The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Squib Doors
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141900Chapter: 4
That was an Amazingly Wonderful extension of your most splendid story. Thank You.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120810Chapter: 4
[The strongest ones can crawl over my skin like a thousand small, biting ants, sting like salt in an open wound, or make me feel like Iím being turned inside out.]

Oooh, great description. You can really feel the sensation.

[Hard work and pain are the best teachers, I always say.]

Yup, that sounds like Filtch!

[I did just that to Hagrid once. Though heíd deserved it. The oaf thought that getting me blind drunk first would actually help. I was foolish enough to give it a try. I thought it wouldnít do any harm and might just do me some good.
How wrong I was. I couldnít keep any solid food down for days. Mrs. Norris was so annoyed with Hagrid. She followed him around for a week, just to make him sneeze.]

Hahahahaha!!! I especially liked the Mrs. Norris bit. I love how your Filtch isn't so much a nsty, foul-tempered git the way he appears in the books, but rather is someone who is just very certain about how he knows how the world should work and has a sense that his way of doling out justice is the right one.

[I donít care if youíre a Squib. I owe you a wizardís debt!"] Oh, that was sweet!

["Peeves teases everyone else in the Castle, Argus," the Headmaster said, mildly. "Do you think he deserves to have all the fun?"]

*snert* That is sooooo Dumbledore!

["But, apparently, Squibs are living loopholes."]

Oooh, that's a great way of putting it. Cleverly phrased.

Wow! This was a great story! I can't believe I never finished it! I really miss your Squib stories...I hope something in Book 6 inspires you to write some new ones!

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102265Chapter: 4
Filch is so one deminsional in the Potterverse.

Now, with your stories, Filch becomes three dimensional with great feelings and depth. This series is a tour de force. Readers have to feel for him. We have to want magic for him somehow. And then you create a whole new realm of magic for him. We all cheer.

McGonagall's "Fuffy" cough is priceless. Filch's slowly revealing "feel" for magic was well developed. For the first time I have seen how and why Dumbledore believes in Snape and trusts him as a Head of House.

Very well done.

Reviewer: GrymDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92225Chapter: 4
Beautiful story! This is the first of the series I have read, though I've seen them referenced as highly-recommended works over and over again. Lovely, imaginative, canonical work. Who would have thought that Argus Filch had such a streak of humor in him or the ability to care so deeply with such small expectations for himself. I particularly enjoyed his response to Snape. I'm not sure where my favorite lines lie -- the ending perhaps, with its classical reflection of the introduction. McGonnagal's comfortable relationship with Mrs. Norris. The comments about Neville with a hammer. (ROTFL). Or perhaps, for laughs, "Her coughs had sounded remarkably like "Fluffy! Fluffy!"" Very, very nice writing.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89282Chapter: 3
[It would have been better if Iíd simply chained both of you up in my office," I said, bitterly. "Maybe Professor McGonagall is right about it showing a lack of imagination. But, when allís said and done, you canít go wrong by sticking to the basics!"] Hahahaha! Great humor.

The tapestry was a great twist and I love your explanation of hte castle having differnt "doors." It makes a lot of sense. I also liked how you conveyed Filtch's connection with the castle, that it's a part of him and he can feel its magic. Great chapter!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81292Chapter: 2
[Knowing him as I do, itís safe to say that he might actually, literally, fall through the floor. And then who would have to mend the hole? Me, thatís who.] Hehehe. I love it when Filtch is unintentionally funny!

I loved Filtch's interiors and his reflections on the students. I liked his grumpiness, about wanting to scare students, but not because of his injuries. I also loved his interiors about Neville and Ginny and how all three of them shared an unhappy bond of surviving Dark Forces. I especially liked Filtch's insights into Neville and how Neville, even though he is a lousy, clumsy, wizard is still a wizard while Filtch is not. He has some very keen observations about human nature.

Great cliffhanger for the chapter. Really interesting about the plant that is attracted to magic. I like the idea of Ginny, Filtch, and Neville bonding.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71461Chapter: 1
[The poltergeist most often deals with breakable things by simply breaking them. Peeves was actually treating me as if I were something that he wanted to keep in one piece! It was most unsettling.] You know, I relly like how you've developed a relationship between Peeves and Filtch. They're like old enemies who have been enemies for long they're like friends. I'm glad you've given their relationship depth other than Peeves just irritating Filtch.

[Mrs. Norris and Professor McGonagall exchanged a polite feline greeting, meeting each otherís eyes for a moment, and then looking away.] Hehe. I've always wondered about how Minerva and Mrs. Norris felt about each other.

I really love how you've woven Filtch into the lives of the students and professors. You've given him (and Mrs. Norris) such warmth and character.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71337Chapter: 4
Very moving story; thank you for writing it. Now to find and read it's prequel. :)

Reviewer: Michael CareyDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63120Chapter: 4
Absolutely brilliant. Compelling plot, incredible discovery of characterization, and so touching. Clearly one of the best HP fan fics ever. Deserving of all of the praise that lead me to seek it out.

Reviewer: Angela AlsiraDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46567Chapter: 1
I've just finished reading this entire tale-50 points to your house, Ozma, for excellent storytelling! The tapestry doors are a wonderful idea, quite in keeping with the mysteries of Hogwarts. Filch's inevitable learning experiences with them are fascinating to see unfold. As always, your characterizations remain vivid and true - it's like looking into a pensieve. I look forward to being enchanted by your other stories. Carry on!

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46314Chapter: 4
I am -never- going to think of Argus Filch
the same way again. And I'm glad of it. ^^

This was -lovely-.

(and I really adore how he calls Gryffindors
'Minerva's young cubs'. He's a poet, is our
Argus!)

Reviewer: Oktober_GhostDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24224Chapter: 4
The description of a Squib going through the platform at King's Cross reminded me of some sort of science fiction teleportation device...although it must be said that I've contemplated the similarities and clashes between magic and technology.

The castle as a sentient being, with great power of its own, worked very well. I liked your description of the sensations that its attention caused.

"'Magic has strict rules,' Snape said, over his shoulder. 'But, apparently, Squibs are living loopholes.'"

I like this line a great deal. It says so much, and it also gives Filch a purpose and furthers him as a character (which is necessary since he's your leading man).

Your characterizations of all of the canon characters seem to be spot on to me, although I had never thought of Filch being capable of very much fluffiness, it is clear that the man agonizes over his status as a Squib and no doubt takes that angst and self-pity out on the students. If he is given more of an empirical purpose, I can see how this might take a bit of the edge off. At least he still has some gruffiness.

Very excellent story. I shall have to catch up on all of your Filch stories now.

Reviewer: Oktober_GhostDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24222Chapter: 3
My favorite part in this chapter is the dicussion between Ginny, Neville, and Filch on being a Squib. You managed to convey quite a bit in those paragraphs and to give additional insight to Filch.

Again, the story is fluid. Everything seems to have a place, and I cannot think of anything that I find lacking.

Also, I get my first peek at the doors. Your imagination is quite impressive.

Reviewer: Oktober_GhostDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24221Chapter: 2
I'm very much enjoying your writing. You have a great mixture of humor, introspection, action, and creativity. There are so many lines that I enjoyed in this chapter that I cannot pick one for a favorite line.

Also, thanks for using Neville and Ginny (as opposed to more "famous" students); I think the cleaning scenes work very well with Neville and Ginny (and some of my favorite lines exist because of Neville's presence). Ginny usually annoys me, but your Ginny I can tolerate. I admit that I have a soft spot for Neville, in spite of his being a Gryffindor. ;)

The magic-eating vines are an interesting plot device, as well as a creative one. This kicked the plot into more action (although I'm a person who values characterization more than plot, I think you've done a great job of providing for both thus far).

Reviewer: Oktober_GhostDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24138Chapter: 1
I read Rabbit's "Balance" earlier today, and "Squib Doors" was referenced. Your fics have also been recommended to me before, but I decided to start with SD for the background information.

This is quite well-written. Although I do not see Snape as a spy in the post-GoF Potterverse, you seem to handle his position well enough that I can overcome my own misgivings with his role as spy.

I also very much like your Filch and McGonagall. So few people write Filch; I'm delighted to see him written and in first-person, at that. I think the first-person works very well in order to further develop Filch as a character.

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18468Chapter: 4
I love this series, Ozma! I knew that anybody who updates this often, I'd love, of course. ^_^ I must say, the Doors concept and the Squib-Magic are both fascinating. Thanks for all the good stories!

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15742Chapter: 4
A masterpiece in ever sense. I marvel at your ability to create such believable relationships which are total original yet totally in chacter.
The originality- you must think everything through in such detail yet it flows from your quill so effortlessly.

But am I perceiving a touch of the Hitchhikers in your tales?

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15312Chapter: 1
Ozma, you're stories continue to amaze me the more I read!
You have used Filch's overwhelming bitterness to make him into one really interesting character. The conversation where Filch, Ginny and Neville are sitting on the floor talking about certain relatives is very sweet, as he leaves his guard down just enough to be nice to the kids.

I also loved the inner conversation Filch had with himself about his lack of bravery, when in actuality he was putting his life on the line to save those children! Some people are just happiest when they're feeling bad about themselves.

And now, on to "Squib Wizard!"

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15132Chapter: 4
I've really been enjoying your "Squib at Hogwarts" stories! It's a whole new view of Filch. I've got to admit, you've got him showing a little more softness than I would have believed. Rather than "Ginny and Neville are good children," I said, embarrassed. "Perfectly well behaved." I'd have thought something more like "Their decent enough kids", I growled, embarrassed. "If you can stand kids." But maybe that's just me.

I liked the bit in "The Squib & the Potions Master" where Filch said that there were always some kids -- esp. Slytherins -- who treated him like "an uppity house elf they weren't allowed to kick down the stairs" but that Severus had never been like that. Interesting take on both of them and if some of the kids do take that attitude, that right there is enough to explain a lot of Filch's bitterness.

Anyway, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13449Chapter: 4
Hurray! Your redefinition of the term "Squib," given what happened to Filch with the tapestries, is wonderful. I wish the canon Filch also had something like the Doors to make him feel special. Great job, and to borrow a word from you -- onward! :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13447Chapter: 2
>"You canít eat that creature!...Not even the boy knows where itís been!"

LOL Filch is back! :D

I'm glad that two very nice Gryffindors are giving Filch some love :) And reading about Neville using a "young wizard's voice" sent chills up my spine. I also greatly enjoyed Trevor's hopping in and out of the chapter! I hope he enjoyed his "mouthful of spiders"! :D

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-11-04
Reviewid: 8129Chapter: 1
Okay, you know why this review is late :)

Thank goodness I did got get a sneak peak, otherwise I wouldn't be able to stand this cliffhanger. I really liked Filch's confessions about his parents. You've put him together w/ the two people that could be most sensitive and compassionate to his plight; Neville and Ginny. Neville, of course, because of his family's lack of faith in his magic skills. Ginny because she had to go through that horrible ordeal w/ Tom and she has so many feelings of shame. They are a the perfect audience for Filch's revelations. Love how you manage to sneak in the humor despite the dire situation. I really liked this line:

Hands folded, Dumbledore had been waiting quietly and patiently for Severus to run out of steam. But Minerva had picked up her handkerchief and coughed into it, delicately. Her coughs had sounded remarkably like "Fluffy! Fluffy!"

Giggles!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6642Chapter: 4
Excellent. I enjoyed the reference to Kwikspell and I think you have done a great job in creating the limitations of Squib abilities (can feel magic, can sense how magical someone is).

In one of the previous chapters, I liked how you had Filch telling Ginny that her squib cousin sounded brave for running away to live with Muggles. I laughed at your describing him as sort of a muggle goblin.

"Mrs. Norris was so annoyed with Hagrid. She followed him around for a week, just to make him sneeze. "
-Nice! A good explanation for Hagrid's complaint of her always tagging after him.

"house elves under the influence of too much cooking sherry"
-a strange site that would be.

Smiled through the scene with Dumbledore, Snape, Peeves, and Argus.

Good ending! I think your idea of Squib Doors was very original and well done.

"I think we can get used to this, with very little difficulty indeed...!"
-Yikes! Watch out F&G!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6561Chapter: 4
I can't tell you how much I've enjoyed your squib stories (and I see you've started a new one, yay!). You're making me care about Filtch in a way I wouldn't have believed possible. Congratulations on some wonderful writing!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6550Chapter: 4
Oooo, you're going to have to imagine me boinging about like a happy kitten over this story's ending! This was so well done and ended on just the right note.

I'm SO glad both Dumbledore and Snape at last got a chance to talk some sense into Filch! Bless him, he's got such a well-developed sense of groundless guilt they should discover a way to transfer some of it to Voldemort. (Evil laugh.)

I really like Filch! He has *potential*, as they say. And I really agree with the thought that the Castle is aware on a totally nonhuman scale. The idea the Squib doors might be lonely is SO cool, too! Whee-hee, so much neat stuff in a story! I'm going to make my mom read these - she's the one who got me reading HP in the first place. :-D

On last bit - this part:

[How wrong I was. I couldn’t keep any solid food down for days. Mrs. Norris was so annoyed with Hagrid. She followed him around for a week, just to make him sneeze.]

Made me howl with laughter - I can see Mrs. Norris doing this!!

Woo-hoo, on to your next story!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6282Chapter: 3
Congratulations on writing such a wonderful story, and making me care what happens to Mr Filch. You've made him a solid character, without changing him - an amzing job. I've loved all your squib stories, this one may well be my fav because of the presence of Neville, but they are all superb. Wonderful writing!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6272Chapter: 2
Well, when I first read the titles to these stories, I thought, "Squib, eh?" and wasn't interested in Filch stories, as he's one of my least favorite characters. How very wrong I was...

I really enjoyed this story. I know I should have started with the first in the series, but I started instead with the one that caught my eye. The Professors weren't mistaken in putting these on their bookshelf. You've made Filch a very sympathetic character. Too bad it took near death for the man to change, but sometimes we need a slap in the face to wake us up. I look forward to chapter 3!

Reviewer: AnorielDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5938Chapter: 2
O.O Uh-oh!!!!!!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5930Chapter: 2
This line is so telling about Filch's true nature in your stories. This poor, old man w/ no magic thinks nothing of putting himself between the children and danger.

Filch's thoughts on Cedric...they're heartbreaking of course. What a horrible thing to regret.

I really like the way Neville and Ginny work off each other. They both have a quiet kind of strength, don't they? Hope we get the next bit soon, you left us in a horrible cliffhanger!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5913Chapter: 1
I was so excited to see your name on the update list! Did you get my e-mail? I've been having 'Filchy' thoughts (Filchy, Ha! I slay myself!) You have managed to humanize Filch so much while still keeping him in character, it's just amazing. I had never thought about it, but I suppose you're right; Snape does care about his Slytherins, and I'm betting that it is a struggle for him to see some of them joining the dark side. I imagine he sees a lot of himself in his young charges. Intriguing. This is what's so wonderful about your writing, it gives us so much to think about.

I can't even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed the interaction between Minerva and Mrs. Norris. Again, I'm slapping myself on the forehead and wondering, why haven't I seen this in a fic before? It's so obvious that they would be friends, they're both feline! Minerva's translation of Mrs. Norris' response to Filch--LOL!

Minerva and Filch's concern for Snape is very touching. They aren't demonstrative, either of them, yet their feelings for Snape show very clearly. Again, another tribute to your subtle style.

All in all, I'd say we're in for another treat :)

P.S. Really, did you get my e-mail? If not, e-mail me: alatmig@netzero.net

I'd really like to discuss some things I've been thinking about after reading your stories.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5879Chapter: 2
Oh boy, I was wondering when I'd see the story on the squib doors!! I've been curious ever since Rabbit borrowed them in "Balance" and said they came from you!

Poor Snape! I'm glad at least he had friends to help him up to the infirmary. I was wondering how much heck he'd catch for "botching" that evil scroll. Most writers seem to forget that pain is just as crippling as a bleeding injury, sometimes more so. I think you handled it very realistically.

I loved Mrs. Norris and Prof. MacGonagall's interactions!! Enjoyed the Prof. giving Filch a word for word interpretation of what Mrs. Norris was thinking. "If you want unquestioning loyalty, get a dog." hee-hee!

I also really liked the ... care the three adults show each other - they are very good about respecting their different sensibilities. MacGonagall and Filch didn't sob over Snape, although I'm sure they wanted to, but they knew he wouldn't tolerate it. Good folks, all of them.

And what have the kids awakened in the dungeon? Sounds thoroughly nasty. Had to laugh over Filch getting so upset over the thought that a bundimun might have moved in while he was ill and unable to keep things clean. So now they're trapped and out of Mrs. Skowers, this is bad!

I look forward to the next chapters! Thank you for sharing these.

Reviewer: A. LeeDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5853Chapter: 2
This was great so far. I love it. Please put up the next chapter soon.

Reviewer: RoisDate: 2002-10-09
Reviewid: 5776Chapter: 2
I love all your stories so much! It's a thrill every time I see your name on the updated list. Don't make up wait too long to find out what happens to poor Ginny, Neville and Filch!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --