The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Wolf
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63572Chapter: 1
This is a very impressive piece. I was particularly struck at the anguish Remus's parents must have felt as they locked their son away in the shed and the loneliness and bewilderment of the little boy.

Reviewer: NeithDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43653Chapter: 1
Oh, that was heartbreaking! This is the first fic I've read detailing Remus's transformation and it was very well-written. Poor Remus... this just intensifies my desire to just hug the poor guy.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33382Chapter: 1
WOW. You've compacted a lot of emotion into this short piece. I've got a little boy myself, and the thought of him having to go through something like that makes me want to cry. I'm impressed by your characterization of seven year-old Remus, who's not a young martyr, but who's legitimately upset by the prospect of transforming. I also found myself sympathizing with his father's conflicted reaction -- love and anger can be so interrelated when it comes to the safety of one's own children.

The description of the werewolf's senses was chilling. Very well done!

~Katinka

Reviewer: Narcissa MalfoyDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11313Chapter: 1
Almost as painful to read as it must have been for Remus
to undergo it. Good job.

NM

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10542Chapter: 1
This is an amazing story. Poor Remus. You've captured so many poignant aspects of his situation. He's too young to fully understand so the poor kid has a tantrum. Then there's his poor parents' heartbreak, described so beautifully in just a few words.

And then that horrifying and brilliantly written transformation... it moved me to tears! His poor fingers. His poor little body. No wonder the poor boy screamed so much that people STILL stayed away from the Shrieking Shack decades later.

You ended at haunting moment, when poor Remus finally loses complete touch with his humanity. This was so heartbreaking!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10527Chapter: 1
::sniffs::
Oh, I've never thought about how awful transformations must have been....before Wolfsbane, before Animagi...his poor, darling parents...

wonderful, Jennlee.
~TPR

Reviewer: annabel andrewsDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10072Chapter: 1
Oh god, I'm crying now. And I never cry - never. That was heart-rending. And exactly how I imagine his transformations, too. *shudders* Short, sweet, and utterly sad.

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9611Chapter: 1
This story really brings out the sheer horror of poor Remus's situation, not only the physical pain (which is described so vividly), but also the awareness that he *is* very dangerous and the subsequent isolation and need to keep his secret. (This really makes the fact that James, Sirius and Peter were determined to be his friends after finding out he's a werewolf all the more amazing.) Very well-done and chilling.

Reviewer: BecDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9599Chapter: 1
that was so heart-wrenching. :( You really made me feel for Remus; the way you described the transformation was terrifying! The last sentence, and this sentence in particular really got to me:

"He wanted, no not wanted, needed, he needed to rip, tear, and bite."

ouch :(

thanks for the great read. :)

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9261Chapter: 1
Wow. What a terrible, wonderful description of Remus' transformation.

>Great claws ripped horribly through the flesh of shriveling fingers.

Eekly! What a line. *shudder* I had to check my fingers weren't bleeding, siriusly.

Wonderful, awful story. ;) Really enjoyed it! :)

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9252Chapter: 1
Poor Remus! How heartbreaking to be a little kid who is a werewolf and doesn't understand what he's going through! You capture his transformation perfectly, as well as his bewilderment and sadness. Great job.

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9128Chapter: 1
This is positively *chilling*.

I love Remus -- this is a really good description. I like that you haven't written something that we don't know happened. Like, a certain situation, I mean.

I don't make any sense. Congrats on a great story :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-13
Reviewid: 8957Chapter: 1
Wow. I've heard about people raving your description of Lupin's transformation over at the Pensieve board and I just had to check it out for myself. Now I see what all the raves were about and that everyone was right -- it's wonderful! It's not wonderful for poor Lupin, of course :( but your description is incredibly detailed. I can just imagine all these physical changes taking place and the pain that comes with it, and then later when he stops thinking consciously...*sniffle*

I like how Lupin comes across as introspective (he has obviously reflected enough on his transformations to detect a pattern) without being angst-ridden. Great job!

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8895Chapter: 1
Aww! I just want to give the poor boy a hug. You manage to convey a lot of very powerful emotions in a small amount of spaceóno small feat. And your transformation scene is very well-done. My heart goes out to him.

Write another chapter, please! :)

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8863Chapter: 1
great job on the transformation description - you should consider continuing this!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8841Chapter: 1
An excellent short story, and aa very realistic picture of what it must be like for Remus. It must have been so terrifying for a young child who didn't understand what was going on, and who couldn't quite coomrhend why he had to be left alone to face this terrifying ordeal.

And I'm so glad you've given him loving, caring parents!!

Alkari

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8780Chapter: 1
The transformation in this story is very detailed and experiential. Well done!

Catherine

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8739Chapter: 1
Wow! What wonderful, vivid descriptions! And how you expressed how human scent is different, and what it triggers in him...Excellent!

Reviewer: JKDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8730Chapter: 1
Wow. This is really impressive. It makes me feel incredibly sorry for Remus; you've done an excellent job of portraying the pain and confusion fo this poor, sweet child.

The transformation is marvellously written: the way you describe Remus's pain and the slow, terrible change in his body is emotional and realistic.

Great job.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8597Chapter: 1
Your description here of the moment when Remus loses his human side is so heart-rending. The description of his physical transformation is really well done too. I can imagine the pain he goes through. Also heartbreaking is the image of a child facing this terrible reality. The scene with his father is really well done. Thanks!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8569Chapter: 1
>He hadn't wanted to go into the garden shed, and he'd cried and thrown a tantrum

There is so much awfulness implied in this one little sentence.

>Great claws ripped horribly through the flesh of shriveling fingers

Eeep! This is a terrible image. The description of Remus' transformation is one of the most vivid and, for lack of a better word, *personal* that I've read. You really get a sense of how violated he feels by what his body is undergoing.

I really like how you give us the sense that Remus does have a moment of pleasure in the space between human and wolf - where he has the wolf's heightened senses, *and* human reason. It gives the moment where Remus loses his conciousness of being human that much more poignancy.

I hope you continue this - it really is a striking piece of writing.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-25
Reviewid: 7048Chapter: 1
Choose the best word to describe the passage above:

A) Amazing b) Excellent

C) Wonderful d) All of the above and more

Answer: D-All of the above and more

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-10-25
Reviewid: 7042Chapter: 1
This is so well-written! I think that you have described Remus's pain and unhappiness emotionally without being overly melodramatic about it. I like the idea of him having a slight fight with his parents. Children don't understand sickness, its what makes it hard on the grownups around them. Nicely done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --