The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114310Chapter: 1
excellent

Reviewer: CestrianDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69267Chapter: 1
I'll review both of your stories about Filch and the Cerberus (The Squib and the Cerberus and The Squib and the potions master)together. These are wonderful, Snape is perfect; bitter and abrasive yet still worthy of Filch's respect and like. Hagrid is also well done as the bumbling good natured oaf from canon. Your Filch however is extraordinary, you just nailed evrything about him; his bitterness, his jealousy, his self hate, his basically good nature, his isolation, his respect for Snape, his love for Miss. Norris, his vindictiveness against students. Just wow.

Reviewer: HijjaDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58601Chapter: 1
That was without exaggeration one of the most moving and beautiful stories I've read in a long time. It made me smile when you described Mrs Norris, or Hagrid with Fluffy, and the contrast between the beauty of the magic and Filch's realisation that it's a world he can never be part of - except that this once, he can... that's so sad, and so lovely at the same time, *sigh*. The line about Dumbledore and his attention to detail even if it's just for a dog was wonderful as well. I'm still torn about what I like more, the imagery or the characterisation. It definitely has some incredible language and images, but the way both Hagrid and Filch are in character is awesome as well. Hagrid could have walked right out of canon with his bumbling, good-natured 'he didn't mean no harm' attitude. And the depth you gave to Filch is just incredible. You really made me able to feel with him. Even Dumbledore was a full character in just a few small sentences.
And I just *adored* Mrs Norris - everything about her. That was just the 'quintessence of cat' :).
You probably know that this has been Niffled on FA (and I'm glad it was, because this would be such an incredible shame to miss...)?
Thanks for writing such a wonderful story (and I'm determined to go and read each and every story of this series now).

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53156Chapter: 1
After receiving many, many hours of enjoyment from your wonderful "Squib Wizard" series, it's high time I left a review or two to show my gratitude. You have Hagrid nailed--a powerful innocent with solid good sense, except when it comes to "interestin' creatures." Your take on Filch is wonderful--shrewd, dour, observant and wry. Everything in these stories is told with a richness of detail that makes it vividly believable--down to the irritating squeak of Fluffy's chew toy and the chill of the waves on Filch's skin. What a great, sad irony--that it's this lovely and detailed glamour, the semblance of a Greek seacoast created to comfort a lonely monster dog--that drives home the bitterness of Filch's Squib-status for him: taken in by a charm meant to deceive a dog. And the way the old grump takes what comfort he can, from his curmudgeonly give-and-take with Hagrid and from his cat, suggests a long lifetime of making the best of things.

Oh, and Mrs. Norris ROX.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-13
Reviewid: 8959Chapter: 1
Oops, I should have read this one first so I'd be reading your stories in proper order :)

I loved it! I'm glad to see the closeness between Filch and his cat, and I liked reading about how he saw Hagrid. I really felt for Filch and his being a Squib! *sniffle* Anyway, another great job of getting into Filch's head. Great job!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6592Chapter: 1
awww....poor Filchy! All alone, just a poor Squib and his cat. :(

~TPR

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6248Chapter: 1
Glad someone wrote a fic that was about Hogwarts right before Harry came... it's great to read

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-06
Reviewid: 5524Chapter: 1
Oh wow! I like to read/review anyone who's been nice enough to do the same for me, but little did I know I was in for such a treat! This was excellent. Very rare to see a Filch story and even rarer that it's so wonderfully written. I just love the relationship you've written between Filch and Mrs. Norris. Who's really the master here, eh? It's more like Filch needs her and not the other way around, isn't it. I could literally taste Filch's bitterness in this passage:

"I felt a choking wave of bitterness, and a pain that had nothing to do with any physical injury.

It shouldn’t hurt so much, still, after all these years, should it? I am getting old, even as we reckon time in the Wizarding world. I have had plenty of time to get used to being what I am.

Squib. "

Yes, I really don't know any other way to describe it other than I actually 'tasted' it. I felt so much sympathy for him.

And you have Hagrid down pat! He's very sensitive to Filch, despite the fact that we know Filch is not the nicest man.

The part about the charm of illusion was great as well. I never actually thought about it, but yes, it does seem like poor Fluffy would get bored being there, doesn't it? Great idea!

Oh yes, BTW, (hehe) thank you for your review of "Strong Enough". I'm glad you liked it.

Off to read more of your Filchy stories!

P

Reviewer: Jill WeberDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5293Chapter: 1
High five! Congratulations on getting accepted into the Sugar Quill! Loved the whole business with Mrs. Norris and Fluffy (as I've said before.) You definitely have a way with minor characters!

Cheers!

Jill W.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-25
Reviewid: 4756Chapter: 1
"Id given her stern warnings and a very serious lecture concerning cats and the dangers of curiosity. Apparently, shed thought I must have meant other cats."
-I can just see that scene!

Here I was, just as unmagical as ever. Vulnerable to a charm that no true witch or wizard would even notice... a charm meant to amuse a dog. How humiliating!
-I really do like your Filch!

Your idea that Dumbledore would do a charm for Fluffy was very in character and very endearing.

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2002-09-23
Reviewid: 4625Chapter: 1
Wow, I think that was the fastest promotion to the Professor's bookshelf I've ever seen. Congratulations!

Reading this again, I find myself intrigued by the depth and power of the illusion which Dumbledore created for Fluffy. It raises some interesting questions. Would an illusion that powerful work on any non-wizard? (Presumably, it is of the same order as the one which hides Hogwarts.) And can you create an illusion which would work on a wizard?

Is Azkaban an illusion? Or would a prison of illusions, where Voldemort thinks he's won, be the best solution to the problem?

*argh!* Another plotbunny!

You always make me think!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-09-21
Reviewid: 4406Chapter: 1
Working on the promised proper reviews...convenient that you are posting these here!
Read this tale after reading a number of your others. May I say that your characterization of Filch is quite solid from one end of your writing to the other. You bring out just enough of Filch's feelings of being a misfit in the wizarding world here. And I love (absolutely love) that there are things he sees no proper wizard can see. Hagrid is captured very well here, too.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --