The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-11-09
Reviewid: 135763Chapter: 1
Heh, and now we know.... I wonder how the real Blaise of HBP would react to being asked for a game of stip poker by the Weasley twins...

This was nicely written and the twins were very in character. I loved the refernce to the Chamber of Secrets and the little Fred/Angelina hints. Great story, I'm glad I happened across it!

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110108Chapter: 1
Haha, cute! I like the Fred and George banter, and the no-nonsense attitudes of Katie and Angelina.

Reviewer: M.E.Date: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71392Chapter: 1
Funny! I think I read somewhere that, officially, Blaise is male - but this is still very entertaining and original :)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50611Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAAA
well, ive always thoguth that blaise zabini was male, due to AtE, i think it was.
was it AtE?
am i confused w/another fic?
than again, i was ANOTHER fic where blaise was female...
HMPH!
damn good question...
*wonders*

Reviewer: Emma Jean TaylorDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44717Chapter: 1
That was really funny!

Reviewer: Accio_SnapeDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43143Chapter: 1
I actually remember the "Strip Poker With Pat" skit . . . this was a very funny story.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34310Chapter: 1
The world will never know.



Very good!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33857Chapter: 1
Cute story. Very typical Gred and Forge. Too bad the troll spoiled their fun.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33624Chapter: 1
Oh, wonderful! Your characterizations here are spot-on, and there are so many lines that I love that listing all of them would equal cutting and pasting your entire story! However, my two definate favorites are:

“Well, once we’ve found out whether Blaise Zabini is man or maid, we can make our next project getting Snape to bathe. Might cheer him up.” This one is so much fun--and it rhymes, too. I love the Weasley twins, and I'm almost sad that they didn't get to solve the mystrey.

'Fred said, draining his flagon, “Honestly, woman – don’t you realize that flat-out asking spoils the fun?”' And this one--well, it's perfect. Here, you give Katie and Angelina their own personalities, and you play the girls off against the guys very nicely. I love the little cameo by teh Chamber of Secrets, too!

Excellently done, overall, and lots of fun, too. Perhaps (someday) when the mystrey is finally solved, you'll do a sequel! Good luck with all your future works.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@netscape.netDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29611Chapter: 1
lol, so good, hilarious! I still do wonder about Blaise....

Reviewer: X-LydiaDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25670Chapter: 1
"Blaise", in the Muggle world, is a masculine name; in Latin it is Blasius. Not sure where JKR got it, possibly from the saint of that name who is said to have been tortured and then beheaded.

Really, the gender of Blaise Zabini hasn't ever been in question; more likely Gryffindors don't care to speculate about what Slytherins are like when naked; the BIG question in fandom is why Dumbledore was happy to hear that Voldemort could touch Harry as of the end of Year 4.

I liked the characterization of Fred and George in this fanfic. As for the SNL reference, obviously It's Pat!

Reviewer: ShirleyDate: 2003-03-06
Reviewid: 23016Chapter: 1
OH. MY. GOSH. I was rolling on the floor with laughter...how original. I think you should have included the strip poker game and left the end as a cliff hanger...that would have been brilliant... This is is just fantastic...you've got an incredibly creative mind...*HAPPY WRITING*
Cheers.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20655Chapter: 1
Oh LOL!!!! ;) this is really funny!!! write MORE!!!

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15352Chapter: 1
You know i've often pondered this question. I actually completely forgot about the troll. It was a lol fic. HILARIOUS

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2002-12-28
Reviewid: 14170Chapter: 1
Well. That was a truly original method of answering THAT question. I must admit, you had me stumped for a while there as to what THAT question could possibly be. It's one I've pondered, myself ^_~ I like to think he/she/it ends up being a she, but hey... it's just one of those things that JKR needs to clarify herself. As for your ficlet, hilarious! Very nice portrayal of the Weasley twins and their respective girlfriends, I thought! Happy holidays!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11974Chapter: 1
Cute premise and I enjoyed reading it.

My only thought was that Blaise's gender would be known, because Blaise's trunk would have been next to a bed somewhere after the Sorting.

Reviewer: GinnyDragon54Date: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11702Chapter: 1
LOL! It's Pat-er Blaise-er whatever! its hilarious is what it is. now i have to write jkr and ask if blaise is "man or maid" LOL!

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9623Chapter: 1
Ah, the mystery! I sort of hope JKR did this on purpose rather than just being unclear. Anyway, you do a great job of describing the irrepressible twins pursuing this important question - lots of fun to read!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8596Chapter: 1
This is just really strange. Good, but definatly strange!

Reviewer: ByeDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8539Chapter: 1
What's 'cannon'?

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8218Chapter: 1
Love it. ;) We really DO need to find out about Blaise sometime. Although.. that would mean half of the fics involving.. him/her would be screwed, wouldn't they? Hee.

Reviewer: KelpieDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 7994Chapter: 1
As usual Fred and George are completely awful, in the most hilarious way. I love it. I wonder if JKR has any idea of the debates poor Blaise has caused? If so, she'll probably never tell us the answer. ;) Very funny story!

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7833Chapter: 1
Well, this was a hilarious story. Just the sort I would want to read when I'm feeling cranky (like I'm feeling right now). You made the Weasley twin in me very happy and this was a very amusing take on the puzzling matter of Blasie Zabini's gender. In short, this story ROX.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7787Chapter: 1
Sweeney, you're a genius. I've been craxing up since the first mention of the name 'Blaise Zabini'! "...pages and pages of differing theories of the leading experts in the matter,"-- ROX on. XD

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7706Chapter: 1
hm, the everlasting mystery of the harry potter world.... great job on the fic! good luck in the halloween contest :)

Reviewer: Miss PinceDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7650Chapter: 1
*dies*

This is the most original story I've yet read! It's great. I want a sequel...

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7632Chapter: 1
I haven't laughed so hard in ages! This such a cute, original concept. And such a Fred&George thing to do!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7548Chapter: 1
hee hee hee

Given your fic's award, I was expecting the question to be, "What DO they wear under those robes?" :D Wickedly clever and funny! I'm hearing Pat's laugh in my head right now.

Katinka

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7530Chapter: 1
Wickedly clever! Ah the Zabini Gender Question. Will we ever know the truth? hehe

Reviewer: CynthiaDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7524Chapter: 1
Lol, great piece! And funny, because while walking back across campus with a friend tonight, I was discussing the question as to whether Zabini was a girl or boy..

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7521Chapter: 1
Very original, and that's not easy. How about a sequel? Thanks!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7508Chapter: 1
I just printed this out for my husband to read, Sweeney. It's hilarious. You really made very clever use of canon and Muggle TV shows! I'm still laughing too hard to write more. Thanks for the great story!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7485Chapter: 1
Pokings with forks! The twins saying 'rather'! Getting Snape to bathe! It's Pat! Bwaaaahhh....this is *such* a hoot. Very, very funny.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7471Chapter: 1
It was fun.

I take it Blaise must be bishounen, then. Many Japanese cartoons have characters with the same problem.

Catherine

Reviewer: soupytwistDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7415Chapter: 1
Bwahahahahahahahahahahah!! And now Blaise's gender shall forever remain a secret... hee hee.

Only one prob was the use of the word "likely" in "you'll likely" - I'd be surpised to hear a Brit saying that, I'd've thought 'you'll probably', but eh, whatever.

You rule. :)

Reviewer: BooklovrDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7403Chapter: 1
Ehehehe. All that planning, and they never get to try it! Pity, I really wanted to see how the strip poker game would turn out...especially since the two Weasleys would be playing! *Winks*
~Booklovr

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7350Chapter: 1
"Angelina Johnson, you underestimate the power of the Weasley male."
LOL! Well, wait until your 6th year! ;)
LOVED this fic, it was SO FUNNY! Indeed, Blaise's gender is a mistery that all of us wonder about! AND you did manage to squeeze into this fic a nice ammount of canon facts! :)
Great work!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7321Chapter: 1
Loved it! I have always wondered just what gender Blaise is supposed to be - this brings back fond memories of the "Pat" skits from SNL. Oh, to be young again!!

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7237Chapter: 1
This was funny! I wondered what was the big question. The references reminded me of Pat on Saturday Night Live. But no answer? Now I'm bummed. Also, your formatting came out a bit funny - line breaks only instead of paragraph breaks - a bit distracting but not too bad.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --