The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Wizards and Witches
Review(s): 75

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-18
Reviewid: 145388Chapter: 17
Entertaining

Reviewer: HPlovaforeva16Date: 2006-08-05
Reviewid: 144641Chapter: 17
OMG this was soooooooo good!! i was Adelaide in this play and i was saying my actual lines as i was reading this!! omg you put me in such a good modd!! Great Job!!

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128445Chapter: 1
It's Guys and Dolls all over again!

Reviewer: KairiDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123311Chapter: 9
I love this! I was recently Sarah in a production of guys and dolls and got to kiss a very hot red headed Sky Masterson

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108225Chapter: 17
you are too funny.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101446Chapter: 1
Do i guess correctly when I say this is a Parody of Guys and Dolls? Awesome job!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95322Chapter: 17
This was excellent, incredibly funny, and very enjoyable, but somebody has too much time on their hands!!! ; )However, I am glad you do, otherwise great fics like this wouldn't exist!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94012Chapter: 17
Just finished reading this fic and wanted to congratulate you on doing a great job! I love Guys and Dolls and the way you adapted the song lyrics to fit HP was especially clever. Keep up the good writing!!

Reviewer: ywgfzvzjuhytrDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86032Chapter: 17
Parody in its purest form. Keep up the excellent
work.

Reviewer: AlianeDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85713Chapter: 2
Wow! You did such a good job!
It's especially fun for me to read this, because I saw Guys and Dolls just over a week ago, live.
Keep up the GREAT work!
-Alie.

Reviewer: TrinhDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83432Chapter: 17
This was so wonderful. It brings back so many memories. I too have done this play. In fact my school just finished it. I wasn't a big part but I -was- a Hot Box girl, Mimi(Lavender)-(might have been dif. name in yours)the girl who was dating Society Max, and the Havana Dancer who steals Sky(RON) away. :) CHEERS!

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83319Chapter: 17
That was adorable. I love it!! Really great. I loved all your characterizations...you put everyone in the perfect place. (Except I think Harry the Horse [not to be confused with Harry Potroit] is a little brighter than Goyle, but hey, artistic license =o} )

G&D is one of my fav. musicals. And I'm a musicalfreak! This is a fantastic crossover/parody. Adorable! Hope you write others similarly.

Reviewer: JackieDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79923Chapter: 1
Heh. This is way cool. A couple of months ago, I was in the pit orchestra for my school's production of Guys and Dolls. You're doing a great job of parodying it! It's hilarious!

Reviewer: ____Date: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79220Chapter: 6
THIS IS THE BEST!! IT IS SOOOOOOOOOOOO FUNNY!

Reviewer: AmazedDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79219Chapter: 17
WOW!! That was SOOO amazing and funny! I loved the songs!

Reviewer: DelaniDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79114Chapter: 1
i LOVE Guys and Dolls!! i was recently in our local production of the play. i was a missionary, so i didn't play the wild and unruly crapshooter, but i still love this!!!!!! How exciting, to have a filk on my beloved musical! clever ending, "Dad, i just got cider in my ear" I like your SPEW group too. Go Mission Band!!! Follow the Fold!

Reviewer: SNorkackDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78976Chapter: 1
hahahhaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: MadaboutronDate: 2003-11-24
Reviewid: 60643Chapter: 17
Brilliant! Loved your take on the songs. Good job.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49306Chapter: 17
*applauds immensley, aling with cheering and whistling*
best performance of Guys and Do.... er..... Wizards and Witches.... that ive ever seen!!
completely awesome and funny as hell!!!

Reviewer: cbDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49297Chapter: 4
WOW thast was SO fun. singing... THAT for ginny...
excellent!

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49296Chapter: 1
HARRY
Er, his witch is, er, in detention.
GINNY
Whys he talking to you?
HARRY
Its his first witch.
GINNY
But that doesnt make sense, Harry, why

HAHAHAHAH
oh my god, i love this. and, being a DORK, im singing along.
and now, the rest!

Reviewer: UnicornMaidenDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46988Chapter: 17
That was....interesting to say the least. Nice job!

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45788Chapter: 17
wow...that was...FANTASTIC! hahahaha i've seen a production of guys and dolls and i was just doubling over w/ laughter as i read ure lil "remake" of it. BLOODY BRILLIANT! congratulations! i'm one of those ppl who get a kick out of reading stuff they r familiar with, so when i read this i was like ooohh it's just the in guy in dolls when blah blah blah ehehe. HAHAHAH I LOVED HOW U DID THE WHOLE PETS THING. that was FUNNY! (i was actually wondering how u were gonna do that part since it wouldn't be practical or even possible for harry and ginny to be having KIDS LoL)but yea great job with that! doooode i am so serious u need to have a production of this!!! LoL. i'm like picturing this whole play acted out...ahh friggin genius! LoL great job, i'll most definitely leave another comment later when its not the dead of the night and when my eyes can stay open! *shakes ellyse's hand* ure BRILLIANT, keep writing! and if u ever make a production of this *squeals* i SO wanna see it!

Reviewer: ArabellaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42425Chapter: 17
Ellyse, I've just finished directing Guys and Dolls, and I'm sitting here with my assistant director, and we've just had such a good time laughing along with this. Thanks so much for writing it. It was really clever. :)

Reviewer: AsheDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39280Chapter: 17
Wow. I am a Guys and Dolls fan as well as a Harry Potter fan, and that just made my day! Fantastic work! You should do more parodies.

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-06-27
Reviewid: 38680Chapter: 2
i was in a production of guys and dolls and youve matched it pretty well! But i think ron and malfoy should be switched as well as mcgonagall and filch9hes more ruthless).

Reviewer: MeDate: 2003-06-22
Reviewid: 38279Chapter: 17
WOW! That was the best one yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep writing!

Reviewer: erinDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37823Chapter: 4
this is really great ... you've combined my favorite books with my favoite musical ever. you are a true visionary and I bow down to your Guys and Dolls knowledge.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37144Chapter: 10
Hi Ellyse, I am really enjoying this tale, but I thought you might wanna know that you said "Miss Granger" in this scene instead of "Miss Grown" ;)

MCGONAGALL "...strange things in my years of teaching Miss Granger..."

Don't mean to be picky :) Your doing a great job!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37139Chapter: 5
Your song lyrics are amazing! I really wish someone would put on this play for me! I'd pay to see it!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37059Chapter: 16
"Marry the Man Today" was one of my favourite songs from that show!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35812Chapter: 15
Ooooh the memories... my old classmate Scott McCarthy dancing around the stage, singing "Sit Down, You're Rocking the Boat"... and now it's Neville! This is so much fun.

Reviewer: MadaboutronDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35038Chapter: 14
Brilliant! THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH FOR WRITING MORE! I loved the song!

Reviewer: TalynDate: 2003-05-12
Reviewid: 31723Chapter: 13
I read through the whole thing, and it ends with a cliffhanger!!! *sigh*

Actually, having seen Guys and Dolls, I have a clue how the next scene will play out - can't wait to see how you write it. It's been very clever and funny so far, and I'm willing to put my galleons down that you'll have a spectacular finish.

Reviewer: MadaboutronDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31516Chapter: 13
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEEEAAASSSEEE FINISH IT!!!!!!!
IT'S SOOOOOO GOOD! (Ilove that scene too, by the way!)

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31252Chapter: 13
(*uses word that annoys Captain Kathy*) What a scene! I love your version of "Luck Be a..." almost as much as the original--and what a thing to call Luck! I love the way the characters are so much like themselves, yet they *are* the Guys and Dolls characters. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31224Chapter: 13
LOL! With a song like that, Bertie Bott's will surely sponsor any staging of this musical!

Noble!Ron and his studying sugar quill was cute. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29850Chapter: 12
Awwww!!! "Are yeh joking? I knew the moment he started picking on yeh." LOL! How very astute of Hagrid! (Apparently, everyone except Ron and Hermione themselves "get it.")

I'm afraid I can't comment on how well you've parodized the Guys and Dolls soundtrack, but the song here was very nice. Hagrid may support Hermione, but he knows what's important in life!

Reviewer: MadaboutronDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29673Chapter: 12
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!!!!!
Thank you for updating your story. I love the musical Guys and Dolls but I can't remember the ending of it so could you PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE finish it? Please feel free to e-mail me.

Reviewer: TayaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28484Chapter: 12
OMG! We just did Guys and Dolls too and I was "Madam Pince"... LOL. Anyway, great work so far and I love it. Great job.

Reviewer: MadaboutronDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24615Chapter: 11
Luv the story! I saw the musical too. I luved it! Please, please, PLEASE finish it!

Reviewer: PearlDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24294Chapter: 1
oOoO!!! Guys and Dolls!! What a koinkidink! I just watched it on TCM a few mins. ago! And my school is putting it on and I'm in it!! *squeals* I don't know what part it is though. XD I only watched a lil of the movie so I don't know...I think I'm in "S.P.E.W." though but it's called the Mission Band.

Reviewer: antigoneDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24072Chapter: 11
heehhheehhe!!!
I have been laughing and am still laughing. This story is great and is sooo funny. I really like it. I'm especially in awe of your poetic songs and soliloquies with the rhymes. What a uniquely brilliant HP fanfiction!!

Reviewer: MarjoryDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23844Chapter: 11
Yay! An update! You have NO idea how long I've been drooling over this. Oh, and I think Neville/Nicely Nicely's song should be, "Sit Down And Study Your Notes." Tee Hee Hee. "And the devil will drag you under, by the bottom seam of your winter cloak." Or, "And the devil will drag you under, by the fancy scarf round your wicked throat." Yeah, I can just imagine him "passin' out the whiskey"--Ogden's Old Firewhiskey, that is. :sigh: I love this story/spoof/miracle.

Reviewer: SusannDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23782Chapter: 1
This is very creative. My school just did the play on which this is based. I LOVE this:-)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23588Chapter: 11
Loved Ginny and the Divas' performance in this chapter :)

Reviewer: MyselfDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23574Chapter: 11
When Will I See More Of This Wonderful Thing?!?!?!?!?!

Reviewer: ThisbeDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18502Chapter: 1
OOOOOOOOOHHH!!! Oh, goodness, this is wonderful! AAAAH!!! I'm having conniptions! The guy I like was Sky in my school's production of the musical, and I fell in love (with the musical, not the guy...that's another story). Suffice it to say that I'm in love wit this comical and creative adaptation of the musical. You ROX!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18412Chapter: 10
Yet again you've written a wonderful chap...um scene. It's really fun to read, and it brings back such memories (I had to play a guy in my school's version). I can't wait to see Neville and the rest do "Sit Down, You're Rocking the Boat." It will be really interesting reading how you blend it into the Harry Potter world. Will it be "Sit Down, You're Tilting the Broom"?

Reviewer: MyselfDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18398Chapter: 10
Loved it! Can you believe Ive never seen "Guys and Dolls"? But now Im tottaly willing to see i! Im absolutely sure that evrey time I hear about the musical Ill always remeber Ron and Hermione.... love you for that! Hopes the next chapter will come soon...
Love,
Myself

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18378Chapter: 10
Aaaaawwww!!!! The R/H part was so sweet, except that they had a misunderstanding right off :( More soon, please! I'm really curious about how this is all going to be sorted out!

Reviewer: RachDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17544Chapter: 9
YAY!!!!! Perfect! Hehehe that scence was awesome! Boy, it was hard to picture Hermione being drunk until I read this! EXCELLENT! Keep up the awesome work!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17488Chapter: 9
Aw, I love it!! And you're doing a wonderful job...although I've never seen Guys and Dolls...but I love this fic!! Great job!!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17405Chapter: 9
You are so clever with the lyrics!

This chapter was great. I can't wait for the next one! Untill then I'll just have to pull out my GUYS AND DOLLS video.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17364Chapter: 9
I always loved this part of the tale, when Masterson realizes the meaning of "self-fulfilling prophecy." Cute version of the song, too!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17094Chapter: 8
LOL...just great! That last chapter was especially amusing. I can't wait to read more!
-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16400Chapter: 8
LOL! Ron sure knows how to show Hermione a good time...The description of the wobbly dancing was funny, as were the pumpkin pie and large spotty underwear details! Can't wait to read what happens next!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16381Chapter: 8
Ohh this was my favorite scene so far. I wish I remembered Guys & Dolls better so I would remember what the real lines were (I remember the bacardi & "this would be a great way to get kids to drink milk" line) but I still loved the Ron/Fleur/Viktor/Hermione parallel interaction. Um, maybe I should have been properly ashamed of the Pumpkin Pie dig but I was more like "take that!". From the words of Hermione herself! Ron Westerson is a nice blend of Weasley & Sky (Hope I spelled his name right). Thanks for this, I'm still enjoying it.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15650Chapter: 7
LOL Great job, Ellyse! I especially liked Draco being very tall (he's kind of runty in canon, is he not?) and of Goyle using such formal language and big words. And now Harry has *swallowed a firework*, so to speak! More soon please!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12662Chapter: 5
::laughs:: I love it. Excellent parody! What part did you have, Ellyse?

Looking forward to more...
~TPR

Reviewer: Matthew PersicoDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12498Chapter: 5
OH MY GOD! ROTFL! This is hysterical! Mad! I love it! This is REALLY good! How long have you been at this? And jsut how do you know the play so well?
Keep it up, I can't wait for R&H's love scene and Sit Down, You're Rocking the Broom!

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12461Chapter: 5
Brava! Brava! This is the scene I've been waiting for, as I sing this song constantly. *attempts to learn new version*

Reviewer: MegBeeDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11584Chapter: 4
Good show! Keep on, it's great, really!

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11178Chapter: 2
Pretty cute idea. I love Harry and I love musicals so this particular mixture was right up my alley!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10181Chapter: 3
Hurrah, an update! "I'm beginning to wish he'd stayed in Azkaban." LOL. And getting Neville & Co. to present your author's notes is really cute :) Hope to see more from you soon! (I'm especially curious about the Hotbox Girls now...)

Reviewer: Joseph M. CascioDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10122Chapter: 1
Guys and Dolls, Wizards and Witches, I get it, hilarious...

Reviewer: SiniDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10090Chapter: 3
Have readers really been complaining that it's OOC? Well, it's still funny and makes sense to fit the musical. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Just Some Anonymous Reader...Date: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10045Chapter: 3
Ha! I love this! A super-nifty ultra-spiffy book crossed with a super-nifty ultra-spiffy musical...^^ Yayness!

Reviewer: MishDate: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5621Chapter: 2
Wonderful!! I'm enjoying this fic very much. It's the first time i've read a harry potter/musical before and i find it most entertaining. I believe the characters of hp fit quite well in this story and it is refreshing that the characteristics are a bit different (but not too far off). Keep up the good work Ellyse =). (LOL @ Snape's appearance! =D )

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5607Chapter: 2
"Ridiculous!" LOL :D I luuurved that part.

And boy, Ickle Ronniekins sure works fast! I like how he questioned Hermione's choice in a "potential life partner" and got her all flustered toward the end of the scene. I can't wait for his turn!

Great job! Looking forward to more soon!

Reviewer: Darrel DoomvomitDate: 2002-10-01
Reviewid: 5095Chapter: 1
love it!!! love guys and dolls(duh), love harry potter (double duh)so abviously, guys and dolls put together with harry potter must be the most wonderful thing since sliced bread.

lise

Reviewer: mallaryroseDate: 2002-09-30
Reviewid: 5046Chapter: 1
i just wanted to say how wodnderful and original this fic is. I actualy have performed Guys and dolls at my school. I was a guy because we didn't have enough "real" guys to play them. I love it when writers accosiate (spelling?) musicals with Harry Potter.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-09-30
Reviewid: 5029Chapter: 1
I've never seen "Guys and Dolls" but am enjoying this immensely!

"Daddy, I think I just swallowed a firework." LOL!

I can't wait to see how Ron tries to go out with Hermione and when Big Malf makes his entrance! Great job!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-09-29
Reviewid: 5001Chapter: 1
Many moons ago (about four years) I was in that musical, and reading this is a kill! It brings back so many memories... *eagerly awaits Hot Box scenes*

Reviewer: mishDate: 2002-09-28
Reviewid: 4931Chapter: 1
i like your rendition. good work =) keep it comming.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --