The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: I Won't Dance
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90196Chapter: 1
reread it and still adore it... seqial?

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44809Chapter: 1
this really is a wonderful fic. It's fantastic and Snape is very much in character. This is Snape... Very very very well done!!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18432Chapter: 1
Your opening passage is great. I love how you show Snape's snary, sarcastic humor about Dumbledore's eccentricities without actually saying "Dumbledore is eccentric."

"Even Albus Dumbledore forgot the loss for the gain." Oooh, your prose is just beautiful. There are so many lines like this one that are so poetic.

Your Snape is just angsty enough-and justifiably so- without going over the top. Great insight to Snape's reaction to Halloween one year later, especially his thoughts on Dumbledore's reaction and the role of Harry
Potter.

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14402Chapter: 1
Excellent description of Snape's bitterness and feelings of isolation, and his determination to try to change what's left of his life, by owning his past and giving up his deception. It also illustrates well how his behavior can easily lead others to misinterpret it. I like how, right away, the students are spreading rumors about their secretive, peculiar Potions Master--very realistic.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2002-12-29
Reviewid: 14354Chapter: 1
Stunning.

I followed the link to this fic from the quote in your signature, over at the message boards. It's simply amazing. You give Snape such depth, such angst, and such good lines! Bravo!

Reviewer: Jolllly SnapeDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13235Chapter: 1
I love this, Peresphone! I adore anything and everything written that tries to flesh out His Bitter Snarkiness, and this was so well-written. Though the Mauraders would definitely be surprised to be mourned by Snape, a life is a life, and after all his experience with death with the -- er -- Death Eaters, I can't see him taking it so lightly or wishing it upon his school-day foes. You conveyed this nicely.

And some sentences -- or short passages, more like -- really jumped out at me:

"Dumbledore said that it would do Severus good to attend. He said that Severus had to stop living in the past and accept that he could change his future. He also said that first years were endearing and socks were better gifts than books." All I can say is, LOL!

"If the Headmaster felt that sitting amidst this joyous chaos, complete with singing skulls, was fitting penance for his sins, he’d attend a feast every night." Yes! I can so see Snape viewing the feast as a punishment, even if Dumbledore *does* just mean it as an outlet for normalcy.

"The same stern face he remembered, but her eyes saw him now through the dirty lens of his mistakes." This line just gave me chills, period. Pathos moment!

Eeek. This is getting long. Cutting off now. Summary: good job!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2002-11-05
Reviewid: 8152Chapter: 1
Oh, this is excellent. Your award for how you've portrayed Snape is truly deserved. I'm sure the Marauders would have thought it strange that Snape would be defensive of James' and Peter's deaths, but it's entirely appropriate. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: NatashaDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 7965Chapter: 1
I liked this even better the second time around - you write such a wonderful, believably angsty Snape!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --