The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 51

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141118Chapter: 1
Excellent Ė Again Ė Of Course

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129378Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!!

wait? wouldn't the boggart turn into someone else? Since he is REALLY Bary Crouch JR. 'cause i think boggarts are really not fooled by things like that i don't know if they have eyes...but anyway i think they are kindof like dementors somehow; they feed on emotions, thoughts and wonders. So i think a Baoggart would turn into something else. Plus Moody's fear would be more like an person advancing on him with a wand when Moody is lyinn on the groung wandless

Reviewer: MDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122536Chapter: 1
:-D good. real good.

Reviewer: BvvDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121655Chapter: 1
I would like to say: this is brilliant. I just read all of your work and this word comes back every time. That and wow. I want to ask you something : my native language is French and I've recently suscribed to fanfiction.net. I'd like to try translating some of your one-shots, but of course I need your permission. If you want me to, can you let me know in an e-mail? and if you don't... well it would be nice to let me know too. I sincerely hope you will say yes, because your work is some of the best I've seen. And I just realised I didn't say please. So please, please, please let me translate and publish it. Please.

Reviewer: SanctionDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109593Chapter: 1
Some stories don't age well;, time goes by and they become slowly irrelevant. This story isn't one of them. It's still as powerful and true as the time it was written. I've reviewed before it, but on second reading I just want to congratulate you again for giving us this enriching little treasure.

Reviewer: Ditsy BlondeDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105068Chapter: 1
Wow! Sorry, that's all I've got to say to it. I felt so sorry for Ginny, and then the ending... I was just so awed.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101557Chapter: 1
Great ending. Really the only possible ending.

Reviewer: Duck in disguiseDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100091Chapter: 1
very clever...please write more like that...now i'm gonna havta go read yur other stuff!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90272Chapter: 1
What can I say? Absolutely inspired. I love the idea of Ginnyís boggart being herself and her having to come to terms with her past that way. The part where she finally touched itÖ it brought tears to my eyes. Beautiful.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79544Chapter: 1
Great idea and great solution. Both put in very good writing.

Reviewer: LuisaDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79154Chapter: 1
Perfect. I can just imagine, little Ginny, with her hair all haggard, her wet robes, clunching a diary looking petrified, and the older one, so different, yet so equal. Really good piece of work.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76891Chapter: 1
The last scene is very tense, very well-written. Too bad Snape can't move beyond some things. Like little grudges. Else she might have had a bit of an easier time of it.

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56272Chapter: 1
AAAAAHHHHHHHHH OMG THAT WAS SOOOOO GOOD! kinda freaky too. but reeeeeally good

Reviewer: SandryDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55559Chapter: 1
That was brilliant. I love the way you captured Ginny's fear. Very touching.

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49206Chapter: 1
Author,
Facing your fears can be SO hard. Ginny's is very well... perfect. In the books everyone seems to have these shallow fears as if their lives are perfect. (I mean a severed hand? come on.) With some exeptions(Harry, Lupin etc) they all seem like they don't have deep fears, as if their hearts are oh so er- simple. My worst fear is fighting with people I am close to. I am facing that at this very second even though my 'opposition' who happens to be my best friend, lives halfway across Canada from me. My life is hard right now. I just moved for the 4th time in my life. Nothing is easy. This just showes me that that's true for everyone. Thanks. I cannot say how much that helps.

Paige Knorr

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46903Chapter: 1
my god...that was freaky...brilliant.

Reviewer: TishDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41520Chapter: 1
You know one of the few things that disappointed me about the books were people's boggarts. I could believe Harry's and Lupinís, maybe Ron's and Nevilleís, but mummies? Severed hands? Hermione's McGonagall? I get that a lot of the characters arenít developed much, but still. I think most peopleís worst fears are far more abstract and very difficult to make funny. In this story you take the sinfully underdeveloped Boggart and make it fascinating and multi-layered.

Reviewer: AlannaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41256Chapter: 1
This was a great story. I loved the way that Ginny had to accept how she was in first year to be able to step over a boundary.

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33694Chapter: 1
That was awesome!

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31415Chapter: 1
Accept your shadow- Ged in A Wizard of Earthsea! He named the enemy- the Shadow- the gebbeth after himself, because it was him, the year he wreaked death upon the world, the year he hated himself! Wonderful!

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28754Chapter: 1
Good story! Very well done!

Reviewer: PinkpantherDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28531Chapter: 1
Beautiful job - Ginny did need to recover from that year and she did so wonderfully in this fic. Great job!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28526Chapter: 1
That was AWESOME!!!^<>^Good Luck with future fics!

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27760Chapter: 1
This was a great fic! I really think this is part of Ginny's character in canon. She certainly seems to blame herself after Harry saves her and you showed her feelings nicely. Her fear was perfect. It makes sense that she would be so...disgusted with herself.

This quote in particular was really true to her character:

"It was--horrible. It was like I had this wall around me. And now--whenever I find myself doing something that I might have done that year--I have to catch myself. I have to say, ĎAm I doing it again?í Iím always on guard. I canít ever rest. You know what happened last time."

You really captured the fact that she's afraid of herself, of becoming vulnerable again. Very great Ginny characterization. Also, very good ending. I liked how she *had* to accept her fear to beat the boggart. And now that she has recognized that part of herself, hopefully she can forget about it and move on.

Again, Great fic! This really gives a lot of insight on Ginny's feelings about herself after CoS. Thanks for this awesome fic.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26689Chapter: 1
yes! YES! ::punches fist in the air::

AWEsome. BRILLiant. PERfect.

Oooh...ya had me scared there for a bit. Almost wasn't sure that she'd make it.

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: ChoDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22400Chapter: 1
Wow,wow,wow!I love this story!

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17296Chapter: 1
beautiful...

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12015Chapter: 1
"Full marks." i luv that. this fic was SO COOL!!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9890Chapter: 1
oh, this was beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I don't htink anyone has ever done such a good, insightful story about Ginny coming to terms with her past. Very good job, I love it when a story helps me understand a character better.

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9619Chapter: 1
A great idea, really well executed! I think that it would take Ginny a long time to deal with what happened in her first year, and the boggart is a perfect reason for her to confront this. Moody was just right - tough but fair. A good read!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8751Chapter: 1
Glad this won!

Reviewer: zequistDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8719Chapter: 1
Excellent. We are indeed our own worst enemies sometimes, and it was very poignant and believable that Ginny should be so afraid of what the diary experience turned her into. Ginny was very well-written, which I as a fan of hers really like to see. I guess Moody didn't understand what she was doing, since he kept telling her to put the wand up, and that was eerily in-character too. After all, what would a DE know about matters of love and acceptance?

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2002-11-04
Reviewid: 8119Chapter: 1
This was a thought-provoking story to say the least and one of the best studies in how Ginny's first year affected her. Ginny's internal diaglogue was heartbreaking. Great story!

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2002-11-04
Reviewid: 8086Chapter: 1
I can see this actually happening. Thanks.

Reviewer: KelpieDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 7992Chapter: 1
Excellent Ginny story, very believable from what we've seen of her character so far. I also like that it explains part of how she and Hermione became so close. Great work :)

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 7982Chapter: 1
All I have to say is that was deep. About how she hated how she was and the excepting it....brilliant.

Reviewer: Madame SnufflesDate: 2002-11-02
Reviewid: 7891Chapter: 1
Brilliant!! You definitely deserved this reward for the characterization of Ginny.

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7631Chapter: 1
Oh... this was superb! Fantastic characterisation of Ginny, and the ending gave me goosebumps. Every word was perfect. I loved this!

Reviewer: SanctionDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7616Chapter: 1
What a fine, fine story. Simple, direct, complete, united in a single idea. I find myself wondering what you could have done with it minus the word limit, but nonentheless the brevity gives it a certain elegance. The way the story is built up, I found it believable that that Ginny's one act of bravery could impress even Moody/Crouch. I'm also glad you played Moody cold, given what we know of him at the time. And you wrote Ginny with such insight on the mind of a teenage girl--everyone has felt this same weakness, this self-loathing, at some point of our young lives, and here it's painted for us in vivid colors. And there's also this--we can find inside ourselves things that are more horrible than any external fear, and at the same time, we can find things that are just as beautiful. Ginny, who may not have known true bravery before, may do so now that she's overcome the greatest of fears. This is a superb story, the best I've read in a long time. I can't recommend it enough.

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7600Chapter: 1
Yeahhh Mo! I loved this story. You do Ginny so well! Keep writing, and talk to you soon!
LYLAS-
Tiki

Reviewer: Miss PinceDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7558Chapter: 1
Wow... I mean just.. wow. I'm speechless. Ginny is one of my favourite characters. I love writing her, but I must bow before your supremacy...

This story is awesome. I had to read it three times in a row before I even wanted to think about reviewing it!

Oh, and: "Hermione was working on an essay that Ron would attempt to copy off her in three days when it was due." had me completely rolling on the floor...

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7518Chapter: 1
Very poignant Ginny moment here. It made total sense that she would be most frightened of herself. After all, I'm sure it would take anyone years to get over what she had to go through in her first years. The fact that she was dealing w/ fake Moody, made the story all the more interesting. You write Ginny extremely well. Congrats! :)

Reviewer: BooklovrDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7394Chapter: 1
Wow. VERY good! I'd always wondered what Ginny would see. Fear of herself, an interesting take on it all. *Thumbs up and waves*
~Booklovr

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7376Chapter: 1
"This is a part of myself. Itís not a part Iím proud of, or even like. But itís there, and until I understand that, I canít go beyond it...When I fight against you, Iím fighting myself. I canít fight anymore. Iíve been afraid for too long. I must accept you."

And this is why you're one of my very favorite Ginny writers. :) What a beautiful and poignant story. (Side-note: Eep! That was fake-Moody she was dealing with, right?) I was in chills at Ginny's moment of self-realization -- you have a very good grasp of her character.

Wonderful, wonderful!

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7345Chapter: 1
NICE one! Here I was, thinking it would be Tom who would appear (well, Ginny and Hermione thought it would be him too!) and it was Ginny herself. Nice twist!

Reviewer: Doctor CorneliusDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7339Chapter: 1
Brilliant concept, perfect ending.

Full marks. :)

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7337Chapter: 1
That is THE best conception of what Gin would be afraid of. A great little fic.

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7311Chapter: 1
Oh! I'm all teary eyed! That was beautiful. Fantastic characterisation of Ginny, and very original! I loved it.

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7306Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Amazing, really...a wonderful moral, too.

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7236Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this - nice take on Ginny's feelings about the diary and stuff.

Reviewer: Queen of the Tinfoil FishDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7212Chapter: 1
Wow. That was so amazing. I loved the bit when Ginny accepted herself. It was so...so...dramatic and full of good Ginny-ness! You could really understand what she was feeling during the little inner monolouge section, when Moody told her to put her wand up.

Again, wow.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --