The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: I Solemnly Swear...
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: AloeDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89238Chapter: 1
what a neat idea-- I've never seen anything like this before. Very well done, indeed.

Reviewer: MonikaDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87345Chapter: 1
AaAaaaAhhhhh!!! cliffhanger!!
I was wondering why this story didn't have as many reviews as the other ones and I think it's because we're too excited and want to read the next parta nd dont have time nor patience to reviewasklkjsald

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83079Chapter: 1
Good ending. In such a short story I think introductions of characters we already know are rather out of place though. A short story is supposed to be straight to the point, even harsh. We all know who MWPP are, what the Marauder's map is etc.
It would be better if you replaced the descriptions with more thoughts from Wormtail.

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68055Chapter: 1
Finally! A story that shows Peter on the road to redemption! I get tired of all the Peter-bashing, so this was a welcome story. Thank you!

Reviewer: thephotomanDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67754Chapter: 1
First things first, good fic. I really liked it.

In fact, I liked it so much that it's going to be on the required short fic list at the Open Minds challenge. Basically, we're trying to find goodfic out there for everybody to read. We currently have a livejournal open to the public, located at http://www.livejournal.com/~hpopenminds.

Congratulations!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65114Chapter: 1
I saw this on FA from PK, and just wanted to review here. It is a brilliant story so far. I love the characterizations, and the writing flows well. I can't wait to read more, it's excellent. Thanks for it! 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: DuoDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49937Chapter: 1
*tears falling down from cheeks* ..i love peter......well u know what i mean atleast....i hate people who just write him out of stpories....no respect....seriously.......i shouldn't of said that word...*goes off crying...*

Reviewer: CasDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18987Chapter: 1
This was interesting. What would the Marauder's Map say to PP? Prompt him to redemption? I liked that interaction. What I found unnecessary though were the explanations about each of them "Sirius was also an animagus etc" This is fanfiction. We know this. Apart from that, good job.

Cas

Reviewer: Madeline ElsterDate: 2003-01-29
Reviewid: 18266Chapter: 1
Your fic is really well written but I think you could have developed Pettigrew more. As a reader itís hard for me to believe that Peter would so suddenly try and go back to being good, or at least attempt to save the Trio, based on a few items from his past. I really didnít get much of a sense that Pettigrew was even regretting his actions enough to change his ways before he decided to save Ron and Hermione. More introspection on his part would have been better so his decision at the end would seem more natural and not so sudden.

God Bless,
Madeline

Reviewer: CalliopeDate: 2003-01-29
Reviewid: 18223Chapter: 1
I really, really, really don't like Peter. But this just made me say "aawwwww!" Especially the words from Moony, Padfoot, and especially, Prongs. Beautifully written, and I can't wait to see more.

Calliope

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18109Chapter: 1
This gave me the chills! I'm not a Peter sympathizer but I knew that he was a good friend in their day. I love how you made him feel the camaraderie after so many years, wherein so much has happened, and at such a crucial time! Prongs's message was the sweetest *sniffle* I have to go read the rest of your fics now!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15925Chapter: 1
Oh boy! This looks good. I decided to start at the beginning of your story cycle and work my way up. :-)

I love what you're doing with the Marauder's Map - it always seemed to have something of the souls of its creators in it. It is really neat to see it touch something deep inside Peter. I hope he can pull this off! Failure means attracting the ire of the dementors, Voldemort, or both. Ugh.

Good work!

Reviewer: JKDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15801Chapter: 1
Very poignant writing! You had tears welling in my eyes as well as Peter's when James's message appeared on the map. I love the way you have Peter feeling that he owes something to Harry for saving him, and also the way in which he chooses to act on that.

Great work!

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15691Chapter: 1
Ackk...go on oh please do...it's loveley

Reviewer: DreamwalkerDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15157Chapter: 1
'I Solemnly Swear' is a Peter Pettigrew fic. And it's pretty good. It'll make you think twice about writing off Pettigrew as the evil. B. Nonymous does a splendid job in taking Pettigrew's flat character and starting to round off his edges. It's not there yet - she made more of a large dent than anything else, but it might be fleshed out in later parts of this series. The substance of the story mostly comes near the end - up until that point, it's a recount of events through Pettigrew's eyes. It doesn't make for an outright boring read, but I have to think that it could have been less 'flashback and setup'-writing. To setup is fine, but in a story this short, it leaves me slightly empty. But, on the plus side, 'I Solemnly Swear' has great fluent, story telling - and it's the first in a series. It's a different kind of read. If you're looking for something new, it's definately something to try out.

4*/5*

Notes to the author: The bit with the Marauder's Map talking back was great - possibly my favorite bit. I've seen it done before, and sometime's it's been quite butchered. But here it seems just right - the words (as simple and short as they are) have just the right amount of school-kid innocence to be genuine. I like the writing style, you don't have any real flaws their. As I said in the review, it's a little too flashbacky and setup for my tastes, but it's still a good read. kudos and all that to you : ) The Maurader's Map being able to scan any place is kinda pushing it, but it's a neat idea. Pretty good. Any questions, comments, or complaints, email to: Frogg10507@aol.com; please do not contact me using AIM, you'll find I'm never there.

Reviewer: KirstenDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14762Chapter: 1
although your story is better than I could've probably written, there is one thing that strikes me as being wrong with your story. The marauders Mao was only a map of Hogwarts. It went no where else. if it did, Harry and ron and Hermione would've known that the one passage went into the shreiking shack.

~Kiki

Reviewer: Sierra SitrucDate: 2002-12-26
Reviewid: 13957Chapter: 1
Thanks...Just make me cry there!! :-( That was--well, I always wanted to see a fic like this!! Great job!

Reviewer: ArielDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13767Chapter: 1
'It's never too late, to do something right' Cool.

Reviewer: Lady LupinDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12893Chapter: 1
Oh I love the way you've done this! *begins to plan fanart*

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11307Chapter: 1
Wondeful! I can't tell you how many times I've thought about the guilt Peter must feel. This story brings out his inner-character perfectly, bravo!

Fleur

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11123Chapter: 1
Very nice piece! I got about halfway through it and realized that I've already read it, but I had to finish it a second time. It's a beautiful story, and you portray Peter so well--more the way I want to see him. I'm glad you have seQuillZ! to this! ~Scribe

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9729Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful piece from Peter's POV! I always did wonder whether there might be more than just a bit of the old Peter left in Wormtail. Some authors assume he had insinuated his way into the Marauders' circle because of some strange ambition, but I think you've got it right here, that he did go astray, make TERRIBLE mistakes and might one day regret it when the past rears its head. Oh, and how I love how you've used the Map!! The comments are well in character, and, brief as they are, pack a real punch! If I had been Peter, I'd have been crying, too.

Well done.

Axelle

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-09
Reviewid: 8553Chapter: 1
"Mr. Prongs gently reminds Mr. Wormtail that it is never too late to set something right..."

Such power and emotion in that one line. You write such a poignant Peter!

Reviewer: KimDate: 2002-11-06
Reviewid: 8294Chapter: 1
Phew. I never thought I'd feel sympathy for that dirty rat. But I do without it feeling like it's forced. Such a good start to a story. I'm begging for more.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8254Chapter: 1
*sniffles* thankyou for writing this. It's great to see some fics with a sympathetic Peter.

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8244Chapter: 1
GOod story. I really like.

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8212Chapter: 1
Ok, just read the other reviews.. You're going to continue?? EE! Ok, I love this even more now. Hee.

Absolutely wonderful.

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8211Chapter: 1
Wow. Oh, how I wish something like this would actually happen. And now I'm absolutely desperate to find out what did happen, and I'm trying to tell my mind that this is a one-shot. ;)

That was gorgeous. Thank you for writing Peter like this. ::sniffle::

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2002-11-04
Reviewid: 8082Chapter: 1
Hey, no fair! Ended too soon. Want more. Thanks!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8042Chapter: 1
'dunno if anyone reads my dispatches here, but "...That I Am Up To No Good" is in Night Zephyr's hands at this point. Once I satisfy her, it'll show up here.

Thanks to everyone who liked this - especially those who commented! :)

Reviewer: Madame SnufflesDate: 2002-11-02
Reviewid: 7890Chapter: 1
Oh, very good!! Very touching! Wormtail redeeming himself . . . I've never read one of those. That was a very lovely touch with the Marauders rounding Peter up! Whee!

Reviewer: KelpieDate: 2002-10-30
Reviewid: 7636Chapter: 1
Lovely story. You captured the Maurauders' personalities extremely well in those single lines on the Map. I liked that they could immediately recognise Peter, and saw the potential for good in him even though something was obviously wrong. Interesting that Wormtail didn't say anything... I wonder what his advice would have been to his older self? And finally, I liked that he went to Ron first. If/when Wormtail redeems himself in the books, he's going to have a lot to make up to his former owner (and it certainly won't be easy.)

Reviewer: Miss PinceDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7551Chapter: 1
Awww! That was such a lovely piece. That line "...it is never too late to set something right" just had tears welling up. I'm looking forward to reading the next parts of this.

Reviewer: CoKerryDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7457Chapter: 1
Go Wormtail! I really do think that he's going to redeem himself in the books...this was a great way of showing how that might happen. And the messages from Remus, Sirius, and James via the Marauder's Map made me smile and want to cry at the same time :)

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7447Chapter: 1
That was very, *very* moving! I'm glad you gave him a chance. It's really sad how he sees the map and how his friends cared about him.
Beautiful!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7412Chapter: 1
<<Mr. Prongs gently reminds Mr. Wormtail that it is never too late to set something right.>>

Well, if that doesn't yank at your heartstrings... I'm glad to hear you'll be continuing this. I feel certain that Wormtail has a moment like this in his future. And yikes! The idea of Voldemort combining his wand with Harry's is frightening!

My guess for Part 3's title would be "Mischief Managed", BTW.

Great job!

Katinka

Reviewer: BooklovrDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7379Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwww...That's so great! Very believable, simple, and well written.
~Booklovr, fan of Good!Peter

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7340Chapter: 1
"Mr. Prongs gently reminds Mr. Wormtail that it is never too late to set something right."
::cries her eyes out::
That was SO sad! The friends he betrayed are WORRYING about him! Ok, so, not exactly them, but their...essences...in the Marauders' Map.
That was a very nice fic. Really! I just wish it didn't end there...I want to see what Ron will tell Peter, and Hermione and HARRY!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7317Chapter: 1
Thank you all for the kind words.

Elizabeth and yarrow - I'm glad you thought the idea was original. There's so much fanfic out there, I hoped I wasn't (even unintentionally) stealing something.

Christy - I agree with you re: Peter. But my nome de plume was something I pulled outa thin air.

ella - Make sure you have some happy thoughts ready. There are dementors around, y'know, and someone's gonna have to deal with them in the next part, "...That I Am Up To No Good."

Lauryn - 20 points to your house for guessing correctly. Think of it as part 1 of 3. #2 will be long, as will #3.

5 points to anyone who can guess the title of part #3. It's not that difficult, IMHO.

Thanks everyone!

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7305Chapter: 1
Oh! This is absolutely wonderful! This could develop into a longer story, I believe. It seems like it would do well as a prolouge.

"Mr. Prongs gently reminds Mr. Wormtail that it is never too late to set something right." -- This line had me nearly in tears!

Reviewer: ella weasleyDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7213Chapter: 1
i am in tears. in bawling, pouring, uncontrollable tears. i LOVE and HATE and ADORE peter so much! he's so horrible and wonderful and deep and i love how complex he is and hate how traitorous he is and the way you portrayed this scene is beautiful beyond words and...*sniffle*

ok, time to go off into my little corner with POA and have a good cry now...~Ella

Reviewer: yarrowDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7210Chapter: 1
that was great! I was quite touched by the comments from the map. you've had an original idea and really executed it well imho. thanks for sharing it :)

Reviewer: christyDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7209Chapter: 1
I'm glad you wrote this. I always felt that Peter couldn't be all that bad if he had been friends with Sirius. Oh, adn I love the fact that your name is an allusion to Silent Mouse...which is my FAVORITE Christmas movie!!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7204Chapter: 1
What a great idea! I love the Map speaking back to Wormtail, especially James' words. We know that Wormtail is in Harry's debt and I'm anxious to see how this plays out in canon. Your story with this repayment is excellent. Nice work! :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --