The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141899Chapter: 3
An excellent fic. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: CestrianDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69270Chapter: 3
aah, that is lovely. So many nice touches from cedrics and percys reactions to filch, to snapes guilt, to mcgonagal, to peeves reaction to filchs illness. That was lovely and touching, thank you.

Reviewer: ToriDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48260Chapter: 1
This story was soooo good! I absolutely loved it!!!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43504Chapter: 3
Excellent tension in the scene between Snape and Filtch when Snape is explaining to Filtch the nature of the scroll and the price of Dark Magic. You've really captured that sense of how being in Voldemort's service is like selling your soul to the devil.

["I will just melt the whole thing down into a puddle of unrecognizable slag. Whereís Longbottom when I need him?"] *snert* I feel awful for laughing at this, but it's just such a Snape-ism!

Excellent story about choice and power and faith. You always manage to center your work around the bigger themes in life, and yet the lessons learned always feel new and fresh. Excellent work and I hope you continue to write about our favorite Squib!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36560Chapter: 2
Awww, poor Filtch! You know-you make a good point about torture here. Filtch endures a lot of physicaltorture in the last chapter and he returns to Hogwarts to endure a sort of mental torture. And Filtch's relationship with Mrs. Norris is so cute...they're like an old married couple!

Filtch's "Weasley" comments were both funny and touching. He sounds very much like a school administrator who's seen it all. His remarks about Percy were particularly sweet. And Dumbledore helping to clean up the papers--how...Dumbledore!

Oh! I teared up at Filtch's memory of Cedric and how Cedric took his words to heart and made sure the Hufflepuff Quidditch team never dirtied the castle floor again. Oh, that's so sad and it reveals a good insight to Cedric's character.

I also love the way you describe how Filtch senses magic. You give magic this wonderful sense of fluidity and the language you use to describe it is lovely.

Reviewer: SoniaDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35422Chapter: 2
How wonderful! I love your Filch, he is still nasty but has a good soul. I cried little when I was reading about Cedric Diggory. Your Percy and Filch is spot on, too! This is such a rare and great series.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32352Chapter: 1
Great opening. Only Filtch could debate the merits of dungeon while a prisioner! He's such a lovable grump!

[Dark magic had soaked into the walls] Vivid, and I love the style and use of the verb "soaked". Reminds me of how blood soaks into things.

[Maybe there would be no more little Goyles to darken the corridors of Hogwarts] *snert* *snert* go Filtch! He's got this incredibly great sense of dark humor in this piece. I just love his sarcasm and macabre glee!

I love how he compares 7 years of Fred and George to being tossed around by Fluffy! Those 2 really do do a number on the poor guy, don't they?

[The students act as though itís torture. They donít know what real torture feels like.] You know, you really do have a good handle on what snot-nosed brats kids can be. Children can be such selfish, self-absorbed monsters who think the world owes them something, or who act like they should get a reward for doing what is expected of them and I'm glad Filtch sees right through them. Yes, canon Filtch is a bitter, mean person, but you've shown us exactly why he's that way. I sympathize.

Theis chapter was great! Very grusome with the torture, but the interactions between Filtch and Minerva were very sweet and tender. I really love your writing style. I especially liked how you described the cursing done by Minerva and Snape. The action sequences are great and I can't wait to find out about this scroll!

Reviewer: aqraraliDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25711Chapter: 1
the trio during seventh year. You can tell it was more Ron's idea to get Hermione have some fun... notice the look they give each other while Harry just looks on blankly. It's a captured picture, supposedly a moment in time when all hope was lost, but three friends managed to find some kind of
enjoyment out of life.

Reviewer: LizBeeDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21732Chapter: 3
That was remarkable. I've been hearing of your fics for a while, but I never imagined that they would be so incredibly moving.

I know from experience that Filch is very hard to write, but you've made him believable, and even likable. And your Snape is equally great, very plausible and tragic.

This whole fic was emotional without being schmoopy. I think that's what I liked best. I'll be reading the rest of your stuff in the future -- thank you!

Reviewer: HijjaDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20248Chapter: 1
That was extremely impressive. Dark, scary, and working like an elaborate (and painful!) game of hide-and-seek. The first piece on Filch that I've ever read, and it really impressed me. He came across very courageous, pragmatic, with a sardonic wit and a deep-seated sadness about the inaccessibility of his magic. And his bitter disappointment about Snape's supposed betrayal was very convincing.

Especially impressive how everybody was utterly in character - Snape (very perfect as a spy), McGonagall, Malfoy (git!). Crabbe and Goyle were a bit too stereotyped for my taste, but they worked extremely well (ok, make that bad...) for the story.

Perhaps my favourite line was:

"She looked at me as if I was a comrade in arms, and not just a useless Squib who’d gotten himself caught by Death Eaters and needed to be rescued."

It says a lot, both about Filch and McGonagall.

An excellent story, that would also stand well on its own.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15720Chapter: 1
This kept my attention from start to finish. We had action and suspense. Your characterisation of Filch and his relationship with the other characters in brillant very well observed and built upon. I am going to continue with the series.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15114Chapter: 3
You are a fantastic author. I never really liked Filch until I started reading your fics. You made me feel sorry for him. To be able to sense magic in the air, know it's just there, and yet be unable to use it himself must be pure torture.

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14888Chapter: 1
Ozma, I love your stories! This one was particularly precious because of the choice Filch had to make.

It's nice to see someone writing about a not-particularly nice character, who just happens to be one of my favorites. You've humanized him by giving him a sense of humor and feelings that Harry's point of view doesn't show us. It's also nice to read a story written in a mature voice.

Thanks for your great stories!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13228Chapter: 3
OMG, this Filch-Snape bonding is getting too much for me LOL...great story, Ozma. What a lovely way to give Filch some power -- although not the kind he would like, but the kind that was best for the job. I am also taken with Mrs. Norris (the "soggy dust mop" -- hee!) having a "small head" -- no fanfic writer has ever gotten close enough to touch her and find out just how small in size she is. Wonderful work!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13047Chapter: 2
Wow! This was a wonderful description of Recovering!Filch. I felt so sorry for him trying to go about his daily routine after such a shock and want to hug both him and Dumbledore :) I also liked Mrs. Norris' affection for her master and her penchant for occasional sunbathing. Whee! The Snape/Filch confrontation is coming!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13045Chapter: 1
Hi, Ozma! I just started reading this story but couldn't wait to tell you how much I'm enjoying it! I really liked the references to Apollyon Pringle -- gives you some sense of continuity. And Filch toughing it out at the hands of Crabbe and Goyle, who should be too dumb to reproduce. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: ElphabaDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8037Chapter: 3
Wow. I think Filch is my new fanfic boyfriend based on this story (and that's something I _never_ thought I'd be saying). You've taken a minor character and fleshed him out fully so that he stands on his own, and his interaction with McGonagall, Dumbledore, Snape, etc. seems completely true to the characters as well. It's a wonderful accomplishment. My favorite laugh-out-loud line was when McGonagall sees Filch's bloodied mouth as says "a word I didn't think she knew." Hilarious, and impressive that you could mix dark torture scene and humor so flawlessly.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-10-26
Reviewid: 7096Chapter: 3
Let me just say that I thought this excellent. Well-thought-out, interesting, and well-written.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2002-10-22
Reviewid: 6819Chapter: 3
I have enjoyed all of your stories so far, but this one is incredible. You have done an amazing job of keeping Filch in Canon, but bringing out the pathos of his situation. And his interactions with Snape are heart-wrenching. You have an unmatched talent!

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2002-10-15
Reviewid: 6345Chapter: 3
That was really good! --Alchemilla

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6286Chapter: 1
THis is good. The mixture of terror and black humor ("I'm making an effort to use words with only one syllable" and C & G's stupid comments are hilarious) is chilling and funny at the same time. The torture is handled well without being too graphic. The escape bit is riveting, very tense.

Well written.

Gotta go make dinner for the kiddos then I'll read some more (including your sequel) tonight. Look forward to it! --Alchemilla

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6270Chapter: 3
Ozma! That was fantastic. You write an impeccable Dumbledore and Snape! And above all, a believable Filch that I'm so glad to have discovered, thanks to you. Who'd have thought anyone would've found the old bugger charming? But he is!

There is so much of his colourful personality here, and I especially loved these lines:

<<So... Malfoy wouldn&#8217;t even have a Squib like me over for a bit of torture in his best dungeon. I&#8217;d be willing to wager that this wasn&#8217;t even his second-best dungeon. Isn&#8217;t it comforting to know that some old wizarding families really keep to their standards?>> ;

<<(All right, we do spend some time plotting against the students; everyone needs a bit of fun. I can&#8217;t spend all my time cleaning, can I?)>> ; and

<<"Ah, well. They&#8217;re a messy lot, Death Eaters," I said. "Blood all over their walls... rusty chains and holes in the roofs of their dungeons. I&#8217;d much rather choose to stay here and make the brats&#8217; lives miserable. At least there&#8217;s a hope of getting a few of them to wipe their feet sometimes.">>

From the very moving memory of Cedric to the insight he gains into Snape's character -- wonderfully done!

Masterful!

Axelle

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5598Chapter: 3
"I wanted Snape to see that what he&#8217;d done hadn&#8217;t broken me. Instead, he had shown me that I could be strong. Powerful enough to refuse the thing that I wanted most in all the world, when the price was too high."

The previous two chapters had me riveted to my seat, but this chapter just broke my heart. Poor Filch! He made the right choice of course, but oh! for that one little second, being able to do magic! Snape was well written, very in character. I can't believe I'm going to say this, and it's all your fault really: I wish I could give Filch a hug. See what you've done! ;)

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5595Chapter: 2
It was so clever they way you conveyed Peeves' distress at Filch's kidnapping.

Oh man, I so like the image of the portraits ratting Filch out, that was great!

This bit, made me chuckle out loud:

"Will you put a Protective Charm on my office door to keep pranksters out?" I asked him, grumpily. "A suitably nasty one?"

"One that I consider appropriate, yes."

I sighed. It would have to do.

I liked the part w/ Percy very much. I totally agree; no matter how much the twins torture him, I bet he'd never trade them. :)

Not fair! One moment I'm sniggering at Percy, and the next...poor, poor Cedric. And who would've thought his death could've affected an old grouch like Filch? This was an awesome touch!

The ending! OH MY GOSH! I HAVE TO READ THE NEXT PART NOW!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-06
Reviewid: 5536Chapter: 1
Another amazing story, made even better than "The Squib and Cerebrus" because I know there's 2 more chapters!

It's just heartbreaking the way Filch keeps referring to the way some wizards have the magic scared out of them. Heartbreaking because no matter how much pain/fright he endures, it's just never going to happen for him. More than all of the torture he endures, that fact has to be the most painful of all.

You have a very discriptive style that conjures up a lot of imagery. This bit, in particular, was excellent:

"And terribly cold. I could see mist in the air from every ragged breath I took."

Okay, call me silly, but I got actual chills reading this. I felt myself in the dungeon w/ Filch!

I really like the interaction between Severus and Minerva. The sympathetic look between cat and professor before she claws him was well done. I really got a sense of Snape's effort to save Filch. Like Minerva says, he really walks a thin line.

Lucius was his horrible, evil self, in other words, another great characterization.

I can't wait to read the rest!

P

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-05
Reviewid: 5432Chapter: 3
Oooh, I really felt for Filch in this chapter. Poor man, to have a taste of magic, that thing he's been missing, and then have to give it up. And I was right! He *has* a wonderfully strong character to be able to turn away. Give the man a ticket to Valinor!

Poor Mrs. Norris getting rained-on and staying with Filch anyway. She's such a good kitty. (Can you tell I love cats?)

Um, I assume if they can regenerate bones, they can regrow Filch's missing tooth. It'll probably hurt like blazes, but... Could Madam Pomfrey be waiting till he's healed up before she does that?

As for Snape... *I* would not be so casual about Voldemort's displeasure (maybe he's trying not to alarm Filch? Or is he used to catching abuse?). Brrr. "I'll probably survive it." is NOT an indication that he's in for a fun time. Augh. And this is the last chapter??? Can't be! :-)

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5342Chapter: 3
*sigh* This story still has the power to leave me feeling like I've been dragged through a thornpatch. I came over to moon over your reviews (yes, I know... It's silly to go looking to see what wonderful reviews someone *else* gets, but your stories make me want to see how everyone else reacts to them.)

Things that caught my eye through this time...

Mrs. Norris as a "soggy dust mop"

The interaction between Filch and McGonagall -- especially her being desperate enough to call him "Argus"...

His resignation at having the portraits spy on him to M. Pomfrey... (how DO the Weasley twins manage to pull off all the stunts they do? Can you bribe a painting?)

Your chilling portrait of Lucius Malfoy. Brr.

Wonderful stuff.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5331Chapter: 3
Dumbledoreís voice was sad. "Severus only favors the Slytherin students in front of the other houses. In private, among his own, he can be quite ...harsh. The Slytherins expect that from him. They do not respect weakness."
-nice

Wonderful job with Dumbledore! Loved their interaction.

I snorted with disgust. Snips and slivers had been all that the Death Eaters had really needed from me. All that blood and pain for nothing... except, possibly for their amusement. I felt ill."
-excellent description of the Death Eater mentality

(All right, we do spend some time plotting against the students; everyone needs a bit of fun. I canít spend all my time cleaning, can I?)
-never doubted it for a moment

"Itís MINE, my sweet. He doesnít need it!" I hissed"
-I imagine him looking very much like Gullom (sp?) at this moment

"Whereís Longbottom when I need him?""
-Ah Snape, never too far down to kick someone else.

Nice job with describing a squibs magic potential.

Another great chapter. Look forward to the next.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5328Chapter: 2
Dumbledoreís voice was sad. "Severus only favors the Slytherin students in front of the other houses. In private, among his own, he can be quite ...harsh. The Slytherins expect that from him. They do not respect weakness."
-nice

Wonderful job with Dumbledore! Loved their interaction.

I snorted with disgust. Snips and slivers had been all that the Death Eaters had really needed from me. All that blood and pain for nothing... except, possibly for their amusement. I felt ill."
-excellent description of the Death Eater mentality

(All right, we do spend some time plotting against the students; everyone needs a bit of fun. I canít spend all my time cleaning, can I?)
-never doubted it for a moment

"Itís MINE, my sweet. He doesnít need it!" I hissed"
-I imagine him looking very much like Gullom (sp?) at this moment

Great chapter.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5296Chapter: 2
Powerful chapter! And the ending... now I've got to wait till you post chapter 3! :-0

Dumbledore spending time with Filch and just talking to him was a wonderful way to handling Filch's shell-shocked condition. And his fear of Snape is very realistic - I was amazed Filch still wanted to be at Hogwarts, but it IS his true home.

So... what's going on with the magic? I do hope Filch doesn't end up posessed by something Dark.

Mrs Norris is a cool cat! And often wiser than her human friend, eh? :-) I also enjoyed the idea of the portraits tattling to Madam Pomfrey, that sounds like something they would do.

And Peeves upset he'll lose his sparring partner? (Gee, could they enlist him to be a bodyguard??)

Do keep going and I'll keep reading! Thanks for the story.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5291Chapter: 1
Wow, great start! I really, really, like your interpretation of Argus Filch - I find myself rooting for him in all your stories, but especially in this one.

Ugh. While I like Filch's matter-of-fact dealing with his torture, it made me shudder. He doesn't realize he's a very brave man, does he?

I just printed our part 2, so I'll finish it and add more comments in a bit.

Wonderful job!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4878Chapter: 1
Okay--I feel silly. Included a review of Squib Doors on the Squib and the Deatheater's thread. That's what I get for getting overexcited bout the whole darn thing. What the heck. It's all good. Will try to review the right story on the right thread henceforth!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-09-27
Reviewid: 4837Chapter: 1
One of the most poweful things about your writing in this series is how completely inside Filch you get--and how well you've developed him. He interprets the world around him through the eyes of a Squib---a rarity (and an oddity) in the wizarding world. He perceives himself as somehow something less that a real wizard, even though "Squib" is not synonymous with "Muggle". He's grown up as an outsider in his own world, and you portray this very well from his perspective.

Filch also interprets the world around him through the metaphor of his work. Under stress, he falls back on what he knows best--focusses on the things he can control in the face of things beyond his control.

You've given Filch his own wry philosophy and his own interpretations of the motivations of those around him. There's depth to his observations of how he and Minerva each deal with the unfairness that is life, and real wisdom to his observation that he sees little difference between a slytherin's "calculated risk" and a Gryffindor's "Reckless Bravery".

Filch's relationships with those around them are exquisite---one gathers a sense of Filch's essential "belonging" with these people in spite of his own personal doubts about himself, and in spite of his general attitude towards students (apart from the rare few).

And Peeves...now there is a interesting relationship. Must be appalling to know you are so bad off that PEEVES won't mess with you!

And--well...I could just *hear* Peeves squeeling out at the top of his lungs, "Students spewing their guts up all over the trophy room floor!!"
(And Peeves so richly deserved what Dumbledore and Snape did to him. Nice to see that Snape does have a bit of a sense of humor in there. Dry, but there nonetheless).

Oh, and while this is a Filch story, can I just add that you have an excellent ensemble thing going on there, too. The characters play well off each other, and are quite consistent with their canon selves.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-09-25
Reviewid: 4761Chapter: 1
Fantastic, one of your fics is more than one chapter!

Filch, excellent as always.

I was very happy with your depiction of Grabbe and Goyle, Srs, especially with their discussion of what bits grow back or not.

Everyone was nicely in character.

"And, still my magic slept. "
-you do such a fine job with this bitter, bitter man.

I am surprised that your fics are getting so few reviews. Perhaps if you add a love life for Filch - Filch\Granger or a beauty/beast combo like Filch/Fluer? (just kidding, must..get...image..out..of..head)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --