The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Squib Wizard
Review(s): 48

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141967Chapter: 7
A couple of the attitude adjustments make this a bit far from cannon. However, it is unquestionably a most wonderful, excellent story.

Reviewer: Sharon WarnerDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71637Chapter: 7
Absolutely wonderful. I love Professor Snape. I think he is the best part of the HP series, but I must admit I've never given Filch that much thought. Thank you for opening my eyes to new possibilities.

Reviewer: RovenaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33438Chapter: 7
I have to tell you that this is the first time a fanfic has ever made me cry. Ever. Your stories... I just don't have the words. All I can say is, "Keep writing." Have you thought about getting published? I'm sure any publisher would take your original stories, if they were as good as these. Just... incredible. I thank you from the bottom of my heart, for this.

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25969Chapter: 1
congratulations on having one of your stories survive Draco's coup attempt! I was hoping to read what you'd updated the other day, but I guess it will have to wait...

I always did like this story, though. You write Malfoys very well. Slimy. Gits. and...er... sympathetic? Well, a little anyway.

*grin*

Reviewer: RichardDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24161Chapter: 7
I was going to wait until I had read the entire series before reviewing - for fear of simply repeating myself over and over again. This particular part fo the series really demands comment!

Overall, I think the premise is brilliant - the fact that you are using Ginny and Neville along with Filch is wonderful - they are oft ignored other for more than local color - are we to suspect that while Harry & company are off on adventures, that the rest of the school lives completely mundane lives?

I started reading these tales with some trepidation, because Filch is not a character who ever really appealed to me, but you have created a character of pleasant complexity, and I believe you are setting a new standard for anyone who wishes to feature the caretaker in fanfics.

Bravo, bravo, to read some more I go!

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17665Chapter: 1
I think this might be my favorite one of your stories. I love the last chapter especially, with Filch finally deciding to cast off all his old grievances and forgive himself too.

Poor Severus. Somebody's always trying to kill him. ;)

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16001Chapter: 1
The most powerful piece yet.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15588Chapter: 7
This story was fantastic. It really gives insight into Filch's character, and others. I especially liked the ending. Gotta love it when your favorite character (Minerva in my case) gets a little flustered. Ack! The plot bunnies are about to attack! Nooooooooooooooo!!!!!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15381Chapter: 7
"Dobby appeared, as always, to have been taking fashion tips from Peeves." LOL!!!

Another great story, Ozma! Filch's punishment for himself was...er...sweet? Fitting? Well, I daresay Snape was satisfied :)

I liked reading about Mrs. Norris acting all wifely about Filch's hangover (not that I'm suggesting anything indecent going on between them) and everything Draco-related :) You really have a gift for showing me other sides to the characters I like the least. Thank you!

The ending to this story was refreshingly light-hearted :D I still think Filch and Trelawney are a better pair, tho!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15380Chapter: 5
*sniffle* I loved reading about the painful turnarounds Filch, Snape and Malfoy had to do! I wasn't happy that it hurt their pride, of course, but they needed it. And Neville, being so steadfast and decent, was adorable.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15378Chapter: 4
I loved the description of Flitwick's office. It captured perfectly the whimsical and smarter-than-he-looks vibes I get when JKR discusses him in canon.

I am also intrigued by Moaning Myrtle's reaction to Filch crying.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15376Chapter: 3
Whoa. If I had been caught in the middle of that Filch-Snape staredown, I'm sure I would have burnt right up! And I couldn't take sides -- you've managed to make these two nasty old men so appealing by giving reasons for why they're so mean. Great job! And Maternal!Mrs. Norris was sweet, too :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15367Chapter: 2
"I know that my looks arenít ever going to win me any prizes, (unless Witch Weekly ever decides to sponsor a "Least-Charming-Smile" award)..." LOL. I'm glad Filch's self-deprecation can be humorous at times.

Interesting to see him getting some form of DADA lessons. I can't wait to read the rest!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10033Chapter: 7
Ozma, I always know I'm in for a treat when I read your stories! And this one was no exception.

You give us believable hints of a Malfoy family home life (that doesn't involve drunknenness and domestic abuse) like no one else. D'you know, it's not often we stop to think that Lucius might actually *care* for his son? But of course, he must, as would Narcissa (who we know does). (!! Lucius Malfoy with DEPTH. Now that's a rarity in fan fiction and in canon.) But that doesn't excuse the brutality with which he treats others. Though having said that, I'm glad Filch didn't throw Malfoy through the Door (deserving as that end would have been). I'm ashamed to say that after all Malfoy had put Filch through, I was half-hoping Filch wouldn't be quite so ethical about it. ;)

I have to pause here and just say how awed I am at how well you depict the complicated relationships between the adults. A skill that goes way beyond just great dialogue. It's a wonderful balance you've created, a marvelous interplay of emotions and motivations. I'm too enamoured to describe it coherently, but let me say that they're so *real* these may as well be real people conversing.

And again, so much is in those little observations. This one almost made me cheer out loud:

<<Professor Snape looked as if he didn&#8217;t know quite what to make of it either. For a moment his dark eyes went wide and stunned. And I saw something in his face that surprised me, even more than Draco&#8217;s apology had done. Joy. [!!! -- ed.]

Draco turned to his Professor, looking nervous, half-pleading, half-defiant. As if he was not certain how Snape was going to react to what he&#8217;d just said. By then Severus had his expression completely under control. What I&#8217;d seen in his face was masked and hidden. He regarded the boy coolly. After a moment Draco was able to meet his teacher&#8217;s eyes. He was calm, his uncertainty swallowed up by pride. >>

Beautifully observed! Wow!

And then there are all the entertaining details. You do such a wonderful job with the voices of Hagrid, Moody and the house-elves. (BTW, Dobby and Winky leveraging Filch's manacles was inspired! :D ) And that detention scene! The image of all those stunned students -- hee! And Filch's consternation at having to concoct a suitable punishment for himself! LOL!! You do a fabulous job, too, at showing his neurotic attachment to bureaucracy. :D

And I LOVE your Filch-and-Snape:

<<I took down one of the chains and began polishing. It helps me think. The clean, smooth, coolness of the metal links soothed me.

Once, when I&#8217;d been polishing away, I&#8217;d looked up to see that Professor Snape had paused in my office doorway. One dark, sardonic eyebrow was raised in amusement.

"Some people just use worry-beads, you know," he&#8217;d said to me, dryly. "They&#8217;re smaller and more portable. But you never do anything the easy way, do you?"

"Neither do you!" I&#8217;d yelled after him, as he&#8217;d swept off down the corridor.>> Heheheh.

Hee! The Epilogue! Mwhahahaha!

...And amidst all that cause the grins and guffaws, you elegantly insert the best life lessons, which is a trait you and JKR definitely share. Wonderful analogy between the filing cabinets and people. The purging of those files is an excellent parallel to the purging and absolution of Argus Filch.

Another really lovely story, Ozma. You should be very very proud!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10029Chapter: 5
I think one of your great talents as a writer is not only your impeccable pacing and facility for description, but your sharp observations of characters through the eyes of others. Filch is remarkably perceptive, as is Neville, which you can see by his understanding of Draco.

In fact, both Draco and Neville are both extremely well-portrayed here. In other stories, both can seem pretty one-dimensional, but you bring them to life here, acting contrary to stereotype, but not OOC. Neville is a kind soul, and of course would act at least "decently" to help Draco whom he realises is swallowing quite a bit of pride to ask for help. And Draco we're so accustomed to seeing as a nasty, bullying git that it's refreshing to see that he can be responsible -- at least to his own house -- and that he has consideration for his fellow students and Snape (touching loyalty those Slyths can have sometimes). And it makes a great deal of sense that those who are oft-mistrusted by all would also find it hard to trust others (and that's another excellent psychological observation that Slytherins would trust their own kind the least!).

Oh, poor Argus! He's praising Neville's gift to help others, all the while not realising just how alike they both are. But I suppose it's our insecurities that hold our self-image to ransom, like those vines!

Off to read the conclusion...

Axelle :)

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9438Chapter: 7
Ack! you do NOT help! I already had an unholy, extremely weird obsession with Filch, and you've been making it much worse! Wonderful series, can't wait to read the next one. You're brilliant at this, really, but you're encouraging my insanity. That's not always a good thing. Excellent story.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9425Chapter: 3
Oh, no! You have a gift for really making the reader feel for Argus. He's a good man, but his patience has its limits and we all have been in his position (um, similar ones, anyway), I'm sure, at one stage or another. Poor Snape. Poor Argus. You do an admirable Dumbledore, too. It makes perfect sense that he wouldn't seek to punish a man who is already in the throes of self-flagellation.

Very nicely done. I wonder... what was Severus going to say before he was pulled in? I guess I'll just have to read on and be patient...

Axelle

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9404Chapter: 1
Oh, Ozma! Consider it official. I'm an undying devotee of your Filch. He's still his gruff canon self, but through your eyes we see the human side of that miserly, bitter man turn slowly, and at times reluctantly into the generous and kind man I'm sure Dumbledore has always known him to be.

I thoroughly enjoyed "Squib Doors" and I'm so pleased that Filch, after being alone (well, with the exception of Mrs Norris) for so long, has found solace in his nascent friendship with Ginny and Neville. You do a wonderful job of showing Neville coming into his own at last.

Again, I have to say the dialogue is marvelously genuine, as is your Argus.

I'm looking forward to immersing myself into this, too. :) Such a treat!

Axelle

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-13
Reviewid: 8969Chapter: 7
An excellent ending to a really finely-done story! I enjoyed this whole cycle so much. Bravo!

I just howled when the House-elves did some wonderful headshrinking on Argus, then made off with his beloved chain and manacle collection as hostages!! Too funny!

This part: "I felt an absurd desire to laugh. Professor Snape's lecture on the subject of Lucius Malfoy sounded almost exactly like Alastor Moody's. I doubted that either Slytherin would appreciate the comparison." Gave me another good chuckle. Ahh, such a set of Slytherins! :-D

Draco apologising and Severus' reaction to the boy's progress just warmed my heart! To see a glimmer of hope after all his hard effort must have felt like seeing rain in the desert to poor Severus.

And this: "No, I could not let one of the ghosts engulf me completely until I turned blue with cold every day after dinner. Most of the ghosts would find that distressing. (No, I could not ask the Baron. The Baron had better things to do.)" YA-HA-Haaa! Too funny!! Only the Baron might be game for this!! Argus's list of awful punishments and Dumbledore's patient "no, no, definitely no!" Hee-hee!!

And what Argus finally did do as penance was so perfectly appropriate AND such a great step on the road to enlightenment! Wow!! He's going to be a fine man, assuming he survives to grow up (given the dangerous times, that's always a risk.)

Hee-hee, so the Doors can find the person... how nice! No matter where they are or what they are doing? Oops. Can we say "embarassment potential"?

Thanks again for this story, I'm going to print it out and give it to my mom, who got me into HP in the first place.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8868Chapter: 7
Dobby appeared, as always, to have been taking fashion tips from Peeves
-Good point!

a very purple Lavender Brown
-made me laugh

I liked the whole paragraph where Filch is listing the punishments he tried to get Dumbledore to approve. Wonderful choice for what he actually did.

Excellent and a funny ending as well! Thanks for the fic.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8837Chapter: 7
You write humour as well as you write angst, and the juxtaposition of both is one of the things that makes your stories so compelling. Another great piece!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8826Chapter: 7
Bravo!

If I didn't mention this before, I like your Snape as well. It's a portrait worth aiming for.

Reviewer: AnorielDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8809Chapter: 7
*starts giggling uncontrollably* Poor Mr. Filch!! And that was so nice of him, to give her sketchbook to Harry.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8792Chapter: 7
You are phenomenal! I will read anything you write! Your ability to open up the emotional life of your characters is amazing, and then to find that your story expands and illustrates one of the important themes of the books just deepened the reading experience. Since I have now used up my store of superlatives, I better stop. I can't wait for your next story.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8740Chapter: 6
There were ghosts on this small hillside with Hagrid and me. Not real ghosts, like the ones in the Castle. Just shadows and memories.
-Thought this was well written.

Any talent in drawing? That last scene would be quite a sight.

Another great chapter, everyone in character. I like how you had Crouch Jr. planting the vine. Good job handling Lucius.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8581Chapter: 6
This is excellently done, Ozma. I loved especially the confrontation between Snape, Malfoy, and Dumbledore in the infirmary (Dumbledore is the coolest! Not many people can write him well) and the conversation at the end. Of COURSE Moody would be a Slytherin! I'd never thought of that! But it fits.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8547Chapter: 6
Ooo, better and better!! I love the way you are working this out! Lucius Malfoy, torturer, murderer, and Death Eater, still loves his child... he is going away with so much food for thought he'll be lucky if he doesn't choke.

Um, tomorrow morning is going to be painful for Argus, but at least it's only alcohol-pain (well, and his sore body). He probably should be up in the hospital wing himself!

I loved this line: "I think he will," Ginny comforted me. "Once he finally feels better. Professor Snape has done much harder things in his life than forgive a friend, I&#8217;m sure of it." She patted my shoulder. - Ginny is wise beyond her years and has very clear insight.

As for Professor Snape, Poppy should probably try the Draught of Living Death on him - at the rate he's going, he'll only get rest if he's six feet under! :-D Trying to duel Malfoy while he's half-dead? Gadzooks! How very Gryffindor of him! And his pain is so very deep. Poor fellow.

Only one more chapter - I'm keen to see how this ends, but I'll be sad when it does. Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8531Chapter: 6
Wow.

I like seeing the human side of characters that we normally
don't get to see a lot of. I've been reading the Squib
series for a while now, and I've liked what I've seen.

I'm especially impressed with this chapter, in that you showed
the human side of Lucius (something I might do (a little) in
my next story), and Dumbledore making lemonade out of lemons.
(By planting Death Eater discord.)

Reviewer: Dulcimer JonesDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8507Chapter: 5
I love Filch's relationship with his cat. Every time he needs a hug, she's there and it's very sweet. I really liked your description of Winky and her proprietary feelings for her "patients." And Poppy giving her "old" scarves was great. Draco's comment about the Slytherin'snot trusting anyone because no one trusts them and their devotion to Snape was heartbreaking. They could be good. And Filch saying how much easier it would be to hate them. Oh, I just loved all of it. Made me happy. :)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8494Chapter: 5
"D-didnít... die," Moody managed to choke out. His voice was a very pale shadow of its usual gruff self. "Not e-even... cl-close to dead. Not like... Snape!"
Incredibly, he managed to sound just the slightest bit triumphant
-He really is Mad. Nicely in character.

Good to see Winky up and about and being useful. That was kind.

Is Professor Grubbly-Plank the new sub for all classes? Nice touch.

I like how you have kept the vine alive.

Nice handling of Neville. So far every character you have done has been done well. I like how you had Draco asking Neville for help.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8488Chapter: 5
I can't think of any more superlatives to use - I should have saved them because this is getting continually better and better.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8471Chapter: 5
Oh, good stuff!! Heh, I'm with Argus, now that Moody's feeling better, he can kill him properly! :-D But interesting fact he found - the Doors make some level of value-judgements! Information that might come in handy someday, I'll bet.

Hooray for Draco, doing something so very hard for him! And yay for Neville, who is willing to help! And many a chuckle for the ongoing (and spreading!) conspiracy of silence: "No one tell Professor Snape!" Hee-hee, the poor man is going to have a zillion conniptions when he gets well enough to discover all the fun things he missed. Oy vey, I hope he doesn't dump all his ire on Argus!

Moody really didn't help matters by taunting Snape when he's already feeling lower than low and sick to boot. I do hope Albus talked some sense into him.

Great work, looking forward to the next part, as usual! Thanks for more great story.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8407Chapter: 4
Yes, I could see Moody being just mad enough to try that. Well done.

I liked Myrtle's reaction as well.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8404Chapter: 3
Excellent job with Snape. I really think you ought to try a Snape fic. Filch's begging for a beating was strange but in character.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8393Chapter: 4
Wow! Moody's one crazy old wizard, isn't he? But isn't poor Filch going to blame himself for this too? How much burden can he bear? Oh well, it always makes interesting reading to find out! This may well be your best squib story yet, which is really saying something :-)

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8392Chapter: 3
So good, so very, brilliantly good...

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8367Chapter: 4
Oh, the agomizing guilt! Well, Filch is good at thinking of himself as flawed. Why not let him wallow in his character flaws? But his remorse is quite genuine, and shows that he is in fact a man of character, in spite of his fit of pique. Well, Severus just brings that out in people, doesn't he?

Minerva is just perfect---she's polite, firm and reasonble. It's quite on spot that she could so matter of factly quiet Myrtle.

The coolest part of this chapter is Moody. I love Moody as a Slytherin. What a nasty trick to play on poor Filch in the name of discovering the doors!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-07
Reviewid: 8345Chapter: 4
Ahh, old Moody is a glutton for punishment! LOL. Poppy will KILL him, assuming he survives the trip through the Door, and I believe he will... he's too tough to die. :-D

And Severus is being a severe lower colon as usual! *Snickers* Perhaps Argus should whisper "The Pony Clubbers are coming!" next time he visits him in sick bay?

The meeting with Minerva was wonderful. I especially liked this part "Poor Severus. I don&#8217;t know if he has ever forgiven anyone for anything... including himself. " Too true!

And I'm so glad you're pointing out that Argus hasn't been through the normal 'growth/learning' curve all the other wizards have. And puberty is just SO much fun at 70+ :-0

Mrs Norris has so much sense! Argus should really learn to listen to her.

Great chapter! I'm interested to see the next one, given Moody's little gamble. I hope the Door likes him better than it liked Severus. I wonder if the Squib's emotional state while using the door has any bearing on how a wizard makes the transit?

Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8055Chapter: 3
'He turned and gave the Gryffindors a look that a Basilisk would have been proud to own.'

'He glared at me, black eyes smoldering like coals about to burst into flame at any moment.'

I've decided that I simply must start collecting these. You've a marvelous way of describing those scalding looks Severus is always passing out.

(This is only fair, because you are rather rough on the poor man at times.)

What I like about this story is that Filch makes a mistake of the sort most of us will get to make at some point in life- to act out of anger, fear, self-righteousness, whatever, and to cause great harm to another by that thoughtless act. I think Filch shows great strength of character in his response to what he's done. He accepts full responsibility for his actions, he truly regrets his actions and clearly will not do that again. (either drag someone through the door out of anger--or, one suspects, ever do anything else that might be so reckless to another). More than that, he puts careful effort into mending the relationship with Snape.

He also show a remarkable depth of understanding of his fellow human beings. He's a fine fellow. Hope he discovers this about himself.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8034Chapter: 3
Ohboy! Another chapter! Love this story! And I must say I'm relieved Argus got to his bed safely from Chapter 2, I really was worried. :-)

Had to give a wry chuckle - are we the only authors who think the only way Severus would take some proper rest would be if he were stuck in hospital for a couple weeks? :-D

Ahh, Severus Snape! Present Master of "Learning the Hard Way"! For some reason this seems to be the curse of intelligent people who really *should* know better. Wasn't it Snape in a prior chapter (or maybe the prior story) who told Argus "you ARE a wizard!"? How quickly he forgets, but then, it is hard to remember one's moments of wisdom when one is totally teed off. LOL

Poor Argus! He has such a highly-developed sense of guilt it isn't funny. I am glad Moody has managed to raise his level of self-worth a little, even though it had some frightening consequences. You know, it occurs to me that Argus has never had to go through the experimenting and tempering phases that all students at Hogwarts go through. In a way, he's having to tackle that learning curve NOW as an adult, and that can't be easy!

Dunno if it was such a good idea for Dumbledore to agree to leave Argus' eventual punishment up to Severus. Then again, it might work out fine... Some people really _are_ like horses. We have one horse in our barn who tries to push on people and he has been aggressive. The typical verbal reprimands do not impress him at all. Hitting him hard, once or twice, DOES impress him, but it takes that level of interaction to gain his respect, after which he quits pushing. Might Argus find he gets a little more respect from Severus later on? (And don't forget the sugar-lumps! :-D )

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7739Chapter: 2
I'm just repeating myself now - but fantastic, again, as always!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7723Chapter: 2
You know, I'd never thought about "After Midnight, It&#8217;s The Staff&#8217;s Turn!" either, but it make sense! Once the kiddies are all safe in their beds, the grownups should be able to um... practice... whatever they want!

Oh dear, this IS the Real Moody(TM) and NOT BartyCrouch Moody, right? Right? You seem to imply it's the real Moody, but Filch doesn't seem to know about Crouch, so now I'm worried. Should I be? :-0

Mrs. Norris has a lot of sense. Filch should listen to her more.

And Squibs don't live as long? Hmm, does it have to do with the actual practice of magic extending one's lifespan? Does this mean that if Filch practices more and more he'll live longer? The poor man needs a user guide (or some savvy Squib needs to write one!)

Hmm... For some reason, I'm worried Filch won't make it to his bed at chapter's end!

Ohboy, 5 more chapters to look forward to! Hee-hee! Thanks for the latest and I'll wait happily for the next!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7657Chapter: 2
You have so richly characterized Moody! He's gruff, he's blunt, he's sharp as hell. What a teacher! He's got Filch scared to death, but also has shown Filch a glimpse of his squib-talents---

" 'Good. Youíll do,' Alastor Moody told me, gruffly. I felt as if Iíd been awarded an Order of Merlin."

Wonderful statement of Filch's feelings there!

Love Filch's response to Moody's statement that Squibs didn't normally live as long as regular wizards. How little Filch knows about himself as a squib! How many really cool things left to discover!

Have I mentioned that I just LOVE these stories??

Reviewer: MrRobertsDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7646Chapter: 2
"Wide-eyed, I stared at Moody. What? Most Squibs died young? No one had ever told me that. Why hadn&#8217;t anyone ever told me that?"
- I imagine its from their uncles dropping them from great height or other to "force" the magic out of them.

Moody felt very in character. I like how you have Ms. Norris liking the real Moody more than Crouch Jr's impersonation.

Go Filch!

Reviewer: Dulcimer JonesDate: 2002-10-26
Reviewid: 7129Chapter: 1
Hello Ozma. I've never done this before. I've been lurking around the sugarquill for I guess a year, almost, reading through different stuff and I don't think I ever saw your name before. But it was on the new postings list and I figured I'd spend five minutes checking out a fanfic. And I read The Squib and the Werewolf. And then I read everything else. And I'm speechless. You have an original character, fully fleshed and relatable and these stories are so original and uncliched, I don't know if that's a word, but it fits and these stories are amazing. You have such an incredible talent, and the voices of your characters are so perfect. I love the humour and wit and the emotion you can provoke is really amazing. I wish I could do justice to you. You have an amazing talent. Thank you for writing these stories. Bye.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-10-26
Reviewid: 7104Chapter: 1
Wow. Filch has a soft side. A rather believable one. I really like the way you handle things like honour and duty, sacrifice, mercy, and justice. It's very cool.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-10-25
Reviewid: 7037Chapter: 1
You must know how much I love your stories by now - so I'm just letting you know how excited I am about seeing a new one up. Can't wait for you to add more!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-25
Reviewid: 7034Chapter: 1
Ohboy, more Filch! Love this guy!

Owww, wicked Snape booby-trapping his office! Poor Filch! I hate getting even a sliver in my finger *wince*. And to pull them out all at once??? YAARGH! Severus has a few Sadistic tendencies when annoyed, yes? (Idle OT thought, I'd love to see Snape have to work with Indiana Jones someday...he thinks Potter is bad! The two of them would get into SO much trouble.)

Heh-heh, Filch couldn't resist telling Snape Flitwick is beating him in the wards contest! As they used to say: Face! :-D

Oww, porcupine quills - *another wince* yeah, they keep working inward till you get them out. Very nasty. (My friend has a dog that runs up vet bills yearly by getting himself slapped by a porky - he doesn't learn, either.)

Ohh, the part with Ginny asking about Argus' health. This was so nice, I just melted.

Ok, who named their kid Gehenna - ack!! (These are wizards, but still... But then I do like CJ Cherryh's 'Fourty Thousand In Gehenna.')

Ahh, good Severus! Slytherin on the outside, Gryffindor on the inside! Don't tell him I said that, but Argus knows, doesn't he? And we're in agreement, Snape would just hate to be seen as vulnerable.

This part made a wonderful point: "I think that you probably just like to keep all of us wondering," she murmured, closing her eyes. "It&#8217;s really almost Slytherin of you." Yes indeed!

More to come? And thanks so much for the new chapter! Loved it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --