The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113796Chapter: 1
A pleasant yarn

Reviewer: Date: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79470Chapter: 1
Well done! But I agree with CornedBee, I do think Filch is a little rougher and dirtier than he seems in this fic. Still, great job!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75934Chapter: 1
Very well written, but I'd imagine Filch to think differently - dirtier, if you know what I mean.

Reviewer: Oogley BoogleyDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75891Chapter: 1
ok u must rly rly rly LOVE squibs!!!!

Reviewer: CestrianDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69269Chapter: 1
I like this, I'll forgive Filch's unquestioning respect of dumbledore as this was written pre OOTP. I enjoyed getting filch's point of view on potter and the snape/moody confrontation and i particuarly liked the following exchange
"With all due respect, Professor, you always think itís Potter."
"With no respect whatsoever, Filch, you always think itís Peeves!"
Heh

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53167Chapter: 1
You've taken a familiar scene and made it fresh, here, by giving it to us from Filch's point of view, with Filch's shrewd observations. I like, too, the foreshadowing of how Filch can physically perceive the presence of magic, and his accurate insight into Snape. Confronted with Harry, who so much resembles James, Snape becomes an angry schoolboy again, all his wounds raw and smarting. The dialogue between these two frustrated men has a nice snappy give-and-take:

"With all due respect, Professor, you always think it's Potter."/"With no respect whatever, Filch, you always think it's Peeves."

Very funny, but in the end it comes round to the serious matter of Harry's special treatment by Dumbledore, and the question of how justified (or unjustified) it may be to allow Harry his possession of the Invisibility Cloak. Having read the other "Squib Wizard" stories, I know that Filch will eventually tell Dumbledore what he tells Snape here. It's nice to reflect that the old grump never forgets a promise or neglects a duty--especially to Snape, who needs it most.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46317Chapter: 1
*giggles* Oh, Argus. Poor, poor Argus.

A shame in some ways... ah well.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31528Chapter: 1
<<Desperate, I looked to Professor Snape for help. I had explained matters to him before the old Auror had found us. Surely he understood how important this egg was to me! But the Potions Master swept past me, going down the stairs without saying a word.>>

This made me realize that I have a very Filchian attitude around the house at times -- "Do you people even care about what would make my life easier!!??!??" ;) Seeing CoS recently, I was immediately reminded of your Filch in the scene when Mrs. Norris is Petrified, as if I knew the kinds of thoughts he would be having, thanks to your fics.

~Katinka

Reviewer: ShazzmanDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29631Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant. I'm in the middle of writing a Filch fic now, and I must say I think you've characterised him to a tee. I'm gonna have to steal it from you ;) Just kidding. I think Filch is one canon character whom gets pushed aside too much in fanfiction. I think there's a very deep side to him that needs to be explored, even if he is an evil old squib...thank you for a very refreshing piece of fanfiction!

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13091Chapter: 1
A very good re-telling of a complicated and emotional scene from another point-of-view. Again, Snape and Filch are spot-on and interact together in a realistic and interesting way. Love them sniping at each other over their own personal obsessions. One of these days Harry and Peeves are going to team up, and then Snape and Filch will both go stark raving mad. ;)

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8510Chapter: 1
I was thrilled to look up your stories and find you were writing Filch pieces--he's a terribly neglected character. I read this piece immediately after 'The Squib and the Potions Master', and while I wasn't initially sure about the first-person past-tense narration--it seemed too introspective for Filch--by the end it had me thoroughly convinced. I particularly liked the way Filch's insecurity about his lack of magical ability seemed to influence every aspect of his life, and the way you showed his memories of Snape as a student influencing his treatment of him as a teacher. The narrative voice you developed for Filch conveyed his perspective and emotions very clearly, and made this and the previous story an engaging read. I love the idea that Filch doesn't know about the Invisibility Cloak...must be driving him mad...

Calanthe.

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-10-21
Reviewid: 6788Chapter: 1
Woo Hoo! New Ozma stuff! YUM!

Favorite bit here is the glimpse into Snape's head that shows that no matter how old we may be, certain childhood memories can make us 14 again, and Harry is the walking image of such a childhood memory.

Have I mentioned that I really like the tension between Snape and Moody (well, the real Moody, anyway) and that it's just perfect to see two Slytherins so neatly squared off against each other?

Wonderfully done, as always!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-20
Reviewid: 6694Chapter: 1
Great story! You like to write about Filch don't you? Why?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-10-19
Reviewid: 6644Chapter: 1
The first part was too much a rehash of the book. Much of the dialog between Snape and Moody could have been removed/summarized, so that we could have a greater percentage of Filch. Enjoyed the second half very much.
---
"Listen to me, Filch. Peeves had absolutely nothing to do with that egg! It was POTTER!"

"With all due respect, Professor, you always think it&#8217;s Potter."

"With no respect whatsoever, Filch, you always think it&#8217;s Peeves!"
-Hah!

But, to my surprise he managed a wry, bitter smile instead. "Thank you, Filch."
-Have you tried any Snape fics? You do a good job with him.

More please!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6591Chapter: 1
Do I spot a Filch fan? Heehee...

Cute story!

~TPR

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6576Chapter: 1
This was great! I loved the exchange in the classroom between Snape and Filtch (will all due respect.....with no due respect). Through your entire series you've managed to put a very human face on a very unlikable character. Great job!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6553Chapter: 1
Ahh, and we readers sometimes wonder why Snape always seems so high-strung! This little vignette goes a long way toward explaining matters. Poor Snape must sometimes feel as if the entire world is out to do him an injustice, especially if he feels (perhaps rightly?) that Dumbledore has stacked the deck in Harry's favor. He and Filch should spend a night sitting up with a bottle of Old Morgoth sometime and swap war stories!

PS - my new kitten approves of these stories, he keeps trying to climb up over the keyboard whenever I read them!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6546Chapter: 1
Another great vignette! You really do seem to know Argus on intimate terms. I admire how you depict his astute observations about Snape, and here I particularly liked this: <<Oh, Merlin! Moody had done it now. Poor Severus! He&#8217;s really quite irrational on the subject of Harry Potter. He can&#8217;t help it, I suppose. He and James Potter had spent years getting each other into trouble, and Harry is the very image of his father. Harry seemed to turn the clock backward for Severus. >>

In the final scene, the argument with Snape has fantastic dialogue -- beautifully done!

Brava!

Axelle

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --