart in Snape's desk, what do you think it would turn into? A bottle of Gilderoy Lockhart's Lavender-scented Luscious Locks Hair Tonic? LOL. Kidding. I just read Catherine's account of Snape's youth and I'm pretty sure it won't be a bottle of shampoo.

Great job again! :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9640Chapter: 1
"Mrs. Norris is as brave as a lioness." That was such a sweet thought, coming from Filch! :D

Great job again with Filch's thoughts. (The list on black parchment! "Mischief Incarnate!" LOL.) I really felt for him when he had to face his fear *sniffle*

Your Remus was sweet, too. I like how he encouraged Filch to think that he was afraid of cheese. His rattling off all kinds of cheese was hilarious!

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8512Chapter: 1
Another fine Filch story from Ozma! Your portrayal of the awkward relationship between Filch and Lupin was absolutely convincing, and I liked the way you brought out Filch's lurking humanity at the end. I wasn't quite sure about Filch's Boggart--his attitude to his Squib status always seemed to be more self-hatred than fear to me--but maybe I missed something and you meant to suggest that what he fears is being *exposed* as a Squib?

That one small point aside, I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and shall work my way through the rest of your pieces as time permits. You have a good hand for dialogue and construct characters very convincingly.

Calanthe.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6593Chapter: 1
CHEESE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOLOLOL

That's wonderful. That's superb. That's excellent. That's brilliant. That's....

~TPR

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6281Chapter: 1
This is great! You really are into Filch and his side of the story. It's about time.

Reviewer: BobcatDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6141Chapter: 1
Hmmm, I've never read a Filch-fic before. You did a very good job. I never would have thought that he'd make a good main character for a story, but you sure showed me!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-08
Reviewid: 5699Chapter: 1
Oh Ozma! I don't know whether to laugh or to cry! I must confess I did a bit of both. This fic makes so much sense, I can't believe nobody else had thought about it: of course Filch would have issues w/ Lupin, he was a Maurader! Filch's boggart was so very sad, but what he did w/ Lupin's, that was hilarious! And when they reflected on how people change, meaning Sirius, ah, that got me right in the heart. All those years that Lupin thought Padfoot betrayed him...it's too sad! That's why I'm so glad you ended on a funny note:

"Stay out of trouble..." I growled after him. "I know where there’s a lot of cheese..."

*snort!*

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-10-02
Reviewid: 5171Chapter: 1
It's great seeing stories from Filtch's perspective. Love the idea of Lupin sticking the Boggart in Snape's desk!!!!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-25
Reviewid: 4754Chapter: 1
Very good! I continue to like your depiction of Mr. Filch.

"For that matter, why should I hand the last of the Marauders a weapon like that?"
-The boggart has the potential to be horribly embarrassing. I liked how you had Filch react to that. Also, I thougt Filch's worst fear was perfect.

Filch thought Lupin afraid of cheese! Oh, that was very funny!
-"Stay out of trouble..." I growled after him. "I know where thereís a lot of cheese..."

Your interaction between Filch and Lupin was very believable.

Nice job with Filch's love of Ms. Norris.
-"She was my dear one, my brave one, my Queen of all cats..."

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-09-25
Reviewid: 4733Chapter: 1
*looks incredulous* CHEESE? *bursts out laughing* This was a brilliant fic! Very few people can make Filch a simpathetic character and still retain his canon personality. You're one of them.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --